Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Grand Cap 3 stars

173, avenue de la Plage, 06190 Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France

#23 of 31 hotels in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 768 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Affordable and nice. Very good location, clean and tidy, staff very helpful. Bus station and train station near the hotel. Bus nr 100 goes to Monaco, Nice and Nice airport, bus stop nearby the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location...for traveling into Monaco....without paying Monaco prices...lovely clean bright hotel room..the parking in the basement was a bit tricky but manageable ..the staff were friendly...only 5minutes walk to beach...the patissiere sold the most amazing croissants & french bread

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room.

    A place to lay our heads for the night. Staff moved us immediately when it was obvious it was a smokers room:( Parking on site--its super tight though:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me nothing could have been better. Had everything I needed.

    The hotel gave me the feeling of being at home. Staff always willing to be of help. Well-mannered and nice guests also played an important role. Ok, got to admit, breakfast is a little expensive but believe me it was well well well worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not available. Uncomfortable bathroom. Noisy bed. Price (we expected better services).

    Next to the beach. Breakfast ok. Kind staff, italian speaking. Big room (they gave us a triple room).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are so thin, you can hear everything next door. Didn't see any resto nearby.

    It's much cheaper than staying in Monaco but yet pretty close. The receptionist lady was so nice. She let us park free in the underground garage as we couldn't find parking anywhere near the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The hotel is very close to the beach, great restaurants, shops and bus stop to Menton, Monaco, Nice and airport. Train station is only 7 min walk. The room was very clean with a big balcony, good air conditioning and wi-fi. The pool was very nice. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and corridors are run down. No fridge in the room.

    Excellent location near beach and Cap Martin walk. 20 min from Montecarlo. Compared to other hotels around good value for money. Large room with private terrace. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I spoke in French (and my French isn't bad) the staff replied in English, which I think is quite rude. When I arrived they said they didn't have my booking, which is quite anxiety-creating as a welcome. Of course they did have it... Fridge and kettle in room with tea & coffee would have been good. The breakfast could have been included, rather than the extra 9 Euros, or whatever it was.

    Clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We used the pool and there were noisy horrible unsupervised children. Wifi reception was not great but everything else was excellent. Would stay there again and highly recommend it.

    Friendly staff, close to beach and cafes. Clean and nothing was ever any trouble.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited free parking places in front of the hotel. For underground parking you have to pay. Rooms are very small with almost no amenities. No refrigerator in the room which is not normal for a hotel during summer season. Wi-Fi is "available" only in description on booking.com page but the signal inside the rooms is so poor, that makes it useless at all. Tried several times to tell the personnel about that. Every time they said they will check, but no improvement at all. Frustrating. Only good thing is that some of the receptionists were kind and good willing. Price is too high for what this hotel is offering.

    Good location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel seems a bit run down, and so I've had better rooms at this price. But hey this is the Cote d'Azur!

    Great for motorbikers, as the underground parking is secure and included. I had a nice twin room, quite spacious, and with a balcony (with two chairs and a table). Although I came in late (22:00+) the people were friendly and helpful. I would book again without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like so many other reviews say, this location is somewhat off. This hotel is great, IF you have a car.

    - Efficient and non blowy AC - Free garage (They say its only for smalls, but would be able to fit a combi in there, but you need to know where your car is for that)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the sandy beach, room was small and clean, the breakfast was very nice, staff was very friendly, polite and helpful, the hotel offer undergrand parking, however the parking entry is just for small i medium cars

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having booked two rooms for four people (two adults and two children aged 8 & 13), I was surprised to be criticised when checking in for not having made a note on the booking asking for the two rooms to be located close together. I mean, even if I had grown up children, why would I want the two rooms on separate floors? To be fair the lady did eventually juggle things around to get the two rooms located on the same floor. Also, one of the two rooms had a bad smell coming from the bathroom.

    Well located for a visit to Monaco. Quite location. Close to train station. Close to beach - if you can call a 10 metre strip of large pebbles between the land and the sea, a beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - wifi signal very slow and bad - personal unkindly - parking hard too find - sound isolation - just french TV chanel - and much more ....

    - location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the parking - we decided not to after learning that the entrance is so tight you have to do a lot of manoeuvring to turn into it and then it's very narrow. In my mind, that's as bad as having no parking. I have to say that the receptionist was very helpful in finding some off-road parking nearby. A/C extremely noisy

    very comfy bed and nice quilt friendly reception near the sea front

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at reception spoke very little English and my French is very limited but she insisted on speaking French when I plainly didn't know what she was saying. This was country number twenty nine on my trip and it's the first time I have thought that I didn't get great service, although I wouldn't say she was rude she was definitely not the most welcoming host.

    The hotel was OK and the room was clean. Everything worked as it should. There is also a pool to use a short walk away in an adjoining complex.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground parking garage was horrible - extremely difficult to get in/out because of a narrowness and sharp angles. Architect must have been an imbecile.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An error over our booking showed that we did not have a room booked the day before travel but on arrival we had two rooms booked!

    A basic, clean hotel with zircon that suited our needs-we only required somewhere to sleep and it is very close to the beach and town centre

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, no place to put the shampoo and gel, doors broken, sink technica issue . .

    Situation and friendly people

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very simple hotel staff not super nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the beach lovely walkways along the shore line

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very nice and clean. The rooms are quite big and comfortable. Recommended for families.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view of car park from window.

    Garage provided F.O.C. for my motorcycle which was a bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking lots not always available

    come back soom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find a car parking place, we had to leave it in another street 1 km away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise and loud neighbors

    Cosy and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready even if we were there at checkin time -not earlier. And waited for the room about half hour without any excuse

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Decent standard for the price. Reception staff very helpful. Free secure underground parking for my motorcycle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms smelled of smoke

    Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Perfect for a cheap night fir those who can't afford to stay in Monaco (9 mins train journey).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls. You could hear everything

    Large rooms and bathrooms. Comfy beds and everything very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing for a so short stay.

    The room. The balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to locate even with a GPS.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionistes were very kind

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bed. Cool room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful, beautiful location...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    deceiving info about the pool and parking garage

    staff was helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff, close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection with too weak

    Short walk to the beach on a quiet side street, well manicured and lots of green. And covered secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for the money 100m from the beach Very clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Great location, staff friendly and helpful and wi-fi good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our friends travelling with us found a reception staff member very rude and unwelcoming but I found the same person quite helpful.

    Location close to beach and railway station for travel into Monaco. Good quiet room with balcony. Attractive locality.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to the train and the beach. Great value for the money. We also had the breakfast, which was well worth it.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and bathroom were very small. The bed took up most of the space in the bedroom.

    Excellent staff. Friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, rooms very clean and bed comfortable. Great to have parking facilities. Great location for the beach and train station. There are some good restaurants and bars within a short walk. There were no problems with noise.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Hotel is near the beach and the sea. The place is good to reach Montecarlo by taxi. The staff was available to receive us at 9 pm. The rooms were very nice, with sea view and balcony.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - easily reachable by car, but a bit more difficult by bus / train (yet not unfeasible)

    + clean, spacious rooms + helpful staff, we were offered free parking space in the garage + comprehensive breakfast, above French standards; a bit pricey, but worthy + good value for money, if you want to spare some to spend in Monaco

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing that could be better is the wifi, which is on the slow side. Cannot tell you about the breakfast, as I had booked without.

    Great value, excellent staff, clean large room, pretty much everything is great!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Acessing the underground parking is a nightmare. Rooms are not well sound isolated from neighbour rooms.

    Reasonable hotel with friendly service people. The area is a little bit dense populated but its not far from the beach and restaurants. For a few days staying it's great.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful and friendly but only one member spoke sufficient enough English. The room next door were smoking even though it was prohibited

    Very close to the local beach and shops, helpful staff and good room rates.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Swimmingpool is dirty and situated a 5 min walk from the hotel at a residence appartment block -Absolute no value for money, but cheap for the region (€ 89 / 2 personsroom)

    -"Cheapest" hotel near Monaco

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great time here with no complaints.

    I found the staff to be very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and places to visit. The location is right near the beach, small supermarche and boulangerie. Simple Hotel, with a pool (didn't use it due to being so close to beach) and breakfast if required.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2 minutes walking to the beach. 10 minutes from Monaco with car. Ladyes at the reception were friendly. For that price, its the best choice! No noises, you can sleep well.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool is closed between 1pm - 3pm and you must get a seperate key to enter the apartment building next door to access the pool. This was easy once shown, just not explained on website. Staff were friendly enough but their English wasn't the best.

    Close to beach and a coastal walk. Pool. Cleanliness of room. Our room had a balcony with table and 2 chairs. The room had a clothes rack for wet/damp clothes. Nice air con rooms

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would have made it perfect.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, comfy beds, excellent location, would recommend as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ten minute walk to rail station and Monaco only 2 stops away.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small.

    Clean room, nice receptionist (speaks english), free parking in the streets around, 500m from the beach.More that we've expected for this price in Cap Martin.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The so called swimming pool was a disaster. Dont even bother going there. Breakfast was only bread of different kinds, not a veggie as far as the eyes could reach. Kindergarden next door with very very loud children.

    The staff was nice. Talking alot on the phone so we had to wait for service.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't like how is the hotel presented on booking website - all levels of the rooms are the same, bad pictures. Noise from corridors, the elevator, very poor sound isolation. Bad information on website.

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Do not get the rooms above reception they stink of smoke. No real hotel welcome, nothing to tell you what services they had....never found the pool. Late arriving guests locked out of the hotel at 11 pm

    Close to the train station, only 4 euros to Monaco return from Carnoles!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware: Try to book a room which is not close to the elevator! The noise doesnt stop during the day & night!

    Very comfort double bed & pillows (of course we payed extra for the comfort room that we asked during our stay)

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They did not give us the WIFI passwords when we checked in. When we returned from dinner the desk was not manned, so we never had access.

    Friendly staff. Welcomed our dog. Nice breakfast - even made us an omelet. Underground parking was easy. Would stay there again

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having where to park and not helping, just sayed "on the street"

    Big room, big bathroom

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    agreable

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from city Hard to find restaurants.

    Friendly staff Free parking Near train station

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no hotel parking and public parking not so close to reception.

    location and rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, location.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was not available in the room.

    Very close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Door slamming guest. (Not the hotel's fault.)

    Good breakfast. Close enough to Monaco.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Parking

    Near of all different story places to visit

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi doesnt work in the room

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: