Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Chatellier 2 stars

Quatrevais, 35260 Cancale, France

#2 of 13 hotels in Cancale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    We keep coming back . . .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road can be noisy.

    It is simple, comfortable, clean and has lovely setting. Convenient for Cancale town and harbour. Good breakfast, lovely staff and nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    A rural location but too far to walk to restaurants in Cancale
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit compact for our liking There was a safe in the wardrobe but it hadn't been wired up to the mains or secured so not much use We think there must have been a waterproof mattress protector on the bed as it made for a very sweaty night's sleep and I kept sticking to the sheets! Not a good road to walk along til you get to the outskirts of Cancale if you had wanted to walk in to the town from there in the evening

    Rural outlook with horses and goats in the fields and the garden rooms in particular had nice views over the grounds Seating and loungers in the garden were lovely Lovely breakfast in the neighbouring property which was a 200 metre walk Complementary tea and coffee in the lounge but proper cups would have been nicer than the small paper ones provided

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decaf coffee pods not replaced, so could not have coffee in the evening. Towels should be washed with a little bleach or in hotter water for complete freshness. No real milk for tea and coffee--just powder.

    Great location for visitors to the peninsula: fresh oysters, proximity to St. Malo and Mont St. Michel. Close to super market with gas station, free toilets, and coffee shop. Free coffee pods and tea selection in lounge. Very friendly hostess.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Too far from Cancale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Cancale , needed sat nav to find our way back . Too isolated . Very expensive for the room. Breakfast was in the main hotel ,200 yards away , which we were not informed about . On a busy main road .

    Only the parking which was handy , but there was plenty of parking in the centre of Cancale , in the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    4th stay here - as good as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice welcome from Madame. Excellent room with comfy bed and good facilities. The coffee pod machine in the reception area is new and is a great idea - very much appreciated this facility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Ideal location for overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two enormous guard dogs penned up opposite the entrance barking at us/our dogs when we arrived. Had to make detours to avoid them but they were not there in the morning so suggest that they are put somewhere else permanently to avoid upsetting travellers with dogs!

    Very friendly and helpful welcome. Quiet and peaceful surroundings on the outskirts of Cancale. Five minutes from a free car park that allows you to walk down to the harbour without having to negotiate the (very) busy port area. Stylishly decorated room. Very comfortable bed and good shower. Free tea and coffee in the lobby on a help-yourself-basis. Tiled floor and patio doors to the outside with lots of lawn areas so ideal for travellers with dogs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    pleasantly surprised, and disappointed at the same time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the weather had been bad would have to drive to other building for breakfast

    room excellent, out on the outskirts of the town, need own transport, lovely grounds, but house separate from main reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    relaxing peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I would say is the lack of a restaurant I would not have had to leave

    The peace and quiet was great and to open the patio door and hear the birdsong first thing was so relaxing .I made a coffee in the tea room and sat on the patio to read before going down to breakfast.the gardens are beautiful and to see the horses ducks and goats is a reminder you are in the countryside.there is also a beautiful near private beach called du guesclin about a 3 minute drive away well worth a visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Very nice comfortable friendly hotel with character.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Manor had a polished oak spiral staircase to ascend to our room which made it impossible for our small dogs to walk up so they had to be carried! also the doors were so heavy and difficult to open when you have bags and small dogs to carry!

    Overall Le Chatellier/Manor was very nice, beautifully kept. We were unable to have the room we booked so were transferred to the Manor which was an upgrade but was less suitable for us. I liked most of the decor and style and the room was spacious and comfortable. Very quiet and peaceful. Nice friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    Good hotel poor location Wierd set-up
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been nearer cancale. Nothing arround at all bit isolated, considering they did not do evening meals. And no information on locale in the room. Also, needed to go to another hotel at bottom of garden for reception .

    Clean and lovely grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Only if it is in your way trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window in the room No air condition Very thin walls we heard everthing from neighbors

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast in a lovely setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing smooth very pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    We were. Cycling across france and the hoteliers were very accomodating in making our bikes secure for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fixed shower at head height

    Staff, breakfast and surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.7
    Our room was clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in 5 different hotels on this trip, all cheaper than this one and in nicer locations (this is situated next to a busy road). This was the only hotel that offered no in-room information about the area. At all the other hotels we were given information at reception about restaurants etc. Here we were offered nothing. At three of the hotels we were given free bottled water in the room. Here there was none. At three of the hotels we had opportunity to get coffee and tea at no extra cost. Here nothing was on offer. It was a nice stay....but we felt that considering the price there should have been more facilities on offer. Perhaps we had been spoilt by our previous (cheaper and at least just as comfortable....at two of them substantial breakfast were included!) hotels.

    Our room was clean and cosy. The bed was comfortable. Parking was plentiful and secure. Wifi was free (though not always reliable)

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.3
    Lovely room, beautiful garden, nice bathroom, super...
    • Solo traveller

    The presence of somebody for maybe some hours at the reception would be nice for answering questions and giving tips.

    Lovely room, beautiful garden, nice bathroom, super breakfast in the mainhouse. Very helpfull owner and friendly stuff, I felt at home. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    Large room, large bathroom, comfortable bed, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not walking distance to the city center, hotel is close to a busy road, be sure to get a room away from the road

    Large room, large bathroom, comfortable bed, beautiful garden, large grounds, relaxing environment, lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    It was a very pleasant surprise the whole set up was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not get a taxi from local resort hence a 20 minute walk. However this was not a problem overall

    It was a very pleasant surprise the whole set up was charming. Nearby beaches and restaurants were all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    We received an upgrade when we checked in from very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We received an upgrade when we checked in from very friendly staff. Lovely quiet hotel,great facilities in the room,very comfortable bed,bathroom excellent. Will definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    We just moved from a luxury chateau to Le Chatellier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is basic. Wifi only works in lobby.

    We just moved from a luxury chateau to Le Chatellier. They are very different. I booked this hotel because everything was sold out, and I had almost no other choices. The hotel is very basic, but the room is clean and quiet. If you have limited budget, this is a good choice. it value for money.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The decor is superb, and the toiletries were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The addition of a coffee / tea making facility would have been a bonus, especially as the main hotel was so far away

    The decor is superb, and the toiletries were very good

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    3.3
    Peaceful and calm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Claustrophobic and damp room. No fridge in the room (for that price?) Small "patio" right in front of a bush blocking the view. Limited reception service. Away from village. Not confortable at all.

    Peaceful and calm hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    8.8
    The property is gorgeous and the breakfast buffet very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was seriously small. It would not be a problem if you were just on a weekend from Paris, but we were on a 5 week trip, and there was simply no place to put our two bags except on the floor partially blocking access to the wall side of the bed.

    The property is gorgeous and the breakfast buffet very nice. We stayed here to et Cancale seafood and do a day trip to Mont St Michel, which was a good plan.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    - garden view, cleanliness, bed comfort, parking, breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - noise from other rooms (closing doors, snoring at night, noisy floor)

    - garden view, cleanliness, bed comfort, parking, breakfast, privacy

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    A beautiful calm and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful calm and comfortable place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bit of a walk to breakfast fortunatly not raining.

    Excellent breakfast. Very nice room beautifully decorated.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.1
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy room on busy road.

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff and very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff and very comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Relaxed and beautiful grounds of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed and beautiful grounds of the hotel. Friendly staff. Walking distance to town & great supermarket nearby.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: