Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Marceau Bastille 4 stars

13 Rue Jules Cesar, 12th arr., 75012 Paris, France

#316 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1222 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small shower head so didn't make for an easy shower if you like a good shower. Lovely soft towels, best on our three week trip.

    Good and quiet location within 5 minutes walk to Bastille Metro. Small, clean, and would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK. And buffet style always means you can eat as much as you want, but the boiled eggs may have been cooked the day before, the scrambled egg was set like rubber. We found plenty to like though.

    A good location. Comfortable rooms. helpful staff. A lovely vegan restaurant just around the corner (Le gentle gourmet).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being Indian vegetarians the buffet breakfast falls short of expectations in terms of vaeirty. Should have provided an option for a vegetarian dish or for egg eaters option between scrambled & omellete should be provided. Not all prefer scrambled eggs & that too daily.

    No issues with the property & all facilitlites were as detailed in the offer. Though close to Bastille, signs indicating the way could have been better. We were saved by Google maps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to Bastille metro station where there are three lines to all directions. Nice breakfast, love the cappuccino. Room is very clean. All in all we had a very pleasant 5 nights stay. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is just few minutes away from Vastilis square. The room was very confort, nicely furnitered and clean. The staff was very kind and helpful and the breakfast was perfect as it had a lot of variaty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room (we took family room) was super small, the same the bathroom (you basically sit onthe toilet with the door on your face). The toilet broke twice in our 3 days stay (I reported it and it was repaired immediately but still unpleasant experience). The bathroom was dirty (mould on the tiles), room smelled with dust.

    Location is good. Comfortable bed. Good quality towels and bed linen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only drawback was the size of the room. I didn't measure it but it didn't feel like the 172 square feet stated on the web.

    The staff is very helpful and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. The location is great. Most places were easily accessible by underground or river bus. The hotel was clean can be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ii did not had an interesting view from my room.

    Location is very good- you can go by foot to the center locations. Breakfast was great. Staff was professional. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    croissants at breakfast could have been better (complaining on a very, very high level :-))

    comfy bed, location, staff, breakfast (especially the yoghurt), quiet and warm room - would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sink in our bathroom was not properly working, however it was not big inconvenience.

    I have read many reviews before I booked a room at this hotel, and I have to say that it exceeded my expectations! The room was very comfy and clean, the bathroom was very spacious. The area is very safe (especially comparing to e.g. the area of Gare du Nord which area I was also checking for booking a hotel).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike - everything was fabulous!

    What a fantastic hidden gem! Great location, comfortable bed and shower, delicious breakfast and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Parking was close and easy for a weekend too. LOVE that they allow pets at no extra charge! Highly recommend the hotel and will definitely stay again anytime my plans take me to Paris!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldnt believe we had to stand up and queue for breakfast and to wait for a table to be free so we could eat. We stood up for 20 minutes before we could eat.....

    The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was lovely with the robes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideal location for our visit to see a performance at the Opera Bastille, but there are plenty of other attractions within reasonable walking distance, like the Marais, Ile de la Cite, and the Pere Lachais cemetery. Also, direct metro lines to visit the spectacular Fondation Louis Vuitton building, and to get from and to the Eurostar terminal at Gare du Nord. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. This was our second stay, and I'm sure we'll be back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be a bit bigger. But not a problem at all.

    Comfortable bed. Clean room. Good toiletries offered. Very friendly staff. Easy check in. Pet friendly with no extra charges (will definitely come back!). We were about half an hour late for check out and they were kind enough not to make this a problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is unhelpful. Despite booking for 2 adults and 1 child 0-2 years old, received a room with 3 separate beds and no cot bed. The staff did not know whether they have a cot bed. Ended up sleeping in a double bed with the baby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was a bit dark. But it’s only a short walk from the Main Street, thus not a big issue.

    All the Ssaffs were friendly and nice. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great in terms of variety and the quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very helpful and nice. The hotel was clean and Wifi worked fine. The breakfast was good as well. Not far away from the touristic places. The metro was nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good to know is that if not payed in advance, a reservation of the full amount for the stay was put on the card and although released on the day of checkout it took almost a full week to be refunded to my account. I made an inquiry about it and it is standard procedure. Maybe this is common in France so I recommend you make sure to have enough extra money on your card to cover all other travel expenses even if this should happen.

    Very quiet room, bright and clean. Good breakfast! Close enough to great areas for going out at night for a glass of wine, some food and in the daytime for sightseeing. Hotel sits on a quiet backstreet so you don't hear all the busy city sounds. Close to the Metro and city buses!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't particularly like the location, metro is close but in Paris there are so many nice spots that I was sorry not to have a nice one around me

    Nice staff, room is cozy and comfortable. We left the luggages before the check-in and they have brought them in our room before we came back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could have been more options for breakfast, which was very limited.

    The Staff Were Extra helpful and were ready with answers for almost everything we asked. Great work guys!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City tax was charged in cash at check in even if it was suppose to be included. Booking should inform of that. Lasy at the front desk was rude, poor level of English and not willing to even speak or discuss any problem. Wifi only worked the first day.

    Breakfast was really good, a lot of variety.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing is really unfortunate. If something wants to improve, maybe breakfast room were rather small.

    Location is excellent. Metro and Gare de Lyon is just a short walk away. Few restaurants just nearby and Carrefour behind the corner for the snacks. Easy to explore and walk all around, Marais, Notre Dame, Seine.. Room was new and nicely decorated. Someone might say that room is small but for us it was just perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no Wi-Fi during our stay which was very, very annoying!!!!!

    As said, the location, the room is big for such a central location, the hotel is quiet even beeing situated near the Lyon rail station which is a very, very busy part of Paris.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super well located, easy access by public transport, close to shopping and the Paris Bastille Opera. Quiet street. Good breakfast. I will definitively go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was with room service---order arrived promptly but was basically inedible.

    Room was very clean, modern, functional, roomy (for Paris)----everything we needed was there and easy to use. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos everywhere!!! We were bit a number of times!

    The hotel had an art gallery and was very modern. The room was clean and also very comfortable. Also conveniently located between two train stations - Gate du Lyon and Bastille. It was so convenient to rent a bike and ride to Notre Dame or the Louvre. The breakfast was a nice touch! I enjoyed the room, however there was a mosquito problem in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet Breakfast : scramble eggs were overcooked, others options could be offered such as poached , omelettes

    Staff were very helpful, with transport assistance , metro and buses, restaurants bars suggestions . Fresh pastries for breakfast every morning,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet access was terrible.

    The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was good. Location very good for what I needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot further away from everything than we were lead to believe. The rooms are tiny and confining. The walls between rooms are very thin. We could hear the people next door having noisy sex at one in the morning. 😮 The breakfast was always cold and dry and one morning there was limited food as the previous morning a tour group ate most of the food.

    Staff were great. Very clean and maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "fitness center" was small and almost nothing in it... they should not promote it as a fitness center...

    Breakfast is great, hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked to pay for the entire stay before checking in This is unusual for a graded hotel I was told that was their policy I hope they change that

    Location Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff was really unhelpful! they got the booking amount 3 time!!! once by booking online service, once in cash from our agent in Paris and again from us! when i asked the reception girl (the one who took the amount from the agent!) she told us "NO" no one paid your booking fees!!! That was terrible because i asked them: "Are you sure about it" she told us: "I'm absolutely sure!" Our agent called him the day after and she said: "Oh yes i forgot it!" she said it's takes time to refund the amount to your credit card. It's more than one week that we are waiting for refund amount! such a bad experience in this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I telephoned the hotel 4 days prior to establish if I could check in early as I was aware of their check in times. They said they could accommodate my wishes. - Arrived at the hotel rather early and had to wait hours before a room was available. This does not reflect on my opinion of the hotel but it was very disappointing. They refused to let me sleep in the relaxing lobby area too. I understand and appreciate hotel check in times and policies, but after prior telephoning, I was left very disappointed. If I was Mr Angry I would give the hotel 3/10 for this, but it otherwise deserves its 8.8

    Nice room. Good location. Got to know the area quite quickly and its a part of Paris that I do not know.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi must be better now in 4 star Hotels. To have a free and high Quality WiFi is a Must for me now and unfortunatly, it was slow and unstable.

    The Breakfast quality was really igh level and the patio a real plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff made no effort to be pleasant or accommodating

    The front desk staff was unnecessarily confrontational in its tone and attitude. Other than that, good choice, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds and quiet rooms within walking distance of train and many Paris attractions. The bathrooms were modern, clean and it was a treat to have a bath (thanks for providing bath salts!). The buffet breakfast was exceptional-- great coffee, breads, pastries, yoghurt, granola and fresh cut fruit. Also scrambled eggs. A good start to a day of exploring Paris!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great for me

    Location with two train stations, buses and short walk to river for river bus. Great relaxing Hotel with art theme atmosphere. Staff so helpful and serve a lovely breakfast My room was lso comfortable with Paris style balcony and plenty fresh air. Most enjoyable stay. Accessibility to Paris Attractions Great and lots cafes to eat near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was modern, clean and really comfortable. The Bathroom was perfect and bright with a really nice bathtub. The service was remarkable. It really went above expectations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. Would have got top marks if not for this. I asked if they had other types of pillow but they did not. Shame as bed was very comfy.

    The staff were all so helpful & friendly. The breakfast was excellent. Great decor. Really lovely hotel. I'd definitely stay here again - providing they sort the pillows out!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spanking new, light, spacious and squeaky clean - as good as we've found in central Paris at this sort of price. Two large efficient lifts. Big pleasant public areas. Comfortable room and bed with great view of Paris roofline and chimney pots. Just far enough from Gare de Lyon to be out of the station sleaze - close to canal St.Martin and good local bars and restaurants in the Quinze Vingt quartier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Skip the 24Euro breakfast and walk to a local bakery for breakfast.

    Excellent proximity to Gare de Lyon and Paris sights in the Bastille area. Room and bathroom were modern and VERY clean. Nice towels. Air Conditioning worked well. Room was very quiet. Outdoor courtyard perfect for an evening picnic and glass of wine. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - even helped us check-in early at 1130 after our long flight from California. Would definitely stay here again should I find myself needing a hotel near the Bastille/Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is good but not at 4* level.

    The staff was friendly. The bed very comfortable. The hotel is very well located. The room was not noisy, at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated very close to centrum. The rooms are cleaned up every day, and the breakfast is just nice. A nice sweet lady helps in the breakfast room. We thank you for your kind smile and attention.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking at the hotel, you need to use public garages. Do some research to find the cheapest one, if you don't mind a 10/15 minute walk you should look further out rather than the places directly near the hotel.

    The hotel is in a good location close to the Bastille metro station (5 minute walk). This provides quick and easy access to the heart of Paris. It is also within walking distance of Notre Dame (20 minute walk). The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. Also the staff were friendly and we were greeted with a smile. The price is very good as well, especially after comparing the price with other places on adventures in Paris. Everything you could need for a weekend city break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very helpful staff. Our stay was only short but the location of this accommodation gave us a great launching pad for exploring Paris.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit overpriced for a 4 people considering the small room but, small rooms seems to be pretty consistent in Paris.

    The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The staff were more than helpful and Cyril was absolutely great - what a personality he has, and no matter how busy he was he always made us feel special! All staff gave us information needed to make our stay just about perfect. The breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choices. This hotel is nice and central (near a metro), yet far enough away from the centre of Paris to be quiet and retain its 'Frenchness' .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower bracket was broken so difficult to wash hair. Lack of horizontal surfaces near top of bed to put stuff on. Room safe was fitted vertically in wardrobe and so heavy safe door was difficult to open. View from hotel room window was interior wall but not a big problem

    Buffet breakfast was excellent and breakfast staff were attentive, refilling supplies often. Reception staff were helpful on arrival with local knowledge and advice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is advertised and was selection criteria, confirmed with comment on booking. No feedback however and upon arrival it appeared it wasn't possible. Glad to find public parking nearby for "only" 72 💶 2 nights.

    Modern, central location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi was slow and sporadic

    Alexandra was first rate in helping us moderate our booking for some of the nights due to a change in no of people. She was also wonderful in helping us change a one flight. Exceptionally professional and all done with a smile. the hotel was lovely, good sized rooms, excellent beds, nice breakfast. 4 min walk to the RER for disneyland. 3 minute walk to metro bastille no1, and 6 min walk to metro 10 that took us directly to Roland Garros tennis. Will definitely come back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi and the LAN is a disaster, I wasted a lot of time because of it and had to pay a lot of money for data roaming to do my work. Breakfast is minimal and costs a fortune.

    Nice, clean, good size room, well decorated. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 remarks: (1) the wifi is not strong enough to stream videos. (2) the bath is not equipped to take a shower. The glass screen is way too small and does not seal against the wall, basically this is a bath-only bathroom. However, now many travelers prefer to take a shower because it is faster. It won't be hard to install a proper shower curtain and it will make the stay much more comfortable for many travelers. (3) For a 4 star hotel, too much noise from the hallway. It would help to install another door between the entryway and the bedroom.

    The location is good and convenient for travel from Gare de Lyon. The hotel is stylish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel sign on the front of the building is a bad design in cheap materials and discourages a client from continuing to the hotel. The front hotel sign is a bad graphic design: the letters are too thin and small. The black and white colors are boring and unimaginative. Hire a Paris graphic designer to create a new imaginative graphic sign for your hotel front. 25 euros was an outrageous price for breakfast. I went to a cafe instead.

    My room was large and newly renovated. The bathroom was large and new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortinately the room wasn't ready upon our arrival, we had to wait between 2 and 3 pm to have access to it..the staff apologised but that wasn't good enough as it changed the planning of our day. The second day, when we went back after lunch just after 1.30 pm the room had not been done yet..the explanation being that we hadn't told the reception about our intention of returning to the room at that time.

    I liked the modern decor in the reception area . The quality of the breakfast was also above average. The room had excellent sound insulation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like about our stay.. the wi-fi could be a little stronger kept dropping out.

    The staff were very welcoming & helpfull. Location wasn't far from anything at all, was nice to walk about and be able to spot stuff right away didn't get lost. Everything was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to keep windows open. Cigarette smoke form other clients via outside areas or them smoking out the windows can make your room smell like smoke in minutes. Although, this is a common problem with most European hotels.

    Rooms are clean and nicely appointed. Location is great, only a few blocks from Gare Le Lyon and the Bastille Monument. Its beautiful area of Paris. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dysfunctional wi-fi in the room (but the staff told me they are working to change the system, so it should be ok soon). The wi-fi works well in the lobby and breakfast room.

    Very nice and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite expensive. But there are plenty of options near the hotel The two single beds were almost one, as they were very close to each other

    The room is very pleasant. There's space and the big windows light it very well The Bastille station (near the hotel) is very useful as the 3 rail lines will frequently takeout directly were you want to go

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived at the hotel I was told that my room was not ready and that I needed to return at 3 PM, which I did. However, when I arrived AFTER 3 PM, I was told that it still wasn't ready and that I needed to continue to wait. The staff wasn't particularly about the annoyance and inconvenience caused, offering only a drink as by way of an apology. The rooms are rather small. We had a twin-bed room and there was not much space once we had pulled the beds apart. In addition, I think a 4* rating is overrating it a bit, I would say that it is a good 2 ~ 3* standard

    Comfortable bed, wel- equipped rooms. The staff, on the whole, were helpful when I asked them questions.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was pretty bad.

    The location was excellent, close to bars and restaurants as well as a metro stop. The staff were lovely and friendly and forgave our horrendous French skills. The room was a good size, bathroom was lovely and had a fantastic shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi signal was not good

    It was a really nice stay. Breakfast was so tasty (delicious coffee, orange juice etc.). Room was clean with very comfortable beds. Staff was helpful and nice :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing special about the breakfast - typical three star European with stiff scrambled eggs etc. in a warmer and so on. The "honesty bar" (for outside breakfast hours) is silly - a €4.50 cup of coffee from a machine is a joke.

    Quiet room in a great location if you want / need to be near Gare de Lyon station like we needed to be. Maybe not so good if you want to be near other main tourist spots. The view from our room was very Mary Poppins with rooftops and chimneys - very romantic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street could have been a little cleaner but I suppose that's not the hotel's responsibility.

    Staff were great! Room was great! Breakfast was YUMMMMY!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was a local burger restaurant food was mediocre

    Location was great near metro, markets and not too far from centre. Excellent staff and room. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because they've had trouble with guests booking on line, guests now have to pay in advance which is off-putting. For the same reason, presumably, the hangers were that awful click in type from which everything slid off.. My room was quite masculine in feel, with no view, there wasn't a single drawer, but only a couple of metal shelves, the safe was installed sideways on the bottom of a cupboard which meant I had to crouch on the floor to get to it and still couldn't read the instructions, so I couldn't use it. I informed the pleasant staff of these objections who were apologetic but these are things that can't be changed without a policy decision.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, my room was quiet, the towels and bedding were good quality, terry cloth robes and slippers were supplied and the room temperature was easy to control.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At something like 24 euros per person, don't bother with the breakfast.

    I was pleased that my room faced the quiet interior courtyard. It seems the hotel has been recently refurbished: everything is nice and fresh. I appreciated the good Wifi, the luggage storage, and the friendly, accessible staff. An added plus: there was NO noise in the morning. No vacuum in the hallway, no slamming service doors. I really got to sleep in!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heaven on earth.

    The location of the hotel, close to la Gare de Lyon since I normally arrive there from Lausanne, Switzerland, the friendliness and sunny smile from the receptionists, the excellent breakfast (I simply love to eat fruit), the large room and its cleanliness...sorry almost everything in the hotel. I will certainly come back to your hotel!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So unlike the many over priced and slightly warn down Parisian hotels. Charming, and still modern, well equipped, great decor and fully functioning wifi and, the kicker, the very helpful and accommodating people who work there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff! We could park our bikes in a safe place overnight. Great location, close to the canal where you arrive by bike (if you come from Belgium?Holland).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor: Bed too hard. Choice of music in hotel not very relaxing. Major: Lobby area extremely over perfumed daily. This would be the one reason I would not stay here again.

    Cleanliness. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wardrobe was so close to the bathroom that it was not easy to open the bathroom door while the second person in the room was looking for clothes etc. in the wardrobe The safe was situated very low

    The breakfast was very good The staff very nice and helpful the room was very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - close to the Basttile square and Metro station. very kind receptionists - helped us with every request we had. Clean and good atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The local area. Close to Norte dame but not a lot else. Also it was in the very centre of a political demonstration so we struggled to get back to the hotel. Some notice would have been good!

    The hotel itself was a very nice trendy place with good facilities. However it was an oasis in a wilderness.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members was fighting in the lobby with another men, using negative language in front of guests of the hotel. Otherwise the staff was very helpfull and proffessional

    Helpfull staff and the room where cleaned well every day

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, while ideal for onward travel, is not the nicest neighbourhood. The rooms are quite small. The bathrooms have a tendency to get wet due to powerful showers but small shower screens.

    Breakfast is good. Great toiletries and nice beds. Proximity to Gare de Lyon is the main reason we stayed there but the service is very good and very efficient. Loads of storage in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Marceau Bastille traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: