Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Manoir Du Rodoir 3 stars

Route De Nantes, 56130 La Roche-Bernard, France

#4 of 4 hotels in La Roche-Bernard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was completely unacceptable. One meal overcooked and the other underdone, the opposite from what was ordered. Having said that we would certainly stay there again, but would walk into the town for our meal, where we have eaten well on many prévious occasions

    Quiet situation and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being an old building (farm) there is no elevator but staircase is wide and easy. Corridors are wide and clear as well, with vast windows. Floor was a bit noisy in the room. Bathroom was a bit noisy as well. TV set had a too bright blue "sleep" light mode, I had to unplug it. My phone did not charge at night because I had to use the plug for the side lamp and I did not check first if it was on. I would suggest some extra plugs for charging gear in the rooms.

    Front desk. Staff taking great care. Dinner. Quality of preparation and freshness of ingredients. Wine. Mineral water. Breakfast, with plenty of choice and spontaneous offer to get special dish on request. Beautiful park and nature outside in June. Vast bedrooms and facilities. Very clean. Nicely refurbished old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all a bi shabby despite being modern inside. Grounds badly in need of some loving care. Road noise an issue when windows open.

    Comfortable bed. Reasonably spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived 45 mins earlier than Booking.com stated for arrival and asked if the room might be ready (we had travelled 5 hrs), we were surprised to be told no and asked to leave and return in 2-3 hours! The hotel is on the outskirts of the village so you either have to drive or walk a short stretch down the grass edge of a busy road to get into the village and in the room there was only a TV socket and one other socket (which did not work) so unable to charge phone and watch tv etc and there was no kettle in the room (so bring a travel one).

    The hotel is on the outskirts of the village and had plenty of parking. The village is lovely with lots of little side streets and wonderful shops, there is also a harbour area and a good range of restaurants. At the hotel the rooms are comfortable and the food in the restaurant is generally good (we had evening meals a couple of times). The outdoor swimming pool was very quiet and surrounded by trees, so peaceful. After the initial concerns about the poor welcome, we found that the staff members were friendly and approachable and once we settled into our room and wandered round the hotel and surrounding village, we really enjoyed it and would return and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room and breakfast not included in already quite expensive price. Also shower hose wouldn't stay in holder and so got bathroom wet. told staff and they said it was fixed but had exactly same problem with next 2 showers we took. it really needed fixing properly

    breakfast fairly good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't arrive Sunday pm. After a hot drive, there was nothing available- restaurant closed, bar closed. The only drink we could get was a bottle of water in the bedroom. Food was over priced and over cooked. The hair dryer was useless, and the shower head was hanging down from its holder.

    The old building was beautiful, but in need of care. The setting was good. The pool was good and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If this is a typical example, the hotel chain appear to keep their properties understaffed. One person plus a chef could not cater for the needs of all the guests (receptionist, bar, waitress etc.) We curtailed our meal after 2 hours and they were still serving at midnight. It left a bad taste to what could have been a pleasant experience.

    The location was very peaceful but rustic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not open in the evening,

    The welcome on arrival and every morning at breakfast was so friendly it made us really feel at home thank you very much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange hairdryer - took ages to dry hair. Would be good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Surprised to find cats in the restaurant but they were cute. The quality of dinner in the restaurant was disappointing for the 59 euro menu we chose. My fillet steak was chewy and I didn't have the confidence to return it.

    Large comfortable room and bathroom. Quiet location close to town. Spacious restaurant with tasteful decor, Breakfast enjoyable. Good for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi non-existant despite Hotel claims it was functional everywhere great breakfast, but evening food disappointing and not value for money

    Lovely location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff hardly ever around and not particularly warm and friendly. Hotel looked tired i.e.paving around swimming pool full of weeds. No personal service for breakfast. Bar area not particularly inviting. We feel we could no recommend this hotel based on our experience.

    We could walk into town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed for 5 days at the manoir to explore the lovely environment of La Roche Bernard, super friendly staff, nice and spacious room with garden view!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little more variety of breakfast foods?

    Excellent location just outside the village. Very spacious room and spacious ensuite. Delightful hosts. Manor House full of character and set in quiet wooded grounds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being talked about by staff in our hearing as 'Les Anglais' - the cost of drinks at the bar were extremely marked up. Bathroom a bit tired.

    Nice grounds and building, good breakfast and quality of food at dinner all very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and beautiful building ☺

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seemed tired

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot make any criticisms

    Staff were very pleasent and helpful.little English spoken

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast & friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security / no safe in the room

    Relaxed staff all very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't provide 3 single beds in a room or 2 beds and a cot

    Supper and Breakfast were as expected. Very pleasant immediate environment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Peace,quiet and service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place with beautiful garden. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous......really friendly staff and beautiful hotel. 10/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the coffee could have been better.

    Croissants were good but coffee was only ok and was barely warm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average breakfast. No eggs offered

    Excellent Michelin star dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A quality location with great effort made to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac/ breakfast without egg and cheese

    Clean / comfortable room/ nice staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Everything was perfect for us, the hosts, the quiet location and the spacious accommodation. Serendipity.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration was bare

    Food quality not great. Room quite bare Nice location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attractive grounds. La Roche Bernard is an attractive place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely going back !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food not as good as last year Expensive for what we had

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice traditional old French hotel, big room and bath and ample breakfast. We stayed only one night passing through and it suited us very well at a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Couple

    The restaurant was very poor.Long waits for service,staff did not work as a team ,wrong dishes were served or forgotten and the food was substandard.

    It was an attractive atmospheric hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We have stayed at 'The Manoir' before and the previous management were very helpful and friendly. This year the Maitre de maison was brusque to the point of rudeness and on several occasions denied us access to public rooms, the terrace and the bar. One evening just after 10 we were locked out of the hotel without being advised of the access code. This all made our stay a little tense.

    The bedrooms were comfortable and the evening menu was very good. Access and parking is not a problem and the staff with one very notable exception were friendly and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The interior decorating of the bedroom and breakfast room should be up-dated.

    The whole hotel is quite clean. The hotel manager and staff are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is excellent. The swimming pool is a valuable facility on a warm summer afternoon. La Roche-Bernard is a cute little old town, quite appropriate for a week-end or a stop overnight.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought showers and bathroom was minimum standard for cost- shower unit plastic and kept falling apart Not keen on using hotels which have had pets in their rooms but not fault of hotel However maybe booking.com could flag up which hotels allow pets or don't allow pets Hotel was very clean tho and once there it said clearly in their brochure pets allowed but would've liked to have known beforehand

    Lovely location and town Staff were helpful Grounds lovely but should've been geared up for a short walk/ trail to show grounds off to their best Everything was clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was rather tired and in need of modernising, a dressing table/desk and a comfy chair.

    Food very good indeed. Proprietors most welcoming and helpful,

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stuffy dark bedrooms. Not made clear that I would be charged for two rooms although I clearly stated I was with 2 young children who were happy to stay with parents at the time of booking. Cost of overnight stay thus doubled.

    Quiet & accessible & very clean. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff! The Manoir has a beautiful decor. Ask to for a room on the garden side, no 'road noise' and a beautiful view. (We saw deer around the pond in the morning) The terrace provided a relaxed venue to enjoy a glass nice glass of wine. Diner and breakfast were good.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Post code for Sat Nav is totally wrong. Spent a lot of time finding the Hotel, mainly with the help of local people. No working wifi although it is an advertised facility Breakfast offering a little on the mean side. One staff member a little unfriendly

    Clean, comfortable, well organised, good secure parking. Evening menu very good. Good touring area.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We last stayed there in 2009. The hotel was quite as good as last time and worthy of a higher rating than 8.2. It is conveniently but quietly located and comfortable, the staff are welcoming and the food very good. We would happily go back another time.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In mid March, being quiet, there wasn't always a member of staff around and felt as if I was the only person there.

    Welcoming staff, comfortable room and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good

    The ambience

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, pleasant owners and staff, excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was very easy: arriving, coming & going, paying and departing.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating set too high. Had to turn off radiators and open windows

    Restaurant. Excellent food and service

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful view from bedroom window. Very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very unfriendly restaurant manager Guests not welcome in public rooms before 18:00

    Location Lovely old Manor House Good Value Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI in room not good.

    Comfortable and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi too slow to be useful, no where to charge phone unless you unplugged TV

    Elegant hotel, quiet location, good food

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good cuisine. Attractive old manor house in atmospheric surroundings

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms dated, cheap fittings, room generally living in the 70's.

    Dining room has been renovated nicely.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast , not so good , could have better french bread ,

    Hotel very nice , staff very good .

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad service

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meal on Sunday evening at height of season.

    Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm welcoming Diligent staff Great location Spacious room Overall excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor gripe wif Fi was only really any good when In The reception area

    Food and location very good value

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just the toilet bruch missing in the bathroom..

    Nice place, nice people, nice food, nice price..

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to leave

    The helpfulness of the owners

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful location - bird life and animals abound! Felt welcome and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice bedroom and bathroom.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Le Manoir Du Rodoir traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: