Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Parvis

5, rue du cheval blanc , 28000 Chartres, France

#8 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Chartres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 717 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that we only had one night in Chartres. I wouldn't have changed anything about the hotel.

    Le Parvis is special! Our room was decorated in a quirky but classy French style with a round bed, stars above, and colorful lights in the shower, among other unusual touches. We had a small parlor in the entry and the room was large with plenty of space in the bathroom area. Somebody went to a lot of trouble and expense to make this place a fun experience. Also, the breakfast was simple, but fresh and wonderful! Elegantly served in the restaurant below, fresh croissants, plain and chocolate, bread, meat, cheeses--I think we even had fresh orange juice, if I'm not mixed up--were all lovely. The entrance to the cathedral was right outside the hall window by our door. We could look out and see if it was crowded. Shops, restaurants, and anything you want is within a short walking distance. We didn't know about the incredible light shows on many buildings around the town this time of year, but they were amazing works of video art, especially on the front of the cathedral. Chartres is a lovely city to visit and Le Parvis made our trip a little more special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is small hotel in downtown Chartres, the rooms are beautifully decorated to make you feel like if you were back in time. The view in the morning is the Chartres cathedral which is an amazing view. Chartres is beautiful place outside Paris. Breakfast is included and includes ham, cheese, yogurt, strawberries, orange juice and bread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host misinformed us about the opening hours of the cathedral which nearly made us change our plans. The bizarre bed was circular, and so the indifferent sheets didn't tuck in properly. There was a fair amount of fluffy decoration - shaggy carpets, heavily tasselled pillows - which didn't help to convey an impression of cleanliness. The loo quite frankly stank. It's no good a proprietor putting in a fancy basin and thinking that's going to sell it. The shower was so complicated we never managed it. Would not recommend. Expensive for E99 or whatever it was. The breakfast was not appetizing.

    The location was excellent but that was it. Oh, and the host did manage to get us free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have warned us about the stairs, lots, but even that was worth the view. A vegan option for breakfast would have been good, but not expected in France!

    Everything about it was excellent, comfy bed, welcoming staff, quirky room with lovely view over square and cathederal. Quiet although 8n centre of town. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full breakfast was wonderful. Location is right next to Cathedral. No lift-was on the 3rd floor but was helped with the luggage. Very large double room--actually 2 full rooms. One bedroom and one sitting room. Nicely decorated. Bathroom had a very large shower with 3 showerheads--normal shower, overhead rain showerhead and 3 directed showerheads. Parking is at a lot close to the hotel. Was given very detailed written directions to get there. Enjoyed our stay--owners were very accommodating. Outside patio overlooking Cathedral square. Definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, beautiful and quirky Fantastic position and really friendly staff. This was our second stay, glad to return after 4 years, just as good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car access (for unloading) from the lower (bar/restaurant) level off Rue du Cardinal Pie, not from the cathedral plaza. Then parking is an issue. The proprietor moved his car to free up a spot for us. We were lucky later to find a handicap spot open. (Tip - if you have a handicap parking pass, take it to France. It's pure gold all over the country. For free parking in marked spaces; also many museums are free.)

    This is a prime (maybe the prime) location in Chartres, steps from the front of the cathedral. Of course it's a old building that has been modernized as much as possible. Staircase is not as bad as the fire-hall spiral we've seen in other old buildings, but still a bit tight. Suggest you take up only what you need for the night (if your stay is short). Room small but adequate for two. Round bed unusual - maybe this is a romantic room for some. We arrived 3 days before the summer lumiere show began; a big disappointment. However Christian miracles are still occurring! They have to set up before the show opens. As soon as it got dark enough the lights appeared on the cathedral. A test run. No music, but still stunning to see. (Visible from the room entrance, though the main room window faces the other side.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful, charming hotel with a comfortable bed and excellent modern bathroom. I loved being able to sit on the couch and look out at the cathedral-what a view and how convenient to be so close! Breakfast was also excellent with fresh squeezed orange juice and what seemed like homemade jams. They went out of their way to greet me after hours when I showed up later than expected. I would definitely stay here again and I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is right at Notre Dame in the old city and surprised us with a very nice room under the roof. Romantically decorated with wooden beams, huge bath tub. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Wish we had more time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly odd jumbled ground floor combing cafe, shop and reception a bit all cramped together. Once past that you are in a lovely upper building.

    Amazing back entrance from first floor down to the Cathedral and charming suite room felt very special. Breakfast very handsome. Well prepared guide to parking garage 5 minutes away on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, spacious accommodation in a bedroom suite, and helpful staff. This is a quirky old property by the Cathedral and ideal for exploring the old town's buildings and some very good shops. There is underground car-parking nearby so you can forget the car and soak up the atmosphere. Good continental breakfast with fresh ingredients served to you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is a wonderful little hotel, full of character and charm, in a fantastic location. We had a delightful and very comfortable room overlooking the cathedral. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. The free parking arrangements were very convenient. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could have been stronger. Safe could have been fixed to something.

    It was really close to the cathedral so we could come and go during the day. Comfy bed and fun shower. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit hard to access by car (not surprising given its central location), you have to drive up from the back street, unload your stuff and then take a badge from the reception and take the car to the nearby garage... but it's hard to see how they can improve this process

    Location is just incredible, right by the cathedral -- and the staff was extra helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Essentially nothing we did not like. There is a curved stairway up to the rooms, but we are in our late seventies and were careful. The stairway has been there for about 900 to 1000 years! Why complain? Staff helped with your luggage.

    About 20 meters (across street) from the cathedral. Hotel built at same time as cathedral and its renovations over time. Very helpful friendly staff. The room was actually a small suite looking out onto the cathedral. Good meals at lunch (Poule au Pot, etc.) Very good breakfast included. We were in Chartres for three days just off season. It seemed as if we had the cathedral to ourselves. The son et lumiere through out Chartres is not too be missed. Towel heater in the spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    A truly welcoming place to stay! Although right in the centre of Chartres, the hotel was very quiet, and our suite perfectly comfortable. Our bedroom looked out to the cathedral! Charming hosts and excellent French breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is phenomenal, and the manager is fantastic. We flew into Paris, took the train to Chartres and spent the night at Le Parvis in a very charming and comfortable room, very much an in-town "auberge" experience. The manager drove us to Hertz, about a mile away, saving us the walk. That's where we picked up our car. He called Hertz when he realized we'd left our charging wires behind, and we were able to retrieve them. Breakfast was great, but the main thing was the hospitality. We were so jet lagged spaced out, we accidentally took our room's skeleton key. We mailed it back as soon as we realized, and appreciate their endless patience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Much might be improved and likely will as its popularity grows. The below seat fastenings in the loo worked themselves loose. The complaint was dealt with. The shower was modern and complex at least to me and bits did fall off. .

    Sited in the old town. next door to the Cathedral Nightly, a superb son et lumiere played on two facades, telling the story of the rebuilding the rebuilding of the chuch in the 12thc. A truly great creation with just music and song to carry the show. The young woman, on reception ( and everywhere else) was so very helpful, suggesting a restaurant opposite Privas which looked nothing but was quite wonderful. Potential guests woukl do well to have strong legs! The stairs are, I guess, original to the houae and do need careful climbing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were not looking out to the cathedral, but could have done if we had paid a little more.

    The location close to the cathedral makes this an excellent choice. Free underground parking just 100 metres from the hotel, but still in the cathedral quarter, is also a major positive. Our room, Penelope, with it's circular bed, was very comfortable and the all black, white and silver furnishings made for an unusual, but pleasant feel. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really.

    Couldn't believe how close we were to the cathedral ... literally 20 paces to the front door and a fantastic view of it from our rooms! Quirky hotel with cafe/restaurant beneath. Our suite had bright red decor and an all-singing, all-dancing shower. Fantastic son et lumiere around cathedral is a must-see! Would go out of our way in future to stay at this hotel and see the son et lumiere again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is our second time staying at Le Parvis and it is as wonderful as ever ,very friendly helpful staff ,excellent parking facilities and central to all amenities ,traveling with two dogs which is not a problem .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom area in our room was a little cramped. Perhaps another room would have been better.

    The location of Le Parvis was excellent, alongside the Cathedral. There were several restaurants nearby. The room 'Penelope' was quirky, with a round bed. Breakfast was super - strawberries, yoghurt, cheeses and meats.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negatives to report.

    The location (immediately adjacent to Chartres Cathedral) and the keyed doorway that enabled easy access to the grounds on the north side of the Cathedral (without going out the main entrance of the hotel and walking around the block). And the round bed in our room and excellent linens provided a great night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This seems to be an ancient building, but the bathroom is modern and clean with nice towels and amenities. The bed is very comfortable with fresh linens and nice pillows. Our room had a mini fridge and good tv. You can't beat the location. - out the back door and you are at the Cathedral!! It was quiet at night. Good communication regarding parking too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm welcome, a beautiful room with an eclectic mixture of old and 80s design & a magnifique petit dejeuner! And the location right "à travers de la cathédrale" is beyond words. Thanks very much for a wonderful stay, we will come back!!!! Chris & Martin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night very noisy - rear window right above a club? The youth were drunk & shouting from 12-3am which ruined a good night's sleep 😞

    Great jacuzzi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is wonderful - just by the cathedral - and the room is spacious, with a bedroom and attractive sitting room, kitchenette and bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit and home-made jams. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location in the centre and adjacent to the Cathedral. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Overall, excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing not in the room was a couple of pans if you wanted to cook something - in our room there was a small kitchen area

    The hotel was a lovely building and the rooms were all spacious with seating areas as well as en suites. The couple who ran the hotel were very friendly and the service was very good. Breakfast was served at a time to suit you and they were good at recommending things to do whilst in Chartres

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This B&B was wonderful and perfectly situated across from the cathedral. The restaurant attached to the B&B was excellent. Be sure to see the light show on all three sides of the cathedral. If you are a walker, you would see more of the other buildings lit up if you walked at least part of the route. However the little train did give us a full show. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tub with no shower was inconvenient but manageable.

    Welcoming hosts, charming room with view of Cathedral, tasty and filling breakfast, an overall pleasant lodging.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor with oak beams and antique furniture. Beautifully decorated and excellent bathroom. Overlooked the cathedral. A great find.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very difficult as the main central parking garage was closed and eventually the hostess took us to a private car park. Breakfast was very dissappointing Steep staircase and we needed help to take our luggage to the room

    The quaint mediaeval building and the location right next to the Cathedral

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay here. The owner and staff were very helpful. They even helped with luggage. Great location right by the cathedral, and we were able to park around the corner. The rooms are high end, but worth it. Breakfast was a good deal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Magnificent location, very friendly staff, very well organised, especially the parking arrangements. Room very spacious and comfortable, a charming combination of the traditional and the modern. Bathroom and shower were perfect. The owner of the hotel wonderful and amusing. Perfect atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The round bed in one of the rooms was comfortable but too short for tall folks.

    The location is directly across from the cathedral. Quaint old building with rooms with character. Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really fault the place.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is in the best location opposite the wonderful cathedral and the room was more like a suite with some great original features. Our dog was made welcome too and Chartres as a place was extremely dog friendly. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer, but our schedule didn't allow for that. We have no complaints.

    We loved the fact that Francois came to find and guide us to parking near the hotel. But most of all we were at the very site of the cathedral!!! My husband counted and there were 22 steps from our hotel to the front of the church! Francois was so very helpful, and we will always remember him. He let us know that there would be a light show on the cathedral exterior wall at 10 p.m., and we found it most enjoyable on a mild evening.If and when we get back to Chartres we will hope to stay at Le Parvis!! We had a delicious breakfast and especially enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice. Emily looked after us at breakfast and did a good job. We enjoyed getting to see the cathedral the next morning before getting on our way to another lovely area of France. We loved how the French people took such good care of us, and we will be forever, especially, to those in Chartres!! God bless the French!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst a round bed is a novelty, there is a reason most beds are not round.

    A wonderful little hotel with very friendly staff. Whilst the parking was a little distance from the hotel, it was included in the tariff. The staff took extra care to provide clear written instructions and photos on how to find the parking. Very nice room. The location so close to the Cathedral and wonderful shops was the best part.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is an ancient period building with a café , bar and 5 letting rooms within 200 metres of the Cathedral. Mine host is charming, breakfast is good, the rooms are huge and beautifully fitted out with high class facilities throughout. There is a free access to the central Chartres car park and a super map to guide you to and from these exceptional premises. Brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there is free parking available, it is in an underground car park which has a vehicle height restriction of only 1.8 metres. The underground car parking is not far from Le Parvis, but is very awkward to access with a sharp left turn across oncoming traffic. If you have a larger vehicle, which we did have, It has a steep access road down into the car park, with a height restriction bar at the bottom. We had to reverse back up the very steep access road, which was not the easiest of things to do. I have to say though, that this did not detract from us enjoying our stay at Le Parvis.

    Le Parvis is extremely conveniently placed close to the Chartres Notre Dame Cathedral, which is very beautiful. When you look out of the front entrance of the Chambres d'Hote you see this lovely and impressive building, which is well worth a visit for the spectacular stained glass windows. Our host was very friendly, and welcoming. Our room was the Penelope room which had a circular bed, which was very comfortable. The room was well appointed, with a living area, tea and coffee making facilities, and lovely en-suite shower facilities. The shower was large with a deluge shower. There are a number of restaurants around and about, and we ate in the Cafe Bleu, which is right in front of the Cathedral, so we had a fantastic view. Parking was available, but unfortunately, our car was too high for the underground parking offered. Our host, however, moved his own car so that we could use his parking space, which was just across the road from the back of the Chambre d'Hote although we did have to pay for parking. Our breakfast was wonderful, and very generous. Fresh strawberries, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, fresh French bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, a lovely jam, croissants, pain au chocolat, and of course, tea and coffee. The streets are very narrow in Chartres, and it is not the easiest of places to find, but it is well worth the effort. We enjoyed our overnight stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The advertisement claimed a view of the Cathedral from the room, which is not correct, but cannot be considered as important for my decision.

    The property is well located. The special advantage is to have a private parking space near the cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the decor let it down especially in the bedroom. Maybe a colourful throw over the bed would improve the looks. Sitting area is much better although not keen on plastic table. Bathroom good.

    Breakfast was good and staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant should be open every night - it is supposed to be a hotel !

    Superb bedroom in traditional French style but cleverly up-rated to 21st century

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were required to park in the cathedral underground garage blocks away from the hotel. Directions getting there were adequate but leaving the garage to continue our trip required us to go back to the hotel to return the pass. It was not easy to get back fir to one way roads and obscure alleys.

    Location to the cathedral (right next door) was excellent. The hotel was an extremely old property but decorated in a 60's mod boho which was interesting. Accommodations were comfortable - even had a speaker to the TV in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spiral staircase steep but inevitable in a building of this historicity and patronne did the baggage humping

    Charming patronne. Hugely atmospheric room with lovely individual features

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to control the heating in the middle of the night, but this is a minor point when compared to the central location.

    The staff were helpful and obliging. The hotel is directly opposite the cathedral and close to good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely boutique hotel in centre of town. Related restaurant looked great but we didn't use as was closed. lovely beer bar nearby!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors are very noisy (old, creaky, don't fit too well), so coming in at night you worry you'll wake up everyone else.

    Large room, excellent view literally across the street from the Cathedral, 6 minutes on foot from train station, comfy mattress, pocket kitchen in room, good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying on the top floor, the stairs may be an issue for some. The toilet cistern was very very slow to fill up to the point we thought it was broken.

    Breakfast was plentiful, warm pastries and bread. Parking was free even though it was a fair walk away. Location for visiting the centre of Chartres was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were supposed to stay until 7, but left earlier, so when we wanted to ask them for the wifi password we had to ask their neighbours to call them. Also, there's a stove in the room, and we thought it could be used to heat some food in the evening, but it turned out to be a decoration, which was not pleasant because we had bought some stuff to heat up at the grocery store and had to address the neighbours again.

    The location is superb: just outside the catherdal. The second exit is also handy. The free parking at the town lot is a nice bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was a little slow, but still acceptable.

    Easy to follow instructions to find the B&B and the parking. Well located. Breakfast is excellent, would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos are much more optimistic than real room. A very strange one, by the way. Seems like they had put some old stuff from their own flats.

    Location - just near the cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub below the room had a party that lasted until after 1am.

    Right across from the cathedral, interesting old building and rooms full of character. And yes, extra flakey croissants

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is actually two rooms, a sitting room and bedroom, a good shower, and across from the Cathedral. Great location. Parking nearby. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too low and its circulat design, which looked fun in the picture made it uncomfortably short for my over 6' partner.

    The decor was lovely and the shower was great fun! We had the best hotel breakfast of our fortnight 's stay in France.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access by car quite difficult through narrow lanes and parking in local underground public car park - although a token for this is provided.

    Rather quirky little hotel with narrow staircases. Great access to town and immediately onto the square by the cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proprietor,s were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was very spacious, with good walk-in shower and unusual circular bed, which was extremely comfortable. Excellent continental breakfast, with delicious homemade preserves made by our host. Would definitely return and recommend to our friends. Perfect situation, directly opposite the Cathedral.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi strength.

    Fascinating old building sympathetically furnished to operate well as hotel and cafe; Totally friendly and helpful staff; Amazing location beside the cathedral giving wonderful views from upper floors. Quirky imaginative decoration of rooms complementing the ancient building without defacing its character; Free parking access in nearby underground car park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Regrettably, the restaurant just below my room (they own and rent out these rooms) does not stay open for dinner which means you will need to "go out" for your evening meals. Hardly a real problem, since there are many places to eat nearby. No lift to the rooms and no porters, so be ready to shift your own luggage -- pack accordingly.

    The location, at this price, for this much space and a good shower. What a great convenience to have a door that leads directly to the space besides the great cathedral. While it might be considered to have too much furniture in the space, I found that you could easily convert the little sitting area into a computer desk. And I loved the numerous available electrical sockets.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally nothing, it was perfect for us. But there is no lift so if you aren't good with stairs ask for a room on the lower floors.

    Fantastic find in the centre of the old town and less than a stone's throw from the cathedral. The room was light and airy, well decorated and a good size. The hotel itself was chocolate box quaint, with a good selection of local crafts and produce on display/sale. I just wish more hotels were this good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect.

    Personal welcome. Proprietor came out of the hairdressers across the road and said ' I knew it was you'. Idiosyncratic and eclectic beautiful room - Henry IV. Only a few metres from the Cathedral. Parking in secure underground town car park with supplied car park entrance card. Inclusive continental breakfast. Initially booked for one night, would have stayed longer but hotel was booked. Must return next year. Chartres in the summer has a fantastic son & lumiere show throughout the town on public buildings and bridges - do not miss.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was odd and only adequate The service was great at times and very odd at others

    excellent breakfast and room was nice but shower was eccentric to say the least

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were sent a little street map explaining how to reach the hotel but it could have been drawn more clearly.

    everything....especially the cewntral location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    The location of the B&B is excellent! You can see the Notre Dame from your room! The staff is very welcoming and the breakfast was light but good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance and way to room made us think of "old fashioned France" but don't be put off! Bathroom a bit pokey but very good shower.

    Attentive owner and vey good breakfast . Room was good. Location superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a bit of exercise with the stairs to the 4th floor, but all part of the experience.

    This is a smallish atmospheric hotel in a fantastic location to walk around Chartres.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we could think of.

    Superb location. The friendliest of welcomes. Plentiful breakfast (complete with our own bowl of fresh strawberries!). Wonderful mixture of old and new, with excellent, modern bathroom and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Louis Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely hotel excellent staff location could not have been better, room fabulous ,no trouble having pets with us and parking a bonus in a city.,breakfast beautifully prepared with lovely fresh fruit will definately be back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only wish we could have stayed longer but our schedule did not allow!

    The staff were kind, considerate and took care of us like family. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We wanted to stay longer and will return to this special notice hotel that just might have the best location in Chartres.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast with fresh baguettes and croissants. room was very chic and amenities of a high standard. B&B literally on the doorstep to the cathedral!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Les Anges Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The purpose of our visit was to visit Chartres Cathedral to see the world-famous stained-glass windows. We were not disappointed and Le Parvis is right alongside - we could see the entrance of the cathedral from our window. Also, we were fortunate that the Chartres Illuminations were on at the time - absolutely spectacular light shows throughout the historic buildings in the town. Chartres itself is a lovely little town with a lot of medieval history, interesting walks and good shopping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Henri IV Room Double / Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have like to have had a bathtub, but those rooms were unavailable by the time I booked.

    The staff was wonderful. The location could not have been better. The breakfast was memorable. I will never forget bowl of strawberries sweetened by the sun.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bleue Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming host couple ! We can feel that they are running their own business! Attractive location right in front of the cathedral ! Gorgeous food all locally produced! Great shower and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pénélope Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation a bit too quirky for our taste. Stairs difficult although luggage was taken up for us.

    The location is amazing right next to the Cathedral. Breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Parvis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: