Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Hotel 3 stars

8 Place De La Gare, 59300 Valenciennes, France

#11 of 21 hotels in Valenciennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a 3* and that's about right. The decor is very 80's but an attempt has been made to make it look more modern which give it a weird vibe. The rooms are an OK size with comfy beds. The windows barely open and there is no aircon which is fine for winter but the radiators on come on at odd times so it was hard to be comfy heat wise. There was also a questionable mark on the bed runner that I am hoping was toothpaste.

    The location is great for the train station, 40 minutes direct on the train from Lille and 10 minutes away from where I needed to be for work. 10/15 minute walk into the town centre. Restaurant was a bit expensive but the best we ate at during our 3 night stay in the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a one-night stay at this hotel purely because of its close setting to the train station, but left happy that I chose it. Admittedly it is fraying a bit at the edges but otherwise it is a perfectly acceptable mid-level hotel. May be the term "grand" is more aspirational for a hotel with a tiny lounge over which a large TV is lording, and may be misleading some travelers. The attached restaurant "Le Hans" which does NOT serve German food, is worth trying because it is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibility to eat food in restaurant after 19 PM. Almost all restaurant in town. Public parking.

    Breakfast good but expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Restaurant was expensive

    Location was excellent, opposite the train station which I arrived and left through

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except we couldn't stay longer!

    Very friendly helpful receptionist, very hand vicinity to train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too hot because of NO aircondition.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor wifi. Expensive restaurant.

    Perfect location in front of the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 rooms on the first floor. Other guests returning from late-night outings were very loud.

    A very clean property with a nice, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with hot water, there wasn't any!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Calor insoportable para dormir. Sin aire acondicionado

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, great bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tradition Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much: Perhaps a facelift: Newer furniture and a new coat of paint. A bit disappointed we had to pay for parking to keep our vehicle away from the streets although they did give us a discount because my husband is a handicap needing a walker and cane.

    The large space that allowed us to "spread out" with comfort. The convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - unfriendly staff. - I was in a room with view on a roof and walls. - overpriced for Valenciennes.

    + 13 Euro breakfast contains scrambled eggs. + The restaurant has a good reputation.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ventilation in the room could be a better; opening the window for this in the night is not a good option since then you get the noise from the streets.

    Excellent location and and very nice staff who helped with everything needed. Private parking facility was very good, considering the location of the hotel in the city.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel offers free wifi but my room #105, had extremely bad connection and could connect neither iPad nor iPhone. Therefore I had to sit at the lobby or stand at the corridor of 1st floor.

    If you are traveling by train, the best location.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. I don't like it, if a hotel doesn't have to offer you a city-map. For the hotel it would be easy to get some hundred copies (at the tourism office in the "Spanish House"), whereas for the tourist it's a lot of effort and loss of time to get one. 2. One of the (male) receptionists was quite unwilling to give (or provide) informations about travelling facilities (e.g. how to go to the famous romano-celtic ruins of Bavay); an other (female) receptionist tried indeed to be helpful. 3. The price for the weekend was ok. I prolonged for one night, which was quite expensive. 4. The price for the breakfast in my opinion is highly exaggerated. 5. So my judgment of this house is ambivalent. At the conditions of a special offer I would go there an other time, otherwise I would rather try some other locations.

    You leave the railway-station, deposit your luggage vis-à-vis and start your visiting plans.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price is high

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking is difficult as the Hotel has no own parking places.

    The position of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I was being picky, the room was a bit small

    Staff attitude, friendly helpful, well insulated, excellent bar facilities

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location, opposite railway station and close to city center. Parking around the hotel is also no problem. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow wifi

    very clean

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Couple

    Close to station

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sorry but I am addicted to plain English cooking. But breakfast was excellent . Bravo! the scrambled eggs. Super.

    Room, location and ,staff..

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms very hot!

    Great staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Intermittent Wi-Fi. All esle good.

    Clean and tidy. Good showers.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Le Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: