Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel du Moulin aux Draps 3 stars

Rue de Crémarest, 62240 Desvres, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Desvres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Velux type windows with poor view of the lovely surroundings from the bedroom.

    The welcome and general ambiance as well as the veranda and view from it .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor, very candy pink. Too much pink overload. But the place itself, staff, location, etc, all fantastic.

    The restaurant is fabulous, food amazing, friendly staff, and lovely little bar area. Would definitely call there again on a stopover North back to the eurotunnel to uk. Very nice indeed, very dog friendly, beautiful views from the restaurant/bar balcony. In a gorgeous location, surrounded by countryside. Set evening menu, choice of 4 starters, 5 mains, and 5 desserts, good choice. We al ate something different and each meal was just fabulous. Really excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had higher expectations based on the photos. It is a pity that breakfast is not in the restaurant with the view to the forest but in a closed room. The facilities are outdated and the food at the restaurant was average quality.

    The hotel is located in a quite area next to the forest. The fresh air and quite atmosphere was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This hotel is near perfect for an overnight/2-3 day stay. The restaurant food is superb and a hot breakfast is cooked before your eyes. The staff cannot do enough for you and smiles are plentiful throughout the hotel. It's well worth the effort of driving off the motorway. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we didn't like. A super place

    A delightful, quiet location, idyllic. Wonderful surroundings, meadows, pond, ducks, dog and cats. We were, however, unlucky to be there on 1 May, when the restaurant was closed. The manager, who was extremely nice and helpful, had told us this in advance, so we were prepared; he supplied us with all we needed (plates, cutlery, butter etc). We will definitely return on a day when we can have a meal there too. A very special place, memorable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Dinner reasonable and probably good value for money. Room good with pleasant views and balcony. Breakfast room very pleasant and breakfast adequate. Tea and coffee in bedroom a real bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelt very damp and musty (despite having being clean and recently decorated). I suspect this was due to the lack of windows or fans.

    We had a small suite which was perfect for us and our two young children. It was slightly separate from the main accommodation so was very quiet. The food was fantastic in the restaurant and they catered wonderfully for our children aged 3 and 5.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was basic. One bunk bed obscured the TV screen on the wall ... not that we were bothered about watching TV, rather it suggested a lack of attention or care. Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked, so we were obliged to drive into Desvres for dinner.

    A tranquil sylvan setting. Breakfast was good ... and good value since we were not charged for the three children (12, 10 & 3).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan or aircon. Had to open the window and were then plagued by mosquitos. It is difficult to sleep when you reek of deet. Also very old soft bed with a dip in the middle. Only slept for about an hour, the worst of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Tried to leave at 7 but only one guy on reception with no English. I had hoped to communicate my concerns to the English speaking management but eventually just gave him the 90 euros and left. Next time will stay at the 32 euro motel in Bethune. Do not stay here!

    Close to Calais

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room very cramped for it to be called a family room. It was a small double room at best.

    The location is excellent. Fabulous views outside property. 20-30 minutes away to the beaches.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds still need to be finished and tables and chairs no longer in use to be taken away.

    Lovely country setting. Excellent restaurant. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in rooms would have helped. They can be a bit stuffy. Brand new staff forgot to offer us either desserts or coffee.

    Location is so lovely away from the hustle and bustle of Boulogne. Top notch food served in a beautiful setting. Great range of good beers and wine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value, comfortable, friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Delightful meal, ideal for travelling with dog and cat. Happy staff, great place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rubber sheets on the bed

    Very helpful staff. Convenient location for driving to Calais

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality food, friendly and helpful staff, good parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath panel was nearly falling off.

    Very good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location near to the small town of Desvres. Nice rooms and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was extra despite it being advertised as being included

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to find and clean. Food was very good excellent value. Would recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not open but the manager was very helpful, providing wine and snacks. We had had a large lunch so did not need a full meal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely surroundings easy drive to the tunnel. Good meal in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was extremely comfortable in a lovely quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were hot

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The two ladies who seemed to run the hotel found themselves over-occupied as the restaurant filled up for the evening meal resulting in long delays between courses.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open (Sunday) since it was one of the reasons for deciding on that hotel.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful including making us a pot of tea on arrival. The decor was very nice and the gardens lovelym

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant does not open. Had to travel over 30 miles to find decent food, stop advertising 24 hour service it isn't there they close at 20.00 no light to see the code pad when you return take a torch awful breakfast worst coffee in France stewed. very bad Guest house let alone let alone a hotel

    Surrounding Countryside

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one member of staff was rather surly. We had to ask for a receipt which was grudgingly provided. The bill was 99€ and we were told that it was not possible to give the 1 € change. Not the amount but the principle!

    The location was beautiful and the excellent quality of the room

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi hardly worked. The bed was a bit too soft and dipped towards the middle.The bottle of water at 5 Euros was too expensive.

    The location was fantastic set out in the open countryside with great views onto the pond and fields beyond. The staff were all very were friendly and helpful. The dining room was beautifully set out with great views from the wall to ceiling windows.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We liked the whole place. The room was comfy & light. The surroundings were beautiful. The food from the restaurant was lovely. The breakfast was the best we'd had in 2 weeks travelling around france & the lady on reception was very helpful & attentive.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms could do with an up grade .beds and bedding also .but again good food etc made up for this .

    The Food was excellent, Sat in a glass bay ate and drank nice wine recommend by our waitress ,watching the wild life and sun go down .

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were new and the food although first class took far too long to be served - I think only teething problems though.

    Very welcoming staff and excellent food and wine

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great welcome from new owners of this modern conversion. Excellent dinner and breakfast ( English if wanted ) and lots to explore in the grounds. Very comfortable and reasonably priced. It will only get better as new owners make their mark.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were disappointed at the lack of restaurant and bar. Fortunately the weather was kind and we picnicked al fresco.

    Quiet and pleasant location, near to the small town of Desvres. Ideal for day trips to eg. Boulogne and Le Touquet.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No one to greet us. No food available. Thankfully were able to get in as another guest arrived who had the pass code. Disappointing.

    Beautiful location in idyllic setting.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After a long journey we were surprised and disappointed to find that the restaurant is no longer open & we had to travel as far as Montreuil & Etaples for dinner

    Attractive well cared for property in beautiful countryside location with lovely views from bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's not a hotel-restaurant, it is just an hotel. Our stay lasted for 3 days, the restaurant was opened just one day. Not even on Good Friday or for Easter.

    Nature all around, a preserved country side, 20 minutes from the sea

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were unhelpful, I asked for a local restaurant recommendation( as the hotel restaurant was shut) - no help was given. Also breakfast was advertised in the room at 12 euro but we were charged 13! This was dishonest and also expensive for what was offered. We would not go back.

    The countryside around the hotel was nice

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to eat on arrival ,asked for code for entry before leaving uk , no communication thus had to make contact via uk as hotel was unmaned !

    peaceful location, nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    table in the bathroom

    Wonderful setting good facilities good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely view from the restaurant. Close to tunnel and Calais. Quite a rural area (we liked this)

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower head needs to be adjustable on the angle.

    Friendly helpful staff. Good food. Relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Couple

    nothing

    comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was very nice and comfortable. The small bar and restaurant was good too.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food good, quiet location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Setting was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good french/international quality.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV. Only French. Wardrobe too small. Could not close door.

    Location. Service. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Couple

    Everything exlcellent

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner choices limited, and main course oily.

    Convenience

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the place, satnav(postcode)not correct.

    All exellent, it is a super place.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel had just changed hands and had not settled down

    location staff breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We should have stayed longer

    A really lovely location with really friendly staff. We will definitely go back again next year

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff couldn't be more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a cold water shower in the morning.

    The surrounding countryside. The clean rooms and the food.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.

    Clean, friendly, quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal service.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful staff nice food

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed the restaurant was closed that night with no other close options

    Peaceful location large car park

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: