Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Marius 3 stars

2 Place De L'église, 10340 Les Riceys, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Les Riceys

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quaint traditional place with real charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the time of the year a lot of lorries, vans and tractors passed the small road past the hotel which made it a little noisy early in the morning.

    Lovely room, building and staff. Lovely area and village. We got the suite which was amazing with the old wooden beams.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    An amazing place to stay and discover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have tea/coffee making facilities - but as we were only staying one night it didn't really matter, and in comparison with the comfort of the room, it is a tiny point!

    The room was extraordinary - beautifully decorated, spacious, and comfortable. Large bathroom which was great, and with a spa bath! The staff were all very courteous and friendly. The meal at the restaurant was excellent, and we would recommend sampling the house Champagne (made by the owners!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Handy stop on the way to Italy, huge room, good bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Réserve - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bidet, lock on door very hard to use.

    Handy stop on the way to Italy, huge room, good bathroom, pleasant staff. Restaurant food was excellent in a lovely cellar space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Dated hotel with limited amenities and quality but nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Réserve - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities in room - not even any water to drink. Hot water was cold. Breakfast was poor. Long wait. Coffee machine coffee and ran out of ingredients and nobody around to fill it. Then was broken. Bread and croissants ran out and had to go repeatedly downstairs to reception to ask for things as nobody on duty in breakfast room. Valentines dinner was fixed price no choice menu and if only modest quality. Dinner was booked in advance but we were not advised that the usual menu would not be available. All in all a less than professional operation.

    Nice atmosphere. Staff tried to be helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Réserve - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room décor was a bit tired.

    Lovely buffet breakfast with home made jams made from the local wine grapes. Dinner in the vaulted cellar restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely,interesting village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we were given a noisy room to start with. Would not have been happy if we could not be moved

    The original room we were given was very noisy - an electrical type hum from a cupboard. We asked to be moved and we were given another room which, luckily for us, was available. Once we had shown the receptionist the problem she was happy to move use. Excellent restaurant adjoining

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was laissez faire We were left waiting at reception after being given a form to fill in and were only attended to when someone else walked by The room was gloomy and across a back yard down steps behind the kitchen with curtains closed so we could not see the car park outside ! There was an open back door which someone tried to enter the hotel by as it was not locked Luckily we had a key This was never pointed out to us . Took 30 minutes to take our order,an hour to get aperitif's and one and a half hours to get our first course in the restaurant We could not open the shower door in the morning The owner came quickly but we already had to dress so didn't want to get undressed against so no shower All in all not a pleasant experience

    The building was very beautiful and the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Very expensive would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grands Espaces - Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Overlooked Used sanitary products in bin on arrival Two half empty toilet rolls in toilet - no spares Lamb very fatty in restaurant Bed not made up for son on arrival Owner disputed the fact that we had booked the quadruple room for a family 2 adults 1 child said we'd not booked for our son Charged us an extra €25 on top of the already very expensive €160 room rate per night. Female owner claimed not to understand when I raised my issues.

    Bed very comfortable Pink champagne made by the family is beautiful Son of family was e trembly helpful and spoke perfect English

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Boutique value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water out of cold tap for ages. Breakfast very average, poor for establishment of this type. Restaurant great yet wine expensive.

    Character by the bucket. Value great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place to stay and eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms overlooking the road might be noisy, but it was very quiet whilst we were there.

    Well renovated old building into interesting hotel, bar and restaurant. friendly staff, comfy beds, excellent evening meal and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, a great over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower within the bath should be equipped with some sort of screen.

    Well equipped modern rooms created with style in a beautifully renovated old building. Excellent evening meal served in a charming cellar restaurant. The picturesque village and river. Good value local champagne on sale.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in lovely building and friendly, attentive team. Fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor details. Room 11 is close to the chillers, the noise is not an issue in the winter with the windows closed. Poor bathroom lighting for shaving - I know this applies to most hotels. WiFi did not work at all during our overnight stay.

    A lovely small town hotel, opposite a beautiful church. Fair value for a good nights sleep and buffet breakfast. Dinner in the restaurant was also good, with nice wines by the glass.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    The hotel was in an old building, well looked after with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    U nfortunately the man on reception in the morning was guite brusgue and not at all like the other staff.

    The hotel was in an old building, well looked after with characture and confortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Stay Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with Air Conditioning

    The place was lovely in a lovely village perfect for stopping off on the way down to Italy or France

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok stay but breakfast was rather boring with no cooked food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower

    Restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of hot water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Located in a very picturesque village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for parking and breakfast

    Located in a very picturesque village

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Last minute reservation via Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Réserve - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last minute reservation via Booking.com was not processed yet. Due to this fact we got a room upgrade. Excellent management reaction.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Had a lovely large room although downstairs and had a bit of a musty smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was better than dinner

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Ideal location to break the journey on our way south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent meal in the restaurant and staff were helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    OK, but expensive, would stay somewhere else next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grande Cuvée - Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a shower. When booked site said two large double beds, one was a sofa bed & not very comfortable.

    Nice big room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Lovely charming hotel with great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cuvée Spéciale - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous room, excellent restaurant and friendly staff. Have stayed here several times now and it's consistently very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.7
    Good internet and TV.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower.Breakfast poor value. 16 miles from autoroute

    Good internet and TV.Large room.Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    6.7
    Calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An array of stairs indoor and outdoor to get to our room. Not very easy when it is raining and with luggage. Nothing to see in the little village. Bar a bit odd and messy. When ordering champagne, snacks are with a coin a little tin of olives or nuts... No coffee table on the sofa in the room. Lacks charms and is overpriced.

    Calm. Very good power shower. Large room. Restaurant food good.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.5
    Understaffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Understaffed. Very hard bed. Lovely, deep bathtub, but impossible for elderly person to get into and out of without assistance. Guests need to remember that bar service doubles the price of a bottle of wine that you buy there--instead, allow staff to open it, give you glasses, and you may take it to the comfortable sitting room nearby. Better French skills would have saved me money.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    A lovely hotel opposite an enormous church in an unspoilt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely hotel opposite an enormous church in an unspoilt village in the Champagne region. A very smart restaurant in the cellar beneath the hotel. Excellent food and wine at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Excellent welcome, Champagne degustation, dinner, room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very important for us but WiFi connection limited -faulty IP address. TV and selection of channels poor - BBC World Service not available.

    Excellent welcome, Champagne degustation, dinner, room and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    What a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a lovely hotel. Excellent food in a wonderful restaurant at acceptable prices, accompanied by Champagne from the owners own vineyards. Lots of activities within reach - we visited Tonnerre & Chablis.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.5
    Great character and wonderful food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No much hot water came through tap in bath or basin in our room (7)

    Great character and wonderful food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Excellente attention du personnel et de la patronne !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellente attention du personnel et de la patronne !

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location, hotel has their own Vineyard which makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, hotel has their own Vineyard which makes nice Champagne at 14EUR a bottle to take away.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Room 10 is a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 10 is a delight. Right up in the roofspace with all the wooden beams. Large and roomy with a great view of the church.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful suite in roof space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee only from a machine. Didn't make for s perfect breakfast

    Wonderful suite in roof space

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.5
    charming village very quiet & peaceful, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    charming village very quiet & peaceful, excellent restaurant,with attentive staff, very comfortable room with lovely bathroom

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Large spacious comfortable suite, excellent facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Large spacious comfortable suite, excellent facilities, gracious hosts

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: