Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais du Silence - Le Pigeonnier du Perron 3 stars

Lieu Dit Le Perron, 86530 Availles en Chatellerault, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Availles en Chatellerault

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air- conditioning in our bedroom. We thought the price paid was a bit too high for the accomadation supplied

    The property is unique. If you are looking for a luxury venue this probably isn't it. Having said that, the facilities were fine, the only complaint we had was that there was no air conditioning in the bedroom we had. This could be problematic in the hight of summer. The food was excellent, a really good standard for such a small kitchen. the staff were excellent and very accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was over the kitchen, quite noisy during the night, but probably a one off as there was a party earlier.

    Beautiful rural setting, comfortable room, very much the same as when we stayed a few years ago. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish that we could have had access to our room a little earlier ( eg an hour) as we arrived in the region quicker than anticipated.

    The facilities in the room were much better than expected - very comfortable bed, very welcome air conditioning unit and excellent powerful shower. Very clean and relaxing environment..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing it was an overnight stay it was perfect.

    the dinner and breakfast both fantastic. staff very friendly. rooms very comfortably, very peaceful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had tea making in room included in price. Found price a little bit expensive - location not that convenient We were unable to have a meal as we didn't pre book so had to drive out to the nearest town.

    Friendliness of staff. Quality of furnishings; comfort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom. Credit card machine did not work and we had to leave our number with the hotel

    Very peaceful and quiet environment. The hotel was comfortable and very environmentally friendly. Our room was clean and light , if rather small with quite a cramped bathroom. The dinner was good and breakfast satisfactory. the hotel was run by a family and all were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the menu and the service at the restaurant a little poor. The products are ok but i personally think they should extend the menu's choice and pay more attention to the service.

    The apartment beside the swimming pool, is beautiful and well served. The leaving room where the reception is offer a sitting area perfect for an after dinner drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of safe outdoor roaming space for my boys and a lovely pool. Nice evening meal setting and a very good continental breakfast. Very quiet and yet close to the motorway (we were just having a stop over in the area).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the age of the hotel and its former usage, the room layout (bathroom in particular) was a little quirky and might not be to everyone's taste.

    The setting is very peaceful and the hotel has a lot of charm. Dinner in the restaurant was simple, with a choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses, but the food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine list could have been slightly better quality. Desserts could have been better.Make own pastry!

    Bed very comfortable. Swimming pool fantastic.very beautiful views all over the property. Very calm and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing dinner - overcooked /tired fish - and rhubarb tart - all pastry and very little rhubarb.

    Excellent breakfast with enough choice and very fresh

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome when we arrived after a long drive. Plenty of parking and the room was great. Menu in the evening was small but everything was home cooked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly limited availability of dinner menu items - but this may have been because we were quite a large group of 8 people.

    Excellent breakfast and dinner. Nice grounds to stroll around. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all!

    Stayed one night in this lovely peaceful hotel with pleasantly friendly staff, in a wonderful setting with an interesting history. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a view over the surrounding landscape Would definitely revisit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a family apartment overlooking the pool. This had only been recently opened and it was new, air conditioned, clean and spacious. The hotel itself is set in the most wonderful countryside and was once owned by Descartes and maintains a character and charm. The food for the evening meal was local and very well cooked and breakfast was a treat. Cannot rate this place more highly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming old farm style property with some well-blended modern add-ons. The room was small but swish, and even had air conditioning. Dinner was no better than 'OK' but the breakfast was very good. Nice pool. Overall the ambiance was inviting and we were very pleased with our overnight stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress/ hotel manager who was rude and unhelpful. Another couple asked to eat outside and she nearly bit their head off. The meals were very small portions. The cost was very high for what it was. The bathroom is small and cramped.

    This is a pretty hotel and the facilities are fine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and property layout. Biker friendly with good food and wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not good at all and the staff most unfriendly.

    There was a pretty garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit cold when I entered...

    Awesome accomodation in apartment #18!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard

    Dinner was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to get in until 16.00.

    Friendly, convenient and good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, easy parking, good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect.

    The most perfect and atmospheric accommodation with great food and attentive, friendly staff. Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful, secluded, excellent home cooked food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short menu in restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Dinner. Nothing was good.

    Nice family hotel and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and room were small

    Friendly staff and excellent food. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Hosts very charming and spoke good English. Food delightful. Overall a really lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Dinner using local ingredients.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food here was very good and not expensive. A peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent rooms, great breakfast range and very friendly bi-lingual staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a find. The historical associations were a bonus. This is a place to discover!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent dinner, seved in the garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were excellent, very modern. Good facilities! The restaurant served great French food and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, interesting beautiful historic place. We will definitely come again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very clean and comfortable. The one we were in was modern although in a historic building. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent accomodation. Quiet, clean and very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There wasn't a bath tub in our room's bathroom, which can be handy when travelling with young children

    They were very accommodating in the restaurant - we were trying to eat dinner whilst also attempting to get a toddler to go to bed

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the gardens and surrounding countryside were stunning. The staff were extremely accommodating and did everything to make our stay memorable. The dinner was beautifully presented and very tasty. The building has an historic value and is incredibly picturesque. A little gem of a hotel and ideally situated for us on our journey back to the UK.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating came on loudly at 4.00 a.m. Dinner was adequate but rather disappointing, especially the dessert, with wine per glass costs being on the steep side. Because of a pitched ceiling you had to be a contortionist or midget to go to the loo.Quotes by Descartes are less apt and amusing than annoying. The reception area needs sorting-it's like a dentists waiting room.

    The location was charming as were the buildings. The room and bed were comfortable if not over large.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one member of staff to do everything. He was good but the result was a limited menu (of good food) and a sense of being rather one one's own.

    Quiet. Nice small size. Pretty and rural.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A smallish room with louvre doors on the shower & WC, so a little lack of privacy. Only there for one night but would want a larger room if staying longer which I am sure they have.

    Good location, interesting buildings and a nice looking pool which we didn't use. Bright & sunny terrace for an apéritif before a very good evening meal. Good breakfast at extra charge. Attentive and helpful staff. Easy parking and well signed from the main road.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed sagged in the middle! Think either a new mattress is needed or existing one needs turning over.

    Lovely simple dinner with choices of two or three dishes per course with good wine selection. Kind and attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quiet setting, we only stayed for one night so didn't get to use all facilities. We were able to bring our two dogs which was very helpful for us.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It would have been good to have been told about the charges for breakfast.

    Great hotel, lovely pool and gardens, great dinner and very convenient for the Via Aquitaine to the South West of France...just what was needed after a long drive...kids also loved it!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find hotel! Better instructions required. The dinner was served cold and of poor quality. The other diners were all English, despite there being French people staying there. They obviously knew something we didn't!

    The room and the gardens. The swimming pool. Air con appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff not always on hand. Had to seek them out on a few occasions but very friendly and helpful when we saw them.

    An amazing location in the middle of the countryside. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely space outside to sit. The gardens are fantastic and the evening meal excellent and good value.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness and non-intrusive professionalism of the staff and the ability to walk in the grounds. The conservation of the more historic aspects of the venue, whilst enabling modern uses.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The buildings are historic. The rooms are very good. The staff are very helpful and made us very welcome. The grounds are pleasant. The swimming pool is good.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kettle and tea in bedroom

    Dinner excellent location beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite basic and bed creaked. Preferred the upper room the last time we stayed

    Lovely meal. Nice setting, Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The second time we have stayed here and would do so again. Quaint property, good food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very relaxing and accommodating hotel with excellent food. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room, especially the shower, tight for space. Decent continental breakfast, evening meal was only ok.

    Lovely property. Our second visit here.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We would never have found this without out Sat Nav.

    Beautiful location. Great food. Good value for our family stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the restaurant

    the peace and quiet; the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful property located in a beautiful location perfect for exploring the area or just relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints.

    Friendly staff that was interested in meeting our every need. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Unique relaxing property

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: