Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Prieure 5 stars

7 Place Du Chapitre, 30400 Villeneuve-lès-Avignon, France

#2 of 7 hotels in Villeneuve-lès-Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Relais & Chateau hotel with fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't as fabulous as the quality of the hotel or the food in the restaurant would lead one to expect. Also, quite expensive. We only had breakfast there once then had a really nice breakfasts in the town.

    This is a really beautiful hotel in a very pretty, ancient little town which had more restaurants, cafés and shops than we were expecting. The hotel is in the heart of the town with easy parking. Avignon is very busy so it was great to return to Villeneuve les Avignon and the luxury and quiet of the hotel. We were very pleased with our room (17) which was spacious with a table and chairs and a sitting area with two enormous sofas. A large terrace ran the length of the room although we found it too hot to sit on even though it has an awning which can be lowered. We had a 6ft bed and the AC was extremely effective. The bathroom was well planned with a bath and separate shower. We had two fabulous dinners in the restaurant, one evening we ate indoors because of the mistral but the second evening we ate in the garden which was magical.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfection , will be back .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar open while we were there, but staff were very good and kept asking if we needed a drink . Maybe the hotel could think of having water and hot drinks on a self service basis .

    The total relaxation of the whole week . The friendliness of all the staff our beautiful room and location and beautiful food .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay in idyllic Villeneuve-les-Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was still cold as weather not great. And breakfast way too expensive for family of three. Hard to believe that not even a croissant and coffee was included in room rate. Instead we went out for breakfast every day nearby.

    Beautiful gardens and pool. Great room and friendly staff. Brilliant location for exploring Villeneuve and short hop into Avignon by bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    I hated to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive.

    We loved everything from the large spacious room to the lovely gardens. The staff was fantastic. The breakfast was perfect. The area was tranquil and lovely to walk around. Resturants and grocery within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    The food was excellent as was the quality of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The railway line runs a few hundred metres from the hotel and in the room we were in, it was quite loud.

    The food was excellent as was the quality of the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Good, but not disabled friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The hotel claims to offer rooms for disabled people, however the disabled access room we were allocated didn't have a walk-in shower. The only step free access to the town is via a steep ramp from the gravel car park, and the outside lights weren't working for three nights we were there, making it very difficult to get in and out. (The hotel has step free access to the street, but there are three high steps at the end of the street). Breakfast was ok, but very expensive, and the outside bar service was poor, with no offer of a pool side service, and they were unable to make an Irish coffee after 10.30pm as they had no coffee available. On this basis we gave the restaurant a miss and ate out at the many excellent local restaurants in the area.

    The hotel has a lovely peaceful atmosphere and is in an excellent location close to the local restaurants. Our room was spacious and clean, and the porter who helped with the luggage was especially charming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Extraordinary in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving can be complicated.

    Extraordinary in every way. Cuisine was Michelin-ranked and well-deserved, the location with access to the wine country, local markets, towns, and special places, it was very peaceful, the hospitality and staff were so nice, and the room was just the right size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little tough to find in area with very narrow and convoluted streets

    Room had a great ivy covered balcony overlooking a terrace and garden area. Very lovely and quaint - seemed very private. Only ate one meal - several courses were good and a couple were not. Room service breakfast was good and delivered on time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would definitely come again and would also recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful location - just outside Avignon but only a short distance away by car/bus/taxi. Lovely little square in village with good places to eat as well if you dont wish to go into Avignon. Great room overlooking the swimming pool with afternoon sun on our balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, lots of character. Well thought out room in the main building with large bathroom and quality toiletries. Great location in the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door couldn't be closed which caused a flooded bathroom. Wifi was not available in our room.

    Great place with beautiful Interieur. The old trees gave the character of an old chateau. The staff is attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Romantic getaway for ultimate relaxation for couples to whole wedding parties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I went in summer, although still beautiful it would have been even better in spring

    Everything about the place, it would be an excellent wedding venue to have all the guests stay or romantic weekend for any occasion

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful converted monastery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk. Not as friendly and accommodating as I would have expected.

    Beautiful converted monastery. Restaurant with its amazing food and service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, great houses from the outside, needs renovation and poor execution
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But for 400 euros a night wo breakfast and supposedly 4 or 5 stars, it's super basic: - Room not renovated probably since the seventies (antiquated bathroom...) - I was waken up everyday at 6am by the garbage truck who spent 10 min under my window (room 23, to be avoided!) - Food extremely expensive, like Nespresso coffee at 6 euros (even in the most expensive places in Paris coffee is not at 6 euros, specially when it's just a Nespresso) - Food choice is either a Michelin star or a very short snack menu with 4 choices as mains - Reception service is good but restaurant average (long delays...), pretty classical in these places

    The location in the middle of a marvellous village is fantastic and the hotel grounds are gorgeous with the pool, trees, shade areas, etc. Magical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    We will never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way to expencive, almost ridiculous cost we will never return here. And then the price didnt include breakfast, and that one was also a joke compared to the price.

    Quite ok suroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property located in a very charming village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was way too expensive for what it was. 27 eur / person for a quite simple continental breakfast. Eggs cost extra.

    Beautiful property located in a very charming village. Ideal base for excursions. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    Lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel busy but disappointed with room Next to electricity building/ bin store/ uninspiring drab decor bit shabby no wifi in room

    Lovely pool Tennis courts Beautiful Gardens Amazing but incredibly expensive food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    A poor experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was not the standard I would have expected from R&C as a 5 C member I use these hotels frequently. There was zero acknowledgment of my membership which you would normally expect. We thought we were staying in a traditional old building instead we had a room overlooking the pool which was totally bland and I inviting. Would liken the room to a three star hotel at best.

    The room was large

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel , perfectly located to explore Avignon, Pont du Gard, Nimes etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was lovely but the lack of staff to organise umbrellas & provide a drinks service was a disappointment when the remainder of the hotel met all our expectations

    Le Prieure is perfectly located within the old town of Villeneuve Les Avignon , just over the river from Avignon & offers onsite parking. Ideal location to explore both cities . Our Junior suite room was spacious, with large bathroom facilities & windows for natural light. Front desk staff were excellent, always helpful & eager to be of assistance- for us they organised a wonderful private wine tour with Valentina , of Mistral Wine Tours , at very short notice, also organised cabs to Avignon & provided a staff member, Kevin , to wash our car. Onsite Restaurant also excellent, beautifully appointed on the terraces facing the gardens, perfect to enjoy balmy summer breakfasts & evening meals . Buffet breakfast offered everything expected. Sommelier, Reynaud & his assistant suggested local wines matching our taste expectations. Chef & his staff, gave us two delicious degustation meals, showcasing local cuisine. Excellent property & great service at Reception & in the Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    A rare gem with pleasant surprises ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful & generous grounds, tugged away in a quaint little town just 5 min drive from the hustle & bustle of Avignon. Had an excellent dinner in the romantic garden restaurant. Walking around the town offers beautiful views of the surrounding areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great place! We will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a thing.

    Top flight hotel/resort with Michelin Star restaurant. Rooms are HUGE as are bathrooms. Spectacular grounds. Villeneuve-les-Avignon is charming, small and quiet. Room price is a bargain for the quality of the facility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon wasn't particularly powerful in the room (we couldn't work out if it was actually working) which meant the room was quite hot at night. We headed to a nearby local square for breakfast rather than eating at the hotel - reasonably priced and a good start to the day.

    Beautiful place to stay in a great location. Lovely individually decorated room and a great pool and grounds. This hotel exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed staying here. We would certainly return and highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been more generous. It was very expensive for what was on offer. Also it was being cleared away 45 minutes before the time stated on the room info and we weren't allowed to eat on the terrace which was only 3 tables away and in shade. It didn't make sense and put us off eating there again. We ate in the town square after that. The waitress was very helpful though. The above was not under her control. We stayed 3 days - 2 days there was no drinks service by the pool.

    Beautiful through and through. We had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    A lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast. The breakfast costs 27euro per person which with the pound at near parity is expensive. It's a classic buffet, with very badly cooked scrambled egg and cheap sausages sweating away in a metal heater. To have an omelette is another 8 euro. You end up having a little croissant and coffee for nearly 30 quid. For a place that advertises as five stars, it's poor. For 30 pounds I can have a full breakfast in a 5 star hotel in central London.

    The location and the ambience. The pool is lovely and the staff are friendly and welcoming. It's a beautiful place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    One of the best rooms in any hotel we have enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea / coffee making facilities in the room.

    One of the best rooms in any hotel we have enjoyed. Wonderful location and very intimate with the town. Fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in an ideal location. Stay here and not in Avignon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small gym or fitness facility would have been welcome, especially after all of the delicious French meals...

    This is a beautiful hotel with a very charming and helpful staff. When booking, I had thought that Villeneuve-les-Avignon was a compromise location to Avignon proper, with easier parking / car access... if fact, Villeneuve is a beautiful and charming village, and I am very happy to have stayed here. Avignon is gorgeous, but it is far better to stay in Villeneuve and cross the river to visit, returning back to a quiet refuge like Le Prieure in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely property in charmilg village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is bad value for money. Small buffet for eur 27 per person

    Lovely property in charmilg village. Nice pool. Excellent restaurant. We will definitly go back

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Will go again we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although cooked breakfast was on the menu it wasn't offered by the staff.

    The dinner was superb, the atmosphere excellent. The room was lovely with a private garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Charming Hotel surrounded by gardens and divine little village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A designated concierge to give local advice and suggestions of restaurants and 'must do's' in and around Avignon. We were sent to a restaurant in Avignon which was really below par...the next evening we researched ourselves and had a superb meal.

    The gardens,pool area and ambience of Le Prieure were wonderful as were the breakfasts in the beautiful restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Property was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a slight issue with plumbing but was quickly resolved...staff was amazing

    Property was amazing...out of a book or a movie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception were so helpful and kind - real 5 star service. Beautiful grounds, sitting areas outside and calm poolside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Wonderful atmosphere. Great location. Want to stay longer next time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    we had a great time at Le Prieure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no coffee or tea facility inside the room!

    beautiful property in a great location - friendly staff and excellent Michelin star restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Very well located outside of the hassle bassle of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in small village set away from Avignon on the other side of the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - slightly further from Avignon than expected and taxis hard to come by.

    Great restaurant. wonderful dinner & lovely buffet breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing 3 nights and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Did not eat at hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Good hotel in a lovely town - must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel in a lovely town - must visit. Great restaurant,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent. First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no tea facilities in the bedroom

    The restaurant was outstanding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Rest in la provence in a small castle full of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food: dinner in the restaurant is a masterpiece experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Villenouf les Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of taxis at Avignon airport.

    Village square Bistrot Adium petit deveined complete with homemade " confit".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Very nice rooms in the new atrium building, 2nd floor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good - no comments

    Very nice rooms in the new atrium building, 2nd floor, wonderful large pool, excellent breakfast, staff and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent property, wonderful character, very relaxing, excellent food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Really delightful, a beautiful hotel in an interesting old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I only ate once in the restaurant - true it was a Sunday night, but it was over-priced for what it was.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place to spend a couple of nights in Avignon neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service

    Beautiful place, fantastic accommodation, intimate atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in a great town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they did not have a spoon for the coffee in the room.

    I wish I stayed longer. The place is beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Charme com comodidade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pernilongos

    Do charme do hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    A pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed and large room. Picnic lunch at the Abbey was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Paradise found in Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location bed staff restaurant wow wow and wow. It doesn't get any better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable and lovely staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi in the room and some train noise

    Really enjoyed our stay, beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Very confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Freight train passing in middle of night.

    Very confortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, peaceful place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not cleaned during our stay

    The location was perfect, very peaceful, wonderful garden, very clean bedroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Week end mai 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La gentillesse du personnel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Surely worth a visit - especially the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic restaurant, very helpful and friendly personnel, nice room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    It was really REALLY lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very spacious, bed was comfortable. It was really REALLY lovely place!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Our favorite place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Village

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely peaceful respite from the busy Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    27 Euros for a simple breakfast.

    Lovely peaceful respite from the busy Avignon. Nice accommodating staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all just perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    A lovely place for a couple's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very spacious, bed was comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful, and the setting was stunning, in a traditional looking village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.6
    Loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night but enjoyed a splendid evening meal in the hotel restaurant garden washed down with excellent wine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location has a poor selection of restaurants and shopping. While large, our suite was not luxurious for this hotel group. The sisel rug was a "foot killer". Overall, the room was large but otherwise just okay and not great.

    Beautiful gardens. Extremely helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Almost everything - the room was beautiful and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is very expensive and unfortunately the menu option wasn't made clear to us and we ended up eating off the carte which made it even more expensive. Partly our fault. There was also an assumption that my husband was paying, which he wasn't, I was. He was given the menu with prices on and I was given one with no prices. I had booked the room. It probably says more about the clientele than anything else. The staff are both highly professional and very pleasant and make the experience as relaxed or as formal as some clients may want it. This is a hotel of the highest level and I would love to return again.

    Almost everything - the room was beautiful and comfortable and needless to say immaculate. Staff are very professional but also manage to be warm and friendly too. I had read about this hotel nearly 40 years ago and realised that it would be top quality when I saw that it was part of the Relais and Chateux group.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.8
    Property is really pretty and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a little difficult to find; not super close to core of Avignon

    Property is really pretty and nice. Our room had a nice view and was quite spacious.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    Place was great I.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was. Or that convenient to Avignon. Yes, one could be there quickly with an expensive taxi or less quickly with a bus. But, it was not a place where one could walk around. I felt that we were in a suburb, which I believe we were. I can see its advantages in the summer with the pool and tennis; but, in October, I would not recommend it

    Place was great I. Almost all respects.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    I wished to have tea making facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wished to have tea making facilities in the room. Given the price we payand jetlag it would be great to be able to make a cup of tea without calling reception.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    3.3
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old seventies block is very tired apart from refurbished bathrooms. Pity the hot water didn't work and they did not tell us about known fault, but waited for us to complain. Adjoining, unmade up, room left open to ours, affecting our security and comfort. Accommodation and service NOT five star!

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Exceptionally comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I tried to book a 3 rd night on our 2nd day. I was told the hotel was full. I asked to be informed of cancellations. I was told there were none. I looked on 2 sites, including booking.com. I was able to book a room via booking.com. I then called reception and they told me that wasn't possible I needed to call the hotel and they were full. I asked if I should ignore booking .com and they said yes.I took th booking ref to reception in the morning and they got in a complete pickle saying there was suddenly a cancellation in the room next door to where we were. It really spoiled the whole experience. Needless to say we cancelled after all. Very odd and very disappointing.

    Exceptionally comfortable. Wonderful food, friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff who used initiative and effort to make us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff who used initiative and effort to make us comfortable. Air conditioned bedroom. Delicious food and wine, the wine specialists were able to pick something to suit every circumstance/whim. Plenty of space due to being in a village on the other side of the river from the centre of Avignon. Connected to the Relais et Chateaux group which we've found to be reliably good. There were nice cafes nearby (offering breakfast for around 10 euro). We wanted luxury in Avignon and booked late in peak season so we expected to pay a lot. We got the last room available and it was expensive but we thought was worth it.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    Room very nicely appointed, hotel is a lovely old home and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a third floor room and there is no elevator. The website does not make this clear so if stairs are a problem request a low floor. We thought the room was expensive compared to others of the same quality.

    Room very nicely appointed, hotel is a lovely old home and the location away from the main city is quiet. There is a large pool and excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mosquitoes in the garden restaurant. But the waiter was very attentive and quickly gave us a bottle of mosquito repellent.

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The dinner at the garden restaurant was very lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel environment was enjoyable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was not convenience for luggage, it requires a trolley to move luggage from parking to building, and physically move upstairs.

    The hotel environment was enjoyable; location was good as just beside the castell of new town.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    If you can afford this place, book it now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you can afford this place, book it now! This hotel, once a monastery, was the highlight of our 2 week trip to France/Italy! Get a room in the older part of hotel with a balcony , room 15 was the best! Sit on your balcony, order a bottle of wine and enjoy the peaceful, shaded courtyard, the humming of the cicadas and relaxation! Splurge and eat lunch in the restaurant, it is worth the experience! Breakfast was also $$, but worth it! LOVED this place!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Made to feel welcome from the moment we entered reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Eccentric plumbing in bathroom. A shower curtain would have been a good idea.

    Made to feel welcome from the moment we entered reception. Comfortable, well appointed room, excellent grounds with a welcome, cooling pool and a superb restaurant. Every member of staff was friendly, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    The peaceful atmosphere of a really well managed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows on the beds.

    The peaceful atmosphere of a really well managed hotel. No piped music to drown out the birdsong.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful, and the dining excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were wonderful, and the dining excellent.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: