Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence Le Manoir Du Lys 4 stars

Route de Juvigny - La Croix Gautier, 61140 Bagnoles de l'Orne, France

#6 of 19 hotels in Bagnoles de l'Orne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The location and the room were a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wooden Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was AWFUL. However, this is the fault of the locale not the hotel. We had a private WiFi connection with us which was also awful, indicating a weak satellite connection. Perhaps a more powerful router is needed.

    The location and the room were a delight. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Luxury with warmth and kindness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like - all was according to our expectations.

    We have been visiting le Manoir du Lys since 1998 and love to do so. The situation and the garden are beautiful. The families who run the hotel are warm and friendly. They know us well and what we like to do on holiday. The food is extremely beautifully cooked. Lovely to taste and lovely to look at. L

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    The pool and grounds were lovely, and most of the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and the rooms very small - not worth the money, I wouldn’t stay here again. We also had to leave a day early and forfeit the money (the manager did not want feedback or offer any compensation or even any conversation about why we were leaving, she dismissed my complaint). The breakfast was disappointing.

    The pool and grounds were lovely, and most of the staff very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    I stayed here for one night en route to a work assignment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was high quality. I would have liked a balcony I could sit out on.

    I stayed here for one night en route to a work assignment. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality stay in beautiful surroundings. Staff are exceptional. To say the food is excellent is an understatement and service equally fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Worth the drive and expect to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wooden Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in one of the Wooden Lodges so the WiFi was pretty weak, which I found aggravating since you are generally spending more money for the room.

    Since the property is a bit of a drive (either from Paris or other locations in Normandy), it is best enjoyed over a long weekend. This gave us time to take a day to explore areas closer to the coast, a day of the activities that the hotel offers (bicycles, etc), and a day to just enjoy the pool (if the weather cooperates, which it did for us luckily). The staff were lovely and very gracious when we asked for last minute reservations at restaurants (and to stay an additional night). I would definitely recommend dining at the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious (an amazing value for the money) and the presentation beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful location with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful location with excellent facilities. The family suite was perfect for our young family, and the babysitter arranged by the hotel allowed us to enjoy a meal at the wonderful restaurant. My children loved the pool, which helped refresh us after a long car journey. Overall, I would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel to find relaxation complimented by a superb restaurant. A place to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I have visited on several occasions and like the hotel just the way it is. We cannot think of anything that we didn't particularly like on any of our visits.

    The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the hotel is nicely situated just outside Bagnoles de Lorne. Breakfast is nicely presented with a good quality selection of food to choose from. The restaurant is what makes the hotel special as the food is superb, very well presented, with an extensive wine list to match. All this with a very friendly and helpful staff who make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Superb food and drink in peaceful and relaxing surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As is often the case the wardrobe could have had more and better hangers and hanging space.

    The restaurant was particularly good. For dinner we ordered the full tasting menu with paired wines and thought it was one of the best tasting menus we had ever eaten. As with many French hotels the breakfast did not offer the full cooked option but what was available was very good and varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Country hotel with Michelin restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wooden Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Country hotel 5mins drive from the centre of Bagnoles, well located to explore the area. We had a room out in the grounds above a garage for your car. A little dated in decor but not the less comfortable. Food was good with an excellent breakfast although evening meal was very rich but delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is at a price for those who are not paying themselves or the wealthy. Sure it's good but ate dinner in town for less

    Relais de Silence are a high grade prestige group of hotels & this was of that standard. We wanted somewhere with an outdoor pool for a quiet couple of days on our way back to England & this totally fulfilled our needs. All very high quality & good room with a balcony. About 1 mile from town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room layout was poor ( room 27 ) I could not stand up by the side of the bed because of the sloping ceiling, the same in the shower. Michelin starred restaurant had no atmosphere, staff walked around like androids, we used the restaurant once, it was not really our scene. Also wine was stupidly expensive.

    Easy to find in a nice location with off street private parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place, great suite, fabulous views. Swimming pool was ideal for the children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was very expensive to eat here, breakfast was not included and only offered cold items, bread, croissants, meats, yoghurts etc. which was not worth the price. It would have been good to have had a cheaper bar menu for us to use during the day for lunch etc.

    super swimming pool, peaceful surroundings and fabulous views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.2
    Very expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible restaurant and the food is extortionate for the quality. It was one of the worst meals I have ever had. Bland, over fussy dated cooking. Slightly shabby rooms which need refreshing. The indoor pool was freezing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable experience and would love to go back if in the area in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic noise was a bit louder than I expected as windows needed to be open on a warm summer night.

    Excellent restaurant - very well balanced dishes and good flavours. The Chef also has an exceptional knowledge of mycology. Wonderful cheese board and extensive wine list and a very helpful sommelier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent hotel. Great food. Lovely and peaceful. Helpful staff who even booked a golf tee time for us at the nearby course which was free to us!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Tour groups very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, so exceptionally hot room. Guests yelling to each other across balconies. Noise from outside drinking. Scraping chair early morning from dining room below. Long trek to swimming pool through many extended buildings. Uncomfortable bed

    Welcoming staff. Pretty gardens. Attractive bathroom with good shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    The room was very comfortable, very big bed, shower big as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Wooden Lodge
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that the receptionists weren't as welcoming as you would expect from a 4 star hotel. . They are the first encounter with the hotel staff. The house keeping didn't realize after four days that it was time to replace the bed sheets .

    The room was very comfortable, very big bed, shower big as well with a bath tub. The hotel pool was very nice and the location was good as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasent, but expensive for nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower impossible to use withiut wetting bathroom floor

    Spacious car park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    peaceful stay in comfortable and welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We loved the peace and quiet of the hotel and the friendly family atmosphere. Food first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Spacious, lovely views and great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, lovely views and great setting. Friendly welcoming staff. A perfect stopover wished we could have stayed longer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    France 997
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was short on selection. 12 euros for water was interesting.

    The food was fantastic and service was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendliest ofstaff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliest ofstaff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Excellent overnight stop on the way south. Will probably return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful. Food was fabulous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Environment and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink was very expensive pleasant staff, calm surroundings but food costs impacted the experience.

    Environment and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WI-FI connecition

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great food, lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wine list had no budget items. The internet wouldn't work all weekend.

    The staff were delightful. The food was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Bar/bar snacks not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar/bar snacks not available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    execelent location , beutiful area and rooms, very nice team...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rest room placed outside of the bathroom

    execelent location , beutiful area and rooms, very nice team of service, exelent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel that deserves its success.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, the comfort, the staff and the food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel with a fabulous restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed could have been less hard

    Fabulous restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet facilities at pool.

    Tranquility. Pool. Good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    The best hotel in the area in a very quiet spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfasts were far too expensive

    The best hotel in the area in a very quiet spot. The restaurant and service is second to none.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    We just loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could not afford to stay longer

    The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely rural position and great walks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the grounds and the indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices

    The whole comfortable relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    The restaurant is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Excellent & innovative kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly malodorous smell from bathroom plumbing in room 6.

    Excellent & innovative kitchen. Expansive win list. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Peaceful surroundings. Lovely setting. Superb (though expensive) restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed to find indoor pool not in use as heating system not working.

    Lovely grounds. Peaceful and so quiet at night. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    A lovely family run hotel that has gradually developed over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely family run hotel that has gradually developed over the years reacting to the needs of a discerning clientele. This is first-class accommodation in a highly professional, efficient and well organised establishment. The Hotel is beautifully appointed, very well maintained and stands in substantial grounds with ample on-site car parking facilities. The restaurant facilities are modern and the staff extremely polite and attentive to the needs of guests. The reception desk was welcoming and we were taken to our room which was spotlessly clean, generous in size and benefitted from a balcony overlooking the gardens. An offer to assist with luggage was made and there was a lift to all floors. The Hotel was situated at some distance to the famous spa town of Bagnoles de l’Orne which ensured this truly was a Relais du Silence and proved to provide a most enjoyable and comfortable overnight stay. Le Manoir Du Lys is a Hotel that we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending or staying at again in the future. Worthy of note is the restaurant recommended at Hotel Gayot, 2 Avenue de la Ferte Mace in the town of Bagnoles de l’Orne. The welcome was warm and enthusiastic and the quality of the meal was to a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.5
    very nice location grounds and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pretentious and outrageous cost of food and drink. I think the restaurant meals were inadequate and poor produce and limited choice. I think this place relies on its accreditation but does not live up to it. I would not recommend to anyone

    very nice location grounds and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.3
    Charm, style & quietness - very nice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Swimming pool not accessible during our stay - and no warning about it when booking ! It is a Pity, because it was our main criterion for the choice of hotel...

    Charm, style & quietness - very nice overall

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.2
    Service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed that the indoor pool was out of action and this could have been mentioned either on the website or perhaps by email.

    Service excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    7.5
    The location is very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a terrible smell from the open chimney in the whole entrance area when I arrived late evening, which still was there next morning at breakfast.

    The location is very nice! The building has charme.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    6.7
    beautiful property n the edge of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    given a room far from elevators,difficult to find.When you are in your late seventies,you expect some consideration on where room is located.Lack of compassion??

    beautiful property n the edge of town. overall,a lovely place.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable,clean room with lovely bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Family room fairly expensive when you only have one child. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Comfortable,clean room with lovely bathroom. Helpful, pleasant staff - especially the waitress at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.5
    The beautiful hotel and the lovely bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a bit of a drive into the town so if you wanted to eat out you needed a taxi.

    The beautiful hotel and the lovely bedroom and bathroom. The food was wonderful Fine Dining. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    overall the hotel was lovely, the grounds and the facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room could do with tea & coffee making facility. Breakfast was expensive for a family of 5

    overall the hotel was lovely, the grounds and the facilities were everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    lovely room, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Were very disappointed in the standard of service in the restaurant. Wrong meal brought to our table and our adjacent table. Waiter has to ask who was having what. Coffee dumped down on table. Food however was good.

    lovely room, very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff helpful and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit pricey Needed a taxi into town of an evening

    Staff helpful and pleasant Breakfast good Setting good Suite good. Bathroom excellent Pool nice

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    Area , facilities , peace and quiet , decor, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi Fi Connection was not very good in your room as we could not connect unless we went down to the reception area , this needs to be looked at

    Area , facilities , peace and quiet , decor, staff

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, great ambience and fabulous grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor WiFi coverage. Poor choice or no choice on the menu for vegetarians.

    Very friendly staff, great ambience and fabulous grounds. Nice size room - we had a superior room. They remembered us from our stay two weeks earlier on our way down to the South of France

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    Room was very clean however it was very very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very clean however it was very very small. Hangers not strong enough to hold a pair of jeans, storage not big enough for more than one night. Bathroom clean and roomy

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food and wine a little on the expensive side. Closed on Mondays! No tea making facility in the bedroom. Second floor bedrooms could benefit from air conditioning.

    Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Excellent food and wine selection. Good pool. Convenient location with plenty of parking. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Very peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very peaceful location. Staff were really friendly (without exception). Arrived after a day's cycling and spent a very relaxing couple of hours sat by the pool. Evening meal was fantastic and eaten on the terrace. Amazing breakfast sat in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi is not always strong enough, and the access quite cumbersome. For mobile phones using SFR there is (nearly) no coverage. With Orange F it works.

    Friendliness of staff Beauty of the location Additional service provided

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Our apartment was large, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The decoration of the communal areas (pool, restaurant, reception, bar, etc.) was a bit haphazard and could use updating.

    Our apartment was large, clean and quiet. Kids loved being on the ground floor with access to the garden. The wonderful dinner was an unexpected treat.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    The pool and meal at the restaurant is what makes this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee facilities in room or information of how to obtain. No spa facilities for a pamper. No fitness studio/gym

    The pool and meal at the restaurant is what makes this hotel stand out

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.1
    Very good cold buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival we were shown to a small room with only a shower although we had booked a superior room with a bath. After complaining (and producing our booking confirmation with room details) we were, rather grudgingly and without apology, allocated a better standard room, although without a room safe. On Mondays, when the restaurant is shut, no room service is available and the bar is also closed . No tea making facilities in the room.

    Very good cold buffet breakfast. The staff, with one exception, were very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    VERY GOOD ALL ROUND, BREAKFAST IN THE GARDEN, A QUIET AND...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE METAL SLIDING DOOR TO THE BATHROOM ,THAT WORKS THE LIGHT SWITCH AND WILL NOT TURN OFF FOR SOME MINUTES AFTER ITS CLOSED. NOT A HOOK ANYWHERE IN THE BATHROOM

    VERY GOOD ALL ROUND, BREAKFAST IN THE GARDEN, A QUIET AND RELAXING STAY.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.9
    Lovely grounds in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work for us and the staff could not figure out why so we had to go into town to get a signal. Hotel layout is different - stairs and dark hallways.

    Lovely grounds in the country. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, as requested they gave us blankets not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting in the bedroom wasn't very good and the room was dark. Dinner was disappointing, technically clever, the textures were quite odd and, most importantly flavour was distinctly lacking. It was expensive for what was provided, it looked brilliant but this seemed to be at the expense of the taste. Breakfast was also expensive and quite limited, croissants were actually burnt, which is not usually a problem in France whatever the price.

    Comfortable bed, as requested they gave us blankets not a duvet. Clean well equipped bathroom, pretty garden, quiet location. Cheerful service at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    Pleasant dining room, seating side by side on a square table...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault any service, food or accommodation, the staff are attentive and make you feel as if you are the only person there. Luckily it was not raining as we walked from the accommodation to the restaurant but I'm sure the hotel does have umbrellas.

    Pleasant dining room, seating side by side on a square table so much nicer than seating opposite. Lovely choice of menu. The amuse bouche, very different and so tasty-a delicious mushroom filled macaroon, yellow of egg cooked at 64degrees with crispy toast finger & an amazing stinging nettle bite.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.2
    The co-owner is a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is too far from town to walk and there is a lack of taxis if you want to have a drink with a lunch/dinner away from base. The restaurant is also closed on Mondays which I hadn't noticed when booking.

    The co-owner is a delight. Our room was upgraded to one of the pavilions because the restaurant was closed. Sitting on the terrace overlooking parkland was a joy. Breakfast was terrific!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Com fort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room a little small for 5

    Com fort

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.6
    La lodge en bois
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Le dessert au restaurant

    La lodge en bois

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    The attention to detail and the hospitality and efficiency...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attention to detail and the hospitality and efficiency of the staff. The standard throughout was high and the dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    It's a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a great place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very helpful it is very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfort and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I am still awaiting cancellation refund for 27th September to my account

    Comfort and location

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Very quiet hotel near pretty town of Bagnoles de lOrne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive meals but Michelin quality.

    Very quiet hotel near pretty town of Bagnoles de lOrne.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Having visited before on many occaisions I was greeted like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING

    Having visited before on many occaisions I was greeted like an old friend and treated as such.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    The pool, the restaurant, the room, the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi could be better

    The pool, the restaurant, the room, the balcony

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly staff. Lovely decor. Good choice of menus

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Staff were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive and not good value for money. The hotel is very tired!

    Staff were lovely!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    The setting,the ambience and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting,the ambience and the staff.Close to Bagnole-sur-L'Orme.A very comfortable stop-over

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: