Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Clair de la Plume - Les Collectionneurs 4 stars

Place du Mail, 26230 Grignan, France

#5 of 8 hotels in Grignan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a bit complicated (we parked, walked over to the hotel, and then they came and let us in via the barriers). Bit of a mix up when pre paying via booking.com - perhaps a system that needs checked? (I almost ended up paying a second time, but once pointed out to them we had already paid they were fine).

    We were in the main house and it’s a quaint and well kept old building, the room was lovely, the people were helpful and friendly. We came here specifically to visit their Michelin restaurant, which is just outstanding and such a highly recommended experience, so it was an added bonus that the hotel was this lovely. We had a lovely evening at their second restaurant as well, a 5 minute walk from the hotel, looking back to this gorgeous town on the hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access difficult, particularly with luggage

    Not able to dine in the restaurant due to misunderstanding on booking, so unable to comment, but breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no instructions as to parking and as there was a fair blocking the road to the hotel we couldn't find it. When we rang to ask for instructions we were put on hold and no-one answered. The facilities are very spread out so if you are only there for a short while it is quite difficult to use them. The restaurant is very good but you have to choose between a 5 course or a 7 course menu which are both quite expensive and very filling and a lighter menu choice would be welcome

    Hotel is very attractive with a beautiful garden restaurant and a lovely old conservatory. Our room was not large but comfortable, overlooking the garden. The hill town of Grignan was charming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Character Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware that dinner is very long (plan for 3+hours) and unsuitable for most children given the length. The heated pool is quite a walk away.

    Great location in Grignan, wonderful setting in the main house and gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a great hotel, but to be difficult the baby bed price/ per night is a litte high.

    Excellent hotel super confortable, and the service is fab! The restaurent is a must do.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Private House
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised. Booked a suite that said first floor but had to reach it by climbing 2 sets of ancient stone worn steps! This presented a problem for me since I have leg and balance issues. The mgmt were no help whatsoever and not willing to offer a refund, partial or otherwise! The furniture is very worn and the bed was very close to the floor. We could hear every noise from neighbors above all night. The toilet was so close to the door it made it difficult to maneuver. There was a dangerous step down in the hall to the lav in an odd spot. Not worth the price. Beware!

    Staff was pleasant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, dark and overpriced. The window opened onto the exhaust from the kitchen which was very noisy. The internet did not work.

    The restaurant had been awarded a Michelin star and it was fabulous. It offered a 5 course vegetarian meal for which we were very happy!! Finally something exceptional for vegetarians. Well done!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Feather Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing was not good, at least not in the main building.

    The hotel is in the village and it was easy to find. Parking is provided if you need that. The staff is friendly and service minded. The village itself is nice and so is the chateau with excellent view of the area. The village has several places where one can go for a meal if you do not want to eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Private House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bed was comfortable, the chairs were old, too low and decrepit. There is little charm to uncomfortable antique furniture. The staff,though pleasant, could benefit from more training.

    The setting is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed a few years ago hadn’t changed much except the price!

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Wonderful food in the gastronomic restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Character Double Room - Private House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect in every way dog welcomed with open arms Restaurant amazing breakfast delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very special place, very welcoming, romantic, lovely garden, fantastic food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Character Double Room - Private House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was great. No eggs!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving

    The garden was a splendid place for any meal and the rooms was cozy and comfortable while the staff was in every way attentive and cordial.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night

    quality of beds, need replacement

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need a manager around to talk to guests.

    The most charming hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pavillon des Amoureux - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Romantic hotel with interesting and innovative chef

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Main House - 2 Adults
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal in the courtyard was wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely village to visit

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi did not work in our room. TV was also not really working (Rain did cut the broadcasting). Bed was so soft, more a 2 star bed, not a firm mattress which we expect for a 4 star hotel with this price. Very small bed too. The hotel is more a 3 star hotel. The garden and pool they advertise in the description is a 500 meter walk from the main house. Not a problem, but they should better indicate all these specialties. We were a bit disappointed.

    We had the Lovers room, its a little hut next to the pool. It is remote from the house, so we were alone in the night and had the pool for our own in the evening and morning. Very nice located, with view on the castle. Small room, but enough for two. Breakfast is very good, with all you need. Staff is a friendly and very helpful. We asked for exchanging the mattress and they tried their best.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the pricey side but definitely worth staying there!

    Charming & delightful small hotel, from the entrance garden to the bedrooms, very well located at foot of the old town of Grignan. Our room looked better than on picture (room "Anne"). We also tried both the exquisite restaurant and the bistro/pool & were very pleased with our overall experience for a short 2 days stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were unable to access wifi & nobody would help us. It's important to know that you need to be fit enough to manage 3 flights of stairs for the top rooms. These are small things though.

    the hotel was in reach of everything in the village. It is very unusual in being so much part of the town. The food was wonderful & the staff attentive. We loved the eating area & our room was small but comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not thing really -Parking was a bit confusing because the Provencial market the next morning

    The best dinner I ever had well mannered friendly staff beautiful setting- hotel, restaurant, village, building we stayed was wonderfully tastefully restored and clean. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The menu seemed unnecessarily complicated to us. Dinning is in a gourmet restaurant with prices to match which may not suit everyone, but there are restaurants nearby in the village.

    The young members of staff are a credit to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner plates TOO SMALL

    Charming hotel in charming environment

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant was excellent, thouroughly enjoyed the Truffle Menu..

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, decor, comfort, authenticity, staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was amazing, staff professional and friendly, facilities beautiful, location to die for.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surly sommelier

    Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool is a bit abandoned Mistake on the bill by charging breakfasts

    Centrally located Nice little room in the Maison privee

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When paying very high prices for food, it is sad to receive chicken that is still partly raw. This is poor cooking, by any standard

    Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    € 295 for one night is over the top. € 150 would have made it a perfect stay.

    location, charm of rooms and garden

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A delightful hotel in the midst of Grignan. The restaurant was superb and the staff throughout were attentive, kind, and very professional.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sometimes not enough wifi signal Expensive

    Nice and very helpfull staff Very good restaurant Beautifull location Charming historical building

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: