Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Coq d'Or 2 stars

16-18 Boulevard Jules Ferry, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France

#13 of 25 hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three night stay vising friends in the area Friendly and efficient. Plenty of eateries around. Irish bar opposite has 2 hour happy hour with half price drinks. Breakfast at 9 euros ok but not much much else open so worth having. All in all a good choice. Will also book taxis if requested,40 euros to airport. Still cheaper than car hire!!.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast have lot space for improvement. The reception is not always available.

    The staff do not speak English. When I arrived the Hotel was closed an I had to call at the phone with difficulties because no one speaks English to wait for someone to come to open. Hair dryer and soap are not available in the bathroom. The breakfast consists only in beverage (coffee, milk, tea, chocolate), one croissant, bread, butter, jam, orange juice. No option for ham, cheese or other salted items or cakes. The Wi-Fi was enough for a slow browsing. Maybe in other rooms can be better. Nevertheless, even if the staff do not speak English they were trying to help and to talk with me. The location of the hotel is very good, close to the city center, and to the bus stop and the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A smell of drains in the bathroom!

    Hotel is basic but nice. The owner/manager is really friendly and speaks good English. Parking is in the public car park across the street - it's a little pricey but very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Stayed & reviewed many times, great friendly small hotel centrally located in Brive. The attached cafe has a lovely big tree providing a shady place to enjoy a drink and relax. Rooms are large for such a small building and are newly decorated in a style and character of the building. Effective air conditioning. Great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to think of anything especially at their room rate.

    Third stay this year, great value, friendly and very helpful staff. Small hotel has loads of character in centre of Brive ideal for touring the region or a few nights out in Brive. All rooms we stayed were family rooms with 2 bedrooms so lots of space for two. Air conditioning very effective.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the room charge & central location, it is hard to think of anything.

    A small hotel with character in a great location in the centre of Brive. Very friendly staff speaking excellent English who ensured our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Good value, clean rooms with good wifi coverage & effective air conditioning. Nice attached bar with tree shaded terrace. We stayed twice, a total of 5 nights, during 2 week holiday touring the other days. Get to know the parking costs which vary in the 2 big car parks very close, e.g. 2 hours free parking opposite was handy (& no charge 7pm - 9am). Shamrock bar across the road has the best happy hour offer (6-8pm), and serves lovely food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were sachets of shower gel and a soap dispenser in the shower, which was fine but a bar of soap on the basin would have been nice.

    It was a VERY hot and muggy night but the quiet aircon made our room perfectly comfortable. There was no lift but, for a one-night stay, carrying our own luggage to the third floor was no problem. The hotel and bedrooms were decorated with charm and character, the proprietor was friendly and helpful, and breakfast under the trees was a delightful start to the day. Extremely good value at €53.50 (inc taxe de séjour) + breakfast in June.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some may find parking an issue

    This is an old place no lift but full of character and friendly hosts. If you want right angle corners and characterless modern facilities you will hate it Me? I'm going back in June.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could do with an upgrade. Some of the tiles on the floor were cracked and loose, but the shower was excellent.

    Excellent value. Comfortable, clean and with everything one needs. Very friendly and helpful staff (who spoke English). They recommended a wonderful restaurant nearby for dinner. I loved the old furniture and proper, wooden, headboards on the beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was temperamental. Quite a lot of noise at night in the small back street.

    Convenient location. Car park across the street (but a bit expensive). Liked the bar terrace and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel didn't do gluten free breakfast so bought some fruit and yogurt in a nearby shop to eat in my room. - Not a significant issue for me. I needed a taxi to Brive airport. Hotel just gave me phone number. However, if I'd put 'taxi needed' when invited to note special requirements in advance of my stay staff might have been ready to make the call. The two guys on duty were clearly busy - and hey, they'd helped me with other things. I sorted the taxi but if I'd run into difficulties I think they'd have assisted me with that too.

    The hotel is quite near the train station and is on the edge of the old town centre so great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was able to use hotel facilities to print a flight boarding pass to avoid Ryanair fine. (I had notified hotel of this requirement in advance of my arrival). Also borrowed a Samsung charger from reception. Both were big plus points for me. Decor and fittings were dated but the air conditioning was great and TV worked. For the price - perfectly acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning needs looking at.

    It is a charmingly quaint and picturesque hotel - anyone wanting to experience the true old France would adore staying there. It lies on the edge of the medieval town of Brige - would have formed part of the old walls. Breakfast was served under the huge Mulberry tree in the front garden. There is a bar-tabac on the ground floor where you can meet the locals and enjoy an aperitif before heading out to one of the friendly local restaurants. I will definitely return some day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service friendly.excellent value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    garish linens, dark rooms, awful carpet.

    this is definitely s 2 star property, maybe 1 1/2. it's ok but that's all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    missed rhe notice that one couldn't check in on a monday until 5:30...their day off. it worked out

    nice big room, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness of shower

    Comfortable and clean bed at this budget priced hotel that has perhaps seen better days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is fine.

    Spacious and comfortable room. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served in Tabac bar which had a lingering smell of smoke.

    In the middle of the town with a lot of traffic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time on Monday is not till 7pm. This needs to be put on website.

    Nice old hotel. Good location. Helpful staff and good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clealiness could be better, but nothing to worry about.

    The staff is really friendly and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor marketing

    Far better than it looked from the outside

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good small hotel if you are travelling through. Friendly people, nice decoration, comfortable beds

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking available

    Spacious room (no.2), friendly and helpful staff, attached bar open all day

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, lots of character and charm. We felt very welcome and at home. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was excellent and easy to find and the staff were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very comfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was very weak.

    Excellent location and the owner is a very nice guy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking - not clear about where we could park for free.

    An original building, beautifully and sympathetically decorated. Although in the centre it was quiet. Air conditioning much appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was great and friendly. We stayed in the family room at the top. It was cozy and comfortable. Not a fancy hotel, but we loved it and the price was right!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very charming old place to stay, providing an excellent base for exploring the old part of town. Room was small but sweet and we needed to use the air conditioner.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness

    Good location close to historic centre

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly welcome, the staff are a lovely bunch of people

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, nice old-fashioned hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are small and the decoration and furniture are looking tired.

    Friendly and welcoming. Very good value for money. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    SA TERRASSE OMBRAGEE

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No lift so had to carry bags up the stairs

    Good stopover on our trip south.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful building, lots of character. Very friendly staff, great location. Nothing to criticise. A lovely town for a quick stop over.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old facilities

    Near railway

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location staff and room

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    quaint

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good welcome, nice quiet room - very French. Superb breakfast. Great central location.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a 8 am breakfast did not happen due to illness of the owner, we left without and left the key at the gate, everything ws closed

    location

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were extremely friendly hotel was just above a nice bar and had easy parking .easy walking to town.we will stay again

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Blankets instead of duvet

    Friendly welcome. Attractive room.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the bed was little!..

    not expensive

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and the decor of the hotel. The bath was a good size as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very comfortable and warm on a cold January trip.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: