Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Lion d'Or 3 stars

8 Place de la Republique, 46500 Gramat, France

#4 of 8 hotels in Gramat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 184 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated and tired but hey, the staff were great do who cares!

    The staff - very welcoming. Nice hot shower. Great view over the square. Like French hotels of my childhood!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet space a little cramped. The older high bath/shower was a little difficult for us at this point in our lives.

    Very friendly proprietor and staff. A nice small quiet town and excellent location for visiting the small villages in the area. Very close to Rocamadour but not touristy. The room was comfortable and mostly quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were few guests in this rathe large hotel. Around 2 in the morning we were awakened by some sort of business with trash dumpsters in the alleyway. It went on a long time and it's difficult to believe it could not have been anticipated. The room didn't feel clean.

    Gramat is a nice little town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I'd looked at the reviews before booking! The room was meant to be deluxe but was a poky room, which had 50/60s cheap, shabby furniture. The bathroom was a joke. The price is outrageous for the room. The owner didn't give us a code or key as promised and disappeared so that we had to wait until another guest phoned him to let us in. Also, we had the worst meal in France ever at one of the town's restaurants. Reading this review I know it sounds as if we are 'complainers' but it really was a shame. It's a pretty town and the only poor experience we've had in our many visits to France.

    The town is very pretty and so is the outside appearance of the Hotel. The breakfast in the morning was served in a really pretty room which went some way to redeem its awful bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely chap running the place and cooking. He showed us his rugby church which is great for a Welshman. His cooking was delicious. Room was good. Really looked after us very well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was stained. The enamel on the bathtub was damaged. One light switch did not work. There were no extra sockets to recharge electronic devices. There bedroom window overlooked a narrow alley. The remote control of the television was so complicated to operate that we gave up.

    The bed was large and comfortable. The wifi worked well. There were extra pillows in the closet. The staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are slightly out of date / old fashioned but clean and very comfortable.

    the owner is out of this world, such a nice man. He made the stay for us!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central location, pleasant helpful reception. Nice to have a bath as well as a shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV not working, Wifi not working, door handles broken, carpet dirty ...

    Parking directly in front of the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room is comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean, the bed was fairly uncomfortable and the staff was not very polite

    We had most of what we expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very helpful. The owner is a marvellous cook and the food was exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff, dinner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellente restauration

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Nice room.very good and quiet air-conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Chef is very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent host great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    our bikes were accomodated in the bar !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and helpful with signseeing & things to do around the place. Bon service !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful and the food fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good central location with a good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Very helpful friendly staff despite our lack of French. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly & efficiënt welcome. Good food & delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not open for supper on Sunday night a bit expensive for breakfast

    gave good directions for local attractions good quality of food

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: