Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Large 3 stars

1 rue Dalbarade, 64200 Biarritz, France

#26 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1639 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    The location and the amazing ocean view from the balcony are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air-conditioning or even a fan seriously ruined our holiday. It is my fault that I did not double-check that it exists, as I thought is obvious, unfortunately booked the holiday in the winter so the reviews did not say. It was extremely humid in the afternoons and evenings, and we could only sleep with the balcony door open. You can hear the noise from the bars until 1-2am. The breakfast is not worth 11 euros per person, very limited choices and did not taste good. The swimming pool is 2 metres deep everywhere. Would be great for swimming if it would not encourage all the children to keep jumping into it constantly. Not a relaxing experience at all.

    The location and the amazing ocean view from the balcony are best features of this place. The kitchenette is really well stocked to make a few easy evening snacks/breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful View, shame about the Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to breakfast at 9.15 am, breakfast is until 10.00 am, every table was dirty with crockery still on it, there were no cups and no eggs and hardly much else. When we asked for eggs we were told that they had finished!! I pointed out that is was now only 9.20 am!! We eventually got a cold boiled egg but no scrambled! Breakfast is 11 euro’s each!!!

    Reception were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.5
    Very overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why does this place get such good reviews. Very overpriced given the lack of AC, dowdy old fashioned decor in poor repair, tiny cramped spaces, v inefficient shower etc

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great beach hotel despite no AC or fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C or fan. Would be tough in hotter months. Even a small box fan per room would be an easy cheap option.

    Beautiful, clean, deep, heated pool. So relaxing. Big balcony with sea view and table and chairs. Enough space to share for 2. Comfy bed, Room serviced daily, was not expecting that for a studio rental. Catch the free navette to Milady beach up the road a couple of k's for a clean sandy beach. (or 20min walk). Main town beach a bit crowded and dirty. Beach opposite Cote des Basques lovely but only available low tide plus very long walk down and back up. Loved Biarritz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, close to everything we wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, close to everything we wanted to experience and with amazing views. The pool area was really good with the kids, and the studio space was perfect for a family of four. The price was also very reasonable in comparison to other sea view/good location properties I researched at the time of booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Biarritz for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been more clean, no air-conditioning, low water pressure in the shower

    Spacy rooms, great views from the window, nice staff, good location close to beaches and bars/restaurants, swimming pool on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but in June this wasn’t a problem as much cooler in the evenings.

    Perfect for our weekend visit . Location is excellent, hotel is clean and friendly .Sea view rooms overlook the beach Cote de Basque. I would pick this hotel again without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Biaritz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The studio apartment was really well designed, with attractive decor, plenty of space and well equipped for self catering. The location was also excellent, close to the market, restaurants and the promenade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The use of kitchen facilities, saved us a lot of money on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of kitchen facilities, saved us a lot of money on eating out. The pool was great, heated so could use at any time (as we didn’t have great weather). Location was perfect, 2 minute walk away to main shops and restaurants. Would definitely visit again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic view of the sea from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow! Noisy with the motorcycles going by late in to the night with the wheels and waves festival.

    Fantastic view of the sea from our balcony. Clean crisp white cotton sheets. Comfortable studio.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet did not work properly, having to open the box and move so the water stops flowing. The bathroom was very small and the shower did not work properly, too, leaving little water and no pressure at all. In the place where the breakfast was served, the windows needed to be cleaned. And the floor of the room could be in a better condition. Maybe because of these small details and because we didn't use the swimming pool or the kitchen, the price was too much for what we had. Otherwise, we could go back to spend more time if we needed a place with a kitchen, a swimming pool and that was near everything.

    The hotel is located in a great place, in the top of the hill with a view over the city and the sea. It's near two beaches, some touristic spots and a pedestrian path by the seaside with wonderful views that leads you to the main beach and city center. The private parking is very good. Our bedroom had a beautiful view over the city and the sea, and we could see the lighthouse emitting light in the night. The breakfast was good, but expensive. The room was cosy and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing view, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel in the middle of the city. We got the room in the higher floor with city view and this was amazing. Room itself was very spacious and good equipped. Comfortable beds, fast wifi, big balcony with city and sea view. Big parking lot with enough big space for cars is rare in France. Personal was very friendly and helpful. We arrived few hours before real check-in time but despite this we got our room immediately. Hotels location is very good. Everything within 5-10 minutes walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Dissappointed as to swimming pool repairs..we were not informed prior to us arriving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked tbis place mainly to relax by the pool as our children swam ..only to be told when we arrived and paid that the pool was under repairs due to water filter issues ...

    Great view from balcony over looking sea ..well equiped kitchette.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great views and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing stay! I still cant believe the views we had from our room (the rooms in the building across the road) staff were great and the restaurant was lovely too! Room is spacious and bed comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    After 2 days flying was a blessing to fall into a clean and ...
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent Revitalising beautiful quiet

    After 2 days flying was a blessing to fall into a clean and comfortable bed to refresh before my next stage my Camino Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic find for a mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really surprised at how much value for money this hotel is. Our room was really comfortable, amazing view of the sea, clean and well furnished. Staff are charming, heated pool, great location for a good price. We would definitely go back. Children loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    One of the most beautiful stays we had in this region!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the most beautiful stays we had in this region! We had a great big room with the ocean view...priceless! The room was very comfortable and clean, with all the amenities and the staff was polite and spoke good English. Loved it there!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location and accommodation suitable for family with children!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't try the breakfast as we had late inertia the night before and we were too tired after our flight to wake up for it. Nothing to say negative about this place.

    We really enjoyed staying at this hotel where we used the studio type rooms. The location is perfect just a short walk to main attractions- Aquarium, market, sea front promenade, centre of the town. We were offered a top floor room 604 which had lovely views to the sea and pool. The pool was not in use bring winter but it was still full with water and lovely lighten up at night. Bus 14 from airport is just over 5min walk. This place I think is amazing in warm season specially if you get the rooms with sea view and vanish the pool. They said weather is even in November 30 degrees. I will definitely return to this hotel any time we come to Biarritz again. We were really impressed with this town and enjoyed the lovely French cuisine! Marvellous!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay, even for one night, convenience in the room and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key card for the room did not work! Oh well.

    Room 810 was superb, and we were able to cook some food too for the kids. The bunkbeds were suitable for our kids. The view was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Impressive views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have booked non-smoking room and believe that all are such, however we felt some smoke smell in the room. The receptionist said sorry (that some guests do not obey the rules) but was not unable to change the room because the hotel was full. For one time I believe them and do not attempt to downgrade the score.

    Impressive views from the balconies. Smooth check-in. Comfortable beds. Walking distance to the city centre and very close to one nice street with a few cute restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Beds were very comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room decor is a bit outdated and the walls could use a refresher coat of paint.

    Beds were very comfortable; the bunk beds for kids were a hit; great location; the heated pool was a huge hit!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Tres agreable, comme d'habitude ;))
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have never eaten there so I can't say anything about the breakfast and the restaurant.

    I go there for the last 4 years now and we request the same room with our favorite view each time and it has never been a problem. The outdoor swimming pool is heated and family friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    The studio room and kitchen was perfect for family with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No early check-in despite request. 2. Room was not cleaned and made despite hanging a note on the door.

    The studio room and kitchen was perfect for family with kids.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    nice room averall, view OK, service good, parking easy and...
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not properly ready on time, lots of noise from delivery vans early morning.

    nice room averall, view OK, service good, parking easy and reasonable, lovely swimmingpool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Hotel was excellent although a good walk from the town up hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to speak of

    Staff were excellent, my car broke down and they were a great help with phone calls, arranging taxis etc, nothing to much trouble. Pool was great and the view from our room too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    The studio had a fantastic view of the ocean, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door handle on the balcony door and a bed light were broken, which they said they would fix but no repairs were done. They did not clean the studio one day (out of 4 days).

    The studio had a fantastic view of the ocean, and the location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay in pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel was extremely hot. No air conditioning, so we kept the balcony doors open at night, but there was a lot of noise from mopeds during the night so we didn’t sleep great. One of our balcony doors had a temperamental lock which didn’t always work.

    Great location for exploring Biarritz, pleasant room with bunk beds for kids, well stocked kitchenette. The pool was amazing, heated to 30 degrees and we swam in it every day no matter the weather. Didn’t use the restaurant so can’t comment. Staff friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location and swimming pool !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double room and were given a twin single and were not permitted to change. Room was very hot with central heating that could not be turned down.

    Hotel has very good facilities, nice large rooms, heated swimming pool was great and very well located close to town and the beaches

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money, had a great time despite the weather. Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was adequate but a bit expensive. Would have liked a kettle in the room as not everyone drinks coffee.

    Good location - very close on foot to restaurants sea front etc. Helpful and friendly staff. Nice pool with good views. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Biaritz is a lovely place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed to be updated as they were looking a little old and tired and the hallways leading to the rooms need to look more inviting as it felt institutional and a timer needs to switch the hallway lights on at night as it is very dark when you come out of the lift heading to your room

    Location was perfect and the view from the balcony wa lovely for a short stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    the hotel is very well situated with sea view and uphill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    one little thing. the apartment did not have a kettle. I enquired and they said you have to use the saucepan, which is not a big deal but not practical.

    the hotel is very well situated with sea view and uphill from the centre. it is a 10 minutes walk to the grand plage and the casino. the restaurant of the hotel is particularly good. The menu changes everyday and it is good quality food and good value compared to your average restaurant in Biarritz

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Brilliant location and well worth a visit if you want a relaxing, chilled break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is continental but limited in choice, it would have been nice to have had more of a selection.

    Perfect location for exploring the town and the beautiful coastline. Just across the road you can see the beach with the surfers tackling the waves and the amazing sandy shores. There is a lovely hilly walk into town and lots of different bars and restaurants to stop for a rest ! The Aquarium is 10 mins walk and is worth a visit, lots to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Unfortunately small things ruined otherwise pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We made the reservation quite late, so we had to pay it in advance. The French way to tell the price without tax is a little annoying, but it was REALLY annoying to pay the tax twice, second time in the hotel. It isn't a large sum, but in principle it's wrong. We asked in the restaurant if the breakfast was included and a very friendly young man said yes, yes, but when we checked out, we had to pay 11€ for every quite a moderate meal! Small things, but enough that we will never return.

    The room was neat, nothing fancy, but good enough for the price. Location was great. Lovely town and seemingly friendly personnel, but unfortunately you could not trust them. I don't know, if it was because of the lack of language skills or if they were told to get a little more sales by telling that more was included than really was.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, close to restaurants, shops and the beach.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, close to restaurants, shops and the beach. Gorgeous view of the coast. Fantastic food in the restaurant. Secure parking. Comfy apartments.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like X

    Loved, loved, loved it. Friendly and helpful staff. Super room with an amazing view. Definitely recommend to friends and family X

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Loved Biarritz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry facilities could be improved

    Everything! Friendly and helpful staff, location and best of all was our view of the amazing Atlantic Ocean ❤️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel went out of their way to get us a high floor apartment, which was really appreciated. We loved this place. Stayed an extra night here as we felt so chilled and relaxed here! The views are amazing and bed is heaven.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the room was not ready for 4 people as requested and the sheets were put on top of the bed. the children bed were not done, had too much dust and human hairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Fab place to stay with children, great location. Bring a fan as no air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bunk beds a bit creaky. No air conditioning so it was warm at night, but could not leave the windows open due to occasional street noise.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed the first experience of Biarritz and look forward to returning one day.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier access to the room as 4pm seems rather late in the day. We were at the location earlier but they did allow us to park. Booking the parking space beforehand is a must in Biarritz

    Location to the town was perfect only one street away however to the front view of the bay and watched a beautiful sunset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Terrific hotel - we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish that pool was accessible via basement and not via reception. Coffee filters would have been a bonus.

    Modern hotel in fantastic location, close to beach and town. Cleverly designed family studios with a balcony. View was incredible and kids loved the pool. Restaurants & beach- 5 mins walk. Accessible by number 10 bus from train station to Helianthe stop for 1 euro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Great amenities in the room and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't sleep well without air conditioning. Even with all the outside doors open it was too warm to sleep and the noise from outside was very loud. I realise nothing can be done about this. Our fault for not choosing a place with air conditioning.

    So spacious but the location and view were the best

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location and friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con or ceiling fan in the room - the night we stayed was quiet humid/hot so we slept with the balcony doors open, however the bunk bed area is tucked away and was hard to get any breeze or air to so it was a bit stuffy. Lovely hotel but this would make me think twice about staying in the future during hot months for a longer period of time. Maybe a couple of small fans in the room could easily solve this - I confess we didn't ask if reception had any, the situation was not that bad and we were only staying the one night.

    Nice hotel over 8 floors, modern public areas with friendly helpful English speaking staff. Studio for 4 people was spacious, very clean and the beds very comfortable. Kitchenette was well equipped with cutlery/crockery etc and the toilet was separate from the bathroom. Large balcony and our 7th floor room had great views over the town and out to sea. A short walk downhill to the shops and seafront. Onsite parking needs to be prebooked, the spaces are large and secure with a barrier entry. Didn't use the outdoor swimming pool but the area looked well kept and clean with an ample amount of loungers. The room was quiet and had an inner door after the front door which was helpful in keeping any corridor noise to a minimum, especially when travelling with a dog. Pet friendly with an outside area set aside for dogs 'business'. The rooms don't have air conditioning or fans.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful location, great to be able to have breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, great to be able to have breakfast downstairs and wxcellent parking. We only stayed here for 2 nights and were bery sorry we were not staying longer. We stayed in a studio flat and I expected it to be very tiny. It wasn't big but much bigger than we expected. The layout with separate room for chilsren works really well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Loved it!! Any weather fantastic town to be in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure for shower poor and on/off heat

    Didn't have breakfast so no comment. Location great and 8th floor/top level/ amazing view. Balcony also great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel with amazing ocean views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have a kettle, which was a pity, since we love having tea.

    Amazing view from the balcony, the family room is perfectly schemed, you couldn't design the space better. Everything is there for the perfect vacation, plenty of soft towels, great toiletries. We could even cook in our little studio apartment, a great bonus for a family with kids. Also the location was totally convenient, just a few minutes away from the beach. We will be coming back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    The location is excellent, right above the Cote Basques...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Reception staff were quite variable - some very helpful, others quite disinterested. The place is not perfectly maintained - bit of paint required here and there, but the kitchenette was well stocked and there was a daily cleaning service, even providing tea towels and washing up liquid.

    The location is excellent, right above the Cote Basques beach, and with a really easy walk to the Grande Plage and the Port Vieux, aquarium, rock of the virgin, and lots of nearby cafes, bars and restaurants. The pool is a real bonus, especially when travelling with children. There is also a summer kids' club which was a very good surprise! They do crafts, games, watching DVDs, playing table tennis, and so on. It was good for the children to meet other children in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved Biarritz and our accommodation was laid back and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above depth of pool.

    I loved the location and the sea views. We loved the pool the only drawback was the depth of the pool - no shallow part, the shallowest part was up to my neck.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Room and bed comfy, great helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise was very loud at night and as there was no air conditioning had to have door open to let breeze in.

    Staff were very helpful in helping me contact airlines in regards to my missing luggage. Sea view from room was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    6 euros to park the car inside the hotel and not willing to let you leave the car after check out. (they would if you could go back to the hotel at 2pm to see if there's still spaces available..) 180euros per night and no tea, bottle of water in room. No hair conditioner. Only a tiny bottle of shower and shampoo. The room and the hotel are dated and could do with a refurb. I called with an ETA a day earlier and also in the morning before heading to Biarritz. We showed up at 2pm but the room was not ready.. at 3pm.. still not ready.. 3.30pm.. nothing... we only got it at 4pm (normal check-in time)..

    The hotel is in a great location, easy walk down the beach and the town center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My kids had a bunk bed and the top bunk was not very comfortable. Creeked alot when he moved.

    Fantastic view of the beach from 8th floor. Pool area lovely, relaxing, clean, well maintained and comfy sun loungers. Good value as convenient to beach and town. We did not eat in the hotel as lovely resturants down town. Bought food from supermarket for breakfast as had a small kitchen. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Ideal for family of four
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu wasn't appealing to us. More varied menu would have suited us better. Breakfast was disappointing. Expensive and poor selection of food and drinks. Location compensated for this. Supermarket, bakeries and lots of restaurants close by.

    Great location. Really close to beach and town centre. Room basic but clean and ideal for family of four to stay comfortably for a week. Lovely view from balcony. Pool was great for kids and never too crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    First of all - Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff spoke only French, which was a bit difficult sometimes. However, some of the other guests offered to help with translation :-)

    First of all - Great location!! close to the city centre and the beach. Lovely view over the sea from the balcony. clean appartment with all the facilities and a great pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay with lovely ocean views. Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More food variety with breakfast. Noisy road as couldn't close shutters fully as the room was too hot

    The reception staff were amazing and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    breakfast was delicious, personnel attentive and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the pool had a shallow end so kids could play in the water.

    breakfast was delicious, personnel attentive and the room clean with a well-stocked kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Great family accommodation, walking distance to beaches, restaurants and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My granddaughter was bitten by bed bugs in her bunkGre

    The room was airy and beautifully decorated, and had a glorious view of the ocean from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Surprisingly cost efficient for all the included amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprisingly cost efficient for all the included amenities and comfort of the room in the hip less-touristy hill-side of Biarritz. We stayed during the Bastille Day celebrations and watched the fireworks from our room. A little uphill walking sometimes, but manageable - all important sites or things to do within 5-15 minutes walking. Great access to all three beaches - important because the main beach is usually really crowded. Parking was SUPER convenient, right outside the building on the private lot with an access code gate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Good holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovated pool area, compact and sunny! Best location next to Cote de Basque, surf beach and just a few steps to city centre and Port Vieux. Kitchen in the room with was well equipped!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a lick of paint in the rooms was starting to look 'tired'. However everything worked ok and was a good size for an apartment. Bit cheeky though, charging extra to lock up bikes in their garage - they didn't require a parking space (just a secure space) but it seemed another opportunity for the hotel to get extra income. Its always annoying when hotels charge unexpected costs on top of an already pricey room..

    Good self catering accommodation in great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Perfect familymholidaymhome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely view of the sourcing beach. Close to everything. Kitchen fully stocked . Balcony. Rolling shutter allowed us to leave the sliding door open all night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Vibrant place, beautiful people!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab location, great views from balcony of room, breakfast excellent value, staff all helpful and friendly. Local bars and restaurants on Rue Gambetta great food, great fun!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice swimming pool :) Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compared to many other cities and countries, check-in time is rather late, only after 4 pm. But this seems to be the general check-in time for many hotels in Biarritz.

    Nice swimming pool :) Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Everything fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missing air conditioning can be a problem when it gets really hot. Auto log-off of Wifi. You had to log in again every other hour.

    Nice room, nice view, good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Kitchenette in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was fine ,I may have liked a higher floor for the bedroom but it was good enough.

    Kitchenette in rooms. Good Wi fi, Location, Access to English speaking TV, Heated Pool was quite deep and long enough for you to have a decent swim in . Breakfast in the hotel on the first morning was good with plenty of choice .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Smart, modern hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was set up for disabled visitors and had a hospital feel to it!

    The hotel was in a very good location for easy access to the town centre, restaurants, as well as the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    A perfect location from where to enjoy Biarritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I cannot think of anything that was wrong with this Hotel.

    I particularly liked the attitude of staff, always pleasant and helpful. The cleaning staff were exceptional leaving the entire building spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Biarritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking felt a little tight, but our car is quite big, only a tiny issue.

    The staff really are quite excellent, views from the room were just brilliant overlooking the clay & beaches. The room has everything you need especially when travelling with a small child, well done Le Grand Large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Always a pleasure to stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extremely noisy fresh orange juice squeezer in the breakfast room, suggest it be replaced with a quieter and more user friendly device

    All the staff are very pleasant and friendly, the rooms are spacious and comfortable with a tremendous view over the Bay. Evening meal and breakfast very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Centrally located, very clean and comfortable room. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Self contained unit with a terrace so we could enjoy the view towards the lighthouse. Very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent wifi, reserved onsite parking for small cost. Very close to city centre and restaurants. Easy walking along the coast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    A bit of off-season luxury!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a little tired. Electric kettle would've been welcome. Paying extra for parking a bit mean esp. off season (non-payant on all the surrounding streets).

    View (top floor) more than lived up to the name. Friendly welcome on arrival including for our dog. 2 minute walk to nearest boulangerie, 5 to trendy les halles area for eating and less than 10 to beach. Mostly enclosed grounds (surprisingly large for town centre) good for dog walking. Cleverly designed family room giving separate space for adults & kids.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    In the heart of town, no fuss, service with a smile.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 mins. from the town centre's best areas. The buffet breakfast is copious and good value for money, but be down before 9 a.m. to get the best of the croissants and pains au chocolat.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic views of the beach from our 8th floor studio. loved the decor, quite quirky with a seaside theme. Great location for the beach, short walk down into town passing lots of cafes and restaurants with a Carrefour Express 5 minutes away. friendly, helpful reception staff, would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.8
    Beautiful Biarritz - not so nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet room but we were given a room next to the lift so we could here the winding gear and the doors opening and closing day and night. The room had a small second bedroom with two bunk beds - we had to keep the door closed as a strong smell of drains or something equally unpleasant came out of that room on the 7th floor. Glad we did not have young children with us. The lady on reception when we arrived was unfriendly and rude. Loved Biarritz but would not stay here again.

    The view over Biarritz towards the light house was stunning. Car parking on site (chargeable). Comfortable large double bed. Easy to walk to town centre and beaches from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.6
    THE CLEANING OF THE ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    THE CLEANING OF THE ROOM. And at the reception at the desk do not see when you come in out .No reply hello our have and goog day. Only for the French tour people have and good day and goodbye. And not helpful. When you tell them you need new towel in the room are the room is not clean special the shower. And the kitchen sink. And the cleaner put new sheet on the bed once and week. Having to pay 2489., the hotel need to have better service and the room more up to date. THE WALL NEED TO BE PAINTED THEN ARE VERY DIRTY AND THE COUCH NEED AND NEW MAKE OVER. AND THE WINDOW TO THE BALCONY NEED TO BE CLEAN IN AND OUT. AND WHEN YOU COME FOR THE FIRST TIME SHE SHOULD SHOW YOU WHAT THE HOTEL HAD TO OFFER. LIKE THE BAR WERE THE WASH KITCHEN IS AND HOW MUCH IT COOST. I butabout10.00euro in the dry and my clothes were still not dry. And the washer maschine.not clean in side our out. And should be explain how to us the maschine in every language and sign up. But would come back to the wonder city and the people in French very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Pay before you stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i booked it said you pay hotel on arrival in local currancy when we arrived i discovered they had taken the money the day i booked the hotel on my english card and i was going to pay them in euro notes.the hotel should not take your money before your arrival date.

    nice hotel pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: