Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le National 2 stars

2, Rue Pons De L'hérault, 34200 Sète, France

#2 of 14 hotels in Sète

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location near train station and center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check - in. Floors need to be dusted.

    Good location near train station and center. Friendly staff; no problem getting secure place for our bicycles Ricky in hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To start with the guy at the reception doesn't speak English and didn't understand google translator either. To be honest, he is quite rude and counts the croissants people can have in the morning. not to mention that for a 8€ breakfast per person you can only have a drink, some bread with butter and cheese or 1 croissant. It was incredibly hot in the rooms, one of them invaded by mosquitoes. Also, booking says that the hotel provided smoking rooms (main reason why we booked this hotel in the first place) BUT THIS IS NOT TRUE, it is a non smoking hotel. Do not take into account the pictures as they are not really from the real hotel.

    The location is the only good thing about it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Needed a place near the boat station and this was only suitable at the right price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower stall was tiny, the breakfast was very limited with no eggs or meats and a single variety of juice.

    The air conditioning was effective and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    nice stay in a pretty town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we didn't like was carpet looked a bit tired and worn in our oom

    Very nice and helpful staff who spoke fluent English. Close to areas of interest. Clean common areas. Spacious and quiet room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Location was excellent - looks nondescript from the outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent - looks nondescript from the outside but inside is totally charming! Excellent reception as well. Short walk to train station, and can also walk to centreville. would recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rather small bathroom, with a shower curtain rather than a cabin.

    Central position, perfect for visiting Sete. Friendly reception staff with lots of suggestions for good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Adequate but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was closed when I got there. I did not know you needed a pin # to get in because I did not read the email sent to me after my booking was completed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Exactly what I wanted. Clean room, charm, great location and near the station and bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner/manager was absolutely charming. He arranged for me to access my room as I was arriving in the afternoon when reception is closed. I loved the decor on the 'landings' outside the rooms on each floor. The breakfast room is utterly delightful and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was not separate enough from the bedroom. There was a gap above the toilet door so it reduced privacy.

    The location was excellent. Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I can't think of a better hotel to stay at especially if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I can't think of a better hotel to stay at especially if you arrive by train. Clean , comfortable beds , quiet location , close to transport , proprietor very pleasant and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Good accommodation, very clean, great location but made very unwelcome by rude member of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How we were greeted on arrival.

    Comfortable room. Modern decoration. Unfortunately we arrived by car later than planned because of circumstances beyond our control and when we arrived we were treated by a very unfriendly member of staff who was rude and seemed angry at our late arrival - which was 10.45pm. This just spoiled our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, homely, welcoming and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was fine.

    We arrived much earlier than check in time and our room was ready. The owner gave, not sold, us the official tourist map of Sete. Hotel was down a quiet street, only about five minutes from the train station and right near the big Friday morning market near the Theatre Moliere. Maybe ten minutes walk to the town centre? The single beds were almost a wide as doubles. Very quiet room, no noise from other guests despite the hotel being fully booked. The main lobby was like a living room with comfy chairs, coffee dispenser and nice magazines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Simple and convenient hotel close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty small and the bathroom really tiny!!!

    Simple and close to the train station and not that far from the center of the city. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Aircon worked very well. Wifi not so bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Good budget hotel in nice area of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small although adequate for a short stay. The bed was not very big or very comfortable. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very helpful and friendly host. Good area to stay in, quiet and close to excellent public transport links - railway and busses. Loads of free parking although you may need to park a little way away and wait for a space to appear outside hotel. About 10 minute easy walk to town centre, where most of the restaurants are. Excellent air conditioning in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    CYCLE friendly ,good breakfast ,good location ,ideal for stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 3 of us all male sharing 1 double bed and a single bed the double bed not that comfortable for two males who did not want contact during the night ,but for a couple or family would be fine

    We are three mature cyclists on a tour .the hotel stored our bikes in the foyer ,provided good comfortable room and excellent breakfast to set us up for the day .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location, very nice owner, clean, pretty corridors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Bathroom" not really separate from room, and visible through window from other house's balcony.

    Perfect location, very nice owner, clean, pretty corridors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    The continental breakfast was excellent and our host, Eric...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The continental breakfast was excellent and our host, Eric went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood, just a short walk to the city centre. Parking is free on the nearby streets. We loved out time in Sete and would definitely recommend Le National.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a lovely town. Great breakfast, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a good location 10 mins walk from the old quay. Proprietor very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Looked after our bikes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable recently updated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern hotel with spacious rooms. very helpful staff in quiet location near to the station (NB there are major road works and diversions for cars and pedestrians)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable well situated Hotel in Sète
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts could have been a little more interesting. Same continental every day.

    Location excellent for train travel. Gare de Sete literally 10 min walk! Close to street market round the corner and within walking distance of most things.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    clean, secure, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Based on price paid could not have expected anything better. Not a close to being a 5 star hotel but I liked this hotel more than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in

    Great location as is easy (5 -10 minute) walk to train station + from there a 15-20 minute walk to city centre. Nice bars + restaurant within 2 minute walk. Clean, secure, quiet, great value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in Sète
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was too weak. Breakfast a bit overpriced

    It was walking distance to city centre. The staff really friendly, tried to help with everything. Opening hours of front desk limited, but contacts you to facilitate check in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    charme français !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly Eric does a wonderful job running Le National. He let us leave our baggage before check in, and after check out. He let us leave our hire bikes under the stairs. He was welcoming and helped us to practise our French ! L'annee prochaine Eric !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    Terrible and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift worked

    Room full of mosquitos, pillow last changed the day Christ fell off the Cross

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Would definitely not go back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above!

    Breakfast not great, industrial type food, terrible coffee, be careful price not included!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    damfino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    whole hotel especially proprietor who was very helpful to usdamfino

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice large quiet room, great WIFI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far outside the centre, dated bathroom

    Nice large quiet room, great WIFI

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The beds were so comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom basic and not very clean

    Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not working in rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast comfortable bed and good shower quiet and handy for station very helpful proprietor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly reception, ready to assist you for practical...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly reception, ready to assist you for practical matters Convenient location close to railway and restaurants Quiet at night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly helpful man

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Brilliant hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent contact in advance. Superb location and warm welcome. Perfect explanation of facilities and surrroundings. Outstanding!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Great place at a superb location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in the room...

    The welcome and the greeting every day of the guy at reception

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Great value in Sete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi was not very good in the room.

    I was a quiet, central location near the train station. Room was clean and a good value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Bed was a little too hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a little too hard

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little more variety for breakfast like ham or eggs

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Perfect hotel in a perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.1
    Short stay in Sete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests in the next room shouting from the balcony to there mates on the floor above.

    Location to the train station and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Good value. Friendly. Good position.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    The manager was very helpful and the bed was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really - perhaps more choice of fresh fruit for breakfast?

    The manager was very helpful and the bed was really comfortable - the location was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice simple hotel near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception is closed between 1 and 5 p.m., which was not communicated in booking.com

    Nice simple hotel near the train station. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly service, excellent breakfast & great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was low and very hard. Shower room had mildew due to lack of ventilaton

    Very friendly service, excellent breakfast & great location.Rooms clean

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Very pleasant patron.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty carpet which gave a poor first impression as the hotel was spotlessly clean otherwise.

    Very pleasant patron. Location was just five minute walk from the train station and a nice stroll to the centre of town. Bed and bedding very comfortable. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.0
    Conveniently close to the train station in a small street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wish there were a hot kettle or coffee maker in the room, but not a deal breaker

    Conveniently close to the train station in a small street away from traffic noise. The front staff was friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    The air conditioning was great in the 39 degrees heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a great experience, it was slightly further to the beach than was ideal but buses were nearby, very reasonable and frequent.

    The air conditioning was great in the 39 degrees heat. The shutters kept the room dark and cool, it was a very quiet location for a town centre hotel. Brilliant wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    the room equipped air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the wifi signal is weak for the room on the 1st floor ,you need to say at the lobby to access internet.. or standing in the front of your room...

    the room equipped air conditioner

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were a few minor maintenance problems: some missing plaster and the air conditioning dripped water onto the carpet outside the neighbouring room.

    The hotel is clean and friendly. The manager was very helpful and accommodated our bikes. The hotel is a little way from the centre, near the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    The closeness to the station and the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower curtain - the shower was small and the curtain came too close.

    The closeness to the station and the town. Friendly and helpful host. Good rooms and a lift.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    Location is perfect with respect to the train station but is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is perfect with respect to the train station but is somewhat removed from the main area of restaurants and other local sites (though not very far removed).

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.5
    He spoke perfect English, but also tried to help me with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    He spoke perfect English, but also tried to help me with my French. Also, the proprietor referred us to an excellent restaurant, which was not easy given the fact that a lot of them were closed for the winter....

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    Very nice manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice manager. Clean and roomy. Well kept public areas.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Quiet location within easy walking distance of town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    Quiet location within easy walking distance of town centre.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful owner, organised...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful owner, organised out late arrival very smoothly. WiFi hassle free.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful patron
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful patron

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a bit short.

    Very friendly staff. Homey. Nice overall. Breakeast was also good value.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    frendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    frendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming staff. Pleasant room. Very convenient location for railway station. Excellent breakfast. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Everything was eczellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was eczellent

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    Location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Location and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Quiet location but a short stroll to a wide choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location but a short stroll to a wide choice of restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff Air conditioned rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    We enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the recent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the recent updates. Great location to train station in quiet part of town. Owner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Our eighth visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our eighth visit. Enough said.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    Nice welcome, short walk from station and centre ville
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice welcome, short walk from station and centre ville

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    the welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no gluten free bread. did have cereal.

    the welcome

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff. Not a modern hotel but kept very clean and good location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean. Close to the station.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    7.5
    Flexible and very kind staff, helping us out whenever we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flexible and very kind staff, helping us out whenever we had a question or issue.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.8
    Wi-Fi was speedy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Wi-Fi was speedy. The manager/owner was very helpful and friendly. And he spoke fine English.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: