Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Relais Du Roy 3 stars

La Caserne, 50170 Le Mont Saint Michel, France

#4 of 13 hotels in Le Mont Saint Michel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1290 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Location to the Mont.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room and no lift to upper floors which is ok until you are lugging heavy cases.

    Location to the Mont. The restaurant was very good. The staff where very helpful and friendly as I had stupidly omitted to return my key from the previous hotel and they offered to post it back to them for me.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    The hotel is conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is conveniently located. Just had to hop on the free-of-charge shuttle bus in front of the hotel and travel the short 1-2-kilometre distance to Mont Saint-Michel. After having supper on the Mont, we walked back to the hotel at night on the boardwalk in the dark, which was a lovely experience, with Mont Saint-Michel beautifully lit up.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    4.2
    Location wise it’s nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a lot of tick bite on my legs and face. It was so itchy couldn’t sleep well. And there were so many flies came into my room, and even there is a window to see beautiful mont saying Michelle you can’t open your window Bc flies gonna came into your room. And hotel itself is super super old. And this price was overpriced I would say...

    Location wise it’s nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location and service, though little bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive.

    Very nice location. I arrived the hotel earlier, but they allowed me early check in before 3 p.m. The room was large and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location and lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be a huge number of flies and mosquitos invaded the area and made walking around something you count with bites. Also, getting past the security gates wasnt explained very well, we managed in the end but wasted 20-30minutes trying to find the right access and get the right code.No issue with the hotel.

    Perfect location to explore Mont St Michel. The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Great location, easy access, comfortable quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, easy access and parking. Shuttle to MSM just across the street. Room was small but extremely functional, quiet and comfortable. Bathroom was huge. Wifi excellent. Very good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close proximity to Mont Saint Michel which allowed us to have free parking and access free shuttle bus service. Definitely recommend staying within the controlled zone for ease of visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    A very convenient location in a comfortable hotel with parking for visiting Mont St Michel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small although very comfortable.

    This was the perfect location for visiting Mont St Michel; the shuttle bus was almost across the street from the hotel. We also had a view of MSM from our little balcony. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    good location and reasonably price. One of the closest hotel to the mont
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice stay - standard hotel without any fancy additions - but we expected that. The view of the Mont is a little....underwhelming - But i guess its better than no view at all. Friendly front desk woman - helpful too Car park is small but free which was handy. walking distance to restaurants location is very good too its one of the closest hotels to walk to the mont.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Ok for one night but I wouldn't want to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were typically French and indifferent with slow service. Sound proofing to the bathroom and corridors was poor. Access code required to access resort with a car was sent late and parking not secure.

    The food in the restaurant was tasty and good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    The best location to stay overnight at Le Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the second morning there were no scrambled eggs. We had our breakfast at 9 am (returning after the sunrise at MSM). Was it already gone? The breakfast is until 10, but the buffet was simply not filled up any longer. It seems we got last pieces of cheese etc. There were only few people in the breakfast room, but nether less ... Dear Le Relais Du Roy, If you read the reviews, please advise your staff to watch for the breakfast buffet.

    Maybe I am going to start this review with a sort of a travel tip. If you want to stay overnight at Le Mont Saint Michel, you have basically following three options: - 1) To stay on the Mont itself in one of the few tiny ancient hotels. It is certainly the most romantic choice. But it is also certainly the most expensive one and has some practical inconveniences. You must park outside and somehow take care of your baggage (there is a service for that though). - 2) To stay outside of the ‘Relais’ in one of the B&B or hotels close by. This is must cheaper, but then you have to park on the huge parking for the day visitors. The problem with this, depending on the season/time day the car queue of those ‘day visitors’ may be literally a mile or more long. I saw this in August. - 3) In my opinion it makes the most sense to stay overnight at one of the ‘Relais’ hotels. That means, at one of the few hotels inside the MSM boundaries behind the gate for the ‘overnight visitors’. This has the advantage that you can park on the reserved parking with plenty space available and the easy access. Le Relais Du Roy is one of such hotels. Others are Le Relais Saint-Michel, Hotel de La Digue, and a bit behind the Gabriel, Mercury and Saint-Aubert. Located in the first row, Le Relais Saint-Michel is perhaps the most expensive one. They advertise with a direct view on MSM, and some of their rooms may have that amazing view as on the pictures. But I think, not all. This is, for example, just because of the row of trees in front of the hotel :-) The Le Relais Du Roy is still quite expensive, but I got significantly cheaper then the Le Relais Saint-Michel. And from our balcony we had too an amazing unobstructed view over MSM. That must have most of the room of the side of the Couesnon river. If you want for a nice view, ask for such one. To be on the safe side, try to avoid the _closest_ to the MSM end of the hotel building. (Maybe on that end La Digue may get in the way).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location. Would be nice to have more welcoming staff at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find entrance. GPS brings you to "no enter" sign. You have to drive around to find a place where you can use a code to enter. It took us a while, signs would have helped a lot. When I called the hotel they just gave me code without explaining how to get there. The staff at the reception is not very welcoming. Don't provide any info unless asked but even then we've just got dry short not very clear answers to our questions. They look like they are tired of all the tourists coming to visit St.Mont Michelle.

    Location was very convenient, very close to the shuttle stop. Rooms are good size. No a/c but it was pretty cool during the night so we did not need it. There is a restaurant on the first floor with outside sitting. After our late evening visit to the abbey we were trying to find a place to sit outside with the bottle of wine and fruits we've bought in the morning. The waiter was so nice, allowing us to use a table outside and even opening for us our bottle of wine and bringing plates and knives.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with king size bed and paid extra for that. It was our wedding anniversary. We received a room crowded with three twin beds instead. Staff was absolutely rude when questioned about it. We expect Bookings to resolve the extra pay issue because we did not get what we paid extra to get, given this stay was supposed to be our wedding anniversary treat. Parking is very limited, had to go to another lot. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy old building near the main street. Every 5 minutes the bus is passing by and you hear it like a train, building is trembling. And the busses pass till 1 am in the morning and then start again around 6.00. am. So we did not sleep long. Also we hear very well the neighbors toilet flash, like it's in our room... The breakfast is very poor.

    Nice staff. Close to the mountain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Maybe I am going to start this review with a sort of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the second morning there were no scrambled eggs. We had our breakfast at 9 am (returning after the sunrise at MSM). Was it already gone? The breakfast is until 10, but the buffet was simply not filled up any longer. It seems we got last pieces of cheese etc. There were only few people in the breakfast room, but nether less ... Dear Le Relais Du Roy, If you read the reviews, please advise your staff to watch for the breakfast buffet.

    Maybe I am going to start this review with a sort of a travel tip. If you want to stay overnight at Le Mont Saint Michel, you have basically following three options: - 1) To stay on the Mont itself in one of the few tiny ancient hotels. It is certainly the most romantic choice. But it is also certainly the most expensive one and has some practical inconveniences. You must park outside and somehow take care of your baggage (there is a service for that though). - 2) To stay outside of the ‘Relais’ in one of the B&B or hotels close by. This is must cheaper, but then you have to park on the huge parking for the day visitors. The problem with this, depending on the season/time day the car queue of those ‘day visitors’ may be literally a mile or more long. I saw this in August. - 3) In my opinion it makes the most sense to stay overnight at one of the ‘Relais’ hotels. That means, at one of the few hotels inside the MSM boundaries behind the gate for the ‘overnight visitors’. This has the advantage that you can park on the reserved parking with plenty space available and the easy access. Le Relais Du Roy is one of such hotels. Others are Le Relais Saint-Michel, Hotel de La Digue, and a bit behind the Gabriel, Mercury and Saint-Aubert. Located in the first row, Le Relais Saint-Michel is perhaps the most expensive one. They advertise with a direct view on MSM, and some of their rooms may have that amazing view as on the pictures. But I think, not all. This is, for example, just because of the row of trees in front of the hotel :-) The Le Relais Du Roy is still quite expensive, but I got significantly cheaper then the Le Relais Saint-Michel. And from our balcony we had too an amazing unobstructed view over MSM. That must have most of the room of the side of the Couesnon river. If you want for a nice view, ask for such one. To be on the safe side, try to avoid the _closest_ to the MSM end of the hotel building. (Maybe on that end La Digue may get in the way).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Very beautiful Chalet in the country side of the Normandy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the morning was cold but since it was a hot day I didn’t mind that much.

    Very beautiful Chalet in the country side of the Normandy easy access to all the historical beaches

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, I could heard doors closing and neighbors talking .

    The hotel is very close to Mont-Saint-Michel, the roo was comfortable and great view from the balcony, the staff were very friendly and hopeful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Close to the barrage with good photo opportunities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you get a room with a small balcony you might se the island, from your room. Unfortunately not all superior rooms have balconys, ours didn't. The sewage system was strange, some times the toilet was flooded after flushing. (Not the kind of tides I came to see!)

    Close to the barrage with good photo opportunities. Close to the bus stop. Good bathroom. Coffee making opportunities in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was ok, but rather expensive. Ithought it would be really close to Mont St. Michel, but it was just behind the barrier in the inner circle. That's all.

    Quiet room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    We had great access to Mont Saint-Michel from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the room had been a little bigger, and that there had been light-blocking curtains.

    The bed was very comfortable. It was great being able to walk out to the Mont after dark if we wished to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Depends on you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody take care your request for example car parking arrangement, and Receptionist(an Asian lady) shows more hospitable welcome to Japanese guests. She just show us Formulated profession only. The room space is small, maybe limited by the building construction, and with bad smell, Air circulation is also not good.

    The resttaurant provides traditional French meal. That is good to try. And the hotel location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    room was ok to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator :( we were on the 3rd floor . no air conditioner was very warm and we could not open windows because too many mosquitos. not super, bad but not super comfortable. i don't really think i would stay there again.. sorry

    room was ok to rest

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice, convenient place to stay for a night, but we are glad it was just one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in the rooms, was an issue for us, since it was warm the day we were there. Breakfast was very unsatisfying, bread, yogurt, fruit and cold meat, for 12 euros. When you stay in a resort area, you pay resort prices.

    The location was the best thing, within sight of MSM and on the shuttle route. Quaint little Inn that was good for our one night in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to get to the gate you have to follow the signals for buses and disabled parking! Once at the gate you need to have the entrance code that the hotel should give you in advance upon request one day before but they do not respond to your e mail messages and we could not contact the reception by phone so the only way was to contact directly Booking one day in advance and around 11 a.m on the day of arrival we finally got in the e mail our entrance code which is valid only for one entrance. The room was extremely hot unless you keep open the balcony door during the night but there are plenty of mosquitoes unless you have at hand an indoor anti mosqito electrical device that we plugged in and we had a very peaceful and quiet night!

    location and the view of Mount Sant Michael from the balcony of our room. it is worth the experience to be so close especially late at night and early in the morning! The bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    quiet place, close to Mt st Micgel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the floor is not even in the room we stayed(for 5 people). You need to be very careful when going to toilets in midnight.

    quiet place, close to Mt st Micgel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    I would not rent that room again in warm weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a family room in June. There was no air-conditioning in the room, and no window in the children's sleeping area. The room was so hot, no one slept at all. It was cool enough outside that this should not have been a problem, but there was no window to open. The fan the was supplied just moved the stale air around.

    Very close to the Mont Saint-Michel and situated along the river. Lovely walking area. The restaurant was also very good as was the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    A very average hotel in the most perfekt location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated and tired decor, no air conditioning and no mosquito screens either. That meant either sweating with the windows shut or being eaten by mosquitoes. I guess they can't be bothered to invest in refurbishment because people come anyway because of the fantastic location. The breakfast buffet for 12€ was average and not large.

    The location is unbeatable. There are only a few hotels that close to the causeway leading to Mont-Saint-Michel and this is one of them. Step outside and you're rewarded with the most outstanding view. They also have a good hotel restaurant, where you can try lamb from the salt marches, a local speciality. Not cheap though, but nothing is around here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed and good location but no A/C, no lift, and no parking instruction. Be warned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given no instruction whatsoever how to get inside the area. No access code was given. No mention about the gate. We tried to call the hotel half a dozen time to no avail. I ended up walk 700m from the gate to the hotel to get the code. Wasted 1 hour in the process. The hotel explanation that there was some change to the system so I wasn't inform anything was unacceptable and doesn't make any sense. The staff said sorry but that was it. No A/C. No airflow even though we left open the balcony door all night. Too warm in summer months. Couldn't sleep well. No lift/elevator. And there are stairs and steps all over the hotel.

    Bed was comfy. Our room was on the back/canal side and we can see the Mont Saint Michel from our balcony. Location is great, like all the hotel in the zone. It was very calm inside the zone which we like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their restaurant menu definitely needs revision. Many people stopped and looked at it and didn't go in. Not much appealing on it to the average person. We only had drinks there. I am a former chef, so I think I am somewhat knowledgeable about these things. Also, I think the charge to drive into the area where the hotel was located should be covered by the room price and not extra.

    Location is excellent for Mont Saint Michele. You can walk there and back or take the shuttle bus which stops very close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean room, Great location. Be aware of their parking fee charging rule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, the front desk lady didn't tell us the code for entering the town gate is one time use only. After we drove out to supermarket for grocery shopping and re-entered, they said we have to pay additional 4 euro for reentry with a very bad attitude. They block us out of the town gate more than 10 mins only because we don't feel it's fair without telling us the rule earlier when we checked in. My 18months old baby was on the car crying out loud but they just hung up the phone and block us out from the gate. In the end, we have to pay 8 euro for the same day parking.... Be aware of their parking fee charging rule that's all what I want to say...

    It's in the heart area of Mont Saint Michel town. Comfy and clean hotel. Breakfast is ok in buffet style. Parking space is right in front of the hotel. Bus stop is right outside the hotel. They have baby crib available so it's pretty kids friendly hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Close and Convenient to Le Mont Saint Michele
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an odd smell in the hallway near the rooms in the 200 block, which may come from the Cousenon water just beyond the room balconies?

    Their location is very close to Le Mont Saint Michele and the shuttle pick up stops. The price of the room is a good value for the area. It's clean, quiet, with a coffee maker, but no extras frills. There is a nice on site restaurant for easy access, but a little pricy. There is a general store and deli with great sandwiches just down the street. It has a range of food and household items, since their is a motor park close by. The Mont St Michele Tourist Center is very informative and organized and the Shuttle Service is works great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Walking distance, to enter to these area you need a code.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property doesn't have Air conditioning in the rooms. In summer you sleeping in a oven. You can't sleep with a balcony door open. Birds, flies, etc,etc are surrounded all the time. Breakfast was a continental breakfast and 12 Euro? Only Bread and coffee? Come on.

    Walking distance, to enter to these area you need a code. Booking. Com should inform that they change 4 EURO per every time you going outside the gated area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location -- less than average accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was tiny with a small bed and no A/C. The only ventilation was an exterior door to a slight balcony -- however, there was no screen to keep out the insects. And, with the door closed, there was only a sheer curtain, so no light control or privacy.

    The best thing about this hotel is its location -- from here, you can grab the shuttle to Mont St Michel. I think it's the closest you can get before the bridge. Breakfast was just average. Dinner, though slow service, was surprisingly good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Very good location within walking distance of the Mont.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a code to get your car to the hotel (the road is blocked to traffic). We had to extract ourselves from the waiting cars and call the hotel (international phone call) to get the code. They should send a code before arrival. Internet stopped working when I really needed it. This happened late in the evening and the staff said there was nothing they could do. Upon my repeated insistence they made a serious attempt at fixing it but to no avail. It was fixed the next morning.

    Very good location within walking distance of the Mont.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    nice to be close by Mont Saint-Michel and the marathon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food menu is very limited and no hot meal after 9pm like all the restaurants in this area even in the marathon evening!

    nice to be close by Mont Saint-Michel and the marathon finish area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is to be avoided! Quality do not match price big time!!! Just look around for anything else. Rather small room with view at the parking... rather disappointing as that was supposed to be superior room.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is not interested if you enjoy your stay or not, they want your money and that is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were quite rude. The room smelled like drains. And the prices were extortionate for what you got.

    The location was nice and close to mont Saint-Michel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Location was great about a 1mile walk to Mont St Michel, you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great about a 1mile walk to Mont St Michel, you can also get a free bus or pay for a horse/carriage to take you to the island and back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The restaurant downstairs serve really nice steak!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room were facing the street so didn't get the view. The room is on the top floor without a lift. I had hard time carrying a 23kg luggage. The night shift staff's English was not so good.

    The restaurant downstairs serve really nice steak!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Very well situated near St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well situated near St. Michel shuttle bus stop Hotel staff inquired in advance if we were travelling with a car and provided us with access code to enter the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Great room and bathroom, perfect location, great breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room and bathroom, perfect location, great breakfast (12 euros - it worths). The lady in the reception at check in was very kind and helpful. Cannot say the same from the restaurant staff... they are not willing to help... but not much different from other restaurants in France. Terrible service... Do not need to pay for the parking, there is planty of spots to park in front of the hotel or nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great location shuttle right out front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the pass code to enter the gate when we booked. We had to call the hotel to ask for the code once we were ready to check in. Had we known about the pass code we could have parked at our hotel had we the code and avoided double paying for parking for mount st Michel. Some info in advance about the free shuttle to mount st Michel would have been nice.

    Great location shuttle right out front

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't criticism of the hotel, but the shop across the street is useless. If you plan on picnicking, bring your own food.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Great spot to stay for Mont St Michel without shelling out to stay on the island. Bus is a moment outside the door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Nice friendly service adequate room clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet separate from bathroom had to go passed double bed to use toilet at night disturbing their sleep. As needed to put light on to see where going. Also no hand washing available in the room where toilet is not very hygienic.

    Staff very friendly meal in restaurant very nice . I would describe hotel as quaintly modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Close to mont saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family room! But unfortunately resturant was closed by the time we got there. You need a code to get into a specific gate that we didn't get until the day before (and we were already traveling by that point so wasn't able to get the code). Our gps took us to the wrong gate (only emergency vehicles could get into) so a little more info on the booking site would be beneficial.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Location, close to the shuttle bus stop, so you can visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of sewage was horrible in our first floor room. The Room looked dark and outdated.

    Location, close to the shuttle bus stop, so you can visit Mont Saint-Michel easily anytime of the day. Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect, and the fact that you could bring the car next to the hotel was a bonus even with the 4 euro pass if you wanted to leave the area. The room was small but functional. The shower has good power and the water nice and warm. The free bus to MSM was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Vwry Close to Mt St Michel
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The community where the hotel is located is behind a locked gate and I was not informed of this necessity or even of an access code to get through it. I had to follow another vehicle in when it opened the gate and was reprimanded for doing so by a local even though I had no options as I had no telephone to call the hotel for gate access information.

    Access to Mont St Michel was about as good as you can get.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Mont Saint Michele is incredible a once in a life time bucket list visit the hotel was well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just how to get to the hotel

    Great location but required more knowledge about getting the access code to enter the area the property is located - that was confusing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were uncommunicative and sullen. Heating wouldn't work (and we were cold and wet when we arrived) very little hot water. Overpriced for what it was.... they were charging for the location!

    Location only - it was very close to Le Mount St Michel, a short walk to the bus stop or a pleasant longer walk across the causeway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location for Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed so had to go to another hotel for a drink. The restaurant food was great but its a big room with no real ambience. A little soft music might have given it a little more atmosphere. The staff, apart from one, weren't friendly and welcoming. All you really get for your money here is a the location for The Mont.

    Location was great for Mont Saint Michel. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Food in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good parking. Good access to shuttle. Standard hotel room in quality and size. Tiny little balcony which was still nice to have. Breakfast and dinner so-so. Overall, expensive for what you get, but not as expensive as staying on the Mont and competitive for the immediate area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location to Mont St Michel wonderful clean hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to get the code to enter into the area. We needed to call the hotel to get it. They said they had emailed it to me but I didn't receive it?

    Perfect location to Mont St Michel wonderful clean hotel restaurant great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice room, good food, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have been happier if cycle storage had been more secure, it was in plain sight requiring a good bike lock, but was out of the weather though.

    The location was perfect, enabling us to tick off the Mont St. Michel on our cycle tour. The Mont is within 25 minutes walk or if you prefer you can take the free bus. Staff were friendly and efficient and the food first class, both evening meal and huge breakfast. The room was sufficient for the purpose for three cyclists, clean and warm with a good shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Right where you need to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restricted entry to the Preserve area was confusing to us, not the Hotel's fault and a very well thought out protection of the Monument by French Authorities. Hotel staff helped us navigate.

    Property with view of Mt Saint Michel less than a mile away. Are you kidding? All else (including excellent pate' in Restaurant) very good but just a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful view of Mt. Saint Michel. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Awesome time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is really nothing that we didn't like about Relais Du Roy. Would recommend for anyone wanted to travel to mt. saint Michel.

    Relais Du Roy was a joy to stay at. It was so close to Mt. saint Michel. The room was nice with a great balcony view. The staff was friendly and the food was great. good value for your money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    This was a standard modern hotel by the barrage into the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. But had put us on the first floor as requested. This area of shops and hotels is gated and you need to phone the hotel to get a code to operate the barrier which is for single use only. This was causing a lot of problems and the police were helping out. I would also suggest not visiting in August. It was a bit like Blackpool! Shame as the Mont is Beautiful.

    This was a standard modern hotel by the barrage into the bay. Shuttle buses to Mont St Michel just a short walk away. The real surprise was the excellent dinner in the restraunt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall, satisfied with my time here and being sooo close to the Abbey was a big plus!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving into this area was extremely confusing. After we finally found the entrance there is a gate that you have to pull up to and enter a code. Well, we were never given a code before hand. So, we called the hotel at the gate with cares behind waiting, probably to do the same thing, and they gave us a code. Then we left for dinner to come back to having to call again for a new code because the one they gave us before no longer was valid. They only want you to enter one time and that is pretty strange.

    The best part of staying here was the location to the Abbey. It is literally one of the last hotels before the journey to the abbey. It's quite as the area is pretty private and in order to enter into this area you have to get a secret code from your hotel. Restaurants are all around and a little grocery store as well. Room was ok. nothing fancy, but not bad either. nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not really well sound-proofed so you can hear a bit too much the neighbours.

    Great location!!! Staff were really nice and helpful and the restaurant was very good! Definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    I would stay here again but skip breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clear that breakfast wasn't included and turned out to be very expensive. Only having coffee out of a machine was a big disappointment.

    We arrived late and were hungry. The kitchen was closed but they fixed us a lovely plate of meats and cheeses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Hotel position is very good, few meters from the last stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically nothing.

    Hotel position is very good, few meters from the last stop of the free bus prior to Mont Saint Michel. Restaurant was very good (we had lunch, dinner, breakfast there, and were always satisfied). Hotel rooms are nice. Possibility to park the car (book space in advance and phone to get the entrance code) was great. I think one of the best possible options to visit Mont Saint Michel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    We had a view of MSm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. I think they double charged me for room and restraint. I have to check with my credit card company

    We had a view of MSm. Lunch at restruant was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    An excellent choice when visiting Mont Ste. Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff members were all friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect - inside the secure properties strip for those visiting Mont St. Michel - the shuttle bus stops directly across the street, shopping for souvenirs as well as essentials nearby. The view of the mont perfect outside the room window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing three sets of stairs with luggage would be a challenge for the elderly or unfit guests. We had no problem.

    The location was perfect for walking to/from Mt Saint Michel as well as to the shuttle. The receptionist was very helpful to guide us to/through the gate n property. We also liked the view from our window. 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Very happy visit to Mt. Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. The restaurant was excellent and the seafood platter was delicious. Great care in the hotel and restaurant made to ensure a pleasant stay. Beautiful view of Mt. Saint Michel from my balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    The location is very good given the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is just next to a path which people can see the interior of the room easily. Just one staff in the reception, sometimes need to wait if she is occupied by others.

    The location is very good given the price. Our room is comfortable and has a small balcony which let us see the Mont at a distance. The room is also of good size. Recommended for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Basic motel for good access to Mont St Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC -it was hot for early June. The bed was uncomfortable-similar to a pull out couch.

    The location to walk to Mont St. Michel is perfect. We had a canal side room with a view out our window.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Functionality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels in the bathroom were so thin and worn that I almost didn't think I had a full sized towel to dry off after a shower! Overall, the hotel was shopworn and needed some updating. The staff seemed only moderately interested in their work, and we had to ask if we needed anything.

    It was very convenient to access the shuttle bus to the Abbey. The beds were comfortable and the linens and covers were crisp and clean. We had a mini balcony and could see the Abbey if we leaned out and turned towards to water. We were adjacent to the river and could see the water flow controls work as the tides came in and out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for Mont Saint Michel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not park near trees! Sea gulls will "get your car".

    Great location near free shuttle bus to Mont Saint Michel. Best restaurant in area. Quiet room. Don't waste your money booking on the Mont; this hotel is half the price, 10 minutes away by shuttle including walking time, and you can park next to the hotel for 4 euro. No carrying luggage long distances.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Well located, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator 6 digit code for access to village should be perhaps sent with confirmation and not separate email that travellers may not have access to at the barrier.

    Fantastic location just before the walkway to the island and about 60m to the free shuttle bus stop which run every 10mins or so. Room was on the small side but no noise from adjoining rooms. Very comfortable bed. Friendly front desk staff with excellent local knowledge and speaks English very well. Dined in the attached restaurant for dinner and it was good but not great. Make sure you get the 6 digit password from the hotel for the barrier at the beginning of the village before you arrive. Perhaps that is something to be mentioned in the hotel description on third party websites?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to the area code is needed. It is necessary to specify when booking. But it was interesting)

    Very friendly staff! This room can see the castle. Fine dining!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Great room - little cool air
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was stuffy. There was no option other than opening the balcony door. so it was suffer the lack of ventilation or the flying insects

    The Hotel is well located close to the Abby. Wait staff at the restaurant was excellent and very helpful helping us through the French menu and dinner was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. Noisy hallways in the morning

    Across the street from the shuttle to the Abbey. We could sort of see the Abbey from our room's little balcony but it was pouring rain and foggy unfortunately. Hotel restaurant had very good food. Parking right out front. Breakfast buffet looked good but we were in a hurry so just had something quick across the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.3
    Location nearest to Michel within long walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mac Donald like hotel for tourist groups not for Royales:-) Staff busy for dinner so nervous, rooms not very comfortable- just quick overnight recomanded

    Location nearest to Michel within long walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Just before the dam. To Mont-Saint-Michel on foot 20 min. Nearby parking, shops, restaurants. Room is clean, spacious. You can reserve a table in the hotel restaurant for dinner. Right in front of the hotel, a free shuttle to the island stops

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: