Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel & Spa NUXE Serre Chevalier 4 stars

Place du Téléphérique, 05330 Saint-Chaffrey, France

#2 of 11 hotels in Saint-Chaffrey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    Fabulous location but a very poor hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the reception staff informed us that they had a private function and that the bar and restaurant were not available to us. It was the last day of the season and there were NO other facilities in the area.I feel very strongly that the hotel should not have accepted bookings for that date. The hotel was closing for the season the following day!!! The room was exceptionally small we tried to change to a larger room but this was not recommended as the bigger room was near the wedding party. Very dissatisfied with the overall experience. Breakfast the following morning was chaotic. No tables were cleared there was no cutlery and the staff were unhelpful.

    It is a beautiful location and the views are spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked a/c and room climate control was sub optimal. However the cool mountain air was great in the summer.

    Incredibly helpful staff. We messed up the dates if iyr reservation but canged it wuth no charge and even upgraded our room. Excellent breakfast and fantastic facilities. They provided tennis racquets and balls gratis for us. The site states that therejis a charge fkr the spa but all was free and open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door a bit rickety and doesn’t exactly make bathroom private. Would be good if hotel guests had a little priority for spa booking or were notified that therapies almost fully booked so could be booked in advance.

    Staff exceeded expectations. So helpful and friendly. Location great. Nicely appointed hotel. Spa was also nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    The location is unbeatable, we were across the street from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not appreciate that the water temperature in the shower is blocked at 38°. When I first complained about the lack of hot water I was told a technician would look into it. The next day I realized that the temperature was blocked. When I inquired at reception I was told that allowing for hotter showers would set off the fire alarm. The bedside lamps are not made for reading. The two bedside light switches control both bedside lamps, impossible to only have one on. There is no waste basket in the room. A 160cm bed is two single beds made as one. The ground floor rooms are cold stone tiles and there is no bedside mat when getting out of the bed. I was told they would send an extra bathmat. They did not. The phone in the room did not work. There was no television reception for more than 24hrs. No note of apology from the hotel. (it was the week of the olympics) Some of the staff had a tendency to imply I did not know what I was talking about. I ordered something at the bar that was not what I expected. I was told yes it was and the person got the menu to prove it and she realized there was a mistake on the menu. The hotel took care of my lift tickets and I needed a special coupon to ski elsewhere one day and the paper the hotel provided did not work as the coupon even though the staff insisted it did. It did not. In their defense I was the first guest to want to ski elsewhere and they were not aware of this problem. Lastly the spa is not included in the price of the room. Guests must pay 10€ extra. I think if you come for 7 nights it should include one free entry, especially considering I paid 320€/night.

    The location is unbeatable, we were across the street from the ski lift. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could do with a little more training. The hotel isn’t particularly good value for money as it is expensive to drink and eat there in comparison to other bars and restaurants in the area. We returned to Serre Chevalier for a good value for money holiday which it is well known for but this hotel, in my opinion, is trying to be too upmarket.

    Great location for skiing. Good facilities. Very clean and really nice breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel in a pretty resort with direct access to an excellent ski area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com it stated that their was a kettle in the room. It was in fact a coffee machine and a kettle would have been preferable. We don't like open wardrobe space and prefer a door. I know this is a modern trend but we find it untidy. We would have liked to try the spa but felt that 15 Euros per person was expensive considering the fact that we were guests and the facilities were limited.

    The hotel decor is trendy and it has an attractive sun terrace. The bathroom was well equipped with a super power shower. The bed was also large and comfortable and we liked the views from our balcony. Location wise it was well situated for access to the piste and ski lifts. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was also useful to have a ski shop located within the hotel complex.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Great cosy hotel for family & couple stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - spa visit not included in the hotel price (10 EUR per person per each visit) - we were not warned about the small size of the room before the booking (we would be charged by booking already when we received the communication from hotel) - local bar is quite expensive (at least twice as expensive as all bars on the slope & around)

    Great location, awesome & helpful staff, amazing surroundings, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable - great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the dinner - the food was not as good as we had hoped it would be compared to the rest of the hotel.

    The decor looked new and was very stylish, clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedrooms roomy with a great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Very comfortable. The room is a bit small but it is very functional. We were 2 and had no problem with the room. We went to serre chevalier for velo tourism and were quite happy to discover this hotel has the perfect ammenities for such activities although not advertised on booking. Car parking is free in the summer and there is an underground garrage that is used for bike storage. It's very safe and handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    The Grand is grand again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have varied the breakfast offer a bit more. Stayed for 3 days and everything was the same. High quality, but should I stay for a week I would like some more variation.

    Everything was perfect. The newly renovated very stylish hotel, the de luxe room, the breakfast, the manager, the rest of the Staff, the Spa, the bar, the kitchen and the sun terrace with outdoor swimmingpool!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and cramped. There were some silly design issues such as both bed side lights had to be on at the same time. The basin did not have a plug (not designed to have a plug rather than the plus was missing) and that meant that I had to wash using running water - such a waste. There was a separate loo from the bathroom which made the washing facilities even more tight for space. We only had breakfast in the hotel (dinner was too expensive) and I found that OK but not much available if you can't eat dairy products or wheat. This is not unusual but it was a bore.

    The staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. The bed was really comfortable and the location of the hotel is brilliant - just opposite the main ski lift. The hotel's ski and boot room is really convenient. The shower in the bathroom was great - one of the best that I have experienced in a hotel. I would stay again because of the good points.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Good quality hotel with good access and parking. Very convienent for skiing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very hot on first night and some decoration was ongoing

    Staff very freindly and helpful, free parking at the hotel and very close to the ski station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location for skiing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure dropped to almost nothing at peak times when the hotel was full.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    It was amazing, friendly staff and excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded us for free to a bigger room so we were very happy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Location, spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning room not timely: two days in a row coming back from ski in the afternoon with room not ready

    Location, spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with super friendly Staff and location next to slopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice rooms byt way too small

    Super friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No much wrong with the hotel.

    High standard of fit out. Location: in the centre of the village. Restaurant: quality and value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    we would not go back or recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on a very busy noisy road. room was small and noisy

    the restaurant food and staff were very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient to the chairlift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to the chairlift. Rooms are modern and clean. Staff are very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable, nicely designed hotel with wonderful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Very well-designed hotel, clean, well-situated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    The spa was quite disappointing, small and without ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was quite disappointing, small and without ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Ski test business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Classic Room - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For business clients, is better to have 2 single beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    A ski paradise right outside my balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room- Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A ski paradise right outside my balcony. Truly beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: