Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Château De Beaulieu 4 stars

1098 Rue De Lillers, 62350 Busnes, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Busnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was superb

    It was a beautiful place, so picturesque wonderful grounds and the room was magnificent. Each time we travel into France via Calais we will stop there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was our 3rd visit and it exceeded expectations once agin. From the warm welcome to the friendly departure our visit was just perfect. This is a gastronomic delight!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful chateau with friendly staff, inspired decor, and superb restaurant. Easily accessible from autoroute, well kept grounds to stroll in, and an excellent night’s sleep in comfortable bed. Nice view from bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom wasn't comfortable, we might have got a room with disability access. When taking a shower the whole room got wet.

    Very beautiful place, nice taking a walk outside with my dogs which were very welcomed! Even in dinner in which we had 7 dish menu. If you are close by then please go to this chateau.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather a weird shower cubicle and a bit difficult to regulate temperature

    A convenient first or last stop for Calais (about 50 miles away). Comfortable hotel will delightful grounds and excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed. The main reason to stay at this hotel is the restaurant Meurin . It was closed. They did not tell us in advance, just telephoned when we were en route. The brasserie is fine but it is no reason to make a detour to this rather expensive hotel. We have been several times before and we are booked in again in September. We may decide not to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could not attach the shower to the wall over the bath, a simple thing that would have made the room perfect. Breakfast was very expensive, €20, would have been nice to have the option of just a croissant and coffee for less.

    Very clean rooms. Nice position in the countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon didn't seem to be working in our room. Only a hand held shower in the bath and no shower curtain which made showering difficult!

    Lovely large room and bed. We loved eating in the garden at the excellent brasserie. A charming place that we hope to come back to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed updating. The shower was very poor and actually quite dangerous to step in and out of. The reception staff really let the hotel down. Checking out was tedious. The card reader was not working properly and so ,the young lady handling the transaction kept wandering outside to presumably try to get better coverage. After 3 attempts she decided to go and change the reader and it did, in fact, work immediately. There was no apology and she was quite abrupt when I requested copies of receipts which confirmed that the transaction had been cancelled. We left disappointed that our expectations of our usual lovely stay had been spoilt.

    We have stayed a number of times and always enjoy arriving at the chateau which is surrounded by beautiful gardens. We dined at the bistro which yet again lived up to all expectations. Breakfast too was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and grounds are incredibly beautiful; it's a really peaceful, friendly place. Food in the Bistro very good and reasonably priced. We travelled with two dogs, which was no problem to the hotel and the grounds made for good exploring for the dogs! Loved it and will definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a fabulous hotel for a stop-off coming from or returning to UK - about 1 hour's drive from the tunnel. It is set in beautiful grounds and the hotel is luxurious and comfortable. Best of all is the restaurant - Alice's Garden. Fantastic meal and very good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Great Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised as a luxury 4 star hotel but bath towels barely large enough, room cold and smelt of drains, no telephone to be able to call reception (which in any event not manned adequately) so when we wanted wifi codes had to go back down to get them. Then needed different codes for each computer/tablet phone and narrowly missed being charged extra for them. Not acceptable at 250 € for the room.

    The restaurants were first class. Food modern and excellently prepared and great to have the"great man" there in person even at breakfast. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked there to be a bar area and more casual dining area for hotel guests. The two restaurants were exceptional but the brasserie still a little formal and often when yr travelling you just want a glass of wine and an omelette

    Arriving at this beautiful property is a real delight, lovely long drive through well kept grounds. We arrived between Christmas and New Year and it was beautifully decorated and welcoming through the fog! The rooms were also lovely, great quality and very comfortable and in that awful fog so nice and warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Great Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place gets better every time we visit. Professional, friendly, welcoming service, comfortable room, well-appointed bathroom, immaculate grounds and gardens, delicious food ... what's NOT to like??

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms especially bathrooms are a little shabby and tired. There were holes in our curtains. Under the bed was quite dirty and dusty and lumps of fluff kept wafting out with hair in them. Pity as the place is lovely. Just needs a bit of a spruce up

    Lovely place with fabulous gardens and great food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was flooded, we were relocated. Couldn't eat outside. Internet not working. Staff didn't mention a road closure next to the hotel despite being asked. Significant, difficult diversion

    Wonderful food and service at mealtime

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very poor. Lacked attention to detail & was unable to clearly answer questions, eg about the bar area (ie if there was one for an aperotif), early breakfast etc We had to leave by 7:30am.That we couldn't have a proper breakfast was disappointing especially as the offer in the room was limited & hugely expensive.

    The meal in the bistro was very good and being able to sit outside on a warm evening was really very lovely but of course just lucky!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were very few residents and the breakfast was oddly not a buffet and therefore slightly restricted. We sat in an empty dining room

    The Restaurant Jardin d'Alice was the only facility available on a Monday evening but it was simply superb. The location is so convenient for Calais and on most other evenings the main Dining Room is available for the sensational cuisine that is the hallmark of this Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the gourmet restaurant was closed for their annual holiday - but the bistro was excellent.

    This was our second stay at Chateau Beaulieu as a pit stop on our way home from Spain. Very comfortable and very friendly staff, love the setting and good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Great Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no swimming pool.

    Reception services were very good. We had an excellent meal in the bistro, at a very reasonable price. The bed was comfortable, the room was fine, but lacked character.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, although shower was unnecessarily clumsy to use and care needs to be taken in a slippery bath.

    Wonderful last night after holiday in Provence and a long drive. Outstanding food and wine, and restaurant service. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather small wardrobe in our room.

    Good choice of meals and drinks. Air conditioning worked silently and efficiently. Nice surroundings in countryside outside Busnes just over half an hour's drive from Calais.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very "heavy" and not much choice,

    In the countryside close to Calais.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy & brilliant restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was appallingly uncomfortable, very hard

    Location and food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phenomenal restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What not to like!

    Unique rooms, comfortable, nice bathrooms Bistro restaurant outstanding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi did not work in my he room, only in the reception and restaurant. A nasty smell in the corridor upstairs.

    Accommodation and food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Great Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a good hotel in convenient place for the euro tunnel food is the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    World Class Food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    My partner is a wheelchair user and the staff did all they could to support and help. Beautiful setting, fantastic food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant and restaurant s

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely meal in the bistro. Great atmosphere on a busy evening .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at both restaurants was delicious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    peaceful, excellent food and service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place to stay just off motorway about half hour drive from Calais with a fabulous restaurant. Room large, luxurious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden floors could be quite noisey.

    The staff were superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor. Not able to get into room until 4 pm.

    Near Channel Tunnel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pampering, comfortable and quiet place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at dinner on that Sunday... Really horrible to non French diners!

    Their trees and garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful food in the Restaurant d'Alice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second visit with our dogs and, as before, excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    I particularly liked the way the member of staff who greeted us asked whether I was comfortable speaking French and, on being assured that I was, honoured that (politely overlooking any errors I may have made!) - this is quite unusual. I loved the comfort, elegance and style, enjoying that it wasn't overdone but felt comfortable and easy - this too is quite unusual.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere in the room. It felt cold and uncomfortable. If we had stayed for longer than two nights we would have asked to move to another room.

    The restaurant and bistro were the highlight. Dinner in the restaurant was superb.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Our third visit and again great experience. Reception and dinning room staff all friendly and very helpful. Comfortable clean room, without disturbance. Location means you will want to eat in and the Bistro is great option.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely accommodating welcome, even with our late arrival. Super comfy room, even for a "standard" room. Enjoyed an exceptional meal in the brasserie.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi setup a bit outdated. Need separate pass codes for every device you link. Speed okay. But nitpicking.

    Bistro restaurant. Great value four course fixed menu. Second visit and last time ate in the gastronomic restaurant. Bistro quality just as good. Very friendly staff. Hotel was quite full Friday night but quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bath is so badly designed, that I had to get in, to turn on the taps and , stand up to adjust or turn off the taps.

    Your Garden is intriguing and well kept.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included.

    Best thing about this place is the gourmet restaurant. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Bathroom in particular was excellent, with separate toilet and both bath and shower with lots of jet settings. Beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thé accessibilité ou internet os nor good

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food room decor style outlook/garden, particularly from the restaurant and bedroom, both at back of house

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a great place close to Calais. Fabulous food and wine as always. The 8 course menu was something else along with the matched wines

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent Facility, great service and the best food !!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilette smell in corridor wifi very poor, in room facilities and info minimsl

    Peace

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV reception very poor

    The food

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower difficult to manage, water kept getting very hot and cubicle too small. Air conditioning was noisy.

    Very good food in the casual restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception area is beginning to look a bit tired. On the other hand the room and its facilities are bang on.

    The food.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient just 3 miles off the Motorway & 3/4 of an hour from Calais. Fully deserves its 2 stars in Michelin guide.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its location just 1 hour from Calais. Its Bistro offer excellent food and the whole visit was an excellent choice.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    Noisy pets (a barking dog) in an otherwise great restaurant (Jardin d'Alice)

    Good food

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really - all good

    Superb service - great staff - lovely food

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom a little basic.

    Excellent restaurant and delicious breakfast. Quiet location in beautiful garden.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect excellent hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, efficient, comfortable, perfect location for arriving or departing from France via Calais, good food, excellent car park.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the room gets to clear in the morning (day light comes in) and sometimes some noise outside in the morning.

    fantastic place with great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Still as good as on a previous visit

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful property set in grounds with a moat and lovely gardens including vines and a small orchard.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place, especially if you like haute quisine (and cats).

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    alles

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect stopover, great hosts, gorgeous setting.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a long journey the next day and they served breakfast in our room at 6.30 plus provided sandwiches for the journey. - fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive breakfast

    Very comfortable bed and room, excellent meal in the bistro.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: