Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Relais des Iles 3 stars

3 Avenue de la Mer, 50290 Coudeville, France

#3 of 3 hotels in Coudeville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough choice on the 26 euro menu. Only one course in each section. We paid extra to have a meat dish instead of the fish offered.

    The hotel is in an excellent position right near the beach. MIriam the receptionist upgraded our rooms and we had a choice of rooms that suited us. This gesture was most unexpected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv 📺 no signal and internet was not working at the time. In fairness the Tv fault was only discovered in the late evening and didn’t report until morning

    Comfortable bed and excellent shower and close to lovely beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception when we arrived was amazing. So helpful. She upgraded us to a room with a sea view and was just so helpful as was the waiter that looked after us both nights. Really nice place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a new i phone stolen from the room when we were at breakfast. No sign of forced entry. The owner made no effort to contact us or compensate us for the loss.

    Beach at doorstep. Dinner was enjoyable. Myriam the receptionist was most pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee/tea making facilities and didn't like being below ground level. Parking not secure (we had a trailer but it was fine).

    Reception accommodated late arrival with no fuss. Clean and comfortable overnight stay, plenty hot water for all the family to have shower. Liked the fact the room was divided so that the children slept in one room and adults in the other, both with tvs, but still altogether. Plenty of parking out front. Beach in front of hotel, looked good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on ground floor, very claustrophobic, view was a green grass bank, as almost underground. Hotel needs updating, looks dated... Maybe other rooms better

    Staff were very helpful. Restaurant ok, good views from top floor. Ok location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was in need of some TLC. It was a wet room with no shelving for your things and no extraction.

    This is well positioned at the end of the promenade and set back just a few metres. Our '3 man' room was at the rear of the property at low level (basement) so not much of a view. Luckily the weather was great so we spent all day out visiting the area and on the beach. We had a drink in the bar but did not use the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi not working and was important for this trip Room very warm needed air con or fan Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom No tea or coffee making items in room

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the boiled eggs at breakfast, didn't need to have the shells broken, or kept in the wire chicken, with flies around this is a health safety issue, also the soft cheese could have had a done over it i could have boiled my own egg if given the proper equipment

    The food, staff, entertainment, the view, and , the sunsets

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not seem to be worth €12. Especially with a 7 year old daughter who eats about 10 cornflakes and that is it.

    Staff were really lovely. Family room was great for a 2 night stay. Last stayed here in 1985 or 86 on a school trip. Changed and updated since then of course but still family owned.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp musty smelling room in basement ( although had requested above ground), serious stains on carpet . Was told by staff it smelt normale. Wifi only worked in restaurant. Restaurant staff went AWOL! Gave up waiting for coffees and bill. When we went to desk they tried to charge us for items we hadn't had . On check out , we were given wrong bill twice,had items added which we hadn't ordered/had and then acted as if we were to blame for their error. Very miserable staff member, never had this poor service in France before so we were shocked . Lots of nice hotels in this area so I'd look elsewhere in future .

    Good location for beach and nearby towns

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wet room bathroom was totally impractical with young kids, floor obviously very slippy once one shower taken.

    Location great, family room very big, everything very clean, view from restaurant having breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Campagne Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The weak WIFI coverage in the rooms and cranky staff. The menu was a bit single sided on seafood. At check-in our reservation was not available.

    The superb location and quietness, great picnic locations nearby. Lastly the spectecular view from the restaurant in 3rd floor.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on floor 0, which meant no view from the room, musty odor, and no cell phone reception.

    Hotel was right on the beach--great location. Restaurant on top floor had a good view of the water.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recieved an upgrade to sea view room, very nice although didn't spend much time in the room. Good parking area to the front and rear. Good evening meal (band was playing in the bar area) Quality ham served at breakfast, a nice change from the typical formed rectangular offering

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu of the hotel could give more choice

    Nice homey hotel right at the beachfront.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant in the Le Relais des Iles served excellent meals. Real value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere to eat anywhere nearby

    Fine room and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They billiard table could be changed.

    Each and everything was just fine. I can highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the veach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Campagne Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very simple

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was not large but had everything you need. Bed particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed ans we weren't notified despite having been E mailed the menu?

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WIFI

    Location. staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely location near the beach, easy to park, very friendly staff, overall pleasant atmosphere at the hotel, wonderful panoramic view from restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Campagne Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort correct,bonne situation

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food in the restaurant was awful.Most of the main course had been pre-cooked and warmed through...and the vegetables(beansprouts plus veg) were obviously from the chiller cabinet of a supermarket.Grey , tough lamb on a bed of underseasoned mashed potato Covered in a weird sauce Would not mind.but this was not cheap..at 22 euros a portion..!!We have been coming to this hotel on and off for years.............but if we stay again will not be eating in the restaurant.

    Location is lovely. Rooms comfy , if a little basic..............But you come for the views.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a good idea having kettle etc in room but pity they could not give China mugs instead of paper cups!

    We were originally placed in a basement room but as it was low season they put us in a room on the 2nd floor which had sea view and had been newly modernised which was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although breakfast was so good, the evening meal disappointed, (frozen?) vegetables were tasteless, coffee was poor quality, meal was just OK but I expected better.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent. view from restaurant impressive.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was a very laid back place to stay . lovely views good value for money .we had a lovely hotel in camber sands in sussex called gailvant hotel which is amazing please check it out in england .

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems with anything.

    the location is excellent, ideal for travelling around the Cherbourg peninsular. The staff are all very helpful and pleasant. This is our fourth visit so that tells you how much we like this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very noisy party in the restaurant kept us awake until very late one night. Our room was rather small with nowhere to hang towels to dry and limited storage space for clothes. No milk supplied with drink making facilities. Two power cuts, one lasting all night, with no explanation from the staff.

    Lovely location opposite a very pleasant beach and within easy reach of other tourist attractions. Quiet resort which suited us.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is fantastic, if you like the ocean and to be somewhere a bit secluded. The hotel has a nice view from the restaurant where the breakfast is also served. The breakfast itself is very good, local and bio products (e.g. very tasty and bio alternative to nutella).

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    comfortable --slightly faded feels nice, dining room superb --will be returning, the beach shack cuisine in front of hotel moules by the bucket cooked perfectly with a bottle of red, adds to the hotels appeal

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not much else to do in the vicinity if it's not beach weather.

    Nice little hotel with friendly staff, they upgraded our room with no extra cost. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Had a nice meal in the restaurant in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We was in a basement room i guess because we had a triple room we could have upgraded but they could only do it for two , so we could n't , the other rooms on 1st and second floor looked much better , the room had no air con so it was hot with three in

    Great location on the beach , staff were good and overall stay was good a short walk along the front we found a small village and went to Gregs pizzas for a meal the food and service was fantastic , we did not eat at hotel during stay mainly due to our daughter wanting to eat out , The hotel restaurant location was amazing on the 3rd floor over looking sea and coast

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Close to a large campsite - with that and daytime trade the section of beach was a bit busy for us. Lots more beaches close by though.

    Top floor restaurant & bar - looking directly out onto the sea... beautiful food and service. Nice beach with part of the huge mussell trade all to explore.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was ok but personally wasn't impressed with the friendliness of the staff. We booked 2 rooms as a group of 9 yet they weren't impressed when we turned up for breakfast?

    Room was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is tired and the carpets smell. The whole hotel needs redecorating and cleaning. There were no tea or coffee making facilities. The staff did not smile once.

    The weather,the sea and leaving!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was excellent. the staff were very helpful and friendly with private parking for my motorcycle. music in bar that night with lots of locals made for a great night.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room at level -1 (basement). Bed was too small (length & width) Bathroom was just acceptable.

    Location (at the seaside) Sufficient parking Restaurant location (3rd floor)

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to complain about.

    food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfortable beds, good views, lovely restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quite location near the beach

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to dislike

    Location opposite the sea

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are reasonable but soundproofing poor.

    Location is good if you have a car. We used it a a base to play golf.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location is very good

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tired room dirty stained carpet

    Good location and lovely sea view

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not clean at all. Unfriendly staff. Only one member of staff on duty for the whole hotel on arrival

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    beautiful location,free parking,nice breakfast in a lovely room with a view.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    geluid overlast, parkeerplaats voor hotel, plus muziek restaurant. Slechte schoon maak kamer, plus verschonen bed. In 6 dagen 1 maal.

    uitzicht op zee

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent idea to have the restaurant and breakfast served on 3rd floor with the view.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Couple

    Location to the beach ....

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    damp musty smell .No shower screen .Bathroom very tatty

    position of hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, always good

    Location overlooking the beach, sunny rooms ample car parking space. Good restaurant. we keep coming back.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Plenty of room for three small children. Right across from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was superb and the view from the restaurant terrific.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Le Relais des Iles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: