Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Villa Andry (ex: St-Georges) 2 stars

51 Avenue Andry, 14150 Ouistreham, France

#6 of 12 hotels in Ouistreham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 905 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean, comfy and big enough for our family of 4. Its located very close to the beach, town and museums. The only thing that would of made our stay better would of been a kettle in our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could use updating and bathroom was a little small.

    Location was excellent for an overnight before a ferry journey. Easy walk into town and sea views from the bedroom and bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in this hotel very many times whilst travelling between France and England, and find that it can be very variable. The prices vary enormously, but don't reflect the quality of what the hotel offers. On this trip, we were given a very small room with an equally small bed, and had a pretty uncomfortable time. It is convenient, but cannot be relied upon for a consistent service or value for money. Some of the rooms are very pleasant, though all suffer from noisy plumbing which can disturb sleep.

    This hotel is very near the ferry port and the beach so makes a good overnight stopover on the way to or from the ferry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hate any hotel that treats me like a thief. Might not seem like much to some but I absolutely hate those toilet roll dispensers that are on a big enclosed roll (obviously to stop you stealing their crummy toilet paper) it's bad enough in a public toilet but in a place that charges £70 or so a night it is absolutely not acceptable especially when you have a bathroom which although clean, was straight out of the 50's

    Reasonably friendly staff. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical European comfort at a hotel... expect the pillows to be flat and dinner at the hotel to be expensive... all usual for the culture so I’m not complaining, just spreading awareness.

    Staff was very friendly, helpful, and accomodating; breakfast was delicious; location directly on Sword Beach, one of the D-Day landing beaches was superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bath with a shower fitting , difficult to use ... I think the bathroom could do with an update .

    A great location with off road parking . Very friendly and helpful reception . My room was small but well organised and quiet ... sadly I arrived too late for the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice . The lovely garden must be nice in the summer .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very tiny. Toilet hadn't been flushed and wash basin plug not working properly.

    Lovely view of the beach from our window. Great selection of breakfast food including what seemed to be homemade jam. Loved the decor in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were offered one chair and a poof under the coat stand. Having demanded entry into the lounge the member of staff was mopping around our feet while we sat there. It was 8.15pm when the clientele should be able to relax in the lounge with their overpriced drinks. The shower consisted of a an attachment to the bath tap and there was no shower curtain or hook to place the shower on, so had to squat for a shower.

    Close to the cross channel port

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit tall for the shower!

    friendly staff comfy room great buffet breakfast. Can't wait to go back in spring and have breakfast in the lovely garden.Great value!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only guests. We were given a room on the top floor (4th), there is no lift so we had to cart all out bags up 4 flights of stairs plus a small dog and a cat. On checking out we were charged 3x (15 euro) what we had paid here before for the animals even though the cat was in a carry cage. We have stayed here many times but will never stay here again. The room was very cold on entry and had no carpets, apparently this is why we were givin the room, ie no carpet to pick up dog hairs.

    The staff have always been friendly and the location is excellent if you are taking the Caen ferry to the UK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the one we booked because they would not let a dog in the preferred room. I am registered disabled and found that they moved us to a 4 th floor room with no lift! Also we later discovered the room in which they placed us is over 20euros a night cheaper then the one we booked and yet they charged us the same amount. The breakfast had very limited choice with no hot food available. The staff were pleasant and the location good but overcharging for a room in the attic is not acceptable and would stop us returning or recommending the hotel to anyone else. We travel through Ouistreham at least 3times a year en route to our house in the south west and this has been an expensive disappointment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of redecoration required, to make rooms more inviting.

    Really warm welcome. Room was clean and comfortable, but in need of complete redecoration. Very smart onsire restaurant and excellent meal. Only took about 5 mins to drive to our early morning ferry, so would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The volume of the television could have been fixed a little louder. We're bilingual but it was very difficult to hear.

    Comfortable bed, bathroom etc. Very good & varied breakfast menu. Staff/reception always very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging 15 euros for a small dog to stay in your room is rather excessive. We also found the restaurant rather expensive.

    The hotel is a little dated but comfortable with friendly and very helpful staff...I believe they are new owners and working to upgrade. Also the car park is nice and secure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and my evening meal were absolutely fine. So nothing apart from the above.

    Everything was fine but my stay was spoiled by a small group of English guests who arrived back from what must have been a long evening. They were very drunk and speaking in loud voices. One man was so drunk that he could not find/ operate the key to his room. All of this noisea nd stamping around the corridor went on for over half an hour. I had wanted a good night's sleep before makng an early start to catch the ferry. I spoke to the owner in the morning and she apologised but it was not her fault. I was able to identify two of the rooms in which they were staying (they repeatedly shouted out the numbers!!) and so she could identify these ignorant people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have done with some fresh fruit and the larger sized fresh croissants. Lack of lounge area when restaurant in use.

    The friendliness of staff, the rooms comfortable and warm. The parking was secure and location central for exploring Normandy beaches and museums.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived Sunday evening and could not get a drink, hot or cold in the hotel. We did find a bar locally though.

    We only stayed 1 night before getting the early morning ferry. I would use the hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First down for breakfast to get early ferry but hot plate had not been switched on so scrambled egg and bacon, which had obviously been made the night before, was stone cold, although staff did heat up in their microwave. Good selection of pastries. Rooms clean but a little tired. In need of a refurb. Some of the maintenance is looking patchy

    Staff helpful and friendly. Very handy for the ferry. Breakfast starts at 6.30 so is ideal for early ferry. On site secure parking gives additional piece of mind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staircase to the second floor seemed long when taking luggage upstairs!!

    Excellent breakfast. Superb restaurant for evening meals. Very friendly staff. We brought bicycles and used the car very little. The hotel is ideally situated, close to the coastal cycle route with traffic free routes to Caen and the D-Day beaches to the west. The room was simply furnished but the bathroom was handy with plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and management were very helpful and accommodated a change to my original booking, which to be fair they did not have to, but they obliged and I appreciate that very much, also thanks to booking .com with this matter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room and hallway could use a lick of paint here and there. Grandeur portrayed in the booking.com picture I could not find in the room. I found it in the dining room instead.

    Kind and helpful personnel. Diner was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny and the water was cold. The hot buffet at breakfast was cold as the heated tray was not working. The restaurant on Sunday evening was closed.

    Caen is lovely! The beach was full of people! The town was buzzing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening staff, rude and could not care less. No bar service from said staff.

    Sadly this was the second time we have visited that the evening staff refused to serve drinks from the bar (we had already checked the bar closing time with the staff when we checked in). It was only just after 9pm, she appeared more interested with her computer. The bar is no more than 5 steps from the reception, not even an apology. When we checked out the same lady ho told us the opening times said she should have served and would talk to her, not much good for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby, there was only one chair in the double room, the shower was poor and awkward to use. Not good value for the price.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. They supplied a kettle on request. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only continental breakfast served I would have preferred a full English breakfast

    The bed was comfortable handy distance to beach port and shops free WiFi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired décor, carpets and fittings, Very much a two star. Having been told where to park we we found our car blocked in at 6am on a Sunday morning. Not a happy experience when you have an early ferry to catch. Fortunately the problem was solved just in the nick of time.

    Comfortable dining room and a nice steak.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach location excellent. Room was adequate. Dinner was excellent and breakfast catered for all tastes. Secure parking a bonus, even if the gateway is a bit narrow for larger cars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past when it was St Georges. The hotel appears to have been revamped. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We just had an overnight stay before getting the ferry back to Portsmouth. We had a lovely room with a sea view. We did not use the restaurant as it was not open in the evening(Sunday) but there are places open nearby which serve good food. Very close to the ferry port so excellent all round.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was dark and drab. The Two Receptionists where very nice and helpful.

    Everything was Dated, Compared to the other 3 hotels we had visited in france. Wasn't able to sit in the lounge one night because it was set up for breakfast the following morning. There wasn't any evening meals on the two nights we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very tight, very little of it.

    Idea place to stay either before or after the cross channel ferry. Bedrooms a bit tired but downstairs had been decorated. Food was good but service not so good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a proper shower and our room was situated next to the stairs which was noisy at night.

    Had a lovely meal in the restaurant, very safe and secure. And a friendly service. Standard room was basic. But clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on street was ok as hotel parking was full. 9E for .5 l beer, 6E for 125ml wine. Tired basic room.

    Overnight after ferry crossing, handy location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decoration peeling paintwork.No facilities for drinks of any kind in the room.The WiFi was not easily accessible and could not be used.

    The garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed. Dated decor in bedrooms

    Nice hotel in good location . Room was a little tired and dated but clean and not uncomfortable. Beautiful garden. Loverly place to sit in fine weather

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    biscuits left behind children's bed from previous occupants (room 42 or 43) bathroom in room needed cleaning more thoroughly -

    location - close to beach / close to port views from rooms - fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room on 1st floor we had was very small and extremely basic and badly in need of renovation or at very least a fresh lick of paint - if British think of 1990's pre-renovated Travelodge - water marks on ceiling, peeling wallpaper, holes in the door and marks on the wall where a headboard or similar must have been removed and filled with white filler against magnolia walls. Dfficult to get a drink in the evening - not sure if it was the owner overseeing the bar/restaurant area but despite making eye contact on arrival he ignored us for over 15 mins and wasn't overly friendly when we finally did manage to get his attention. This hotel has 3 floors. the hotel reception/entrance is reached by a small flight of stone steps (approximately 10) and once inside there is an old spiral staircase to reach the bedrooms - there is no lift.

    The location, the hotel building itself and garden are lovely. The restaurant and food looked good though the menu fairly limited. We had a warm welcome on arrival from the guy on reception who also kindly offered to help with our bags.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff very helpful and friendly, hotel ideally situated near the waterfront. Restaurant decor and food was outstanding, and waiters excellent prompt service. Checkin was prompt and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge was excellent especially for getting petrol for the car. They had a good understanding of English which made communication very easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit tricky when arriving late in the evening and we didn't want to park in the road as we had a car full of things we were taking down. But the staff were helpful and moved their car so we could park inside.

    Excellent overnight stay after travelling to and from the ferry. Friendly and helpful staff. Good, comfortable room. This was our third stay and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In hind sight, (and you would have thought that after all these years I would have remembered), I should have requested a room on the first floor. Our room was on the second floor, there's no lift and a lot of stairs, carrying all of our motorbike gear and luggage (and at our age, husband almost 70 and me at 65 years old), we were out of breath. But, once we had sorted ourselves out and had a beer we were fine!

    We have stayed at this hotel for many years, and the welcome is always brilliant, after all these years it is like staying with friends. The parking is most suitable. The location is perfect for the center of town and the fabulous beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stand up shower - only a hand held shower head over the bath. Property was very basic and in need of an upgrade.

    Comfortable enough bed. Staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening concierge surley, difficult parking. Insisted we park on unsafe (?)street Breakfast croissant seemed poor in size and appearance. Taste poor. No lift to room

    Clean, good location near seafront

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had family room & the double bed was a sofa bed & was not comfortable. The room was basic in comforts. The bathroom was small & the shower poor. Breakfast was poor value for money & not a good choice. Drinks in hotel were very expensive - 9€ for a pint of Leffe - ok in Paris or in a 4/5 star hotel but not here!

    Friendly service, secure parking for motorcycle, garden area, spacious attic room with sea view, location right on seafront & within 2 minute drive of Caen ferry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire regulations, a bit vague and worrying

    Great location, handy for restaurants but didn't expect the hotel restaurant to be closed on a Monday

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Started badly as secure private parking for guests was chaos. Small car park full of public cars of restaurant clients, told because we had arrived too early, and very narrow entrance for wide vehicle. The hotel rooms were up a dark staircase, along a dreary corridor, old fashioned push button light then dash before it goes off. The room was dreadfully, must have last been decorated decades ago. Holes in curtain, dirt in bottom of wardrobes, peeling and chipped paint and dirty carpet. No tea making facilities or anything else. The bathroom was another story. Side of bath filled in where it looked like it had been kicked in. The back of the door had a hole in it where veneer was peeling away, sink had dirt ingrained crackers. Nothing left for you in the room, not even a.bottle of water

    Clean bedding only good feature

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom dirty, shower was awful, no room to swing a cat! owner was totally un helpful re assistance in car park GRAVEL PIT! more like and also in helping to room. Not value for money! Ibis around corner far better, cleaner, has AC and a secure car park helpful staff and includes a breakfast.Will not be back.

    it was close to the ferry

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect in relation to the ferry crossing. We arrived at 10pm from the day crossing from Portsmouth. It was straight forward and quiet. We liked our room, number 22, because it had windows on 2 sides which gave us air through the room all night. Ouistreham is a quite seaside place sand seagulls and a ferris wheel. We thought we would arrange to stay an extra night next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was extremely shabby. There was black mould along the front of the bath and the skirting. The paper was peeling off the side of the bath and there was no shade on one of the lights above the sink. The carpets were stained.

    The hotel is very dated and the décor leaves a lot to be desired. The restaurant menu was quite expensive and not a great deal of choice and some of the items incurred an extra charge. The rooms were accessible by a winding staircase which would have been useful to know beforehand. The view from the room was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    ifficult entrance to car parking Steep stairs to room on second floor Room on second stay very small and hot

    Good welcome when arriving late from the ferry Good breakfast in pleasant dining room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't really think of any improvement.

    The Villa and the garden is charming. The decor of all the public space was lovely. It is right across from a large beach and casino so there is lots to do if you are staying for a while. It was just an overnight stop after arriving late from the Portsmouth-Caen ferry crossing for us. But I could easily imagine staying a few days. Perhaps next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need updating slightly especially the doors and locks. doors need more quiet closing system and change locks to card. i know the hotel is pre-war but a touch of modernisation for others sleep is important. car park can get quite tight when busy so expect a tight squeeze

    view out to see was lovely and restraunt was very clean and stylish. two streets away from bars and restraunts and a stones throw from Sword beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still in need of some renovations, but a good value place to stay.

    great location especially with a sea view that we paid extra for, was worth it. Great breakfast as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had asked for secure parking as we were travelling with a laden car and said we would be late. When we arrived just before midnight there was no room in the car park so we had to park in the street - The car was still fine the next morning as the receptionist had predicted.

    The hotel was clean and fresh and the windows opened - there was also aircon. Handy if you are catching the Ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed overnight to catch early morning ferry. Clean rooms, quite an old hotel but in good order. Bathroom a little tired but clean again and the shower was good, bedrooms themselves recently redecorated . Staff friendly and well informed plus spoke good English. Restaurants nearby and an even larger selection 10mins walk. No covered area for bikes but ground gates locked at night and a bar to padlock them to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the reason why it is only 2* could be the lack of cleaning in the bathroom... The lighting had never been cleaned!

    Ideally located just minutes away from the ferry and on the seaside front of a very lovely and quiet sandy beach. The room was big, airy and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sea view hardly exists....you can just see the sea through the modern buildings opposite. Room lacked any seating , there would be plenty of room for 2 small easy chairs. Many areas of the hotel needed maintainance, painting and updating.eg. bathroom. Entrance to bedrooms disappointing and depressing.

    Beds and linen excellent. Large airy room. Close to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations appeared limited to the ground floor whilst the room, hallways and stairways needed renovation, especially the en suite bathroom, which all let it down.

    Excellent location to catch an early ferry from the port.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor generally was 'tired'. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment to which the receptionist agreed. We found a pair of socks under the bed! Having travelled extensively and stayed in many French hotels this was one of the poorer ones if not the poorest. Not all guests with cars were able to park in the grounds. The price paid was not commensurate with the facilities provided. - such as no tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom, toilet roll as per a campsite, locked in a drum ! No lift, not that we needed one but we were on the first floor. 6.3 is a generous grading !

    A good location on the promenade. We were fortunate to be given a seaview room. There was limited parking on the property. Free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed Monday, but La Moulerie nearby is very good.

    Nice room, overlooking the beach. excellent meal in the restaurant, friendly service. M. Ducoudray is particularly welcoming and helpful. Have now re-booked for our next French trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dinner service on Monday nights (not mentioned on website). Bathroom extremely small. Couldn't move anywhere in room withoug floor creaking.

    Convenient for Caen ferry next morning. Found good restaurant very close for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no problems, which is why we keep returning!

    We've stayed here many times as it is so convenient for the ferry, has reasonable parking and a good dining room. Breakfast is excellent - better than many similar hotels. The rooms are comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to stairs and over reception so noisy at times. Cold egg and bacon at breakfast

    The hotel was ideally situated for the few days we where there. The staff where friendly and helpful. Lovely and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good, clean room with easy acess wi-fi in the room itself. Charming period feel to this 1860s villa,with its magnificent sweeping double staircase up to the first floor reception. Crisp white linen and comforable bed complete the pleasure of the stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could have been better was the bathroom. It is clean but nothing special, very dated and small.

    There is a garden with tables in the back of the villa that we used to sit in the sun and have a picnic lunch. The view from our room of the beach and the ocean was fantastic. The room was large and bright. The bed was comfortable and the bedding great. Clean room. The décor in the hotel is eclectic and wonderful. Breakfast is in a grand old room that has been modernly decorated and breakfast choices are plentiful with so many options. The bar/restaurant is so well located with a view of the beach. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of importance although some of the decor is a little tired

    We love the friendliness of the staff our lovely big room with sea view and location. This is our 3rd stay there and weren't dusappointed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for Tea and coffee and a kettle as there were none in the room. It was no problem as when asked they were soon bought to us,

    The Location was good for us as we wanted somewhere close to the Ferry Terminal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the dog was allowed in the restaurant eventually they tried to make us leave her in the room initially.

    The food was very good. Good choice of breakfast and excellent evening meal.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More power points near mirrors needed!

    Proximity to ferry port. Lovely large windows overlooking beach. Clean, white bedding. Secure car park. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed a little small given size of room - basic double Room was quite hot in the night (in February) ok if you like it warm

    Great location for town and friendly staff. Own car park and 200 metres from bus stop if you want to visit Caen 25 mins and 1.5 euros away - easier and cheaper than driving

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving late it was the only place open to eat. The meal was fantastic! and the wine one of the best ever (Givry) Our room was very comfortable. In the morning, we left early, but there was an outstanding selection of hot and cold food for breakfast. After driving all day - it was a real haven. We will definitely return again. A 'proper' hotel, not a chain....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location if you are catching the ferry. Updated decor won't be to everyone's taste. Food fine. Nice staff. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold bedroom, radiator not working. Very expensive glass of wine for the type of hotel. That was the only thing I consumed as I left very early in the morning and arrived late at night. Wouldn't stay again. No real garden for a view. View is on to car park.

    Very comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff are friendly and welcoming. We have used this hotel for several years, so the staff know us quite well. The buffet breakfast is good, with a varied choice. Private parking on-site is available. The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to change rooms as bath was broken. One heater in room, either barley warm or like a sauna. Most disappointing though was the attitude of the evening staff, refused to open the bar at 9.15pm one evening. When open, she spent more time on her phone than serving. We had to repeatedly go walkabout to find her.

    Brilliant breakfasts. lovely dining room. Right on the beach, short walk to the town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although clean, the rooms are in want of re-decoration (flaky paint on ceilings and walls etc). But you get what you pay for, and this hasn't stopped us staying here several times over the years.

    Convenience of location, mostly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant, which we used before and is excellent, not open Monday and we didn't know when we booked.

    The hotel is handy for the ferry, comfortable, with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: