Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brit Hôtel Le Clos Saint Martin 3 stars

10, rue Saint Martin, 18300 Sancerre, France

#3 of 7 hotels in Sancerre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 505 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bed uncomfortable the carpeting in the room was old and in need of updating. It was my least favorite hotel after a 2 week stay in France but it was also a fair price.

    The breakfast was wonderful and very reasonably priced. The location was good and staff was pleasant. Also liked that it had a bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil

    The breakfast and coffee was good - many choices. Location was excellent and close to everywhere we wanted to be. Room was very clean and was a nice touch to have the air conditioner on/room already cool upon our arrival on a hot afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small but I liked the small bedroom. Do not like carpets.

    I liked the town, small room with bath is all I need. Staff was nice and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are well trained and very friendly. We had some travel problems that they helped us with, solving our problems and doing so with kindness, grace and efficiency. Room was much larger than expected and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good bet for visiting Sancerre, a generally expensive area overall. We dined at Hotel Laurier in nearby St Satur an exceptional restaurant with fabulous food at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was quite basic, so with just a bit of decoration / modern objects and materials, it would have been more comfortable.

    Very good overnight experience in the heart of picturesque Sancerre village! Although the hotel does not look the most modern, I had a very pleasant stay on a cold January night. The room was pretty basic, but not too small. The location of the hotel was perfect (and there was even a bank automat only 30 metres from the hotel). Pretty decent breakfast for France, but the best thing was the hospitality of the people working at the reception - I was more than content with their attitude, and will surely return to this hotel because of their heartiness and effective service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the receptionist was on the telephone, she didn't acknowledge us, and carried on her conversation for a long time which was not work related. Being British we politely stood and waited but we were tempted at the end to ring the bell that was on the desk! However all the other staff were attentive and friendly.

    The position- you are just off the centre of Sancerre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms, no minibar/fridge, small elevator. I imagine that parking may be a problem in the busiest seasons. We were just lucky to find vacant spots in the very narrow street.

    Great location in the middle of the city. Clean and upgraded hotel. Nice breakfast. Provided ice and wine bucket since no minibar in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...for the price it was excellent.

    Friendly and helpful staff. The room (suite) was spacious and clean and breakfast was really nice in the dining area. Stayed a few times at this hotel and would keep staying there as it's perfect for us being right in the centre of Sancerre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the outside facade of the hotel is very old and attractive, the accommodation is new and to the rear. The room can only be described as tiny - about 10 ft x 10ft - and with no window whatsoever was very claustrophobic. Some large insects running on the walls did not help.

    The location within the centre of Sancerre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if it should be mentioned under "not liking" or "charming", but our room (located on the front side of the hotlel) was not level, literally not horizontal. Perfect for sailors, think about a sailboat beind docked, while a strong wind pushes it permanently to one side... My wife liked it. Probalbly due to the age of the building.

    the perfect central location for a nice stroll through the city. (Good idea to have a marked trail around town.) Friendly staff that solved the accidentel booking of 2 rooms instead of 1 with booking.com.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure parking on site, although luckily it was just a few yards away from the town's car park, there were also a few spaces on the street outside the hotel but unfortunately they were all taken

    It had a lovely old fashioned feeling about it. It was central to the main town centre whilst bring far enough away to be quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and eaten in a wonderfully decorated room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night we were there it poured with rain and getting from the lobby to our room involved going through the rain. The rain was so heavy there were puddles in front of our door, some of which leaked in. Then the electricity went out. None of this was the hotel's fault, but it did make our stay a bit challenging!

    Very helpful staff, nice breakfast, great location, easy parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Responsiveness of the reception. (We had a problem with the AC - it kept making noises after it was switched off - the reception was closed after 11pm, and the concierge at the other hotel was not able/willing to do anything for us)

    Spacious and light room with nice view (Jr. Suite). Separate toilet. Excellent breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location, friendly and welcoming receptionist. Good storage for bicycles. Very clean and comfortable room with very good air con which was much needed in high 30's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking can be difficult but if you wait you can usually park outside the hotel if not a public car park is very close

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room was a nice surprise The room had been recently refurbished

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged 20 euros for our dog (which doesn't moult)! Only window was in the door, which faced another room across a covered walkway.

    Very good breakfast. Town centre location. Accepted dogs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we had been told that our room had been given away to a guest who had extended our stay. We were offered a budget room and free breakfast. This we declined and they found us a room of the standard we had booked, which meant that they had to reaccommodate a guest on our third night as we were in their room! A little more organisation would have helped matters.

    Location and ease of parking. Right in the middle of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit to firm and pillow was a bit too flat for my comfort.

    A pleasant stopover for a night. It was nice to have air conditioning in the room on such a hot night. Nice quiet room. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather small rooms in a over roofed place that was not so cosy No windows to open and no view,no fridge,good bath and beds however so good value for the money Due to renovation of a considerable part of the road near the accomodation it was not easy to get there by car but this is not to blame the hotel management

    Very nice hotel,quiet and clean room,vey good breakfast,friedly people

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at hotel is super friendly, always ready to help, so it was a pleasure to stay there. The hotel itself is perfectly located, next to the main square and most of the restaurants. The description says "no parking", but is was really easy to park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was really friendly and were very patient with my intermediate level French. When I return to Sancerre, I will definitely return to the Hotel St. Martin.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Excellent location for Sancerre, although they state no parking there is free parking near to the hotel, it was great for what we needed. We paid a low price as it was last minute.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Great location. Room had air conditioning and bed kings size, clean and comfortable. Despite its central position it was very quiet and relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For what we were looking for, I wouldn't change anything!

    Very welcoming, fantastic location, budget rooms were simple but value for money and exceeded our expectations. Rooms and public areas very clean and well looked after. Really lovely continental breakfast with local produce and excellent selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, meat, cheese, goats cheese, croissants, sweet pastries, assortment of rustic and sliced bread, jams, honey, eggs and more. Help yourself to as much as you want.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be good for the restaurant to be open in the evening

    A very good value option in a beautiful town. We had a basic room in a modern annexe which was fine for one night. Friendly staff but limited English. Free parking right outside hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since they do not serve and evening meal,a list of town restaurants would be helpful.

    Simple, clean and elegant with an excellent breakfast.Ideal stop on the way to the south of France.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a budget room which was quite dark as there was no window just a glass door with curtains which blocked the light.

    The hotel was within a minutes walk of Sancerre centre, the room was very quiet and the air con worked very well, the staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin View onto internal courtyard

    Brilliant location right at top of hill and around the corner from the main square Very accommodating staff Rooms clean and reasonably spacious

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought our room was a bit musty but we left the window open. No mosquitoes.

    Nice comfortable well located hotel. Our room was on the ground floor, no stairs and we had our bikes right outside our room in perfect security. Fantastic breakfast, just a beautiful place to be in the lounge and dining rooms, with lovely books about the area. Staff were wonderful and spoke English although we were allowed to practise our French. The hotel is in the old city with many restaurants a short walk away. A very quiet and peaceful stopover for these tired cyclists. Superb wines on offer everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult parking and access to the hotel. Poor signage. One of the receptionist was difficult, and unhelpful. Mediocre breakfast

    Nice rooms, and handy for town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very modern and super clean. Staff was excellent- very helpful with dinner and taxi reservations. Breakfast was wonderful- great variety of foods, delicious croissants, served in beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , it was all fine.

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Nice to find in France.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioned room was a delight after a hard day bicycling

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the garden area was not very well kept.

    I loved this hotel. The room was very well appointed, clean, beautifully decorated and lovely views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive

    Very helpful receptionist. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking next to the hotel is always a challenge!

    Very satisfied with our stay as always!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service, consideration and interaction with the lady on reception was outstanding

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really we had a great time and would go back

    It was a great stay the staff were good breakfast good the room was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little outdated.

    We enjoyed our short stay. Everything was in walking distances which was fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    All

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not open when we arrived at 3.45.

    Good bedroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel nice breakfast and in great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time we have stayed here. It is well located and functional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in a really quaint village. Beautiful Wine country. Great buffet breakfast. Interesting feature is the sloping floor in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and dark

    Practical and convenient 1 night stop to break the journey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hotel car park but plenty of parking nearby

    Newly refurbished rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough cupboard and wardrobe space.

    Location was perfect for Sancerre tourism. Rooms perfect and air conditioning really useful in August.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy room, very small.

    Coffee, location, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and in enclosed courtyard with no window. Very small bathroom.

    Room was quiet and quite comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel in a good central location that is close to shops, restaurants etc. and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything not to like.

    The staff was excellent. Very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller then expected but for one night okay.

    Good breakfast worth the money. Nice staff, especially in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Terrific location. New public parking lot 100 metres away. Very clean. Good breakfast and very efficient staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of my favourite stays. Been here twice. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late time of check in.

    Really good location close to the center and in the same time to the river and nature. Well equipped kitchen, nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is extreme small, impossible to use a shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Great location and staff. Beautiful town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in town. good, fresh, clean room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was a bit dreary - no real light or comfort. Bedrooms were fine but no kettle in them. They did have AC though which is a must

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be a little larger.

    Very helpful and sympathetic staff. Very clean and good continental breakfast. Very well located in the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal.

    Breakfast was great, nice room and the staff could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The budget rooms are dark and airless

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were average.

    The location was very central. The staff was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no windows. The WiFi was not working.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel in town, staff very kind, good breakfast, nice french style of the hall/breakfast room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast for children, maybe cereals could be offered.

    The convenience to the town and the family room was a brilliant idea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely looking restaurant but not open or nobody there...???

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ran out....bread and hot water.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff who provided helpful advice and free wine tasting

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many restaurants in Sancerre are closed on wednesdays

    Central location in Sancerre. Everything within walking distance. Parking may be an issue in high season

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Good location. Parking outside hotel. English spoken. Clean and tidy. Breakfast excellent. Very good value for money. Felt very comfortable throughout our stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely hotel right in the centre of town. Massive renovated room in a hotel that must been very glamorous back in the days. The breakfast room maintains some of that splendour. Staff were nice and they made no fuss about accommodating our bicycles in a secure room. Good value for money!

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: