Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mas Des Barres 3 stars

Route d'Arles D570, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France

#24 of 38 hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 312 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came end of season (first week of october) no more white wine available and allthough listed as hotel, no snacks or meals were offered beside breakfast

    Country style hotel, rooms ok but rather small with an excellent bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room at the Mas Des Barres was spotless clean and decorated with , excellent beds. We were welcomed very friendly (also in German) and got tips with regards to restaurants in the nearby village of Saintes Maries de la mer. Breakfast was served inside the main building as it was too cold to sit on the lovely terrasse (with view to the horses and the swimming pool). For a real Camargue experience you can find horses right next to the main house and you can ride into the prairie immediately from there. Just 3 km from here you can see hundreds of Flamingos. We will surely come again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Catherine and Per made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We very much enjoyed staying with them. Hospitality at its best. The place is beautiful, the pool perfect for a refreshment on hot days. A Nightingale would sing for us at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    menu very limited for evening food. We needed to get in the car and drive to get an evening meal.

    Pool was lovely. staff were friendly and helpful. All rooms opened into the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't much to not like. Friendly staff and beautiful scenery. You do need a car to get around

    We just loved the fact that hotel was right on a horse ranch and so we enjoyed spending time with these beautiful white horses from Camargue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Busy road, but not disturbing at night.

    Friendly owners, very nice room and facilities. Nice breakfast for starting the day. Central location. Recommendation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only available room we booked was a small economy room, but we thought that for the price and the pictures that it would be good. Unfortunately it wasn't as there was almost no room and no privacy. The door is not really a door but a thin window, so you hear everyhing outside and people outside hear you. There are only curtains to avoid people looking inside, but then you're completely in the dark because there is no other window. Very dark in general so you needed artificial light even during the day. Room dirty, they did bot bother to get rid of all the dead moskitos sticking everywhere on the walls. Our ' private terrace' was two chairs and a table which was placed in front of a passage that was open most of the day and access to the cleaning tools. Our chairs were constantly used for collecting used towels and linens from other rooms, which is not acceptable. A special type of bird breedes in the roofs of the hotel, which is fine for me but sitting right next to 'bird toilets' is not very attractive and hygienic.Breakfast for 10 Euros not worth the price, machine coffee, no fresh juices, not a lot of choice and no refilling. The bar is mainly a fridge woh drinks. Our room and another next door seem to have been added last and are not real rooms. They have almost the same price as the others but should rather be called caves and actually not be offered at all.

    The garden and pool were nice, and we were allowed to stay at the pool even after checking out. Next door was a business where you could book horse riding trips, which could be convenient. It is not indicated when you book through booking, so you should contact the hotel for more information.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostess was exceptionally welcoming! Pool was large, sparkling. Property was lovely, expansive, quiet country atmosphere with horses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, the people, horses

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect-rooms lovely, breakfast tasty welcome wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The automatic spray in my room. Kept me awake as it went off until about 11pm

    The horses

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden and the views on the white horses in the morning are amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quirky and the breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking too busy

    Close to Saints Marie del la mer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Very nice rooms. Excellent location. Gracious hosts.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast bad value for money

    Toilet, cleanliness

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: