Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Relais d'Étretat 2 stars

1113 Avenue Du Maréchal Joffre, 76210 Bolbec, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Bolbec

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 751 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for overnight stop.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Would happily stay there again.

    Friendly staff. Location ideal for overnight stop. Room basic but comfortable. Excellent restaurant on site with good choice of menu/a la carte and great atmosphere. (Suspect it is used by locals as well as hotel guests). Excellent car parking facilities. They take pets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The main bonus is a restaurant serving dinner with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main bonus is a restaurant serving dinner with good quality and competitive pricing. Breakfast was good too. For an overnight stop travelling west or south west from Calais the hotel is convenient, well and quietly sited and offers good value. Rooms are fairly small but that is to be expected in a motel where many are staying for one night only and at the price charged.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiling.com messed up the reservation. I indicated that I needed a room for two adults and two small children. When I got to the hotel, the reserved room only had a double bed which was too small. Fortunately, there was another room available which I took.

    Hotel location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Sober and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is worn down a bit, but for the price that is no issue

    Although the hotel is right next to a major road, there is absolutely no noise from outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    We arrived late at night and we didn't have any troubles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and we didn't have any troubles to check in. Rooms are small, but still comfortable. We had connected rooms, so 2 bathrooms. Yupi. Location is easy to find and close to Etretat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    A good find in this area of Normandy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    The staff were great and so helpful; the food in the restaurant was excellent and not too expensive. A good location for where we were visiting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent V for M
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location, Ideal for overnight when travelling to Calais/Zeebrugge. The hotel is clean and the restaurant excellent value for money. Staff are polite and friendly and reception staff speak excellent english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with an even nicer restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows are VERY flat. They are not comfortable. A refrigerator in the room would also be nice, but is not necessary.

    Hotel is fine and clean. Staffs are friendly and nice. Breakfast was very good with decent price. Dinner at the restaurant was amazing. Food was very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact that your information of booking included free breakfast which was not the case so information on website needs clarification.

    Excellent hotel, helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable and clean. Food exceptional, great food and choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Repeat visit, good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one towel each in the bathroom rather than a hand and a bath towel

    It's a simple hotel but has friendly and helpful staff ,the food is good and parking is easy. It is out of town and fairly isolated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice pleasant hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little cramped, and pillows small.

    Good welcome, breakfast choice and beer. Comapny was excellent as we had friends staying there as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.3
    Fine for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great when on route for business, but don't stay here for leisure. At least I would opt for something else, because: it can smell of oil refineries; the bathroom was rather poor in both level and tidiness. And the double room is small.

    The restaurant has good food! And the breakfast is also pretty okay; it could have a better variety with muesli's and yoghurt, but that is my taste. The personal is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Location tranquilla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location tranquilla

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Exactly what we needed and very comfortable too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attended a wedding and didn't have time to check in. We telephoned and were able to check in at 3.30 am when we left the wedding! Fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Crack in shower base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crack in shower base.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Convenient stop off on way to holiday. Friendly staff, comfortable accomodation and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good selection at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient as an overnight stay on long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colours of bedrooms too vivid for relaxation

    Good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for visiting our friends in Gruchet-le-Valasse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    We were visiting friends and the Hotel was in a good location, with friendly staff and good food. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable business style hotel on the edge of town with all necessary facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, good breakfast and restaurant facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom. Only liquid soap. Only one towel for person.

    Good location. Good breakfast. Quiet place. Very quick check in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    it was great to relax ready for a long journey the next day we would recommend this hotel to everybo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better with better quality pillows, maybe 2 of them.

    Everything was very good, food, bedrooms and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Good continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed the coffee was from a machine and not freshly made

    Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    They allowed us to check in during the early hours which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress weren't very comfortable. 2 twins joined together.

    They allowed us to check in during the early hours which was important for our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Shower cabin was NOK and shattered
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cabin was NOK and shattered

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Restaurant at ground level.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes can hear noise from other room

    Restaurant at ground level. New renovated bathrooms are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Well placed for an overnight stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.5
    very french english a little spoken but got by with our limited french good fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all ok

    all ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Good stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Interconnecting rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    V noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V noisy. Not particularly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    connected rooms were nice for family.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    connected rooms were nice for family. good to stay one night! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable but lacked atmosphere and warmth from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay let down by a very poor meal in the restaurant and a poor response from staff when we raised this with them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Staff lovely, OK value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny rooms, basic facilities, the toughest steak I've eaten (or tried to eat) in years!

    Staff lovely, OK value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was varied and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was varied and good quality and the staff were polite, helpful and profassional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    agreablement surpris
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    le restaurant le poisson excellant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Great restaurant.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    A pleasant experience hotel with a good offer for dinner at the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant for dinner was a very good suprise with good quality food and a good choice. Much better than what I would normally expect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    Good service, nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good service, nice breakfast. Fair price!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    10
    Fantastic Family connecting room option at amazing value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic Family connecting room option at amazing value. Food Sublime, and even brought to your room if you have sleeping children!! Exceptionally friendly staff, we will definitely be back!!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    For us, with friends in Bolbec/Gruchet-le-Valasse, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It may be that the hotel is approaching that time when little things become a bit battered (fixtures and fittings in the shower/toilet for example) but, typically, when I commented, our room was changed immediately. The manager(s) always, in my experience, take this kind of approach. The old-fashioned one - that the customer's satisfaction is what counts the most.. Which means that there is very little I didn't like!

    For us, with friends in Bolbec/Gruchet-le-Valasse, the location is perfect. We've stayed here several times and keep returning to the Relais d'Etretat so they must be doing a lot right because I'm picky. The rooms are of a decent standard and reasonably well equipped/furnished. The restaurant is not outstanding in French terms but it's certainly good and offers value for money. Above all, I've always found the staff delightfully pleasant, helpful and eager to offer good service, so anything you do find less than perfect is put right straight away.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Good room for handicapped .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experience but would have liked a proper chair in room 100 (for disabled) as the stool was not suitable.

    Good room for handicapped . Shower easily accessed. Friendly, helpful staff. Good quality food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    The perfect overnight stop off hotel, rooms small but...
    • Couple

    Nothing whatsoever

    The perfect overnight stop off hotel, rooms small but adequate and comfortable, all facilities required, very decent restaurant at reasonable price, decent car park and the friendliest, most helpful staff you could wish for. Very convenient for L' Havre ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    The staff were helpful and polite and helped us store our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The outside of the hotel looked tired

    The staff were helpful and polite and helped us store our bicycles safely. The inside of the hotel was clean modern and smart.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    The receptionist was happy to speak in English to us, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location isn't the best as it's set out on its own away from other restaurants. There is a supermarket down the road though. The twin beds were quite narrow for an adult, and we weren't provided with directions for the Wi-Fi so you might need to make sure you ask for that, but we were too preoccupied with the kids to worry about it too much. The kettle in one of our rooms didn't work, but fortunately we had another one in the other room. It was nice to have tea and coffee sachets provided but no milk - so it would be nice to have long life milk sachets or something.

    The receptionist was happy to speak in English to us, and they made sure there was a cot already in the room for us, and we were able to get connecting rooms for the 5 of us (2 adults - 3 children). The restaurant was convenient, though only serve dinner from 7.15pm as normal in France. We also liked the small outside space for the kids to run around in and pick up apples.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly personell, breakfast and dinners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bedroom and bathroom were rather small

    Friendly personell, breakfast and dinners. a lot better than other similar hotels. Free bottle of water for the guest and good strong Wifi available

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel looked awful from the outside, inside it was actually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1st impression. According to my son: "Looks like a prison without bars"

    Hotel looked awful from the outside, inside it was actually very nice. The connecting room was a real plus. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable bed and exceptionally clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom is dated and small but very clean and lots of hot water. The outside needs a coat of paint but once inside very nice.

    Lovely comfortable bed and exceptionally clean. The food is excellent and incredible value. Really friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Friendly staff and at least one of the young couple who own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff and at least one of the young couple who own the hotel is in attendance. The local lunch and evening time diners is testament to the quality of the food.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The English menu has some dodgy translations.

    Wonderful staff. Excellent WiFi Comfortable bed. Plenty of parking. Good restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Everything, staff great, room small but quality, restaurant...
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Everything, staff great, room small but quality, restaurant fantastic. Bar and terrace well served. Nothing wrong at all, best French Hotel that I've stayed in. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    7.9
    Nice people,friendly and polite,helped with baggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee making facility was welcome,but needs a tray to protect furniture surface

    Nice people,friendly and polite,helped with baggage.Food and wine good.Parking easy and close to autoroute.Nothing close by and road busy.Garden was a pleasant surprise.No lift.Room bigger than in an IBIS,and price lower.Recently refurnished?

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Prima hotel op doorreis, schone "kleine" kamer en...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Een waterkokertje was fijn geweest op de kamer, maar een kopje thee uit het restaurant meenemen naar de kamer was ook prima.

    Prima hotel op doorreis, schone "kleine" kamer en mijn hond was ook welkom in het restaurant! Personeel was erg vriendelijk en sprak goed Engels.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    Friendliness and efficiency of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not actually a bad experience but the columns outside the hotel are in dire need of a good coat of paint as on arrival we all thought the hotel looked shabby

    Friendliness and efficiency of staff. Lovely service in restaurant along with delicious meals. Spotlessly clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.6
    Good location, clean and modern, very-friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Next to busy main road - however not noisy - a bit far from town centre - but then it is not a big town.

    Good location, clean and modern, very-friendly staff. Recommended for a stop-over.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Outsider the building you would never imagine the quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personally I don't like wifi with registration. You have to enter the pin every time again.. But the reception was good anywhere in the hotel.

    Outsider the building you would never imagine the quality inside. It's modern, clean and comfortable with parking in front. And I have to mention it again: the staff (everybody) was super-friendly and very nice to us.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    small rooms thin walls

    price staff breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    Comfy bed, good wifi, good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slightly cramped rooms, slight smell of cigarette smoke everywhere

    Comfy bed, good wifi, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    Clean Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean Room Free parking (plenty of space) Free wifi Abt 30min drive to the cliffs Coffe maker in the room Friendly staff Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff and food in resturant ,very comfy large bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms slightly small

    Staff and food in resturant ,very comfy large bed

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    Best value of money and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Best value of money and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Room clean, lovely comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to control radiator in bedroom.

    Room clean, lovely comfy bed. Good inexpensive food in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    Beautifully presented food in evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautifully presented food in evening. Excellent choice at breakfast buffet. Very welcoming staff on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.3
    Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Pleasant,clean room, excellent dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Pleasant,clean room, excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    Pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    7.5
    Good restaurant with extensive menu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are rather small

    Good restaurant with extensive menu

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    9.6
    Good honest hotel providing great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing,provided everything we needed for an overnight stop.

    Good honest hotel providing great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.6
    Stylish, good atmosphere, friendly staff, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost nothing, little bit far from the sea

    Stylish, good atmosphere, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, superb french food, reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    24u check in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    24u check in. Wifi Bed

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    food in restaurant very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    exterior of building could do with a paint

    food in restaurant very good

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    exellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    exellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    We ran into some problems and had to extend our stay, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    We ran into some problems and had to extend our stay, the hotel manager was very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    The restaurant was good value and saved having to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was good value and saved having to find somewhere to eat after a tiring day on the road

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Hotel was very friendly, great food and good bed, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Hotel was very friendly, great food and good bed, very pleased.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: