Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Grand Val 2 stars

Route de Langres – D619, 52000 Chaumont, France

#6 of 8 hotels in Chaumont

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old matresss and blankets. We could not use the underground garage that we had asked for. The restaurant was shut so we had to walk to another.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very nice although a little dated and could do with some paint and new public area carpet. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Great burger restaurant attached. Good location to stay the night mid journey to Chamonix. Off the motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grime and grim. Unfriendly staff particularly difficult as we don't speak French. Horrible area. Didnt have tea or coffee making facilities. Room stank of damp and old carpets. The whole place was disgusting. Would never recommend to anyone not even if desperate.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bit hard, breakfast didn't have a lot of choice and the restaurant was a Texas grill so it was mainly burger or a burger.

    Had a garage to put motorcycle in although was charged extra for this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase carpets very worn. Only way to keep door to bathroom closed was to lock it.

    Free WiFi. Great reception staff - Got a beer before restaurant/bar opened.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should be removed from booking.com. It was truly awful. As previous reviews have pointed out. As soon as you left the reception area and went through the corridor the smell was awful. When we entered the room it looked like a 1970's seedy hotel for hookers to use!! Honestly it was terrible. We have stayed in 10+ hotels and guest houses over the past 3 weeks and every other review is at least 9.3, which hopefully shows that we are not just a moaning couple!! This place is overpriced (massively) especially when you are charged an extra 8.70 for a pathetic excuse for a breakfast. We booked th have a breakfast, although when there was only 3 slices of meat,2 slices of cheese and 1 stale baguette we decided to go elsewhere. All in all a terrible end to a fantastic holiday. Do not go to this place you will be awfully disappointed I promise!!!)

    Nothing at all!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location for our over-night stay on our journey to Lake Annecy. Stayed here last year when we had a similar journey to the Alps. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms fair but getting old. All facilities ok air-con a bit weak,

    Easy to find a good stopover for returning from southern France . Good themed restaurant caters for all tastes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hairdryer or tea and coffee making facilities

    Easy to find on our route. Comfortable beds and good shower although needs updating. Good service in restaurant and friendly staff. They happily froze our freezer packs for icebox for onward journey!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds not very comfortable Bar area squeezed in between reception counter & entrance doors, room for one table. No hair drier in room. Drain blocked in shower, reported but nothing done to fix this

    Hotel very average, didnt excel at anything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, Hotel was ideally situated. Hotel was clean and quiet. A lot more than we expected!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to locate. Restaurant on site. Good sized room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dreary and needs updating

    Convenient for motorways

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super comfy double bed. Lovely and clean. A restaurant next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    so under used we was one of four in hotel .beautiful location and near to town ,lot s of parking space and Texas grill on doorstep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well kept with it's own restaurant easy to find

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of the City center ... but not far from other restaurants

    Convenience Not far from a road ... but not noisy at all !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike staff not so good at english

    Good position for early start to Calais. Good restaurant attached average standard of rooms for price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds a little small for a double

    Great spot for an overnight stop en-route further into Europe. Dose what it says on the tin

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything it was great Hotel & the value terrific

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    I stay here over night for over 30 years and will again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor dated

    Staff incredibly helpful. Close to amenities and autoroute

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cheap and cheerful - I got what I paid for.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attention by staff to their jobs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    provision of a smoking area

    all ok beef on menu very ntough

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view if Lidl is not inspiring. The staff were all very cold and serious.

    Easy to locate. Menu fair in variety and price. Portions were generous. The garage was a useful security feature.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we wanted to say was that the name of the hotel could be lit up. When we arrived into a town we didn't know at twilight it was very difficult to see if this was indeed Le Grand Val.

    The room was very comfortable and warm. The breakfast was ample and we enjoyed our evening meal, just what we needed after a long days travelling. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and clean room. Very satisfactory after a very long drive. Lift was welcome! Great to be able to shower, smarten up and then eat a very satisfactory meal in the same building. Car parking free on hotel's own parking area.Loved the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was okay,plenty of parking,secure parking 5 euro,out of town,bar and restaurant didn't open until 7pm so we walked into town which took approx. 25 mins,went back for meal restaurant quite busy food reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. No facilities to make a cup of coffee in the room on arrival or during the day. 2. No provision of location details for Satnav users.

    Manager and staff were all very helpful and courteous

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was very hot & so was our room. We don't like over-bath showers as reduced mobility renders using them almost impossible,

    Excellent location for us. Reception very helpful. Tex Mex made a nice change from french cuisine(!!)

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The biggest issue with this hotel is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    The hotel room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The shower was excellent. The views from the balcony were great.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small twin beds more suited for children than adults.

    Staff pleasant and spoke English. Restaurant onsite which was a Texan style grill - useful as nothing of note nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable room, all mod cons; excellent shower, plenty of hot water. Room and bathroom were clean, shower caps and soaps regularly replenished. Staff helpful and friendly. Free car park directly outside hotel. Excellent location for visiting both Chaumont - 30 minutes walk - and Langres. Cheap supermarket opposite a bonus!!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Chaumont itself has little to attract one to it as a place.

    Easy to find, reasonable price, adjacent restaurant (TexMex Grill...)served fair food with good service.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't sleep that well due to noise problems overnight. Walls are thin.

    Restaurant was quirky but food was good. Staff were helpful. Accommodation clean but basic. Plenty of parking

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I didn't really like. Just some areas were a bit better than others but all were good.

    Overall good hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small width of double bed with blankets rather than a duvet.

    Lots of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideal overnight accommodation. Half way to and from the Alps.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows not comfortable

    Restaurant on site

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather distant from Chaumont so ate in the dining room. Meal was very mediocre and not value for money

    Easy to find and easy free parking

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly room

    Easy to find and had a good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal for stopover we gave used this hotel a number of times in the past

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit basic

    Easy to find, on th Route National

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was more tired than we were

    Clean and shower very good

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location for our purposes

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is not new but if good quality. The rooms are very clean and the showers good and hot.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy stopover on the way down to Switzerland & Italy. Good value. Easy to find. Private parking avaialble although at a charge of €5.00

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hôtel Le Grand Val traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: