Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

20 Place Bellecour, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#15 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    A top hotel for a top destination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were too soft and the bed too.

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff are fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was also superb although a little expensive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Lovely home in the middle of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, a short walk to old town, right in the middle of the centre. Quiet, very comfortable beds. Wonderfully helpful staff, before, during and after stay, no mater what the request they are there to help you. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay for five days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the price included with breakfast was better. Breakfast was expensive - $27 euros extra per person - so we didn’t take it.

    Fabulous location. Central location with subway stop right outside the front door and many good restaurants nearby. Walkable to many places. Price was great considering the property and location. Loved the yummy chocolates that they always had available at the front desk. And I needed ice every night to nurse a foot injury and they were always super quick with bringing it to the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    The newly refurbished bathroom, super large and comfy bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough electrical power sockets, and weak water pressure in shower. Would be nice if free tea bags and more seats can be arranged in the guest room.

    The newly refurbished bathroom, super large and comfy bed, spacious guest room, a kettle and two wardrobes in room, and very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    when I checked in, the staff said that I was double .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when I checked in, the staff said that I was double . I showed them the booking.com booking lists and they confirmed it but still they showed very unkind manner. And it was 5 star hotel but they offer the big bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body shower gel which sticked on the wall and reusable. I saw such bottles at the youthhostel not 5 star hotel. Sofitel made me disappiint as I had experienced

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous location. Charming accommodation. Cheerful and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the setting, the décor, the staff, and the food at breakfast buffet were all delightful I would have appreciated the possibility of a cooked breakfast.

    The location of this hotel in the Prêsqu'ile de Lyon is absolutely perfect for access to all the interesting parts of the city. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, friendly and cordial at all times. I will certainly be going back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent experience in an excellent hotel. Access to everything. We walked to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Location. Decor. Staff. Concierge Habib Lazreug is the ultimate professional who understands service and customer satisfaction. He was extremely helpful, friendly and made our stay a quality experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    It’s a beautiful property, immaculately kept with lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a beautiful property, immaculately kept with lovely decor everywhere. The location is also excellent; across street from Bellecour station and also centrally located for walking as well. We love the breakfast and the attentive staff. Would recommend to anyone seeking accommodation in Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Cosy friendly hotel in city center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was quite old, the water took a while to heat up. The room was quite small but nice and perfect for the price!

    I stayed there for a short business trip and really enjoyed the central location. You could walk everywhere and there are many nice bars and restaurants only a few minutes away. The bed was extremely cosy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Adequate luxury hotel downtown Lyon with poor and overpriced breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre and highly overpriced! The breakfast service was bad. Due to renovations the breakfast room was moved to the groundfloor, but in the elevator, nothing of the sort was mentioned. We encountered several other guests searching the breakfast room. The answer to our suggestion as to mention something was: Yes we suggested that ourselves, but management thought it not chique to put an advertisement in the elevator. This kind of attitude was felt throughout our stay. The first day, there were no eggs, "since the chef had an accident". The other days, eggs were not delivered as ordered. It took ages for coffee to arrive, until I offered to help out in the kitchen. Again: too bad, since the hotel looks really nice. All in all: it's an OK hotel. Just the staff and the breakfast need upgrading.

    The location is perfect. Right at Bellecour. The room was spacious and comfortable. The room maids came twice a day, which was a real nice surprise, and befitting of a luxury hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery by Sofitel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sign posting to hotel , difficult to find as its on a corner

    Breakfast excellent , Staff and rooms excellent , they do cookery classes here although it wasn't available when we stayed as they were refurbushing . Overall you are getting a sofitel experience for less cost

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel, service not good enough. When you are travelling we rely on the help of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff we had were very junior. A lot went wrong as a result . We asked for extra coffee pods, it never arrived, we desperately needed washing done, it was left in a room and never got done, we dropped some shopping at reception when we were in a rush it didn’t get delivered. On our ONLY full day in Lyon it was a public holiday and everything was shut. Not a single staff member mentioned this to us either the day before or on the morning. If we had been told we would have changed our travel plans immediately as we only had half a day in Paris and could have used the public holiday as a travelling day to extend our stay in Paris. Very poor customer service that lost us an important day among other things.

    A nice hotel in a central location .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    I and my family spent one night in this hotel on my way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic, in the city center and close to all activities. Thank you

    I and my family spent one night in this hotel on my way to Cannes. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and all were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location right on Place Bellecour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was a little hard to control. Room fridge was not cold. Paper cups were provided for tea and coffee.

    Great location, friendly and efficient staff, very comfortable bed. Good breakfast that starts early (but pricey).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    During our short stay the staff were all extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of thudding and banging starting around half 9 in the morning after an otherwise completely silent night. This woke us up and prevented us going back to sleep but as it was quite late in the morning and we had a good night, didn't spoil the stay. The noise went on for quite a while and we were unable to work out if it was other guests or staff cleaning rooms. My guess is the latter but still not sure why there was quite so much crashing around.

    During our short stay the staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming. We booked parking and it was very easy to drop off and collect our car in front of the hotel, at a very reasonable price. The cloud like bed, blackout curtains and excellent rain shower made for a relaxing and restorative night. Very well placed for opera, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre hotel not deserving of 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Service is poor. 2. Rooms are small and uncomfortable. 3. Bathrooms are dated and not functional. 4. Lacking facilities, no gym etc.

    Decor is tasteful and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Just old and need renovation, breakfast is poor and exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just old and need renovation, breakfast is poor and exactly when it finished in just few minutes they so hurry up to take all food away, it is even funny(

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent and Comfortable Visit to a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was expensive if you didn't plan to eat much but it was not unreasonable compared to similar hotels in Europe.

    The hotel is located on the Place de Bellecourt and is within walking distance of several Lyon locations and the Metro. It is a beautiful structure and the rooms are extremely comfortable and air-conditioned. The hotel was quiet despite the central location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was friendly. I also had a positive experience with room service. Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate Toilet was cold and without any character, no decoration no materials (just paint and ugly light fixture. It denoted with the rest. Also the double windows are non efficient sound wise

    Location and style of the decoration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Wouldn’t bother again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location. Staff rather reluctant to put themselves out at all. Took another phone call while attending to us which is very rude. Doorman did not acknowledge us at all and certainly didn’t offer to help with luggage. Big problem with car parking and luggage as no where to park or even pull up outside to load or unload car. Think you would do better with a cheaper more friendly Hotel. Lovely location. Staff rather reluctant to put themselves out at all. Took another phone call while attending to us which is very rude. Doorman did not acknowledge us at all and certainly didn’t offer to help with luggage. Big problem with car parking and luggage as no where to park or even pull up outside to load or unload car. Think you would do better with a cheaper more friendly Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    An excellent hotel but needs a little polish to live up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From a 5 star hotel I think I should not be asking staff to see to noise from airconditioner. Sink in bathroom was not draining properly and even though I ask staff to see to it nothing was done. Soap dispenser was not functioning. They are small things but they matter. A receptionist should make you feel more welcome. We found her to be very abrupt.

    Excellent location. Quiet and clean hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in the heart of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No points to raise

    Great location in the heart of Lyon. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent room and facilities and a very pleasant breakfast room too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Stylish hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the lower floor and the air-conditioner system wasn't turned on yet. We opened the window and some bugs flew irritating us while sleeping.

    Location is superb while the decoration is very unique. Valet parking crew are very effective.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Best location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic, minimum choice of food; only two types of cheese and not tasty; breakfast room is narrow and not comfortable

    Best location; Quite rooms; very good bedding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable but not quite as charming visually as I had hoped from the price and description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor in the single rooms was a bit tired and the common areas rather dark and windowless

    Service was impeccable and location fantastic. L'Institut restaurant on the ground floor first rate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is a little worn and bathroom in our room could use a refreshing. Breakfast is overpriced.

    Great location on Place Bellecour and excellent place to begin touring via walking or metro. Concierge is excellent at arranging dining reservations and makes valuable recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the decor,convenient location, superb food,exceptionally comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff. Gourmet Restsurant in the hotel which is the Institut Paul Bocuse training Restaurant - superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is located on the side of the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on the side of the square. All the main attractions can be walked to. The hotel receptionist is very careful and thoughtful, and feel that I'm at home. There is a waiter to stop the car and pick up the car. The guests who travel by drive car himself ,it's the best choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location- handy for shops and wide choice of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic room rather small and dark with no view. Breakfast was style over substance with a slightly disappointing choice although nicely laid out. Toiletries were in large containers like a Premier Inn rather than good quality luxury items as you might expect of a 5 star hotel.

    Perfect location- handy for shops and wide choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Great stay. Please select a room with a City View. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The courtyard view was not good. Too many buildings too close. The room service ends at 10 or 11 pm so no food available at that time.

    The location is fantastic. Right at the Center. Rooms are really cute and comfortable. Please select a room with a city view. I selected one with a courtyard view and it was not a good view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Very beautiiful hotel. Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room beautiful but a bit too small (corner looking down at pl bellecour)

    Breakfast was nearly perfect (a pity they do not offer expresso coffee). Decoration to dream for! Great bar!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Charming, comfortable and elegant in the heart of Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, there are also a few small problems: The shower stalls can leak under the shower door if you use the hand shower, and the overhead shower heads can get a bit clogged and spray erratically. There is air conditioning. But setting the temp to 0 and the fan to high only results in a cool room (this in winter!) around 22/23 degrees.And finally, a really minor point, but... the TV remote cannot be used to access special features of the TV, like selecting an alternative language sound track. (I like Midsommer Murders much better in english than french).

    Pay no attention to older reviews of this hotel. It was completely renovated a few years ago and is nothing like its pervious self. The rooms and service are lovely. The location perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Loved our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - City Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite pricey which was fine, but when I went to pay they charged me extra per person for breakfast which I did not expect. When I booked the hotel, my filter on booking.com was ‘breakfast included’ and I booked the hotel believing breakfast was included. The gentleman on reception was actually very nice. He checked the information on Booking.com and agreed it wasn’t clear regarding breakfast, so he asked me how many breakfasts we had had and charged me accordingly. Buyer beware regarding breakfast.

    Loved our stay here. Fantastic position, beautiful room, great breakfast, lovely staff, all good, except...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    En tour to Alps. Lyon is lovely stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - City Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website could have informed better regarding the car parking

    Concierge staff we excellent. We had trouble parking the car and the staff we very helpful sorting this

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this price you expect to have a Nespresso coffee machine in the room, not a poor quality coffee machine (coffee was really bad)

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Court side implies a court yard...wrong, this is the scabby part of the building from the 4th flr overlooking rooftops and dirty walls. The man on reception did offer to move us after I complained, but as we were only staying for 3 nights felt it was more trouble than it was worth to repack so we stayed where we were. A number of the rooms on our floor having major refit with work starting before 9am and having to dodge Workman step over tools and bedroom furniture (beds, desks, chairs) in the hallway, no advanced warning from either bookings.com or the hotel to advise. Cheap coffee machine didn’t work so after 2 requests they came to replace with another whilst we were out and that one didn’t work either so they left both in our room adding salt to the wound that we had no coffee making facilities, at one point the guy on reception said we could call the bar for a coffee and when it arrived the waiter new nothing of it being complimentary and we were charged 10€. Finally, when checking out we were charged for breakfast for each of the 3 days 150€ for which we didn’t have... The decor is 5* however the services and unannounced work and false charges on the bill makes this hotel a 2* in my opinion

    The decor is beautiful and the beds are like sleeping on feathers, probably the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    The room was very cozy, comfortable and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more friendly.

    The room was very cozy, comfortable and beautiful. Location is awesome, in the main square of the city and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    The staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Location is amazing, right on the square. We had 3 suites with great views and lots of space. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in Lyon - highly, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving :(

    We loved this place! Beautiful property, impeccable service, friendly and helpful staff (especially Clement). It is a wonderful place - we hated to leave.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely hotel in an excellent location. Beautifully appointed rooms and public areas. Excellent service. Comfortable bed. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    This is a first class hotel in a great location with Paul...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower water was never hot enough.

    This is a first class hotel in a great location with Paul Bucase restaurant attached, All in all hard to beat especially at the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Location and bathroom updates
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - City Side
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge still exhibits the French arrogance Would like the room description to more fully describe the bed size. Seems to be a varying opinion of double bed versus single bed example.

    Location and bathroom updates

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Five star pretender of three star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. Classic room rates as three star. Could be cleaner - dont like find previous guest private hairs on floor !!!! Runs out of hot water during evening. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    We were only there 1 night but would have loved to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff when we checked in was not very friendly. I felt like I could not ask questions and like anything I did ask for would be not considered.

    The hotel felt French. I really liked the decor and colors used. Locations was central to walking and discovering the beautiful city of Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Check reviews. They need to focus on their physical facility. For a beautiful structure in a great l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is having serious hot water problems....and maybe communication problems between front desk, maids andmaintenance

    Good bed.....but rooms need help, and it is showing it,s age mechanically

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotel is in excellent location, could walk to shops old town and silk streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints good service

    The bed was very comfortable, excellent pillows made for a wonderful nights sleep hotel. Very quite we had great nights sleep. Concerige was fantastic recommend great tour and fabulous local restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    We were able to use the time we had effectively.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are part of a famous culinary school next door . Classy. Have things of 5 * but they are 4*.

    Relatively close to train station, tourist office & on & off bus stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money because of lack of service and bad facility. Very weak breakfast and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast awful. Cakes were stale. Air conditioning was inadequate. No air filter in the air conditioner and no one available on the weekends to fix anything. Hot water took 20 minutes to get hot. The circulating pump was broken

    Decor of the hotel was charming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.3
    The only thing we like was the deceiving but lovely interior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and very outdated. A real let down. SyFf at reception were very slow and could barely cope. The concierge was ok but not great. Definitely not a 5 star oroperty. I'd rate is as 3 star... and i am a world class travelled. Pull your act together!

    The only thing we like was the deceiving but lovely interior of the lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is surely not a five star hotel. Our bathroom fits one person maximum. Shower was basic with stable warm water. The bedroom was small but cozy. However the bed was not so comfortable. Room was quite although window did not close completely. The wardrobe looked very cheap. We usually are quite forgiving/easy going but the value for money did not met this time.

    The hotel reflects history and this can be seen overall the building. It is a nice place. The surroundings are nice and clean. Ideal place in the center of the city. Very friendly staff and nice breakfast (however expensive). In case you visit the Musée Lumière (we recommend!) you will see in one short film that the building was under construction around 1893.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel in center of Lyon, but be warned it's not truly a 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not properly working and it was 37 degrees outside and inside our room! We changed rooms after 2 days and it still didn't work. It was extremely uncomfortable and affected our sleep and overall stay at Le Royal. We stayed outside as much as possible just to try and be "cooler". We have lived in France for 3 years and know that air con is never as "cold" and "refreshing" as other countries but it was terribly hot even when hotel claimed system was "fixed". They should have offered fans, cold water, etc to do what they could to keep us cool. We also has $130 stolen from our room and while hotel doesn't accept responsibility it left a bad taste in our mouth. For rest of stay we had the "do not enter" sign on our door and housekeeping still entered and serviced room. Overall it's important to know this is a Bocuse hotel management training hotel and therefore is not truly a 5 star experience.

    Hotel is in an excellent location and its decor is very charming and sophisticated. The breakfast was plentiful and in a lovely breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    nice location and design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vey good location, very beautiful design and a huge bed!)) But, I booked this room for the new married couple. I warned the hotel about this twice with helping Booking.com. And later, on the day of arrival, we called and told the administrator about it. Of course, the hotel should not necessarily be responsive, but it would be nice if the hotel reacted to our comment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    3.8
    Sofitel.....Soft in the head to rate this 5 *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access for guests is poor. Staff are not able to bring luggage trolleys to the car because of the steps into the hotel........no ramp or under cover access. Rooms were small and the bathromm was VERY small. It was literally impossible to sit on the toilet without hitting one's left hip/bottom on the toilet paper roll holder. ( I am 165 cms and weigh 60kl, hardly a large build!) The bathroom was not as clean as it should have been and in need of work. Doorways around the room were badly chipped and scratched. Despite advertising that there was room service, we had difficulty getting any food and the "choice" was very limited, moreover some options were unavailable. I cannot understand why a 5***** rating has been given to this hotel. It is simply not in the same league as the Rocco Forte Savoy in Florence nor the 4**** Westin in Paris which is more a 5 ***** The rating of the Royal is not accurate,it should be reconsidered. I was surprised that Sofitel own/ manage this place. It is priced at too high a level for its standard.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The room was very spacious, the bed wonderful, I liked the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very spacious, the bed wonderful, I liked the air conditioning worked well. Location is great, and staff helped us with anything we needed. We sometimes did have to wait for our car to be taken out for sometime, but were thankful for this service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Smart hotel in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service made errors but the response to this by reception was exceptional and avoided our stay being slightly spoilt.

    The room was very comfortable and the bed exceptional. All the staff we came across we're welcoming and helpful. Valet parking was not explained when I telephoned prior to booking but was excellent (thank you Gregory!). The location could not have been better - we were able to park the car and leave it for two days: we covered 2000 miles before arriving in Lyon so this was welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Not to expect to much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing in the hotel. No gym, no spa no chill out area. The hotel is overpriced for what it is and I struggle to see its 5 star rating by having literally just a bed to offer.

    The location in the city centre was great. The soft furnishings are of high quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice looking hotel, not tourist friendly, too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - City Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't show up in short pants, looking tired after a long car drive, the staff is pretty stuck-up. insufficient parking in front of hotel, ended up blocking the entrance to another car parking. hotel staff apologising to the neighbours but ignoring us...

    good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Five star location and price but only three star amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has a five star location in a grand old building but 3 star amenities. We shouldn't have to unplug lamps and crawl under tables to get useable outlets for charging our devices. The bathroom is very tiny. Two people can't fit in at once. No space to put your things. The shower fixtures are old fashioned. You have to mix hot and cold water and be very careful to avoid flooding the bathroom. Unlike a true 5 star hotel they don't give you small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. Rather you have to squeeze them out of dispensers on the walls that often don't work. It is so cramped that you have to be careful in sitting down on the toilet to avoid bumping into the toilet paper dispenser. The 25 euro buffet is outrageously overpriced -- for this price you can get a three or four course dinner at many of the excellent bouchons nearby. The do offer. -- but avoid disclosing -- a perfectly adequate 10 euro petit dejeuner with juice, coffee or tea, bread and croissants.

    Superb location close to everything of interest in the Presque aisle and Vieux Lyon and wonderful restaurants on Place Bellecour and next to the metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel to visit Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night on our way to the Provence Hotel is really at the center of Lyon, in walking distance of the old center, the restaurant area, ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Quality hotel in quality location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a little tired. The bar area is unmanned and therefore merely a sitting area lacking any atmosphere.

    Great location off the Bellecour square. Very comfy bed. Friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    A weekend in discreet luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should have been more enthusiastic at the start of this questionnaire - I can think of nothing I disliked and would happily stay at Le Royal again. But it is a 5-star hotel and it is to be expected that it is very good.

    Yes the bed was extra comfy and indeed the croissants fresh, warm and flaky as well as plentiful. It has a luxurious atmosphere, absolutely right for the category of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Lazing in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Nothing at all.

    Everything about this hotel is lovely - this is our second time staying here and it really is just extraordinarily comfortable! A delicious breakfast - more expensive than some but it really is top notch, think of it as being your lunch and have something small later in the day :) -. Can't say enough nice things about it really - great location, super restaurants nearby, bars, shopping etc. Helpful staff, quiet housekeeping, well-appointed rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Lyon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was that we were unable to dine in the hotel restaurant as it was fully booked. Apparently, one needs to make a reservation well in advance.

    Service was excellent. There was a problem with the wifi on our floor & they immediately moved us to another (larger) room. All staff were friendly & helpful. Location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is really good and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of the room felt a little old and the breakfast looked really expensive.

    The location of the hotel is really good and the staff were friendly. The bed was very comfortable and I really liked that they left a small note wishing you a good night with information about the weather the next day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect for our family holidays in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - City Side (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the hotel bed was a bit too soft, but nothing to complain about, just small remark

    Everything was perfect for our family holidays in this hotel. Location is great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    A Room with a View !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little set of complimentary toiletries would have been appreciated - those huge ( budget hotel )soap/shampoo dispensers were really awful .....

    Beautiful penthouse room/suite with balcony - the view (over Place Bellecour) was awesome ! Bed was very comfortable ( surpassing the bed in the Four Seasons George V in Paris ! ) , enjoyed the coffee machine and variety of teas provided with the kettle in the room . Room was nicely furnished and decorated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location on the square at Bellcoure. Friendly staff, wonderful breakfast and lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink plug did not deal completely. Key difficult to turn in lock and only one key.

    Very friendly staff. Wonderful breakfast customized to your taste. Really comfortable bed. Perhaps a bit of updating needed in bathroom. Would recommend a visit and ask for a room overlooking square. Room 204 was spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Lovely decor and very good location, shame about the service lift and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel forgot to inform restaurant of our reservation - very embarrassing. Small room and very small bathroom. Bath tub and shower over were no better than a 3 star motel. Water was painfully slow at running. Service lift was next door and bonked and clattered from 5.45 am to 6.15 pm and one day it started at 4 am for an hour. Poor bathroom facilities. Big containers fixed to the wall, just like a motel. Scruffy carpets on communal passages

    Very nice breakfast in lovely room. Bed was very comfortable and room was very pretty. Quirky objects in main hotel areas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice and ideally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff could have been slightly more attentive and the rooms were slightly dated, however, this did not impact our stay.

    The hotel was ideally located on the Place Bellecour. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Furthermore, the breakfast that was served was very copious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful boutique hotel in Lyon city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a very good location in the centre of Lyon and the attentive staff was very helpful. Excellent breakfast, very tasty! Extra plus for the possibility to reserve a parking spot - just leave the car by the front door and they will take care of it. When we arrived in Lyon all the car parks were full so this was indeed valuable for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel but problems in some areas
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - City Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food at all available late at night, absolutely nothing. Despite claiming to have 24 hour room service. Shower only produced cold water in my room.

    Great room. Nice, helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    A stay at Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a great location in the heart of Lyon, easily accesible by public transportation. Great staff, very good breakfast, lovely room and wonderful bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Top location in Lyon, excellent staff, beautifully designed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location in Lyon, excellent staff, beautifully designed rooms and lobby, delicious, high quality breakfast. Perfect 10!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was s ridiculous price, just a joke

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Great location, helpful staff with excellent concierge...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Court side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, helpful staff with excellent concierge services.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: