Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Paris

19, boulevard Thiers, 04000 Digne-les-Bains, France

#5 of 14 hotels in Digne-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old fashioned hotel, wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower cubicle leaked, so a puddle on the floor each morning.

    The green tomato and lemon jam at breakfast was a first, accompanied by other home made preserves. Good bread. Our dinner 'gourmand' was beautiful. Inventive combinations, beautifully presented and nicely served in a proper dining room. All the staff were happy to try to speak English, all were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Interesting, historical building- very welcoming !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was on offer for 19 Euros, which - given the evening menus available - was likely to be a generous spread of food. But it's expensive if that's the only option. Sadly we were short of time so didn't stay. . Perhaps offer a smaller,cheaper option as well?

    Interesting, historical building - we were offfered a choice of rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good stopover location en route south.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Good stopping off place in the middle of the city and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive menu but actually staff very accommodating when we only wanted 2 courses

    Very nice room with outside roof top Good bed and all very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    Excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed and brick- like pillows. No air conditioning. Rather drab decor, dingy corridors.

    Very traditional, old fashioned hotel, everything rather formal and correct. However the staff were very helpful and attentive. The restaurant is excellent, high quality French cuisine and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Dated grandeur
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has a dated classic charm, yet modern rooms. Also available are upgrades to a classic suite with silk fabric wallove rings. Staff are excellent and the restaurant offers classic regional dishes in a lovely environment for such a small town. Owners have retained an active presence, and it shows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel - glad we stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real dislikes but breakfast was an extra 12 euros which is a bit expensive, especially if you just wanted a coffee and a croissant.

    Very comfortable and spacious bedroom with excellent en-suite facilities. Lovely seating area in front of the hotel with soft lighting and tree canopy. Staff friendly and really helpful. Also centrally located with car park directly opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    The overall atmosphere and warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall atmosphere and warm welcome. Excellent food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Dinner was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was fabulous. A little high in price but it was well worth it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned and room not worth the price

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    The dinner was excelent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower top was not clean

    The dinner was excelent !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    10
    This is a gem of an old but updated small hotel in a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing to note is there is no elevator, staff carried our luggage up for us.

    This is a gem of an old but updated small hotel in a small town. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was large and well appointed(bathrobes, a caramel on the pillow, separate shower and tub) and there was a gourmet restaurant on site. We returned one evening after 9 PM and the staff were waiting for us wanting to know if we wanted dinner. Said we would love some wine, cheese and bread. Not fifteen minutes later we were served elegant cheese plates ( 7 different cheeses), fresh bread and good red wine. We had left early, before breakfast, that day and they had put out coffee in a thermos and cookies just for us!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful and pleasant staff that ensured our stay was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and pleasant staff that ensured our stay was most enjoyable. The cuisine in the Hotel was exceptional and made our stay even more pleasurable.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can only presume it was the owner that was very rude, even the receptionist apologised. I parked my car in the garage and was quite happy to receive a call to move it to let someone out, ten minutes later I received another call to move it again. When I got there they had got out without the need to move it. As I locked it and went back to the room an elderly lady came into the garage, looked at me and walked off. I said 'bonjour' and got no reply. I had just got back to my room when i get another phone call to move the car for a third time. When i got down to reception the old lady was there (I think the owner of the hotel) I'd had enough by now and asked to pay my bill as this time i would not be coming back in. The old lady starts waving her arms around and talking 'at me' in French said move now i think. I refused until id paid the bill. Quite funny to look back on, but really annoying at the time. She needs to learn some manners towards her guests.

    Lovely hotel with garage parking. Great rooms, almost all of the staff were also great !

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    Don't miss out on the incredible evening meal on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con but nice cool morning and evening breezes, so I suppose,not a problem

    Don't miss out on the incredible evening meal on the terrace. Will really surprise you, and great value for money

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    3.8
    Kindly reception personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned hotel straight out of the 1890's. Heavy, dark furnishings. Darkness with Gothic atmosphere. Improbable old antique clothes cupboards and drawers. A walk to the garage.

    Kindly reception personnel

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.9
    Very old facility with no elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old facility with no elevator. No blanket as an alternative to the comforter in the stuffy room. Graciously stuck in a tume warp.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    5.0
    Hotel needs serious upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel needs serious upgrade. Prices exorbitant.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    Good friendly staff excellent food - breakfast was on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good friendly staff excellent food - breakfast was on the costly side but worth the price as all was home made and beautifully presented.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    Old apparently family run hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Old apparently family run hotel with lots of character

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Very helpful, courteous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful, courteous staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    Restaurant cuisine was exceptional, providing a dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant cuisine was exceptional, providing a dining experience that was simply forgettable.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    old fashion quite exclusive a bit dark
    • Couple

    old fashion quite exclusive a bit dark

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    Nice room and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited breakfast

    Nice room and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.8
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable bed, very expensive breakfast, not value for money

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.3
    friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff; easy walk to town

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.3
    Big room, nice bed, good wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big room, nice bed, good wifi

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: