Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. France hotel reviews
  3. Brittany hotel reviews
  4. Pontivy hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hôtel Le Rohan

Reviews of Hôtel Le Rohan

90 rue Nationale, 56300 Pontivy, France

#3 of 10 hotels in Pontivy

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    10
    It was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In our view, nothing can be improved!

    Proprietor showed us to our room - a rarity these days, and was so very friendly! The breakfast was absolutely amazing,with everything we could possibly want. It was the finest little hotel we have ever stayed at! M. also showed us what to see,and how to reach the chateau. We absolutely loved our stay!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Out of the ordinary family hotel in the centre of town with easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a particular criticism of Le Rohan. more of France in general. The buffet breakfast here costs 12.50€ (£11.25 at today's rate of exchange) and even if you went from one end of the buffet to the other - twice - you would have difficulty in moving that value of food,(unless you were particularly greedy) however attractively it is presented. On the other hand the cost of the room is such good value and business costs in France so high that you have to forgive the establishment for trying to make a little honest profit.

    Outside - a granite mid-19th century building (Second Empire for those who know their Napoleons) within easy walking distance of the town centre. Rue Nationale is the main street running straight as a die from one end of town to the other. Inside - surprisingly both tastefully and immaculately decorated in modern style. You will go "Wow" when you walk into reception to be confronted by an aluminium spiral staircase winding its way up the centre of the building to the first floor. There is also a lift. Our bedroom and bathroom were immaculate. The welcome from the owner was warm and helpful. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting his wife who no doubt contributed very effectively to the decorative style of the hotel. Having never been to Pontivy before we were worried about parking at a town-centre location. Our fears were unfounded - the hotel has its own free, gated car- park at the rear but even if this were to be full in high-season there is plenty of free on-street parking at this end of town. This is France where the mayor and city council believe that lots of free parking is good for the town's businesses How extraordinary! - not Britain where the practice is to bleed the motorist dry and wonder why the town centres are both dead and still dying.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great location with a lovely owner. One of the best showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit more expensive than we would normally expect (but was good quality). Also the bed length combined with the large pillow was too short for a 180cm (6ft) person.

    Great location with a friendly and helpful owner. The bathroom had one of the best showers of our holiday. The bar and breakfast was also very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.6
    Our room was comfortable, bright & had everything you...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our friends would have liked breakfast at 10am but the manager refused to allow it. Such a shame as it spoilt their stay.

    Our room was comfortable, bright & had everything you needed for your stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.5
    Spiral staircase up middle of lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spiral staircase up middle of lobby. Bike rack in secure parking behind hotel. Good breakfast. Quiet location ,ten minutes walk to historic centre with restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to shops and restaurants and staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could be cleaner and smelling fresher if ventilated daily and carpet cleaned properly.

    Proximity to shops and restaurants and staff was very accommodating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.1
    Good location i Pontivy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the manager acted in a friendly/helpful manner on arrival/departure his reaction when I asked if I could access our bikes at about 22:30 (to get the battery from the e-bike) took me by surprise (he would have to unlock a door to the courtyard). His reaction was so negative, I told him to leave it. A negative reaction also surfaced the next morning when one of the other guests mistakenly cracked an egg that she thought was boiled (easy mistake, they are in a bowl on the breakfast bar for you to cook yourself). Maybe he was having a bad day, however I wouldn't stay here again.

    Nice hotel in a good location with secure parking at the back. It is locked at about 22:00 and was good for storing our bicycles (not covered).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Very friendly, kind and helpful staff on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was all lovely

    Very friendly, kind and helpful staff on arrival. Excellent location in the centre of town and very easy to find, spacious and very comfortable, quiet room and good parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    A successfully modernised hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A covered cycle parking space would have been a bonus, for protection from rain, although the open-air car park area was securely locked at night.

    Tastefully modernised older building on edge of town centre. Excellent shower. Warm and thoughtful welcome. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for a short stay and we hope our next visit will be soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The last time we visited this hotel was more than 15 years ago so it was nice to have the opportunity for a return visit and it was better than we remembered. The bedrooms were light and airy and the bathroom a good size and well equipped too. Very well placed to walk along the Main Street in Pontivy. We were on bikes and the hotel offered to lock them inside if we wanted, but we thought their private courtyard (with locked gates at night) was sufficient. Very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    Not too big hotel located in the centre of Pontivy in one of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room on the 2nd floor had all windows extremely high, with lower edge at approx. 1,75m height. No option to see anything around but neighbouring roofs. Also the door of the shower cabin was missing, resulting in water splashing over the bathroom.

    Not too big hotel located in the centre of Pontivy in one of the historical buildings. Room looks like gradually being modernised in bits and pieces, but you can clearly see this IS and old building and serious modernisation would require serious money. I'd guess the other hotels in old buildings downtown Pontivy will not be much different. Very friendly staff. No objections on cleanliness. For French reality decent breakfast, even with some bits of ham and cheese and an option to boil an egg. Good value for money after all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay, but could offer more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drink selection was very poor in bar. Bar service was poor, I had to go and find someone when I wanted a drink. Breakfast could do offer more. ie Scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon,etc. TV needs at least 1 English speaking channel even if it is only BBC news channel.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel and comfy and lovely little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No milk to make tea or coffee in room. Breakfast was a little dear against other hotels we stayed

    Lovely clean and modern hotel and friendly owner. Easy to find and good location ideal secure parking for motorbikes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in an historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints. A comfortable arm chair for reading would improve the good facilities in the room even more.

    Comfortable, clean. Good facilities. Helpful staff. Convenient and easy walking distance into the town centre, where there are a variety of good restaurants. Excellent buffet breakfast at extra cost, which we enjoyed the first morning, but declined for the rest of our stay as we did not want such a big breakfast every day. Convenient centre for seeing much of Britanny by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    9.2
    Cylcing the Nantes Brest Canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside Bicycle storage was secure but considering the rainy weather would have preferred my Bicycle stored indoors.

    The staff were friendly and had fluent English. My room was large and extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable. The Hotel is ideally located just off the Nante Brest Canal Cycling route.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    10
    Excellent stop at a very good value Hotel with an owner who cared.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Aircon but that was to be expected.

    Excellent breakfast. Superb relationship with the owner who went out of his way to make everything 100% for us. Excellent décor and a feeling of care taken by the owners. Loved the little bottles of water that were left out for us everyday. nice bar onsite in the evening. Very good overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a little dated but it was still very nice.

    The owner was very friendly and the hotel was clean and very nice.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    9.2
    Very clean and modern fittings with tea/coffee making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very clean and modern fittings with tea/coffee making facilities in the room and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing wrong with the property, but the town is very quiet.

    Comfortable for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    Excellent and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent and friendly service

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have no complaints

    Very comfortable bed and cosy room

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    7.9
    A great place to stay for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom basin was a little blocked the water took ages to go

    Secure parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean modern room and an excellent breakfast the next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean modern room and an excellent breakfast the next day. The hotel is in a very good location very close to the town centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable hotel. Very helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff good breakfast clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was good plenty of choice. The rooms and the bed were clean and comfortable and it was good to park the car in a secure car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast very clean comfy rooms good location great staff secure place for or bikes 🚲

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Immaculate boutique hotel. Perfect for a stay in this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.6
    The car park access is very tight for a large 4x4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park access is very tight for a large 4x4. Otherwise excellent parking facilities which were secure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    Nice place...as usual ;)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and friendly staff, clean and quite place...always! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    10
    Perfect, safe location, just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was perfect for our needs.

    Parking was perfect and safe, especially as we had bikes on the back of the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    The welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything

    The welcome. A great guy !!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    10
    The very friendly owners who went out of their way to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very friendly owners who went out of their way to help us, the lovely room, excellent breakfast, very good position in the town, easy to find and only two hours from Roscoff, with secure parking. To be recommended.

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2015

    7.5
    Spacious accommodation, courteous and helpful staff and on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower over bath was under sloping ceiling so couldn't stand up!

    Spacious accommodation, courteous and helpful staff and on site parking. Town centre location

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    8.3
    Nice location - very interesting town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No restaurant Bar closed at 9.00 as did the gates to the car park.

    Nice location - very interesting town.Less than 2 hours from Roscoff friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2015

    10
    Well situated right in history-packed Pontivy with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Well situated right in history-packed Pontivy with free parking all around, Hotel Le Rohan is a welcome rest spot with great beds, great breakfast (crepes AND pancakes, croissants, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fresh fruit, and toast AMONG OTHER THINGS, even an egg poacher), spotless housekeeping, bar on premises and cheerful staff ready to assist in any way. You could spend an entire vacation right in Pontivy with many historic walking tours (free) and sites (ditto) available from Roman influence forward through the centuries. The pricing of Hotel Le Rohan was ver, very reasonable, bar on premises, party room if needed: STAY THERE!

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    10
    Spacious room, very tastefully furnished, with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room, very tastefully furnished, with parking. Helpful host. Ten minutes stroll from restaurants. Excellent value. Would certainly stay again.

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2015

    6.3
    strong wifi and very friendly and 'keen to please'...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    the apartments are in a separate cold feeling part which is probably fine in winter but a bit un-inviting in winter / spring - not sure what the hotel rooms are like - probably better

    strong wifi and very friendly and 'keen to please' staff - they made me an omelette for breakfast which was much appreciated

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    8.3
    Clean well sorted room, good secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Resturant, Job to find food at night in mid May. Rather impersonable.

    Clean well sorted room, good secure parking.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2016

    10
    Very helpful and nice people run this hotel, good breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very helpful and nice people run this hotel, good breakfast and on site parking.

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was quaint, very clean and the owner was attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a bit far out from where the very few restaurants were,

    The hotel was quaint, very clean and the owner was attentive.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    9.2
    The people who ran the hotel were very helpful, friendly...
    • Family with older children

    Arrived at 15.00 on a Saturday and it was closed until 17.00.

    The people who ran the hotel were very helpful, friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    9.2
    Very welcoming, clean and comfortable room and excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar facilities but plenty of bars and restaurants close by.

    Very welcoming, clean and comfortable room and excellent continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    10
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    8.8
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff Breakfast Comfort and spaciousness of room

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    10
    Helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2015

    10
    Everything rooms stylish and comfortable breakfast good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything rooms stylish and comfortable breakfast good value free wifi etc

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    6.3
    If booking via Bookingcom please note small print.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If booking via Bookingcom please note small print. Room not available until 5 pm!

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    9.6
    Lovely decor, great location, helpful owner and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely decor, great location, helpful owner and staff

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff, secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not stand up in shower due to slanting ceiling so only a negative with this particular room.

    Good location, friendly staff, secure parking

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: