Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Les Villas d'Arromanches 3 stars

1 rue du Lt Colonel De Job, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France

#4 of 6 hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant has a good menu, but not sufficient in variety for people that stay longer than a day... need some dishes of the day... also because in Arromanches-les-Bains there are not good restaurants for elegant dinners to compensate.

    The location, the garden, the friendly staff, good breakfast, the decoration and style of the rooms, value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable, however their were no windows just a class fronted door. Ask for a room with a view. A minor point that there was no english speaking TV channels tuned which is surprising. Its not cheap but then again it is advertised on the higher side

    The villas are tucked away from the town with ample onsite parking. Its a five minute walk to the town. The staff have very good English the amenities are excellent and the restaurant adequate. Arromanches its self offers easy access to the Normandy Landing beaches and the American Cemetery. Eating out in Arromanches is adequate but it is rather commercialised due to the large numbers of coach parties that visit on a daily basis

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the croissants served warm My husband is a tea drinker and would liked English tea bags in the room - however they were available in the breakfast room

    We stayed in the re-furbished rooms which were very well appointed and comfortable especially the beds, they had good toiletries and tea & coffee in the room, linen and towels were good quality. The hotel is just 4 minutes walk to the town and beach and ideally located for visiting D day sights. It was a relaxing hotel, set in lovely grounds. On occasions you could hear the person in the next room. Breakfast was varied and tasted good , would have liked warm croissants though this was my previous experience when having a breakfast in France. Overall I would recommend this Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small room with old plumbing but very clean and comfortable.

    Lovely location. Really helpful and professional owner who speaks English. Good breakfast. Easy, secure and free parking on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ????

    Very comfy room even thou it is one that has not been refurbished yet...great welcome......very good breakfast looking forward to going back in the future

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very old room. Like the inside of a 1960s holiday camp. They do have some very nice rooms(we spoke to other guests). However please tell them that you don't want the 2* rooms. We arrived late, with two tired children and didn't want to make a fuss. However, we would normally have tried to find somewhere else.

    Excellent staff, very good breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a family of five, it would have been more economical if we could have a family room to sleep all five of us, or perhaps a slightly cheaper room. However the new rooms were of an excellent standard.

    The rooms were new and very comfortable and clean. They allowed dogs which was very helpful for us, travelling with one, although paying for the dog as extra, we thought was a little steep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some kind of shower curtain or something to keep bathroom floor from flooding.

    Nice newly refurbished hotel. Had a good seaview and was short walk to beach and market square. Would really recommend hotel to anyone going to be in the area. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place about 10 minutes walk from the town centre and of course the restaurants. Staff were great, helpful and kind. The room was very large, double bed and a single for the extra bod. View was not the best, but we arrived, showered and went out for dinner, upon our return it was dark so no damage no. Would we stay again, a big YES. And have already recommended to several people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's difficult without an elevator to reach the rooms in the main building on the upper floors.

    Very good location, in walking distance of the town. Breakfast is okay. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made a mistake with the reservation: we accidently clicked the wrong date when booking. We immediately contacted the hotel, but we instantly had to pay EUR 50 to change our booking. Although the room was a bit expensive (EUR 160), we decided to go for it as the classic old building looks beautiful in the pictures and we had a room with sea view which seamed great if you are there for the D-day beaches. We were however brought to a tiny room, with a view on trees. Only in the far distance, the sea could be seen. From the inside, it could however have been a standard hotel of one of the larger hotel labels, but with smaller rooms. The next day, we went for a bike ride. When we came back, we wanted to use the toilet before leaving with the car to our next hotel. The lady at the front desk however did not recognize us (anymore) and insisted on checking whether we actually stayed in the hotel before we were allowed to use the lobby toilet. All in all a quite disappointing experience.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need updating, but it is a very old property which needs to keep its character.

    Historic building overlooking sea on the edge of Arromanches. Great for a short stay. Handy for bars, restaurants and museums. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel served up a very good, wide selection breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator. Problem with paying with credit card when checking out. Their system refused three of our cards and we had to withdraw money from an ATM to pay in cash. We didn't have credit card problems anywhere else on the trip.

    Great breakfast. Beautiful grounds and building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (Number 7) was adequate for one person, but not for 2. Far too small and cramped. The window should have a screen so it can be opened without insects coming in. The toilet required several flushings to accomplish the task.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no bar or restaurant on site

    The hotel was ok for one night, our room was clean and well decorated but very small. We were surprised there was no bar, although the receptionist would supply drinks on request, unbelievably they had no red or rose wine!! It's an easy walk into town for restaurants etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of our room needed updating / repair - nothing serious tho !

    The owner cared for his guests and had time to talk to them. He caried our two heavy cases out to our car.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little short for my husband who isn't overly tall.

    Location was brilliant, outlook towards the beach. Very friendly staff especially the owner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a little disappointed in the size of the room 32. Those online looked bigger. As there were vacancies, not sure why we were given a tiny room. Albeit a lovely one and not one of there most basic, described as superior. There were two nice dining style chairs in the room, one under a desk, the other placed between the wardrobe and bathroom doors, both which faced each other. It wasn't possible to open one without moving the chair from door to door. We put it at the end of the bed against the radiator, but again in the night you would have to move it to get out of bed. Nice to have two chairs but not enough room in this room. We were also puzzled at the main reception ,breakfast room, lounge / bar doors being kept locked. It seemed a very calm and nice area, not one we would have thought would have had security problems. All that aside we would definitely want to stay here again if in the area, and can recommend it, just ask for a bigger room. Cost for two nights with breakfast came to 258 euros, so not particularly cheap in late October. Our room was priced on the wall at 85-115. euros. Breakfast 10.50 pppd. plus tax.

    Very tasteful decor loved the very up to date colour., fabulous view of the Mulberry harbour. Comfortable bed, soft fluffy duvet. Super shower/wetroom. Tea tray We think attention to the smallest detail was used in the refurbishment of this lovely 1800's manor house in all the areas we used. Money wasn't stinted in its refurbishment. Small but nice gardens if the weather was better. Little communal terrace to sit at. Ample secure parking. Short walk to beach,restaurants,museums. Just on the edge of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but clean room. Very quiet but I would not want to be there in hot weather. No cross ventilation, no fans, no screens on the only window. Breakfast was €10.5 per person for a continental breakfast. Easier to walk to a cafe and order a cup of coffee and a croissant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a minor point but the twisty old staircase was a bit of a struggle when carrying a suitcase (we were in a room at the top of the building) but added to the charm of the place!

    There was a lovely view from the room and the hotel had a calm and relaxing feel. The gardens were pleasant and there was plenty of parking available. Very convenient for the beach and town. The breakfast room was nicely decorated, clean and spacious with a good choice of food available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed some maintenance, door didn't close properly and needed a very firm slam to shut.

    Great location, just a short walk from the beach and the town. Easy onsite parking and space to sit outside with table/chairs and deck chairs. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4pm check in. Would have liked to get into room earlier after arriving off the ferry

    Lovely room, short walk to the village . Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our (family) room was in desperate need of renovation and was over priced considering its state. The hotel is currently renovating rooms & the reception/lounge & breakfast rooms were renovated to a good standard but our room was overpriced for its condition.

    Lovely breakfast. Good location. Luc was extremely professional & welcoming. The newly renovated areas were lovely. Fast wifi. 5min walk to beach and town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a family room but were offered 2 doubles on arrival. Settled for a damp smelling family room on the ground floor with own entrance with (mouldy) blinds on the Windows but not on the door (not good) so there was a privacy/light issue. If the weather had been bad and we couldn't have left the windows open the stench would have been too much. Fortunate just for one night or would have made the effort to go elsewhere. Star rating aside there's no excuse for not doing the basics.

    The car park was a good size and had nice coloured gravel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. Don't rely on the address if you use a GPS. Use the coordinates provided.

    Very nice and professionnal staff Beautiful building Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    State of the room was poor. Damp patches in the walls of both the bedroom and bathroom and a historic leak evidenced by staining into the bedroom carpet area. Curtain in room had either been pulled down by former user or not installed properly - either way the curtain was only holding on with half the hooks. Didn't use shower as did not look like a nice experience with damp patches surrounding it.

    Great location which is a short walk from the town and beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in rooms 21-23 in a "cottage" next to the main building. The downstairs room was smelly and damp, with mould on the blinds and in the shower room. Windows didn't work properly, the security chain on the door had been ripped off and left in the "wardrobe ". Thin blind fabric on door meant that daylight streamed in at 5am. Towels didn't dry as the air was so damp, poor extraction in bathroom. Kids breakfast cost same as adults but they didn't tell us this before. Breakfast ran out at 9.15 with no staff visiting to replenish whilst we were in there. Don't stay here!

    Location is 5 minutes walk from centre and outdoors of hotel is nice with seating to enjoy a drink. There is free parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lift to the upper floors would have been great to manage all our luggage, and a bit of an update to the decor and facilities would not go amiss - however nothing of note that would stop me staying there again.

    The location was great, a short walk to the beach and local restaurants, the accommodation was fine the rooms were a little tight as were the bathrooms - but perfect for the couple of days we were there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was large with lots of hot water. We were in a renovated unit which was very nice. Our friends stayed in the main building and their room was not as nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    top floor rooms mean lots of stairs so if mobility is an issue ask for an appropriate room

    Mega attentive staff, beautiful period and comfortable property, safe parking but central enough plus lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were much smaller and less luxurious then indicated on the booking.com website. The bathroom was very dirty and with a lot of mould, see also the photos attached.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to Arromanche town, but feels like it is out in the country. A nice quiet hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, staff were accommodating and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you. The staying was more than expected. The location is perfect. Great breakfest. Amazing servise. מומלץ בחום.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff lovely! Dinner excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for Mulberry Harbour

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no remarques.

    Very friendly host and a warm welcome. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Very good for our short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room and no complementary beverage (coffee, tea, etc).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. The bathroom was very small and would benefit from an "update".

    Good location on our Normandy beaches tour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding was luxurious. Shower was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic quiet location, very relaxing stay and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice, professional welcome. Wonderful breakfast ! Very comfortable beds. Loved the short walk down to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bigger bedroom

    Most things. Very good breakfast; caring staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a great location for visiting the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and nice lounge area and grounds. Short walk into centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern clean rooms. The hotel manager Luc creates a nice hospitable atmosprere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ENGLISH SPEAKING STAFF. AMPLE PARKING. GOOD CHOICE OF BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was comfortable with a pleasant view over the town and sea. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would go again.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Balcony view, very kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, ill equipped and dinghy room. Disappointing for the price. We stayed out all day so that we don't have to spend any time in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with being decorated and perhaps the option of a fan as the room was very warm.

    The staff were helpful and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy parking,5 min walk to beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family rooms could do with some TLC

    Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great and the villa looks very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room

    Near beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, especially when driving in. City easy to explore on foot. Very nice room in a nice building. Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly owners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, cosy rooms Parking available Deckchairs to relax in the park

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stair case.

    Good room & location. Easy access to town. Nice service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The manager was very welcoming. The room was fine. Breakfast was wonderful. It's five minutes walk into Arrowmanches. Location is perfect. Has loads of parking. If I go back to Arrowmanches, I'll book this again.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dusty and rather tired, it could have done with a good clean !

    Beautiful property set in lovely mature gardens, large on-site car park. The owner was so courteous and helpful, spoke excellent english, rooms were small but adequate, the new bed and bed linen made the stay comfortable, it will be a lovely hotel when its been fully renovated.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Probably originally designed as a home so doesn't easily lend its self to be a Hotel, ie Bedrooms having bathrooms squeezed into them makes for small rather cramped bedrooms. In need of further modernisation and refurbishment.

    Convenient location in a impressive character house set in extensive gardens. Friendly and helpful staff. Good Breakfast with great choice of produce.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Perfect location, nice staff, great breakfast, comfy bed, location is perfect for historical Normandy vacation. Will try to go again. Thanks, Luc!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietors were warm and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The renovation work did NOT impact on our stay at all, we would definately return.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would of been nice to of had tea/coffee making in the room & the bathroom could of done with a spruce up

    Ideal location easy walking distance into Arromanches, Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had 4 beds in a room. We were with 2 kids age 10 and 12. We were given a room in another separate building behind the main reception. Was told they will be upgrading in coming months till next April. Was disappointed that the toilet was small and old. There was no water boiler in the room to have tea / coffee. We had to walk to the main reception to get 3 cups of hot water. Cant imagine with weather is bad. The phone line was not working. No fridge in the room. Security wise, not good. Strangers can easily access in the building where we were. No pass code required or card key. With these down sides, we find the 3 nights stay pricey. There is no child price to the breakfast.

    The location is PERFECT. Walking distance to Gold beach. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've always stayed in the main building, however this past time we were put in the building next door. Overall, my husband and I agreed that the rooms weren't as well-kept as the ones in the main building. So I'd simply recommend asking for a room in the main building when you book.

    My husband and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times before. We love the location, breakfast, and the warm ambiance of the lounge area.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was a 'work in progress' and was not ready for visitors. Our bathroom did not have blinds/curtains and looked out over a large garden.

    Not a lot! The breakfast room was quite pleasant. The breakfast was adequate. We could see the sea and the Mulberry Harbour from our bathroom window.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The concierge was warm and welcoming. He could not have been more gracious. Our room was simple but very comfortable. I LOVED the pillows on the bed. They were wonderful. I would like to know where to buy one for my home. Breakfast was perfect. The location was very convenient and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a beautiful old house with friendly and helpful staff. It is in a perfect location for visiting the D Day landing sites, museums and cemeteries. We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I've stayed at this hotel multiple times before, however my husband and I have always had a room in the main building. On our last stay, our room was located in a building next to the main one. I felt the rooms weren't as clean and in needing of more updating.

    I loved the lounge area and breakfast area. Both had a wonderful decor that was warm and inviting.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were ok, but not as clean as I would like. It is an older building so please be aware of this when booking. There was some mold in our room which wasn't ideal.

    The woman working the front desk was very helpful and kind. The location was very nice, easy access to the town and pathways by walking.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible room,penetrating damp marks all over the walls and badly stained carpets. Hotel management's insistence we pay full 4 nights , which they took unauthorised from our bank account,on the day of our arrival,when we wanted to leave and go elsewhere. Other rooms offered unsuitable.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was a little hard to find using our GPS, but that's not the hotel's fault. Stairs are a little narrow, so must be careful especially if carrying bags.

    Beautiful old house and ground, people were wonderful, and breakfast was delicious. When we called that we were arriving late, they gave a code so we could let ourselves in; very accommodating! We will stay there again!

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: