Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Palace De Menthon 5 stars

665 Route des Bains, 74290 Menthon-Saint-Bernard, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Menthon-Saint-Bernard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place didn't have too much atmosphere and seemed quite empty - perhaps in between seasons. Also breakfast was not included in the price (and for what we paid it should have been) - the continental breakfast in the room at 50 euros for 2 was pricey.

    A lovely small hotel located in a beautiful setting but close to Annecy by car. A very relaxing place to stay and chill - the swimming pool area, gardens and beach area are immaculate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to get to, and far from, the town of Annecy. Not a lot of convenient options for dining. Also, be prepared to walk a good many steps or hills while at the hotel. I counted 89 steps to get to the indoor swimming pool which is at basement level.

    The area around the hotel is in a splendid, restful setting— absolutely spectacular!! You will be surrounded by the serenity of nature. The building is beautiful and luxurious; the room was large and extremely comfortable. The staff were welcoming and very accommodatung; thanks go to Elodie and Camille for their helpfulness and friendliness. We have heard that prices will go up now that the hotel has become a 5-Star property. Recommend booking soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible view of the lake, we had a panoramic view room and it was amazing. Very well appointed room, fridge, Jura coffee machine, great bathroom. The location of this hotel is defintely the best sited in the whole of Annecy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fanatastic location overlooking Lake Annecy and the snow covered Alps, the hotel has a great spa/ pool where you can still enjoy the view. The Town of Annecy is a short 20 mins drive away and there is plenty of out door activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving it again but I will be back as soon as I can.

    I love this hotel for the great views and lovely accommodation but best of all is the excellent restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts felt overpriced at 22 euro pp.

    Amazing location with incredible scenery. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food (dinner) and service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In summary the Hotel is overpriced and regrettably antithesis what you most find frustrating when travelling and using online bookings for Hotels. The Hotel leads you to believe the rooms have been refurbished..... This is not strictly the case.. We were shown 3 rooms and in each case they were all pretty small ( especially for the nightly fee ) the toilet, shower / bathroom facilities were something out of the 80's or whenever he Hotel was first modernised. Likewise the carpets in the room were some funky geometric pattern also appeared to be from a similar date and although were clean in appearance unfortunately they smelt. The shower was also old style split from the bath tap, which was not ideal and also the shower head was dirty and didn't really work properly. Their was some crusty old chair in the corner which if had been reupholstered could have been acceptable, and likewise similar old stained pine cabinets were present in the room from the Hotel's previous incarnation. The Bed / Mattress, sidelights were however new and they had also given the room a lick of paint with a contemporary print backdrop to the bedhead. Overall I would say the refrub is only 50% which I think should be more transparent and Booking.com should be enforcing. The communal areas to the Hotel are also dated with the exception to the restaurant area which unfortunately we were unable to experience. As we had travelled considerable distance to stay at the Hotel only to be advised the Restaurant was fully booked. Their was no mention of having to book the restaurant in advance when we had contacted the Hotel prior and really shouldn't be an issue for a Hotel Guest. The restaurant manager was also unwilling for us to eat in the Bar area and provided the only alternative was for us to Eat in our room. As previous the rooms we were shown were all very small and the only place we could have eaten was at the desk?

    For a fair appraisal the Hotel provides magnificent views over the Lake, the Exterior of the Hotel is quite something to look at, relatively easy to get to and their is also plenty of parking. However ..... ( please see the negative stuff! ),

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on 4th floor were a bit dark as windows small but the view fantastic

    The breakfast was fabulous. Beautiful flakey croissants, lovely freshly made breads, delicious scrambled eggs, ham & cheese board

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fitness center should be included in the hotel, especially for the level of this facility. It would complement the swimming pool/spa area.

    The room was very comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom was updated. We had a very nice view of the Castle St. Bernard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool being separate from the hotel as you had to go outside and down many steps to access it. It was very nice but there needs to be some sort of access from inside the hotel. Also I thought the breakfast was a little expensive. We have stated in many 5 star hotels in Germany,Austria,l, Luxembourg and there breakfast was way better and included inn he hotel room rate.

    When we arrived the duty front desk manager upgraded us to a lake view room which was really nice of him. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Hotel very clean and well maintained

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room felt just a little tired

    Beautiful location and comfortable hotel. The room was ok. We didn't eat in the restaurant, except for breakfast, which was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit isolated for our tastes but that's not the hotels fault. It is a little old fashioned.

    A very spacious room with seperate toilet, bathroom and storage cum dressing room. The outlook was as advertised - a nice view over the garden and forest and hills behind the property. We didn't eat at the hotel but the dining area was very attractive and had an interesting dinner menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff could more polite. The restaurant was more concerned with emulsion this and foam that it lost the taste of the ingredients.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel allowed guests to bring their dogs into the dining area at breakfast, very unhygienic and would never happen in the uk

    The lake views were amazing from our room. The room itself was well appointed and spacious and very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a view of the lake which was better than the pictures. Breakfast was awesome, lots to choose from; eggs, cheese, meat, fruit, muesli, pastries & every type of bread imaginable...and the view of the lake is just stunning! The indoor pool is lovely and again, great view of the lake! Staff were really friendly, especially the concierge. Family friendly and post card beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Room was not clean and you can find spiders every where around windows. -Despite that hotel has good view of the lake, hotel's location is far away from Annecy city and you need 10-15 mins to reach the hotel from city center.

    Hotel is good for pepole looking for renovated historic buliding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very accommodating... access to restaurant is limited, room service has barely anything to offer, it was very hot & there were no fans, it's difficult to get from rooms to pool/lake/restaurant, not enough outdoor seating for guests, not much nearby for dining, and rooms are quite small. Still a great memory from France because the setting is fantastic!

    Very beautiful location, felt like we were in a storybook!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt, although we loved the building and that it was very clean, it needed a little attention in terms of its decorative condition. We also thought the lobby next to the breakfast restaurant was a lovely space to sit and relax, but unfortunately the bar was not open. The only way you could get a drink was to walk down the steps to the lakeside bar. The fridge in the room had only soft drinks. The lack of a bar in the main hotel was a big disappointment, especially as it was such a great space.

    We loved the building and its location on the lake. These were perfect. The bar and restaurant by the lake were lovely. It was great to sit by the lake having a leisurely drink without being hassled. The staff were really nice and friendly, but were also really good at allowing us to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Our room was lovely because we were on the corner and every window had a lake view. It was magical waking up and being able to see the lake from the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room, not clean, old furniture, no air condition and very expensive for the value you get

    location, hotel's garden and availability of parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much, if I really need to point out something: Parking was challenging, there is clearly not enough parking for the size of the hotel. For the breakfast, a bit more variety of 'traditional' cheese would be great :)

    Fantastic hotel with an amazing view to the lake. Super clean, big suits. Cleaned every day completely. Was very very happy with this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The palace hotel was in a great location .and round a corner where the wedding of our friends was held . We drove from Geneva airport got there around 4pm . We asked for something to eat they opened the restaurant for us and prepared a delicious light snack . Our room was so beautiful and had a great view Wedding was so much fun . So we had a great weekend .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedrooms - The first room we were given was like an Attic room. Dark and difficult to see the lake view we had asked for. Next room was much better view of lake but still small.

    View from our window

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value of money's related to services

    For a 4 stars hotels, we should get more services and comfort for the money we paid (around 300 euro per night, without breakfasts!!!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, this lovely hotel has lost a lot of its charm through renovations, where the original foyer has been altered so that only restaurant patrons can use it. Basically, all we had access to, was our room, and also the spa area, which was occupied by a rowdy group of people with children at the time we used it.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Services at the lake is NOT proactive. We had to go many times and ask for drinks. Nothing more than drinks are served. The personnel should be more customer oriented. They should be there to make guest experience unique.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very limited and can be much better. Housekeeping service need to be improved.

    Location was great with lack view suit. Very quiet and peaceful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace was closed for a function or because it was Sunday - we werent very sure. Since we did not have a view of the lake from our room I thought this was a bit of a shame. Be aware that there are a lot of steps to the waterfront.

    This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We ate at the restaurant near to the water and the food was delicious. We enjoyed taking an evening stroll along the water front to watch the sunset..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many things needed attention. The elevator was stuck with someone on it. No air conditioning in the rooms, although in common areas. Bed was very uncomfortable with twin mattresses making up a kind bed.

    Wonderful view and facility was very upscale. The view was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two restaurants is used for functions only, therefore not sure how they are able to advertise hotel as having two restaurants when only one is available to the public.

    View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom equipment doesn't work well. Room air conditioning is out of order. The bed is uncomfortable. Everything looks a little bit old. The hotel restaurant should be booked well in advance, otherwise you stay hungry as all nearby located restaurants are also full and Annecy is 7km away. Suppose it must be announced at the moment of the hotel booking.

    Beautiful embankment. Complimentary water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hostess in the breakfast area was rude... I was scolded by her after she showed up about 10 minutes after I sat in the dining area for breakfast... she said that I had sat at the wrong table!! the fact that there was no staff in the hotel, except for one person at the front desk and one person in the dining area at breakfast time. the hotel seems deserted, there is no decent furniture in the lobby, there is no indication of how to get into the hotel, there is no one to help with your bags, your car or anything really! Its a real shame because the location and the building are so exquisite but once you enter the hotel you see how everything is done on the cheap and its run like a cheap motel! its a real disappointment!! terrible compared to the other 4 star hotels near by that are more like 4-5 star hotels. this is more like a 2 star motel inside of a beautiful Chateau! I booked here because booking.com has it rated as 5 star...its a shame!

    the view is spectacular. The outside of the building was beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you need lot of city movement around, it is definitely not for you. There is only one restaurant in the port nearby, no shops, bars or cafes. To be in town you have to drive or to go by boat.

    The view! The hotel is situated on the hill overlooking the lake and you can see the lake, the old castle, mountains. Also, le Palace de Menthon, built in the beginning of last century, represents the class and style of those old hotels, but with all the modern facilities you need. And you can walk around through surrounding hills or take a boat to Annecy (3 times a day, 1,5 hour, nice opportunity to see the whole lake). The personnel is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An amazing hotel, in an amazing location. Stunning views and a handy shopping strip at the top of the road. The staff were available when you needed them and invisible the rest of time. We will be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner service took quite long, but view from restaurant and food itself was worth it.

    The view from the hotel and location is stunning. It is just on the shore of the Annecy lake. Perfect for weekend in warmer season. It is calm and private location. Safe parking. Good spa facilities. The small garden in front of hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really helpful staff -- we noticed that our room smelt of smoke, and were moved (and upgraded!) immediately. The hotel is pet-friendly, and we were made to feel very welcome. The swimming pool is lovely, and the grounds of the property are really superb. We also enjoyed an excellent lunch in Le Viu restaurant. A wonderful trip!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It took 2 hours to receive requested bathrobes and slippers and the person entered the room without knocking when delivering. Would be nice to include shoe horn and lint brush in room or on request as it is a 4 star hotel. The pool lockers had wet dirty floors. Should have an attendant to pick up used towles and clean floor more often... A vestier or a place to leave shoes and coats before entering the locker rooms would be helpful especially in the winter because you have no direct access from the hotel to pool area, you have to walk from hotel to outside pool house. Carpets didnt seem to be vacumed reguarly. Room service minimal and quite expensive.

    The bed was big and comfy. Nice spacious walk in closet and bathroom with shower and tub with separate wc. Mini fridge provided free beverages. The location and view by the lake are top! Walking distance to small village of Menthon or short drive to nearby villages. Nice, helpful acommodating staff. Nice pool with hot tub and sauna. Restaurant service very nice and professional. We had a delicious meal, great cocktails and desert. Furnishings could use some updating but for the price it was good/decent quality. Very relaxing stay with superbe lakeview.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel becomes a bit old and should refresh some parts of its facilities, e.g. entry, lifts, carpets, doors, etc.

    Location, view lake, magnificent hotel and good food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In Summer just the one restaurant and the bar was OK but not great and not a lot of other eating out options within walking distance.

    Location and views and surrounding area and the walk by the lakeside. View from the rooms was outstanding. Overall a very impressive hotel and somewhere we would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no slippers in the room; - no bathrobe; - iron on the floor; - a lot of noise at the night because of the local teenagers and gravel which used for the hotel territory paths.

    - location; - the architecture of the hotel; - lake beach; - hotel territory.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was very small with not enough space for 2 suitcases. The ceiling was slanted so not enough room to place items on the desk provided (room 402). No tea or Coffee making facilities provided. The bathroom was dirty on arrival and the the furniture was chipped. The double bed was a small double at best. Overall very dated appearance. Absolutely not worth the price (160euros) and rooms more in keeping with a poor 3 star hotel. The lady at reception was poor when we complained (she said the small room was 'romantic' and only Offered us an espresso. Did not compensate the price off the room or contribute to the dinner, which again was very overpriced. Annecy and the surrounding area is beautiful with lots of wonderful hotels. There really is no reason to stay here for this price.

    Wonderful location with impressive grandiose reception rooms. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very hot on the first night that we stayed but reception very quickly arranged for a fan to be put in the room the next morning.

    Amazing location, sat right on the lake. The hotel has a private strip laden with sunbeds and access to the lake. Within a 10 minute walk up a slight hill you get to a village called Menthon-Saint-Bernard which is quaint with a few shops and restaurants. Tweedle Tea is a tea shop that serves the most amazing croissants and Macarons accompanied by a grand selection of teas. Definitely recommended if you don't fancy the hotel for breakfast. You can take a 15 minute drive to Annexy town which is a great historic town to explore.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very tired and dated. The building itself is majestic with a real period feel. The individual rooms don't reflect the art deco/art nouveau style at all, more like early 90s generic, rubbish bed, knackered furntiure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was terrible I won't go there next time The room was more like a prison It was not similar to luxury photos they have on this website.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a distance from the city noise and facing Annecy Lake; what a great selection. The place is luxurious with reasonable cost. The garden and surroundings are perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only one small dock for proper lake access and one ladder. If a number of people are swimming at the same time, it gets crowded. The hotel has great waterfront, but they need more lake access spots. Better access for small children would also be important.

    Some of the reviews made us a bit nervous about this hotel. I suppose if it was raining it might not be so fun. However, when the weather is hot, it is great. The family room was large two bedroom 1 1/2 bath with views on two sides. The location is great. Nice little town with some restaurants.The hotel has had grander days, but it is still quite nice. The pool area, added later, has some quirks and can only be accessed by going outside and some distance. The pool it is on the water, but the security protocols made it awkwardly detached from the lake. So its not so great if your kids want to swim inside in the pool on the hot summer days.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and in need of some investment and TLC. No real sense of service, for example no bar open in the main hotel, was directed in the pouring rain to a bar in a wooden shack by the pool with no shelter. Staff lack passion and belief in the product. Won't return.

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks very expensive, some touching up required, eg, carpet could have done with a clean in bedroom and curtains faded, We still loved it!

    View stunning, very relaxed and friendly staff, charming and fabulous,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is 20-30 min away from Anncey. Yes it 7-10km away but it does take 20-30 min. The two panoramic view rooms had at least 8-9 spiders. The phone in one of the rooms were not working. Their is no coffee machine at the rooms. We requested iron and were told that we need to go a pick it up. The free internet we had is very slow and you to login with login name and password every time you are away from the wifi.

    The panoramic rooms view were so nice. The hotel has very nice garden on the lake and it is very quit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms has no access to hot water for tea or coffee, you have to buy whenever you need. The usage of the beach had an added on tax.

    The site of the hotel is one of the best ever, the view and the charm of the type of the building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, we were travelling with a one year old and things were made so much easier as everything was ready in the room when we arrived (travel cot etc). The location really was fantastic . We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace over looking the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very inflexible in that in summer you can only have a coffee/tea outside at the café down many steps, by the beach, even in bad weather. Apart from at breakfast, there were no facilities for getting a hot drink in the hotel itself during the day or evening, apart from the expensive room service. Very disappointing. They should at least have a coffee machine in the lobby, or a kettle in the room if they are not prepared to provide a bar service indoors.

    The view was fantastic, and the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining room facing west. At sunset the dining facility becomes a sauna. No fans no aircon. This does not make justice to the fabulous food served.

    Fantastic position, beautiful views over the lake. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major problem for July and August is that the restaurant is closed! You need to walk right down to the lake and sit in a makeshift tent - it was cold and windy and totally inadequate.

    The position is amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rooms. Beds very uncomfortable. On arrival we asked for a table in the restaurant but the gentleman at reception said it was fully booked. As we went to the room i called the restaurant myself and they had a table for us... Unfortunateley this restaurant was in a tent outside the hotel because the main restaurant was closed during summer months but no information was written about when we booked it. Also no bar in hotel! Only a beach bar outside but because it was raining the choise was either get wet and have a drink outside in the rain or no drink at all because no bar inside... Very poor for 4 star!

    Very nice views of the lake. Nice pool but needs a good clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service in both restaurants, got the wrong food in one and staff were very grumpy and unfriendly in the other

    Reception were very friendly and helpful, amenities were great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff did not volunteer with any information on services available (swimming pool, restaurant,...). We had to ask specially for toiletries, bath robes,+, which should be automatic.Only 1 chair in the room and when used, it blocked access to bed. Our room was separated from adjoining room by a wooden panel, not soundproof at all. Noisy wedding on Saturday night.

    The view of the lake and the castle from the balcony. The garden.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant in hotel closed too early, at 21:30. Impossible to get even room service food at late arrival. Reception didn't know of any other places to eat, even though there were restaurants open only 300 metres down the sea side promenade. The bar closed at 23 hours and there was no aircondition in the rooms. With a more willing staff, some direction in customer relations and improved facilities, this could have been a great place.

    Beautiful surroundings. Free car parking. A charming hotel building.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms don't reflect the level of luxury expected from the grounds and lobby. Reception staff not particularly helpful, didn't even help with the bags.

    Beautiful hotel location and grounds. Panoramic view perfect!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable.

    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location with views, but had to drive back in to anessy for Dinner, as nothing else close by and did not like the hotel (expensive) menu.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Staff attitudes beach bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very nice view!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was beautiful, slightly old fashioned which added to the charm. One could imagine guests in the bygone years.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old fashioned and could do with an update

    Good service and lovely building , incredible location !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite or deluxe suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many footstep to go to the swimmingpool.

    Excellent Breakfast Beautiful lake view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot breakfast on Monday. Not good in a premium hot hotel

    Location, views, comfort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff

    Stunning hotel and surroundings!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room i was given

    The main aspect to this hotel is the view of lake annecy..I got the worst room.. it had the view of the hotel's junk yard!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proper room with corridor and separate toilet/bathroom + closet. Amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location for this turn of the century hotel. Stunning views, and quite magical to swim and sunbathe at the lake. Loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The drinks at the bar were overpriced and the service was poor. The bar staff spoke very little English

    The staff was pleasant and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private lakeside frontage. Dinner by the lakeside. Views.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: