Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Royalty 2 stars

21 Boulevard Ayrault, 49100 Angers, France

#8 of 27 hotels in Angers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 651 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel closes on Sundays and holidays in the afternoon until 18h00, which was not indicated when one does the reservation.

    The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was really nice, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is extremely small + quite crowded street outside, a little bit noisy

    Very tidy and comfy small room. Private bathroom (also small- only shower available). Very friendly staff. Good location not far from city center, many cafes, small supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as should be expected for a hotel of that price. It will however benefit them greatly when they've completed renovations.

    I was more than suprised when what seemed lika a quite run-down hotel (we were joking that the entrance and reception area looked like a laundry mat) turned out to have newly renovated, fresh and warm rooms. Apparently they've poured their money into the rooms first and saved the reception area for last. Good value and lovely staff who let us have breakfast for free when we had to leave a night earlier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the corner was just opposite a noisy bar and as there was no air-con we had to leave the window open. So no sleep till the bar closed and then it was still noisy in the streets! The bed was a bit soft for our liking. The room was perfectly clean, but the en-suite on the small side. I suppose for what we paid it was fair value. We didnt take breakfast so can't rate that.

    Pretty good location, just 5-10 mins walk to the main centre of Angers. All the 3 different reception staff were very friendly and showed us a small room in the hotel where we could leave our bikes. When we booked in the receptionist (manager?) spent 10-15 minutes chatting with us offered us a free drink and talked us through all the attractions in Angers and how to get to them. All the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite small shower cubicle for "larger" adults. But adequate to meet needs.

    Very clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent location on the edge of downtown. Staff were perfect. Polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors are quite narrow but i guess it's normal since it's an old building. Sad breakfast is not included in the price but i've noticed it's like this almost everywhere in france.

    Close to the city center, clean, room big enough with ensuite bathroom. Staff was very nice, we came in real late (after midnight) and they had provided us with entry code and left everything prepared for us on the counter. They even had a parking lot (covered, closed) for us for only 5€ more, which was great since we were with our motorbike and wanted it to be safely stored somewhere!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very nice hotel...we would stay again without hesitation. The only niggle was that the bath didn't have a shower curtain, so some water went on the bathroom floor.

    Recently refurbished private hotel close to the old town of Angers. Clean and comfortable and run by two really enthusiastic and charming people. Our room was a good size and the bathroom had a shower bath and plenty of room. It was freshly refurbished and spotlessly clean. No air-conditioning but an effective fan. Breakfast was very good with excellent croissants, crusty bread and wonderful fig bread. The owners made us feel really welcome and provided lots of tourist information.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and stairs cramped, would not liked to have been on the third floor.

    The staff we excellent, very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a bit saggy, and the shower rather small. However, considering the price I'd say it was a fair trade-off.

    The hotel staff gave truly excellent recommendations: walking tour, where to go for scenic apéros, good-value restaurants, even where to have a scenic stop along the Loire a Velo bike route!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is OK.

    Very nice staff. Due to the very late arrival of the train, the hotel gave me the access code via email, in order that I could enter anytime. It was so warm that I had a good rest easily with my arrival on 23:20.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making options in room but not critical.

    Very friendly staff, clean and warm, brilliant safe car park and not charged silly money to use it. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower curtain in the bathroom. very small elevator. rooms look a bit outmoded

    Location near parking space. Quite near the city centre. Friendly people. Good for overnight stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was about to close when we arrived and they were leaving a message for us via email, this arrived in my inbox 2 days later. It would have been useful to know in advance that reception closed at a certain time. we booked a three bed room but where give a room with a single and a double bed and as there were no staff available we could not change this.

    The room was clean and provided all we expected from a budget city hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is deceptive. To arrive from the station it is best to take a 20 minute tram ride, which finishes about 300 metres from the hotel. But the main squares and centre facilties can actually be accessed by a 5 -10 minute walk diagonally away from the hotel. However, the best feature of the hotel is the kindness and helpfulness of Mme Claude, the manager (owner??). She provided exceptional assistance for our various requests and requirements.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not contact the property when we arrived earlier than planned, even though they had a phone number for this kind of situations. Also, there was no one at the reception the next morning, between 7:00-7:20, even though breakfast was scheduled at 7:00.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky, shower temperature was variable as was TVs reception.

    Excellent friendly staff with good English. Very helpful. Not too far from city centre. Had enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Staff couldn't be more helpful. Clean and updated rooms. Lift to all floors. Fantastic location for city centre. Best value for money. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is super nice and always worried about the comfort of their guests. The rooms are extremely clean every day. The city center is only 10 minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts were a bit tired.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy. Room was small but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were hard work but there is a lift but all so small..

    Comfortable and just what we needed to rest after one tiring night !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stain on the pillow

    Good location and nearby (not free) parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service ample breakfast we liked self service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities. No bar or restaurant

    Handy location. Great value. Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work at all.

    Very good value, very nice staff, excellent sound proofing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the smallest I've ever used

    The location was great for the old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street.

    The friendliness and the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head broken, small sink, noisy due to busy street.

    Good location, elevator, room size and staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet service !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 1 night. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Room was basic but comfortable and spotless. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the management

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to sites and town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a little bit small,and acceptable.

    Good location, 25minutes walking to the SNCF station of Angers St Laud, good WiFi

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So close to a very vibrant night life

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would fantastic if it was little bit cheaper.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good!

    Comfort of the beds. Friendliness of the staff. Small-hotel atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, the room we stayed in had recently been renovated and was very clean. Good windows that keep away the noise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Excellent budget accommodation. Great location, supermarket just around the corner as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dear, the 3 bed room was a bit tiny, but the staff was fairly nice, and nicely offered me the coffee! Good stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon/fan Traffic noise Noisy bars opposite

    Central ,friendly,OK for stopover good bike storage

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no special things that I didn't like. Just, there was no electric kettle, room was not enough warm.

    location was good. Kind staff. Room was clean. Reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner is warm, personable and welcoming. Our room was renovated and lovely. We were biking the Loire Valley and our bikes were put in a safe place. Great breakfast! We recommend this little hotel at the door of the old town!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite allowing the dog to stay at the hotel they would not allow us to take him into the very small area used for serving breakfast.

    Inexpensive hotel, clean and tidy and well situated for exploring the town but pretty basic. ie you get what you pay for.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The internet connection. In some devices, the connection was reseted very often and went back to the advertisement page.

    The staff was very friendly, providing information about the city and maps. Good breakfast. Basic rooms but very clean. Located at a walking distance from the city centre. A tram stop is also available just 50 metres walking or less.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Infuriating wifi. set up. Very small shower (I am only 5'2'') lack of water/tea/coffee in the room.

    Friendly owner, good price, well situated and helpful staff. Clean and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No comment on that side really...

    You always feel welcome there!!! Nice staff!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was far away from the location of the conference I participated.

    Friendly atmosphere. Spotlessly clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Simple and straightforward. Charming and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were rather saggy.

    The effort that the manager put into helping her guests

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everyting was great and the staff was extremely nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The coffee and chocolate offered during the breakfast are not good at all. Except that, all was fine in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: