Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Pavillon de la Rotonde & Spa 5 stars

3, Avenue Georges Bassinet, 69260 Charbonnières-les-Bains, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Charbonnières-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food options or lack thereof. We called for room service at 21.50 and kitchen had closed (on the menu it says until 21.45) Also very few options at breakfast and everything was pretty much "finished" and not refilled at 10am (when it supposedly ends at 10.30)

    We got upgraded so couldn't be happier with our spacious room and our own hammam in the shower! Also had a wonderful spa treatment, which was the main reason to go after a long day with my in-laws

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast which cost £22.00 per person per day and was an extra was very poor. Very moderate selection of food which did not change over 7 days. There was no menu option just a restricted continental buffet. There were often no staff present in the breakfast area when we arrived and we often waited 10 minutes or more for juice and coffee. I have never stayed in a 5 star hotel before and not been offered a breakfast menu option. The breakfast would be rated 2-3 star at best.

    Great room, large kingsize bed, with balcony and excellent bathroom facilities. Reception staff were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only dine in the casino

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were fantastic. We ate at the restaurant on site and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    EverYthing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professionalism and dedication of staff. Spacious rooms. Calm and green environment. Easy access to Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No forewarning of the prices in the restaurant - but it was worth it!

    We had booked a superior double and received a free upgrade to junior suite, which was lovely to luxuriate in after a long journey. The meal in the Casino Rotonde restaurant was expensive but undoubtedly the most exquisite meal we have ever had - anywhere! We didn't want to leave in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cooked elements of the breakfast were barely luke warm - and there was only one choice of eggs. I'm sure if we had asked, we could have had something else, but there was very minimal staff presence

    Beautiful location, spotlessly clean, a member of staff came round in the evening with a selection of chocolates and the next day's weather forecast

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every thing was wonderful, the only slight negative was traffic noise while sitting on the balcony. It didn't spoil it, and we would definitely go back again. With the doors closed we couldn't hear a sound, but could hear the traffic with them open.

    Wow! Awesome hotel, and we have stayed in a few! The staff were courteous and attentive. The decor and size of the suite was was wonderful, loved the bathroom, and what a fab shower! The breakfast was of superior quality and plenty of it.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nowhere local to eat on the Sunday evening. We had room service on the terrace, which was fine.

    The hotel was fantastic, luxurious and comfortable. The room, bed, bathroom and terrace were enormous and the blindness and pillows were excellent. We ate in the rotonde restaurant on one night which was fabulous and not too expensive (just quite expensive)!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is average, but some good bakeries in the neighborhood

    Perfect place to relax Great service from staff (even got an upgrade) Good roomservice Great spa and swim pool

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Massage was not available in spa unless one had booked. If a resident is exploring Lyons for the first time, difficult to tell time one would return. Drinks in the spa were not hot enough and water in swimming pool could have been warmer. The decor in the restaurant was rather avant garde, not classy enough and not to my liking for a 2 star Michelin.

    Mr Malle's 2 star food is fabulous and the chance to meet him was an honour. Luxurious room, excellent service. Nice to see "freebies" from the hotel eg chocolates, drinks and body creams sent to your room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great rooms, spacious, lovely views, nice spa

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    €30 charge for our cat, well over the top

    The room.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Buffet was not stocked but they did once we asked

    Pretty much everything

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One day for the health spa, both the hamam and sauna were out-of-order!

    Loved the location, along with the easy access to Lyon by light rail.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit tired and outdated

    Room and location

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous rooms ,spacious with wonderful beds

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet need a clean

    Good location & facilities

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: