Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Riquewihr 3 stars

3, route de Ribeauvillé, 68340 Riquewihr, France

#32 of 39 hotels in Riquewihr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated complimentary water/ tea and coffee facilities as per other hotels on our travels.

    Very helpful, friendly receptionist. Ideal location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People of the hotel were not friendly at all. A lot of noice during the night because of a clock at the corridor and the room was old school (not compared to what was showed on the picture of Booking.com )

    A very good breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no way to mount the shower head in the bathtub.

    My friend and I spent one night here on our tour of the Alsace region. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was cozy and comfortable and it is very quiet in the hotel. It is about a 10-15 minute walk into the center of Riquewihr. There is plenty of parking available and great amenities as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    When we arrived the hostess was friendly and answered our questions. We walked to the town about a ten minute walk. We checked out the pool which was small but very clean with a sauna. Breakfast was a treat! Lots of fresh coffee, cooked your eggs to your likes, yogurt with fresh fruit salad and great breads in lauding croissants. The visit was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quest for the perfect bath In this trip I decided to start this quest and comment in the shower bathing experience. Let me explain first:- I am an old geezer and I have noticed that most of the hotels in Europe, especially in France, do not offer, like you find in the States or Brazil, a shower stall. What is offered, normally, is a bathtub equipped with something that plays the role of a shower, kind of a douche. This means that you have to escalate the bathtub, get in and start your “shower”. An additional problem arises:- the bathtub floor is slippery and no anti-sliding material is installed. This makes your bath a slippery adventure and an equilibrium task and turns your exit of the bathtub a risky business. So I decided to put this additional comment in all hotels I stay and commenting how difficult the simple task of having a shower can be. The hotel Riquewhir rates good in access but has no anti-sliding material in the tub.

    Good breakfast, excellent and helpful service indicating places to go. The have recommended on of the best restaurants in the trip - Au Bon Coin, 6 place de l'Église, Singolsheim. One of the few hotels with fitting room and pool in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family room we had was fine, if basic. The sofa turned into a decent-sized second double bed. Toilet slightly smelly. Buffet breakfast (EUR 12 for adults, EUR 6 for children) was good but lacked pain au chocolat and coffee was dispensed by a machine: there was only only one for c.40-50 people so we had to queue each time. Some freshly brewed coffee in a jug would have been appreciated.

    Very nice (small-ish) indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Within walking distance of the centre of Riquewihr, with plenty of restaurants. Pleasant views over the vineyards and (at least from our room at the top of the hotel) the Black Forest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel touted 'air-conditioning' as an amenity but more like a cooler than conditioner. The evenings were cool (fortunately) but this could be an issue on warmer days.

    Clean and comfortable room. Balcony added a nice touch to the evening wind downs after a day of sightseeing. Proximity to old town within walking distance (~10"). Excellent parking and breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size rooms, nicely decorated and within a short walk of the beautiful town centre where there are lots of restaurants, shops and bars. Perfect for a stop over, would have loved to stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtube shower was a bit small and difficult to use for tall people like me.

    Great location, just a few minutes walk outside of Riquewihr. Parking lots on the site. Breakfast was ok (12€ adults and 6€ children). Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure that all the quipment in the gym was working as it should

    Very comfortable, fantastic views over the vineyards, very good breakfast choice. Also had a gym and a pool, unusual for this size of hotel. Also very near to the historic (and pedestrianised) old town. Helpful in providing list of restaurants. Good access for disabled.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was rather cold, but ok

    Breakfast buffet was excellent, super coffee machine. We just stayed one night and did not visut the pool. Good location, very calm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made a request to have a room with a bathtub on booking, but the owner said nothing about it and just offered us the room without bathtub. I understand the availability, but I think it would be nicer that they mentioned it.

    fridge in the room, view from the room, walking distance from the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was a graet value for money stay

    The excellent location and great parking. Excellent service from the lady on reception who provided a couple of wine glasses for our bottle of local wine we had purchased in the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is about half a mile from the centre of the village. There's a press house next door so could get a bit noisy during the vintage. Breakfast looked more impressive than it really was

    Well equipped and comfortable in chalet style building across the road from a top vineyard site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy walking distance of town centre. Surrounded by famous vineyards through which we walked. Good restaurants very close by. Good variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast but a bit pricey for 2 admits and 2 small kids 36€

    Comfy beds, great duplex family room, quiet location a close walk to the center of Riquewir

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower door was a little cumbersome, but that may just be a French thing. I didn't mind it, but my husband did. All in all, a great hotel and fairly good price...could have been a little less expensive since we visited in the off season, but nothing to really complain about. The hedge at the edge of the parking lot is hazardous, as it is hard to see if it's safe to pull out into the road. Caution on that as the hedge blocks your view of oncoming traffic. Staff also does not speak English! But that didn't bother us as we used the google translate app to communicate if necessary. Staff was attentive and very sweet and didn't mind the language barrier as it became sort of funny to all of us trying to communicate with one another. Would stay here again.

    Cute, well stocked bar area, and we were allowed to add our drinks to our room tab and pay at checkout. I picked this hotel because it had a big parking lot with ample parking spots (big spots!) for our big American SUV. It was about a 10 minute walk into the center of town, but well worth it for us to have a hotel that let us park, have a great view of the vines on a hill across the street (beautiful view!), indoor pool (bottom floor), and also served breakfast at the property. The coffee/nespresso machine in the breakfast buffet area was nice with several options. Also, bonus that there was an elevator at the hotel that was big enough for me and my baby in his stroller to fit into. Bed was super comfortable, and room was stocked with extra pillows and a closet with hangers. This hotel fit our family needs, but if you want to be in the absolute center of town, you wouldn't want to pick this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi did not work in spite of being told by the front desk that it was working. Several staff members were not very attentive and could have been more friendly.

    This property is a 15 minute walk slightly uphill to the old town. It has free parking and pleasant views. The breakfast was typical for the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor unreliable internet connection. Odd arrangement in the bathroom, a shower was provided but with nowhere to attach it to the wall and no shower curtain.

    Excellent location away from the crowds with free parking. Decent Breakfast - but at a price!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blonde Lady who saw me out - could have been a little more friendly or say just a smile. Only spoke once to say thank you after I said thank you first. Other staff very welcoming

    Swimming pool - ideal for chilling

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could have been bit more friendly. Not that there was any problem but a smile and hello is always nice when you smile and say bonjour. The shower could have been better.

    The hotel was nice and clean. Room was good size with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like, it was what it was

    It’s location was perfect and parking a bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope

    Good location even not in the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna, indoor pool, free and plenty of parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms

    The breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room, comfortable bed. Room and bathroom both very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge was a little frustrating, but all else was great.

    Great location, great breakfast, clean and charming facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location with view on the vineyards

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned but nice for this area

    Location... Very quiet for sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit dated now.

    big breakfast. lots of variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great swimming pool, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi worked only first day

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff, very helpful and efficient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice indoor pool, quite hotel, helpful staff booked a restuarant for us, good parking , we stayed overnight to break journey

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Opening hours of the pool and sauna

    Nice location in the vineyards

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet didn't work more than occasionally. The shower was combined with the bathtub which made the shower slippery and dangerous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was not worth the money. The staff didn't stock up the meats, coffee, cheese and other food items. When we got there a lot of the food was gone and the staff was not restocking it. Another complaint is that the staff almost locked us out of the hotel. You don't need a front door key until 10:00 PM. We came back to the hotel at 7:00 as the staff was locking it up. I don't know what we would have done because our code was inside the hotel. The bar was never open whenever we came back to the hotel at night.

    The pool was nice to have but was small. The room was big enough for all of us to spread out in. It was an easy 10 minute walk to town with our little kids. Parking was very easy and free. The rooms were always cleaned and fresh towels were given. There were also pool towels by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Front desk staff in the morning not courteous. You should not do a front line work if you don't like to interact with people. The Suite was old but pretty clean except the toilets but I guess it was forgotten by mistake.

    The Hotel is very well located in the village of Riquewihr. The center of the village is within a walking distance, about 3 minutes. The staff we met when we arrived on a Friday evening was very nice. The lady at the bar called Anne Laure was lovely! Everyone should have a drink there before going to bed as she's a character but such a very nice one. However in the morning the two ladies at the front desk were unpleasant. The breakfast was wonderful! It was delicious and very good quality for a very good price. We especially liked to be able to sample the Alsace specialties like Kouglof, St Nicolas Brioches, Chocolate "Pain d'epices" and delicious Viennoiseries. The pool is decent size and the water was warm.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were on the top floor and the air conditioning units on the top of the roof were VERY loud. We had trouble getting to sleep. Breakfast was overpriced so we didnt eat there.

    Large rooms, comfortable bathroom. Swimming pool facilities were great.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the hotel because it was advertised with air condition, but the air con was not working and it was 38 degree. The room did not cool down at all and we had to leave earlier. The pool was very small (looked bigger in picture) and the water was to warm, not refreshing

    The location of the hotel is very good

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little old fashioned and dark around the hotel. Air Con broke when we were there but they provided a good fan for our room.

    Lovely welcoming hotel with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Plastic undersheet on the bed was very uncomfortable. Water pressure from the shower was much less than from the tap. Pool temperature was too warm to really enjoy.

    Location was great - close to the historic village and scenic vineyards.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The temperature in our room was an unbearable 30c plus through the night. The Management knew the air conditioning was not working, but made no attempt to improve the situation. No bottled water or electric fan in the room. We were told to open the windows as much as possible, to no effect. We were offered a bottle of wine to compensate after the event, which we refused. We would never stay there again! They seemed to care not the slightest. Obviously not enough completion in the area!

    The location is very good

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a long story... Broken air-con (during the heat wave) that it was not informed to customers proactively. The arrogant attitude of the manager was something unbelievable. They do not have any idea of customer service when it comes to a problem solving situation. Avoid this hotel if possible.

    The pool is small but nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning was defunct and no repairs were imminent. It was very hot at the time. The breakfast dishes and mess were not cleared from the tables in a timely manner. The top floor rooms included steep stairs to the sleeping loft. All facilities on the lower level.

    Excellent location, handy to the old town with parking at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room style... (lack of) I used to expect high standards of style from our French cousins, but the style in some of their hotels is surprising, this hotel was no exception. Plastic covers on the mattress was a final straw, which hotels have plastic covers ??? Have they had a bad run of incontinent guests? This was so uncomfortable.

    Location for the old town was good, only a 10 minute walk away.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was mediocre. No fresh fruit.

    Great location. Good to stay close to Riquewihr to see the town in the evening and the early morning without the hoards ot tourists.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unfriendly unhelpful evening staff Shower flow very weak in duplex room

    Excellent location just outside the medieval city of Riquewihr Swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfriendly with young children

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location! Good value.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lovely pool area was a great bonus for the children. Very clean, very warm, and ideal for relaxing. Breakfast very good for the price

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restauranr

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    advantage is for the price similar to other hotels a correct swimming pool we like to go with your son of 2 years - breakfast buffet ok -

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey. Had to pay for coffee in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, good room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bathroom and toilet, incl. cleanness

    Friendly and willingness people.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report

    THE general impression of the hotel as very good value, well presented with good staff. We like the hotel and the location.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    aircon not working-we were not informed beforehand. There was a heatwave

    location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Airco broken while extremely hot, helpfull staff gave breakfast refund!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The air conditioning was not working.

    The location is good. The pool is nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice to be just outside the village

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hôtel Le Riquewihr traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: