Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Pelican 2 stars

42 avenue Marechal Leclerc, 08000 Charleville-Mézières, France

#6 of 13 hotels in Charleville-Mézières

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 249 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot weather, opening double glazed window onto main road meant intermittently noisy enough to disturb sleep. We should have used the floor standing fan instead perhaps.

    friendly hostess. Private secure parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With having a broad car I found the entrance for the car park rather challenging. One has to go into the outer lane to turn right into it and I didn't quite take a wide enough berth and as it is a busy road it is difficult to reverse and adjust. We were on the third floor so it was quite a hike with luggage but we had been warned.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and a lot of sweet cake options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff pretend to b nice but not really. Bathroom need a bit of renovation

    Staff not welcoming. You get this feeling that you are disturbing. Breakfast is nice. No milk. Bed is confy. Must pay 5 euro /day parking m so pissed off .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift to the upper floor levels, The lady we met did not speak any English.

    Both breakfast and the room were OK. When we were checking in we asked for some information about an adventure park within a few kms of the city but the lady didn't seem to understand us very well - But on the following morning she had researched it and gave us a print out of the locations including driving directions, which we appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is next to the main road, it's very noisy early morning, like you are sleeping on the street.

    It's a quite nice stop for one night if you go around Europe, staff is very friendly, room is clean, the toilet seat is quite unstable, needs to be checked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities, no lift, not particularly helpful reception. Room small, having booked a grand chambre. Unable to discuss as staff were "unable" to understand us.

    Secure parking, although difficult access.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot fault it

    Absolutely lovely place which should be a 3 star! All rooms are different and tastefully decorated. The staff are outstanding. Extremely friendly and efficient. There s a safe closed car park too. They charge 5 Euros for a motorcycle. Nice large bathroom too. Lovely breakfast. Clearly they go to the bakers to get fresh croissants and pains au chocolat every morning. Divine!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was a 2 star hotel it was better than expected, there is secure parking for cars and motorbikes. The staff speak good English and the breakfast typically French.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a quiet room, we got a room overlooking the busy street. It was too hot to sleep with the window closed, but there was a fan to help mask the noise. The hotel is well past its sell-by date. The handle broke off the tap in the shower and we couldn't turn the water off. The staff had to shut off the mains. We were booked in for two nights, but left after one. I booked the room based on parking. The garage is very large, but access is via a very narrow passage (check it out for yourself on Google street view) so don't bother if you've got a wide vehicle.

    The whole experience was rather depressing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very dusty. We might have been unlucky, but it seems like it hadn't been properly cleaned in ages. We had specifically asked for a room with a bath, but were given one with a shower, even though the hotel was almost empty. The staircase is steep and there is no elevator to get to the room. Breakfast is very basic.

    The parking facility, although quite difficult to get into because of the angle of the entrance from the road, is great. Proximity to the station and the city center are a plus. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and perfectly fine for a short break in spring. Good lighting for reading. Modern bathroom facilities. Friendly. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic; nothing hot was available. Selection of items was poor and didn't seem to be replenished. However, the bread was of very good quality. Room decor was OK with much reference to - Arthur Rimbaud - but the staircase (our room was at the top) could do with brightening up.

    The property was close to the station (which was a great benefit following problems with our trains) and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. The hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. Charleville is quite a small town, so shops, bars, restaurants and tourist sites are close by.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the parking is very narrow and extremely difficult to get into.

    Great spot in the centre of town. Quiet even though it is near the railway. Breakfast was average.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I didn't like - I didn't have time to explore the city, it looks very interesting - Our main attraction was SEDAN castle and it was very worthwhile. There were no negatives for the hotel - the staff were friendly and helpful. This was a great find.

    I was not expecting much as I booked last minute and it was listed as a two star.. It was outstanding - We had a three bed bedroom as were traveling with a small child. The room was very clean and bright. The mattresses were NEW and CLEAN, the rooms were very functional and "funky" in decor. The breakfast was very good (especially for the 7.00 euro price). I absolutely loved the secure parking for 5.00 euro - that was a very good deal. This is way higher than the two star it was billed as - more like a 3.5 star hotel - very happy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road was poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and safe parking for motorbike

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Owners . Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift some not great for less mobile members of the group.

    Excellent staff, parking and central location. Great base to explore the ardennes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure garage for motorcycle was very good. Good restaurant across the road. The town itself a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, Price and lots of undercover parking for motorcycles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Staff were very nice and helpful. I liked the fact that there was a secure garage for my motorcycle. It was only a short walk to the main square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent breakfast, good location,safe secure parking for motorcycles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault

    A little gem, great value for money, with excellent secure parking which is important when on motorcycle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down Parking a bit difficult to get into. Once in, very spacious

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking for our motorcycles located within and easy walk to bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night on way through France but secure garage parking for our motorcycles was major factor in booking here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Motorbike parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a short and quick stopover for me, but the hotel suited my needs very well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big room, with a balcony. The bed was really confortable and the leaning aswell. The bathroom very clean and spacious. The staff was very wellcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dated, but perfectly fine

    Good value, clean, great location, great parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the garage can be a little tricky

    Under cover lockup garage was great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi access - difficult to connect at times

    Great location - close to town centre restaurants, bars and railway station. Comfortable and clean room. Private parking

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Group

    Not the prettiest of all hotels. Old building, so no air conditioning.

    Parking. Generally decent hotel and good value. It's an old building, but everything works.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pleasant and comfortable on a cold wet evening.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were able to put our motorcycle in the garage. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The small bed.

    Friendly welcome. A good breakfast. Secure parking, although entering the garage was tricky with a large car.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was all good

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was 5 € upcharge bacause the room had a bathtub. This was not mentioned in the internet offer.

    There is a private parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms. Thin walls if next room decides to party!

    Spacious Car Park. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location for the lovely square and the nice friendly people

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking space is difficult to enter when the road is busy

    - breakfast - walking distance to city center - next to the train station

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: