Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Raphael Prado

72 Avenue De Mazargues, 13008 Marseille, France

#97 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

5.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    4.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Location was convenient for someone with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description on Booking did not even closely match the actual situation on the ground. Shared toilet was not mentioned on Booking. Soundproofing was practically non-existent. Amenities in the room (e.g. desk, as mentioned on Booking) were literally non-existent. No lift (also not mentioned on Booking).

    Location was convenient for someone with a car. Super market just opposite. Parking spots available nearby. Close to the plage of Prado. However, difficult commuting to city center due to traffic and lack of parking spots in the center should be taken into account.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One free-current outlet. You must have an extension! It was very, very warm in the room .... we did not realize when we booked that they did not have AC.

    It was OK! It has all the features in the description! I parked my car for free in the street next to the hotel. The car was safe! The bed was very comfortable! Tv functional!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    3.3
    Very cheap, but no good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot Very noisy No toilets in the rooms (this should be written more explicitly in the description) Bed quite uncomfortable No staff at 8:30pm when I arrived and nobody at 7:45am when I left. Those are quite standard times...

    The price is low

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    2.5
    Terrible! Everything is wrong..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was wrong!!! PLEASE DO NOT GO... It all started when I have tried to call the property one day before my stay to explain them I was going to arrive after 8pm due to my flight arrival time at the airport as I needed to know how to proceed in terms of where to go and which room number I had etc. The staff male who pick up the call, didn't speak English at all and as soon I asked "Do you speak English or can you get a staff who does?", he replied "No English here, French french" and hang out the phone up on me...unacceptable!! I made 3 phone call tries after until they got someone with poor English to speak to understand you! So frustrating and rude... Arriving at the property by 9PM, there was no staff, all the hall floor, carpets, corridors were messy and dirty, mud and sand everywhere. As I was going up the stairs (my room was on 2nd floor), I could sense such a strong smell of smoking, where people (customers or staff?!) were smoking in the corridor in front or the room doors AND smoking on the shared toilet!! I have took a closer look and it was disgusting, ashes, cigarettes and toilet paper everywhere around toilet seat and floor...horrible. You just wish not having the will to pee there! Wi-fi? Doesn't work!! Hair-drier or iron? They don't have it although on website said they have... Single bedroom? Ridiculously small, to walk from one side of the room to the other, you have to climb over the bed as there was no space.. Such a bad sink design, such a small sink you barely can wash your face without bumping your forehead on the glass shelf... The ceiling was taped (cheaper instead of repairing it!). TV antena cable was so unsafe, you can trip and fall, so lose.. No toiletries provided and on website they say they do... Thinking that was all but, as soon I decided to go to sleep, the bed was so uncomfortable,with a dented mattress in the middle of the bed, it is overused...

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    3.3
    Problems with everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    First of all I was there working and the free internet did not work!! After connecting it allowed to open one page and connection was lost and I must disconnect and connect again! It was terrible! I asked for fixing it twice and only once it got better for one hour!! Most of the stuff don't speak English and the older man (I guess the owner?) was rude and arrogant. First when I arrived he told me to pay city tax 3.60 euro but he didn't want to take my credit card (even the machine was standing there) and asked me to come with cash. I came with 4 euro after a few days and he asked to pay 7 euro. When I said I came to pay what he said on the first day he started to yell at me "no 4, no 4" and showed me that I stay 9 nights. I booked it from the beginning so I have no idea why he didn't tell me the correct amount when I came and treated me like a thief! Beside of that in the bathroom the shower door didn't close properly so every time I got a pond on the floor and the tab leaked making noise disturbing my sleep. And the shared toilet... the fact it was shared wasn't a problem. The problem was that first it didn't lock and after closing the door there was NO space at all! I usually can't be bothered to write negative review even if something was not as great as it should but this time I must say how unpleasant my stay there was.

    The room was clean and even small had well organized space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no private washroom

    bed good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    Average at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room. Heating not working well

    Cheap and good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't ever stay at this place. Too many reasons why you shouldn't. Just don't.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - No hot water - Hidden shared bathroom (it is written on the photos details and not on the hotel description) - No service - Very surprising rules : if you get food in your room, they might charge 25 euros to clean it, so you don't know if you have to empty your bin by your self or not. - The room is shaking quite often

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    5.4
    The Online Listing was Truthful, in that 'No Stars'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AirCon, and especially no Fan meant leaning out of the window to cool down. One Toilet is shared by all rooms on each floor, and having only the one toilet roll in situ, and having no after-hours staff around after hours, could have made things scary. Of the two rooms booked, only one had a chair to sit. Wifi only useable downstairs in the 'lobby/sitting room.

    The Online Listing was Truthful, in that 'No Stars' on display, equated to this place being a 0 Star establishment. Hotel is only a few doors away from Emilio's the best food in town.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.8
    The friendly attitude of the manager and the good location
    • Solo traveller

    The poor functioning of many features: no hot water on arrival, a tv which can only be watched standing up, lights which don't work, a weak wifi signal that can only be used in the downstairs lobby...

    The friendly attitude of the manager and the good location

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.1
    It's near to the parc borely,near to the beach and near...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Sometimes the hotel vibrate,when the metro pass below . And some rooms have the toilet (shower and sink)but not the water.. but you just pay a bit more and u can have it .

    It's near to the parc borely,near to the beach and near the metro.. the rooms are cute and confortable . I think next time i'll go to Marseille i'll book again this hotel ;)

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    4.6
    Room is cold.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is cold. Internet doesn't work well (wouldn't work on my laptop, only smartphone). No toiletries nor hair dryer.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    3.8
    it was short.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilets outside the room, hotel empty, bad service

    it was short.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: