Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Rocher 3 stars

Boulevard Wilson, 20260 Calvi, France

#10 of 55 hotels in Calvi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had an irritating noise when the electricity switched on and just continued all the time. The bathroom has no hangers for the towels and no hanger for the toilet paper either, not to mention the shower had no holder to hold it in place either. It wasn’t a nice surprise.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No towel hooks or rails in bathroom. Breakfast at 12 euros is rather expensive: we went a few doors up for 6.50 euros.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying at Calvi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff at reception. Able to store luggage at check in. On the edge of the old city with plenty of good restaurants nearby. Short walk from the station. Easy to access tourist areas and lovely beach walk. Enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. Had breakfast at nearby cafes. Laundromat in the same street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    A charming hotel near to the port, restaurants and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was hand held which was a little inconvenient and the carpet was stained.

    The reception staff were helpful, the chamber maids cheerful and excellent. Our room was spacious with plenty of storage in the dressing area. The hotel is very near to restaurants, cafes and the beach, and the little balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Great option in Calvi near port and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not have a wall mount for some reason I can't fathom...

    Wonderful balcony and clean and quiet room, well located to Calvi's many restaurants and the port area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, wonderful location, near station, shops, sea, port and citadel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere to put the soap in the shower.

    Lovely big room with balcony, staff were exceptionally welcoming. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we had discovered a boulangerie nearby serving breakfast at a better price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location in town centre;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little more attention to prior checking of some details, including: TV wouldn't switch on; and plug in wash basin was stuck closed. However, this was put right immediately I asked.

    Excellent location in town centre; staff friendly and very helpful; bed comfortable; and room clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Good location and modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wrong location on most GPS maps, maybe bacause the hotel did not indicate any number of the street, not even on their on booking confirmation.

    Good location in the city centre and close to the harbour. Good parking facilities at sister hotel within short distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful town, great hotel in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No holder on the wall for the hand-held shower nozzle.

    Right near the old town, citadel and restaurants on the waterfront. Complimentry parking close by, which was a bonus. Brilliant breakfast well worth the 12Euro.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Very good value for the money but many things could be easily improved if there is will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no big issue with this hotel but quite a few annoying facts: there is no soap holder in the shower cabin, neither you can fix the shower on the wall, internet did not work at all in the room, and most of the rooms face the main road and you can hear the cars, especially the cleaning truck, very early in the morning..

    The hotel is very well located: walking distance from Calvi beach, promenade and citadel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, everything is clean, perfectly clean. We loved that they vacuum cleaned every day, no compromise on hygene

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    6.7
    Very central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not working in the room. We stayed one night only in this hotel. We went out for dinner and when we came back, for some reason the bad door was open, and someone pooped there... This was really disgusting. The back door should be closed during the night. There was so much noise from the other rooms. The walls are thin. Around 4 or 5 in the morning, someone was just hitting very strong our door, I suspect drunken teenagers, but was scary to wake up like this.

    Very central position. Very friendly reception personnel. Free parking, but few minutes walk from the hotel. We haven't had breakfast, but we were offered a small coffee before to start our road trip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful & expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking was provided free of charge at a sister hotel (Hosltellerie de L' Abbeye) which is a 5 minute walk away - fine if you're able bodied! The only parking available at Hotel le Rocher is on the street & is pay & display. Breakfast was extra, as it is in all hotels in Corsica, it seems but here it is E12!! The WiFi was AWFUL here. You could only access it from the reception area & that was locked up from 10pm to 8am. There was no cover atall for 2 of the days I stayed there due to a technical issue. A small fridge in the room (minibar) was ideal to store water, yogurt etc. available in the Spar around the corner.

    This hotel is located in the town centre which is really convenient for all amenities. The staff are frinedly & helpful. (One receptionist is a junior version of Sybil Fawlty in her mannerisms!). The room was a good size & was immaculately clean. Calvi is a very busy town with loads of cafes & restaurants; the promenade consists of a line of them, again there's no great variation in the fare on offer & it is VERY expensive for food & drinks. It really is a playground for the rich as is evidenced by the number & size of the yachts moored there. A car is essential to get around Corsica in general. Calvi has a train station where small trains commute to adjacent villages. I found a lovely beach just outside Calvi on the road to L'Ile Rousse.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Very nice place with a very professional and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing minus was that they don’t hade a baby-seat in the restaurant.

    Very nice place with a very professional and nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Expensive breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very central clean pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Very central clean pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Fine. Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money. Professional staff, old fashioned hotel but perfectly acceptable. Baby nutellas amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    The wifi didn't work at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable, clean and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not staffed 24 hours.

    Space, comfort and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    The welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    LE ROCHER GEM IN CALVI
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much,so far everything was perfect! Wish breakfast was included in a hotel room price.

    Everything! Staff,location,room are excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely ladies at the front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely ladies at the front desk made our stay really worthwhile.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    I only stayed one night but I was made to feel welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed one night but I was made to feel welcome! It was clean and tidy and I liked my room. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    Fun fun fun in Calvi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff and the perfect room for us and the kids. The advice staff gave us for beaches and restaurants was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    The ladies at the front desk made our stay a #10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi didn't work well in the rooms.

    The ladies at the front desk made our stay a #10. They were extremely helpful with directions, very knowledgable about sights to see in Calvi, made us feel welcome and so pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Credit card reader didn't work even we didn't have much cash and it took much time to find solution. As we were in a hurry for train and had little time, we were so uneasy while waiting for 15 minutes...Need to be improved for such a situation.

    Very friendly staff. Location is just close to both train station and citadel.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast was very poor and too expensive and certainly did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very poor and too expensive and certainly did not provide a good value for money. WiFi connection was very weak. The hotel did not even have a map of Calvi to offer to its guests.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Centrally located hotel, very near to the beach, water-front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower cubicle was tiny and just had a hand-held shower. The WiFi was a little irritating as we had to keep logging in and asking for new codes. The breakfast price was high but we found a lovely café round the corner for breakfast each day which added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

    Centrally located hotel, very near to the beach, water-front and all restaurants and shops. Spacious, nicely furnished room and we especially liked the little balcony and fridge. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is located close to the center, a few minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was out of service for the whole stay.

    The hotel is located close to the center, a few minute walk from promenade and the beach, offers free parking (in another hotel 200 m far), rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom with tiny shower stairs in duplex are dangerous no chairs on balcony, just a table fridge didn't work parking too far from hotel

    location view if staying in duplex

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Every little thing was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Safe didn't't work quite right

    Every little thing was perfect. The lady in the reception was just great made you feel welcome from the second you walk in. True, excellent,genuine, service.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    La ubicación
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En el baño, que está diseñado con muy buen gusto y es de un tamaño generoso, son incompresibles tres carencias: la ausencia de toalleros ( sólo hay uno) no hay cortina ni mampara en el duchero no hay donde colgar la ducha telefono

    La ubicación Tamaño y confort de la habitación

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Andreea was excellent in helping return clothing I'd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the duplex to give us extra room. No toilet upstairs, and so trips during the night difficult on steep, narrow stairs.

    Andreea was excellent in helping return clothing I'd left in one of the drawers. Position of hotel is excellent, with easy access to restaurants (port) and shops. Would def stay again.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.1
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was cold. Property dated.

    Good central location.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.5
    Location was good for restaurants, shopping and sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking, but down the street about three blocks.

    Location was good for restaurants, shopping and sights.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.5
    We liked the breakfast, location and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the breakfast, location and the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Lots of space, including a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Colour of the decor.

    Lots of space, including a balcony

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    The kindbess of the recepcionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The difficulty to unload the luggage nearby the hotel.

    The kindbess of the recepcionist.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Situation, parking, gentillesse du personnel,grande chambre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation, parking, gentillesse du personnel,grande chambre

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    6.7
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very good location

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.8
    Great location for town and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for town and beach. Friendly staff. Overall cleanliness of hotel is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    8.3
    the bedroom was large and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast as very poor and not good value for money. stayed two nights only had one morning breakfast

    the bedroom was large and very comfortable.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Hôtel Le Rocher traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: