Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Lion D'Or et Restaurant La Table Du Lion 3 stars

71 Rue Saint Jean, 14400 Bayeux, France

#5 of 18 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 397 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    It was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast and the continental breakfast were very expensive. The continental breakfast was not worth 8 euros.

    It was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    A once renowned hotel-restaurant that cannot rely on its past to remain relevant today.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The hotel needs a elevator. 2. Disaster in the restaurant. The maitre d' was tense and trying to show off some expertise with the guests while very rude to his new staff, scolding them in front of guests instead of taking them aside and counseling them. His rudeness spoiled our dinner experience as we could sense the uneasiness of the young waitresses who did their best. Definitely not ready to be a leader. Maitre d needs to learn self control and what it takes to work in a starred restaurant.

    The young lady at the reception was helpful and friendly. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff was busy the evening we reserved and ultimately unable to serve my party due to a short in staff members. They didn’t appear to be able to accommodate our request, though the hotel staff was pleasant and responsive when asked for assistance in other matters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Normandy vacation was disrupted by an emergency hospitalization for my husband in the Bayeux Hospital! Our stay at the Le Lion D'Or was a special treat celebrating his recovery and release!! I, my husband, and my daughter-in-law, thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful and welcoming hotel and restaurant! Thank you for your hospitality! The Beckers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Had high hopes but left feeling disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Staff on reception were not particularly welcoming. 2) Trying to get a drink in the bar was not easy as it involved reception staff having to come and take orders. Felt like a chore for them and prices very expensive. We did not use it after day 1. 3) Service at breakfast terrible, with tables not set with plates etc and lady responsible was completely uninterested. 4) We were a group of 7 and this was the universal findings. Would not return despite the great location.

    Hotel is very well situated and walking distance to bars and restaurants. Room was comfortable but not much space to walk around the bed. Basic services provided in room e.g. TV, phone etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Location of this Hotel is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not like the Hotel can do much, but be aware there are no Elevators and staying on the third floor with many pieces of luggage can be a bit challenging. If you care about it, try requesting a lower floor.

    Location of this Hotel is really good. At walking distance for all main things in Bayeux. On-site parking was also good, but do make sure you reserve it before-hand. The on-site restaurant was also good for a lunch, but service was quite slow. The Bar area has a lot of pictures of personalities that can't tell a bit the history of this old Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel in center of town with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    The restaurant was excellent. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent dinner and service. Buffet breakfast was also good. The hotel was in a convenient location in town - easy to walk to sites. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Extremely nice stay in historic hotel. Great staff. Good value. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better especially the coffee selections. They could really use an espresso machine.

    Rooms were large and comfortable Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Memorable visit to a pretty and interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think we were charged for a superior room but both rooms seemed to be standard doubles. The reception staff were certain we had one of each as we had originally booked for a party of 5. There was no space for an extra bed.

    Historic hotel well located in central Bayeux good breakfast, dinner one night delicious if pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    A comfy room in a beautiful small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room didn’t have any kind of view

    Comfortable room, nice toilet, good location. Breakfast is ok (there is a little bit of everything but nothing is really exceptional )

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel in the centre of town - we parked at the hotel (you will need to book a space as it is restricted) and all of the areas of interest in the town are in walking distance of the hotel - (couple of hundred metres) unfortunately we didn't get to eat at the highly rated restaurant at the Lion D'Or as they are closed on Mondays but we ate in Alchemie - just down the street towards the cathedral and it was fabulous - highly recommended! The room at the hotel was perfect - small as per the standard French rooms but the bed was fantastic and the shower was powerful - best of the holiday !! Would definitely recommend and would stay again -Bayeux is the perfect location to base yourself if you are visiting the WW sites / beaches in Normandy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    WONDERFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs were a little dry. Bad was not open after dinner.

    Staff was very friendly. There is a cozy, nicely decorated bar which they opened for a few of us guests. We had good red wine in front of a roaring fire on a chilly evening before dinner! The sweet young lady at the front desk ordered a cab to pick us up from the train station and then again to take us back. I liked boiling my own egg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea facilities in the room.

    Beautifully presented rooms with a high standard of furnishing and linen. Lovely building and the bar is worth seeing to learn about the history of the hotel. Easy to park outside the hotel. Great location for seeing Bayeux.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Ideal for heading in each way City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for heading in each way City. Lots of history here. Car rental Renault next to train station. It allowed us to drive to various locations easy to drive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel well located in a historic town. Our room was luxurious, and bathroom very modern. Great value-for-money on room rates if visiting off-peak. We had an excellent dinner at the adjoining Restaurant la Table du Lion, and were very impressed with the quality of food, wine and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    I would love to return to the Hotel Le Lyon D'Or in Bayeux!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a small breakfast in the restaurant, which was lovely. The lobby/meeting room was beautiful also. We were in Bayeux in November, and loved that the town was quiet!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    We look forward to coming again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast slightly disappointing. More choice needed.

    Excellent and comfortable room at a very reasonable price; excellent restaurant catering for vegetarians with perfect service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, but the restaurant was only average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was a little disappointing. It was rather expensive, which would have been ok if we'd had a great meal, but in the end it was best described as mediocre. As a result we only dined there once, and found other, better restaurants in Bayeux. Also the buffet breakfast, while perfectly adequate, was rather expensive at 14 euros.

    Large and comfortable room. Impressed that there was a reserved parking place with our name on it, which remained throughout our four night stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful place to stay. Our most memorable hotel and meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift in the hotel but they were willing to help with luggage.

    The staff were warm and helpful and engaging. The food at the restaurant was the best food we had on our trip through France. It was divine. It was within walking distance of the Bayeux Tapestries and the transport that we caught for the Normandy beaches. Also, a Carrefour grocery store which was well stocked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    We would definitely go back to the Lion D'Or to stay and dine if we are ever there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very nice and helpful. We also ate dinner one night at the restaurant and it was excellent. We enjoyed the history of the hotel and the location in town was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    convient,quiet comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    W were lucky that the weather was not hot but if it were I don't think that the air conditioning would be sufficient.

    Quiet, beautiful location. Lovely to have a glass of wine on the patio before or after dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, spacious and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing...the only thing I will mention as an FYI is that the parking is tight. We had an SUV and it required one of us to guide the other to get the car out of the parking space. It was manageable, but be aware if you plan to visit in a large vehicle.

    The hotel was centrally located in the heart of Bayeux. It was an excellent location for exploring Normandy. The hotel has its own restaurant and there are other restaurants, bakeries and a Carrefour within walking distance. The Bayeux Tapestry was a a 5 minute walk away. The Junior Suite was spacious and quite clean. It easily accommodated two teenager and two adults. The internet worked well. The best thing was the large industrial fan in the room - it was very hot when we visited and the fan helped cool us off.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    A beautiful little Inn with an excellent staff and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was slippery (would have liked a rubber mat inside the tub). Would have liked more towels.

    Great location. Excellent staff. Newly renovated room (no 5). Nice size room. Tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    very nice , great room and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking organisation

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size . The parking was restricted and I paid about £10.00 for a space which was fine . I made staff aware we had an early start as they had crammed cars in and I was blocked . I was assured that it would not be a problem in the morning ...it was and the driver had to be found which delayed us setting off , so a little frustrating . however great location in a great city !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The hotel lobby is hard to find, there is no sign showing where the lobby is and since we didn't drive to the hotel we had to drag our luggage through the stones and rocks to the lobby at the far end of the driveway. This was quite difficult to do, luckily we only had one luggage. 2) When we checked in, no one offered to help bring out luggage to the second floor, luckily my boyfriend was able to carry our one luggage up and down the stairs. If you have a lot of luggage or aren't able to carry it for many flights of stairs, don't stay here. 3) We were unable to check in when we first arrived so we stored our luggage, but the storage area is not secure, we were able to just go get out luggage when we finally checked in and there was no one making sure we didn't take someone else's luggage 4) No AC - luckily it was relatively cool in Bayeux at the end of August (at night was around 60s) and we were able to get through with the fan that was provided in the room. I can't imagine what it would be like if Bayeux was in the 80-90s with no AC. 5) Internet was terrible, couldn't connect half the time and was slow... and the reception never told us hwo to connect or where the password was, but we stay at enough hotels to know where to look. But would've been appreciated to save time from searching around.

    The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance from the train station and the sightseeing areas in Bayeux, tourist center, food and shopping. I would say it is in a more touristy area of Bayeux and quite different from the actual city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible Wi-Fi. Could not get it in the room at all and it was spotty and hard to log into even in the lobby. No signal at all in the terrace of the restaurant. No excuse for that in this day and age.

    Location was excellent. Very close to the eating area is in Bayeux. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good but a little expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Returned to hotel on 2nd day at 5 pm and my room had not been made up.very good

    Central position, Great chef excellent food. Very comfortable throughout

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    We look forward to a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would have been useful.

    The location and character of the hotel were excellent. Wonderful restaurant with great food. Staff helpful, attentive, friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    perfect location for sight seeing, close to restaurants, bars and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long climb to the 3rd floor carrying luggage, next time will request a lower floor.

    Beautiful hotel in an excellent location. would certainly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces were really tight!

    Room was huge by European standards. Dinner at the restaurant was very good. Staff friendly and competent. Great location. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall a very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no lift. But that shouldn't be a problem if one is travelling light.

    Location of the hotel was very nice. Plus they have maintained the heritage structure which gives a very cozy feeling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small. But they are spotless and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable.

    The location is excellent. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The restaurant was great. Love the laidback bar. Bayeux is a small clean French town near the Normandy American Cemetery. The cathedral is fascinating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    A terrific location with onsite parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way to expensive to eat in be it for breakfast or dinner

    The breakfast was pricey, there were bakeries and a supermarket open early morning, giving us a good selection to choose from. The location was perfect to wander the city and get to our Normandie tour

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and his wife were lovely and warm. The staff was extremely professional. The central courtyard of the hotel was charming and the updates done to the facility were very nice. Overall very professional and comfortable. Dinner at the restaurant was terrific! Food very nicely handled and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    As pleasant as usual with friendly efficient staff and much improved facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much. They've got their act together again and it's a very good place to stay

    updated to a higher degree than previously so now very comfortable. Ideal position in centre of town. staff are always helpful although sometimes they're under pressure because of shortage of numbers . Menus have improved and there's a good variety at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Quaint, close to town, and historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second day of our stay we had to ask for bath towels. Also the floor fan in our room was so loud and squeaky we couldn't use it

    Quaint, and historic. Breakfast was convenient. It was so close to the town everything was in walking distance. We slept with the window open and the wonderful cool air coming in. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    High quality and and convenient hotel for Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can't think of anything.

    High quality hotel and restaurant located in the heart of Bayeux. Parking reservation made life much easier. Cocktails were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.0
    Just the location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one at the reception when we wanted to check in at 4pm. It took roughly 10 minutes for someone to show up. The extra sofa bed in the family room was on its last leg.

    Just the location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly boutique hotel in the heart of Bayeux.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have liked a room with a nicer view, but this was a minor point. The food in the restaurant, while certainly good, was over-priced.

    The rooms were fresh and decorated in plain whites and beiges; the bathroom was well appointed with nice little extras. The bar and restaurant are characterful and very comfortable, with lots of history to enjoy. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    A cracking hotel in the heart of Bayeux, you wont do better for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    French coffee is grim and over priced.

    The hotel is in an Excellent location at the top of the high street, we paid extra for a bigger room as the std rooms were a bit small. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely food in the Restaurant. Well worth paying the extra for secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Exploring Normandy from Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family of four stayed in the quad room which was quite close to the street. There was a bit more noise than expected. Quad room was quite small with minimal room to move around with pullout bed extended. Not surprised though. We were unsure how to get the ac on, survived without it.

    Charming hotel in the heart of Bayeux. You can walk to all the sites with ease. Secured parking in front of the hotel was great. Check-in was quick and simple. Bed was comfortable. Nice separate bathroom in quad. Limited breakfast options in Bayeux, hotel had pretty good but somewhat pricey buffet that we utilized.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    An attractive looking room, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior door to the bedroom was on a very heavy hinge, needed weight training to open it. The size of the loo (room) could be a problem for larger people. The menu which I am sure was delicious, did not give enough options, to suit our tastes at that particular time.

    An attractive looking room, clean and tidy. Good shower facilities. Overlooking pleasant courtyard. Quiet and tranquil. Excellent position for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location but needs air conditioning if it's hot out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was unusually hot, hot, hot and unfortunately this hotel does not have air conditioning or an elevator. It's an old building. I get that. But even castles built in the 1800s that have been converted into hotels have been able to install air conditioning and elevators. So I don't think the age of the building should be an excuse not to install such amenities. Folks, the word of the day is "retrofit."

    The hotel is centrally located on a main shopping street of the small town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Great base for Bayeux and WWII historical sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Although usually cool in Normandy area, no A/C.

    Location excellent. Staff accommodating. Should reserve parking ahead as on-site parking spots limited. Fan in every room. Breakfast typical of other hotels in France -- scrambled eggs, assortment of breads and pastries, cheeses, ham, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.0
    Poor safety consciousness ; take nothing above ground floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low priority on safety. No fire escape route slippery tub without handholds facing busy and noisy street without air for closing windows difficult climb up two long flites of stairs with no help with luggage and no elevator all with fairly expensive rates and no special services. We are generally tolerant about facilities but for above reasons cannot recommend staying here and would not stay here again

    Cleanliness,friendliness of staff room size

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little warm for us and they only had one fan per room. Due to the size of our room we could have used another fan.

    We loved the location and the staff was accadatimg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.3
    Don't waste your time. What you see is not what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff was unfriendly and indifferent. The room location was unexpected and very disappointing for a superior room. Instead of being in the main hotel that was very charming we were put in a separate room in the parking lot not attached to the hotel by a hallway. We had to walk across the parking lot in the rain to enter this historic building. Our room was bland, plainly furnished like one would find in a much less expensive chain hotel. It was so cold we had to ask for a stand alone heater. When we expressed our dismay to the staff at the front desk and manager, they said this is a superior room, that they had rooms in other buildings, and they had given us a fold out bed for a third person which we did not require or want. One would not know all this looking at their website. We requested a quiet room and we had all the typical parking lot noises outside our bedroom window. We were on the ground level and the cars literally pulled right up to our room. It was definitely not worth the money.

    The experience of staying at this hotel was so disappointing that I cannot think of anything positive to say.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    The staff was excellent and friendly and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find any negatives.

    The staff was excellent and friendly and the location was convenient. It was perfectly located so we could walk to places we wanted to see. The room was very quiet, clean, and the beds were comfortable. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary coffee would have been appreciated, restaurant prices were too expensive.

    Very comfortable, great location, friendly staff. Loved coziness of bar and the fire and historic photos. Very nice room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely excellent in all respects The only Suprise was no kettle and tea making facilities in the room. In the grand scheme of things this is minor as this is an awesome location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.2
    The room was cold and damp on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was cold and damp on arrival. No drinking water provided in room. The dinner menu was pretentious , expensive and limited. Breakfast was awful [ and extra ] . Only 2 items of fruit , congealed scrambled egg / fatty diced bacon and luke warm coffee. We paid for 2 nights and left after one . We last stayed there 30 years ago and it will be another 30 years before we do so again !.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    The location was great - we could walk through the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was definitely not worth the price. Very limited and food that should be hot was not even heated (pancakes, eggs.) Not sure how this can be helped but we came in late via train from Paris. When we arrived there were no taxis, no way to call a taxi and our roaming wouldn't work in the community. We were actually helped by a local - he got us to the hotel. From the train station it is an easy walk - maybe providing directions upon booking would be helpful. Taxis are hard to get in Bayeux.

    The location was great - we could walk through the town easily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Bayeux and its surroundings were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a standard double room and there was very little space around the bed. Breakfast was disappointing as they seemed to run out of things and hot food was cold.

    The staff were excellent and the restaurant in the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Updated hotel in perfect location to explore Normandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is set in the middle of quaint town of France that is very picturesque. The hotel was fully updated and the staff was very friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Probably would stay there again, overall had a homey feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the bed, was not uncomfortable but to low. I felt like I was getting up from the floor.

    The dining room was very nice,bordering on upscale. I liked the cozy feel of the lounge, with exception of the fireplace it smoked some which was not good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Adequate but probably lots of similar options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was fully booked when we arrived and closed on our second night. There were, however, lots of restaurants in the area. We did have breakfast but it was expensive and no more than adequate. There was little fruit, cold scrambled egg and no bacon etc. The coffee was in help yourself flasks and was extremely disappointing in taste and only luke warm. Local cafes would probably be better quality and value. The bedroom was not in the main building but off the courtyard/car park. The outside door was not locked and was near the street entrance which didn't feel safe. It also meant that we didn't see, know or make use off the hotel facilities.

    The location was excellent, within walking distance of the museums, cathedral etc. There was parking, at a cost, which was unusual for a town centre hotel. It was, however, quite costly and very tight. We saw staff parking some cars as their owners could not manage. The room and bathroom were large, the water very warm and once we had worked out the heaters, it was warm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel. I've been here quite a few times and on this latest stay found that the place had really smartened up and modernised, in a good way. When we arrived it was a cold day so to find the well appointed stylish room warm and cosy was a blessing. The staff were great, very welcoming, helpful and professional. Overall a great historic and smart hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was expensive and the menu could have had some simpler choices.

    staff were very helpful and friendly. Location in the centre of Bayeux was perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Good hotel, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The private parking was good. The room we had was clean, quiet and comfortable. Sitting in the lounge, in the comfy leather seats, in front of a roaring log fire with a glass of wine was heaven! what a way to relax! There was a good choice of food at breakfast; you could choose either the continental (6euros), or the 'full works' (13euros).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Good choice (if a few problems were attended to)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room draughty, bathroom good size ,no heating ,shower leaked lots all over the floor .Was rather annoyed when I spoke to receptionist ,only response was oh!.

    Hotel was in great location very near all the sites to visit in Bayieux,Room adequate size.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    One night in Bayeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok. Scrambled eggs were over cooked. Pastries weren't as flakey as other restaurants.

    The staff was great. Very accommodating. The rooms were very nice. We loved the mattress! Cocktails in the afternoon were great, with staff very pleasant and accommodating, all while the lobby was busy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.1
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service for evening meal poor. inexperienced staff and very poor for price charged. I f you pay £100 for two meals i would expect a lot better

    good hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing maybe one should never return to a place you once lived?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor & food in restaurant see above

    We liked the location. We stayed here about 20 years ago. We were sad to see that all the old style of the hotel lovely wood old furniture etc which was very in keeping with the building had all gone under an "ocean" of battle ship grey paint. Not impressed with restaurant food very fussy not traditional Normandy cuisine which we prefer. Room when we were moved was fine but not as high a standard as we would expect for the room rate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi never worked and the front desk only said "That's very strange." when we complained. I was very disappointed that they were not very receptive to our dilemma.

    Good location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the Bar & Restaurant were closed for private parties. The latter was the main reason for choosing this hotel. We were forced to walk the streets of Bayeaux in pouring rain to find somewhere to eat. For the price (€142) our room was cramped and the layout of the bathroom was odd.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location convenient to explore Normandy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Odd room arrangement with toilet in separate room from rest of bathroom

    Convenient to explore Bayeux, close to Bayeux Tapestry Museum and just off main street through town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled facilities were non existent. I suffer Ill health and found the stairs very difficult. . A lift would have made my stay that much better. Although the staff were excellent and understanding.

    Everything. The restaurant was very good, and the place was steeped in history.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    The hotel, staff and restuarant are reflective of the French people and lifestyle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No regrets!

    We had a recently upgraded room with a huge bathroom. VERY comfortable bed! The staff was incredibly nice and spoke good English. The hotel is in the center of town and very close walk (1/4 mile) to anything you'd want to see. The restaurant is pricey but they all are and the one is very good with a variety of entrees. The French people are wonderful. We got there one evening off the train and they sent a taxi that was waiting for us. When we came dragging in they immediately made arrangements to eat in the restaurant. Can't say enough good things about the people, hotel or town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous 5 night stay at Lion d'Or!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Shower/tub was slippery and dangerous and water got on the floor when showering

    Lion d"Or Staff was fabulous. AF lost our luggage. Serverine and other staff went above and beyond to help us. Staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was superb for seeing Bayeux and the D day beaches. The restaurant was a culinary delight. We loved our stay and would highly recommend Lion d'Or.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Hotel de Lion d'Or, a quiet gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One drawback was a lack of an elevator, but the staff did all that was possible to make up for this by handling luggage and responding to all service requests more than promptly

    Wonderful location, friendly and very helpful staff, charming overall setting and style

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought that the continental breakfast was overpriced and we opted for coffee only. BTW, the coffee was excellent!

    The location is excellent, the staff extremely friendly, especially the waitress during breakfast who was always cheerful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    Looks good from the outside .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff behind the counter could have been friendlier. Bathroom lacked ventilation which set off a fire alarm in another room early in the morning. Never a barman present at the bar. The gates were locked at night and we had to shout for security to let us in.

    Location was central. Good sized room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was in a tub which was huge to climb into.

    The room was large by European standards, and the location was an easy walk to the train station and to the entire town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel, clean & big rooms, helpful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a lovely lounge/ bar area, but the bar was never open, you could get a drink thru the restaurant but it was abit of a wait.

    The room was quite large as was the bathroom. Hotel was very central & easy walking distance to everything. Reception were quite helpful in assisting to book tours.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    Excellent meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Every one was very accommodating.

    Excellent meal. Very nice bar area.If we ever go back to Bayeaux we will stay there. We also will recommend it to any of our friends who are going to Normandy.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: