Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Rhône-Alps hotel reviews
  4. Lyon hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of ho36 Opéra

Reviews of ho36 Opéra

9 rue Sainte Catherine, 1st arr., 69001 Lyon, France

#54 of 118 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1164 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    6.7
    The location is good, the building itself looks nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very noisy (we could hear the water pipes all night), the water pressure is low and inconstant, the price was too high for the value offered

    The location is good, the building itself looks nice

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    7.9
    The rom was clean.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower handle was broken and the water was not flowing well, this made having a shower uncomfortable. The toilet was in a tiny tiny space without air circulation. It would have been great to have more space to hang things and shelves.

    The rom was clean. The location is excellent. The staff is nice and helpful. On the first floor there is a cozy open air space. The lockers in the room were useful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    10
    Even though I just stayed for one night, the hostel is in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though I just stayed for one night, the hostel is in the center if the city in a beautiful old building with a very nice garden. The people seemed super friendly. Everything clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    9.2
    Good value to stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is excellent and easy to go everywhere. The owner is very nice guy to introduced me the details when I asked,he speaks very good English and make you comfortable in communication. There are many booklet and brochures available.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    10
    Great location for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    I liked the location. The entire main square nearby was under construction but it would have been destroyed probably with the Gillet Jeune movement.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, good condition and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot, no fan or airco in the room. Room was also very very basic, not even a trash bin. Reception doesn’t really look like a reception, very basic again

    Good location, good condition and clean

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    7.1
    Staff are helpful and rooms are clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building was old with no lift. I had large lugguge and was arranged a room on the 3rd floor. It has been mentioned on the website but I was not aware. Travelers with heavy luggage should beware of it.

    Staff are helpful and rooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Everything is the best!! Friendly staff, good and convinient location, clean room, cozy terrace... If I had a chance to visit Lyon, I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    8.3
    Location was excellent, short walk sights or transport stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was excellent, short walk sights or transport stops. Breakfast was reasonable, everything served was good and fresh. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    9.2
    Overall a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot shower water can be a bit unstable.

    The location is convenient and most places are within walking distance. The room is clean and the staff is very friendly. Didn't get breakfast at the hostel but it looks pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    7.9
    5 star for the location and the staff, 2-3 star for the cleanliness and some of the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom facilities and cleanliness should have been better. The locks for both bathroom and toilet were not working at all.

    Really close to the metro. Convenient for those who come to/leave Lyon via Perrache.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    4.6
    Look elsewhere unless you are a college student
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced. Nowhere to put anything in the room except the floor. Poor lighting.

    Barebones hostel, we paid nearly $150 night for three people. Noisy in the evening. Great location but look elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    8.3
    Good location,
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to bring your own towel, The bathroom door ( to the shower) didn't close well but since it's only for one room it was okay

    Good location, great room ( 4 Bed Womens Dormitory) has it's own privat toilet and Bathroom en suite, a lot of space, clean and comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    6.7
    The overall feel to the hostel was really nice and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There no plugs next to the beds and not enough plugs for everyone in a shared dorm. There was also no kitchen and no real facilities to cook which if you're a budget traveller doesn't really work out! There was no real nightlife in the hostel so wasn't great for meeting people. And also the rooms got super hot at night!

    The overall feel to the hostel was really nice and friendly! It was in a great location, super close to lots of cafes and shops and historic sites. The beds, rooms and toilets were super clean too which was great!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.2
    Great location. Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too empty. Some wall decorations may make it brighter. People smoke and talk at the balcony outside of my room.

    Location is the best. Within walking distance to several spots. Hospitality of the staff is nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.2
    Quite cheap and very cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two single beds put together for our double bed could have had one double sheet and be better attached.

    Loved the simplicity and unfussy elegance of the room. The shabby chic decor works well for us, we don't need a TV in the room, Lyon has enough distractions!The location is amazing, and the staff and facilities were perfect. We did fear it would be noisy because of the location, but it really was an oasis of calm inside.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the 4 bed dorm there was only 2 lockers for 4 beds! Luckily, I got one but I would have been very uncomfortable if I didn't.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    the welcome drink
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no elevator, no kitchen (but that's my fault, one can see this in property description) Wi-Fi hardly functional in upper floors not much furniture in the room

    the welcome drink bathroom inside my dormitory

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great place and peaceful but a bit expensive for a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pretty expensive for a hostel. I was a bit confused the booking.com site says you have to pay for towels and bed sheets but both were free.

    It was very quiet and peaceful I liked the breakfast area with the free drink.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    A small hotel, but not a hostel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kitchen facilities, no lockers about, no introduction about our rooms, the hostel or the city, no city maps. Small daylight and no bed lamps in our room made difficult to prepare in the morning. No inside common area. Feels more like a small lovely hotel than a hostel.

    Location is superb - few minutes away from Hotel-de-Ville Metro and Musée des Beaux-Arts! When we came to our room first, there was unfurnished bed and staff suggested changing our rooms. Showers are great - very clean and stylish, a towel is also provided! Beds are quite comfy!:)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location but decor and furnishings need urgent upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property feels like a converted hostel. Rooms at the back were dreadfu l- small, dark and pokey with only one window facing an interior courtyard which meant no privacy. There was a strong smell of stale tobacco. Uncomfortable bed and old fashioned bathroom. On moving to a room in the front things were much better and staff were good about putting in a desk so I could work. Lot of street noise at all times of the day and night.

    Very close to Opera de Lyon Lots of bars and restaurants close by

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.1
    Not very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only two lockers in 4-bed female dormitory room. There is few options where to keep your clothes. My uncovered hands was bitten by some insects.

    Good location in the city center, close to Hotel de Ville metro station. Spacious room, clean. Wifi OK.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    The location is nice for sightseeing and safety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift.

    The location is nice for sightseeing and safety. They provided a welcome-drink which can use in the bar at downstairs. They also provided amenities as Dr. Bronner's. Interior is good and the room was clean. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Friendly, nice and centrally located hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I gladly recommend the Ho36 Opera. The hostel is located centrally in a historical building, just five minutes by walking from the Opera and the Museum of Fine Arts. The room was clean. There are lots of wooden elements in the interior and a beautiful patio.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, very nice welcoming by the front desk girl...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My mattress, it really needed to be replaced.

    Perfect location, very nice welcoming by the front desk girl in the afternoon and the night shift portuguese guy. The building itself is worth spending a night, for it's old town charm with the nice patio.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for solo travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- I checked in way before usual time because I landed early. The staff was very kind to let me in 2- The location was perfect and could be reached by walking around the city 3- There are good food places around the hostel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    6.7
    The room itself had just had a face lift and the furnishings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air circulation in the room. The only window looked out on the central lounge area where people were smoking. Room was stuffy.

    The room itself had just had a face lift and the furnishings were very nice. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Max was great and very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Charming Hostel but Not as Clean as Expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really wanted to like everything about this place but simply can't ignore the cleanliness issue. There was a mysterious brown stain on the lower part of the mattress and for the price, I thought the rooms would be better maintained. The carpet was pretty dirty when I came in )to be fair they did clean it the next day).

    The staff were super friendly, helping me figure out my SIM card and even calling customer service for me. The location is ideal and the courtyard is as charming as the photos suggest. The linens and towels were white and replaced daily.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.9
    The location was perfect, the outdoor area was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the pull out drawers underneath the bed were very loud. It would wake up everyone in the room. There was one particular staff member who was quite rude, when I asked a question or just looked for some help they looked totally disinterested and made no attempt to be nice or very helpful.

    The location was perfect, the outdoor area was very well decorated and felt really homely and cosy and the place was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.9
    Rather enjoyable
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was told that each resident had a locker to put their things in but there were only two and whilst each one was big enough for two people, I didn't feel like sharing with another person for security reasons. The toilet door in my shared room didn't lock and the bathroom door didn't even close properly let alone lock so I had to rely on having asked my roommates not to enter.

    The receptionists were friendly and willing to give advice about where to go. The courtyard on the first floor was very pretty as was the cafe downstairs so I always had somewhere nice to lounge if I didn't feel like going out. The hostel is literally around the corner from the town hall, the opera house, a museum and the surrounding buildings are gorgeous so it was definitely very nice to stay in a touristy part of town for such a low price. There are a lot of nice restaurants and bars a stone's throw from the hostel and lovely paths to go for walks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.8
    Convenient but average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were in there was a seweragw problem, it smelled horroble and wasn't acceptable. I had to really push to be given another room. The accommodation was also wuite basic. There was no air conditioning which made it uncomfortable when sleeping.

    The syle of the accommodation was cool and fun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.8
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 6 person form was very hot, and after speaking with a staff member we were told the air conditioning in the room would be fixed the next day. Speaking with a different staff member the next day we were told that the AC was left over from the previous hotel owners and do not work at all, and that we would just have to put up with using a fan in the room. This was despite "Air Conditioning" being advertised on the page, which I believe has now been rectified. We were told in a condescending tone that "this is how hostels are in France" despite having stayed in several french hostels all with AC. The shower head in the room was also broken, however as my travel companion had left a low rated review of the hostel, we were told unless the review was removed the shower would not be fixed! Very unprofessional conduct from the staff. The review ended up getting edited, however the showerhead was not fixed and we had no further communication from the staff.

    Good central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    A fun place but don’t expect luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice to be able to get or make a free cup of tea.

    The location is great, close to metro and easy access to old town. Also lots of eating places around and a laundromat is close by. Staff are very friendly and the hostel has a quirky feel to it. We had a small school group of teenagers and although rustic it worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Beds were very comfortable and the hostel is in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our shower would overflow very quickly. I think the drains need to be cleaned out.

    Beds were very comfortable and the hostel is in a great location. The hostel is very cute and has a lovely terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Delightful weekend stay in a central hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Not enough plug sockets in the room - Lockers underneath the bed doesn't seem to work so not enough security for our belongings.

    + It is central, only a few minutes walk away from Hotel de Ville and Opera. + They supply towels and basic shower gel, which is a great help. + There was a choice of single beds or bunk beds in my dorm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great spot in the perfect location and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Blocked drains in bathroom (both sink and shower). I believe it's something happening often in hostels but it should be cleaned more often, at least with some clog destroyer. - Smelly carpet. I believe it should be changed or at least cleaned with Karcher.

    - Location! I cannot imagine better spot to explore city. Walking distance to most of the attractions and metro station just around the corner. - Staff. Very nice people, especially Aline. Kudos for her! - Spacious room (4 female dormitory) - big enough to leave your luggage etc. - Bar/kitchen and patio. Great place to rest or have your meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.0
    Good try HO36 . Seize the day !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee .

    The staff are very cooperative . Smile is very precious in this country . People in Europe are generally very sad . Thus , European hospitality industry must improved on giving out smiles generously . Charlene and John are particularly cheerful . They top the marks for tourism revival . Kudos for hiring the right positive youth .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.7
    A good option if you don't have many expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't match with the pictures. Small room for 4 people. The shower was not adjusted and water was spilled all over the bathroom. And despite of that, the shower had no pressure. Breakfast was way too expensive for what it is. They didn't say anything about my free welcome drinking.

    Nice toiletry and staff. Good location (perhaps a bit too noisy...!) in a central area. Beautiful patio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    6.3
    Fine for one night with friends ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However it might be unsafe by night for ladies since theres a lot of bars in the street and also homeless turning around the "place des terreaux". Its a no smoking rooms hostel and if you are planing to book a single room keep in mind that you can't share your room. Hostel/Hotel is quiet expensive regarding the comfort and utilities. Only if you want to be close by downtown and the vieux Lyon ...

    Hostel is closed by the metro station "hotel de ville". Few steps away from everything you need to do/see in downtown. The voucher offered by the reception (hot/cold drinks).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    I can really recommend staying in this hostel. The location is perfect, it's in the centre city so y
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can really recommend staying in this hostel. The location is perfect, it's in the centre city so you won't have to use the public transport and the personal is really kind and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfort and nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dormitory was very clean and comfortable. The hostel is near the subway and many bus stops. A little crowded around the hostel but it is near many touristic places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.6
    Super location, very nice personals, daily cleaning service,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but it’s okay.

    Super location, very nice personals, daily cleaning service, cozy room, very silence romantic look patio. I had good deep sleep in my room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    The female dormitory in this hotel is the best I’ve ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The female dormitory in this hotel is the best I’ve ever stayed. The room is spacious and tidy, the facility is great, staff are very helpful. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    4.2
    Friendly staff, but this place is at most a hostel, not a hotel. A total dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is old and poorly maintained. The room is dark and dingy and sparsely furnished. The bed was way too soft. 4 flights of stairs with no elevator. Poor ventilation. window opens to a walkway.

    I liked very little about this hotel. It should really be categorized as a hostel, not a hotel. Friendly staff though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    8.3
    Sightseeing night life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Windows in the property are facing the well with the patio. Patio is beautiful and unfortunately smoking people think so as well. Sigarette smell is disturbing.

    The staff was excellent Brilliant location Individual shower ( in shared room) with toiletries Spacious wardrobe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, cozy, just perfect for budget stay. Design and atmosphere great! Very good coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you get your room at the 3rd floor you travel with your luggage upstairs by foot, no elevator.

    Very stylish, in plein center, nice patio, great breakfast. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a very tiny wardrobe, no much space for clothes.

    Nice place! Even if the hotel is in the city center, in a neighborhood full of nightlife, the room was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room rate was 100% prepaid. The person at the reception has refused to check us in. The issue has been solved with the assistance of booking.com

    Convenient location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive, but you can't find anything much cheaper in this location

    Staff was super friendly, location was amazing, and the place was very cozy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, staff are super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is a little overpriced. There was no lock on the bathroom or the shower room which made me feel a little uncomfortable. It would maybe be better for individual lamps near each bed so people can turn on a light without having to disturb everyone else in the room with a main light.

    Location is great, staff are super friendly. My room was a good size and the hotel is nicely decorated - the court yard is lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    comfy short stay at Lyon
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my bedroom was very comfortable, the area wasn't noisy and so close to the museum and Opera, the breakfast was very good but most important the employes were super nice and helpful. I only had to spend one nigth cause because I was between cities so I askd if they can keep my luggage while I was visiting the city of Lyon until my deppart at night and they said " yes! of course". I hope will return wiht more time and of course I will chose this hostel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.7
    Quick and easy, lovely people, great location, didn’t like room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t as expected, I thought it would be more interesting and cool like the photos but it was basic and a bit grim. Toilets were not nice. The breakfast was nice but totally average.

    Staff were lovely and helpful, the terrace was nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    8.8
    The staff is casual and delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is casual and delightful. When I arrived they had a free room, better than the one I booked and so they simply upgraded me with no extra charge!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    5.4
    The building itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water!!!! There was no warmth in the shower water, it was either boiling hot or cold and came out dribbling. No twin beds.

    The building itself. Very old and full of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    9.2
    A friendly comfortable hotel with a gorgeous patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A personal light on the writing desk would be excellent.

    The friendly service. Most helpful. Good character and the patio for breakfast is superb.. Large room and comfortable. The fruit bowl was ideal welcoming start.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioner and the weather was very hot. Wasn't able to leave windows open at night due to loud noise in the street that went on until about 3am. Noise level ok if windows were close as they were double glazed. No shower screen and no bath mat, difficult to keep water off the floor as shower above the bath. Room only had 1 towel had to ask for a second, also wasn't provided with hand towels. Quilt on the bed was stained, didn't matter as it wasn't needed due to hot weather.

    Excellent location. Reception manned 24hrs Able to check in early Staff pleasant & helpful Comfortable bed & pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    8.0
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi did not work at all in our room. There was no air conditioning, and our towels were stained.

    The location of the property was great! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    10
    The staff are really helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found some clipped nails under the bed, make sure you hover under the bed too

    The staff are really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    10
    Receptionist was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist was nice. Spoke English well? Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    7.9
    I didn't spend more time because I had business meetings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities for travelling, a touristic place

    I didn't spend more time because I had business meetings

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    7.5
    Wonderful breakfast !
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    —-

    Wonderful breakfast !

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    pleasant and helpfull staff and best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nice stuff and excellent locatin

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    9.2
    everything
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the door of our room couldn't close well

    everything

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    7.1
    Great location - close to shops, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location - close to shops, bars and restaurants. You can walk everywhere in Lyon city centre.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    6.7
    Good location and nice stuff but very basic and uncharming rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not in a good condition and the room was not so nice.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    7.9
    The room had an en-suite bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water in the shower went cold after 5 minutes 😬

    The room had an en-suite bathroom. The cafe downstairs was cozy and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    7.9
    My stay was marred by the power cut otherwise it’s cheap well positioned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Power cut due to water leaks. Rather complicated evening and bathroom time

    very Nice staff, original look to place. Vintage.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    10
    The location is nice and staff is really nice and helpful ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is nice and staff is really nice and helpful ;) I think it is okay for you to stop for one / two nights

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    10
    it's great place to stay, centrally located and i like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's great place to stay, centrally located and i like the area. staff are nice and cool. the place is clean and its ambiance is commendable.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tv, no fridge

    location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is poor but fee is 8€

    Everything was great. Bathroom, rooms, especially littile garden are awesome. If I go to Lyon again I will stay here.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s no lift

    The bed. Very comfy

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Kind, young staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Location, comfort, prices, everything

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Cool bar near, old fency closet. Cosy room. Confy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old in good way, cosy good bed condition, Near, there is cool bar a lot. Liked it in the night. Safe. If you are young try forward.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: