Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Memphis

101 Boulevard Du Grand Cerf, 86000 Poitiers, France

#20 of 38 hotels in Poitiers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain slightly blocked

    Good communication. Lovely clean and simple accommodation. Good value for money. Large, well lit multi storey car park right across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Check in time.

    The woman at the reception was extremely nice. Its not the most luxurious hotel, but we already knew that before we booked it. It was a hotel during a roadtrip, and it was perfect for that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I inferred from the advert that there was parking at the hotel. In fact it was in a large multi-storey car park across the road. I would not have booked here if I had known. It is located on a noisy road and I felt just slightly unsafe walking to and from the town centre in the evening. I couldn't get the wifi to work despite trying every way of inputting the password and as the reception is not open after 8pm, I couldn't get that issue resolved.

    Comfortable bed and just a short walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rather poor area of Poitiers with few restaurants open on a Saturday evening. We eventually ate at a Japanese restaurant , the only one open in the area, and it was very good although Japanese food would be way down our list of choices.

    The welcome, the room and the breakfast. The hotel was easy to find with a multi storey car park opposite which was very resonably priced - E1.40 overnight. Fine for a one night stop over but probably not ideal for a longer stay unless budget limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who runs the property was very welcoming and friendly, and the breakfast was very nice. The property is very easy to get to from Poitiers train station, less than 5 minutes walk Ideal as a jumping off point for our travels around the area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. She recommended local good restaurants and that information was really helpful. Public parking was very close to the hotel and really inexpensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small clean room with coffee making facility in the room. Station area is not the best for family stay but for an overnight in poitiers us very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No aircon, but big fan supplied. Had to keep window shut for traffic noise. A bit of a climb to the town centre, but escalators/lift if you know where to look!

    Close to the station. We had days out by train to La Rochelle and Anguileme.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this place. The lady who owns the hotel is a dog lover, so we shared a lot of experience on that. She looks serious at first, but she is a nice and loving lady once you talk to her. We also bought some gift she hand-made, all about her dogs. The room we stayed has a window to the garden. By walking 5-10 minutes we reach down town. The path is a long stair on one side of the small hill and it was an enjoyable walk. The parking lot is on the other side of the street. We highly recommend this hotel, but don't recommend a walk in the neighborhood of the parking lot after evening.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as having free WiFi but it was so slow it was barely usable. Shower had to be left to run for five minutes to come to warm temperature, and one of our rooms didn't have a holder for the head so had to hold it during shower. The rooms were also caked in dust - not a real issue for us, but I can imagine asthmatics wouldn't like it.

    Good location and value for money. Lady on reception was friendly and welcoming, and the room was quiet despite it being on a main road. Although there was no air conditioning, there was a tall fan provided.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position for overnight stop when arriving by late train. Did not have breakfast as gluten free and that is difficult fir such an establishment at that very competitive price. Will use again if circumstances are same for my travel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture didn’t match what it looked like

    Close to center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt welcome . Lovely breakfast . People friendly and helpful . A really pleasant experience .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near the station, but very quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A clean and tidy cosy room. It is easy to reach on foot and by public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Location, it just opposite to the train station. It near to the town too, you can walk there around 5 minute.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner totally unwilling to discuss refund even though genuine mistake was.made--- double booking.

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a family hotel and the landlady really gives a welcoming feeling :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you can only arrive at 4pm

    Really clean hotel lovely room and a lovely lady who owns it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Access is by key code. Although I received my code by e-mail I had already departed for France when it came and therefore had a little difficulty gaining access! The hotel signage could be more prominent.

    The friendliness of the proprietors.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Couple

    No parking in front of hotel to even unload luggage. Car has to be left in paying multi storey car park opposite hotel which is across a busy main road. It is difficult to find the hotel as its frontage is unlit and dingey. The shower room was dated and smelt damp.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bright lights of car park across the road meant room was never dark and the road noise.

    Proximity to train station as we arrived by train. Comfortable bed. Tea and coffee facilities. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the check in is only from 4 pm, there was no answer if you tried to call on the telephone before that time, the location was good if you wanted to be close to the station but it wasnt in the nice old part of Poitiers which is what we wanted, there is no lounge or place to relax if you wanted check out or need to check in earlier, we had asked by email for an earlier check in but the response in French was they didn't understand, and then if you try telephoning the phone goes to voice mail, noisy busy road, if you need somewhere to stay enroute and close to the gare, its probably one of the better hotels inside but if you want to experience the ancient historic part of Poitiers we found other much nicer hotels less expensive and similar price but in the centre of town and yet they were not on booking.com otherwise we would have booked one of those, but if you need hotel opposite the Gare for traveling the next day, its close, taxis are opposite, other than that the room was quaint and had some character with decorative finishes and attention to detail, coffee and tea making facilities but with plastic cups that was a bit of a let down, WIFI worked well, if they had parking facilities it would have been a bonus as I think parking at the GARE would be quite costly. we did discover a great little restaurant bar with very friendly owners at Ave de Trois Rois, le Pince Oriele, not too far from the hotel, that discovery made our night and stay in Poitiers a memorable one, excellent food and wine and service open from 5pm to 2 am, other than that there aren't many restaurants around and you need to cross the Gare into the old part of the city. overall, comfortable, clean room, fresh linen, noise from the street was a minimum with double glazing but did hear some noise from the room upstairs.

    the room inside was nicer than the outside, bed was quite comfortable but small,

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great value for money. very friendly staff and a comfortable room. located near the train station and easy to walk in to the center within a couple of minutes.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost of the car park across the road....28 euro for one night!

    Good location right opposite the train station and a huge car park. Really pretty décor, which reminded me of our visits to Bavaria.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can only check-in between 4pm and 8pm, which is very uncovenient. Luckily the owner was home at 2pm and let us in. The e-mails sent by the hotel were somewhat rude (and all in French of course).

    Modest, clean hotel; nothing special. Located very near the train station, so you don't have to drag your bags up to the city centre. 10 minutes walk to the old town, uphill.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was really soft and definitely not good for my back...but this is a personal taste.

    The staff, The quiet room Water boiler + tea and coffee Really clean!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Couple

    the bathrooms badly need updating

    cleanliness, good position for transport links,a very good Moroccan restaurant nearby, price

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful polite staff, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and comfortable hotel in fairly central location

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful room with a very confortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room and shower room.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel next to busy road. Would have thought it would have a nicer atmosphere, it is fine but nothing special

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was quiet, small but very good and clean

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rien

    Accueil, Chambre, emplacement, 100 m de la gare, petit-déjeuner, grand parking (payant) juste en face

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Very kind and friendly owner. Excellent location close to station and very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no negative points

    Very friendly, reliable, walking distance to the interesting points in Biarritz, quiet

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hôtel Le Memphis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: