Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Malouinière Le Valmarin 3 stars

7, Rue Jean XXIII, Saint-Servan, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#18 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told on arrival that our room was not ready and the room we had booked was under the stairs and was noisy !! Then shown other rooms at an extra cost . Breakfast the worst I have ever experienced, broken and cracked crockery , cold tea, stale cereal, uncovered jams , butter , sad and dated cheese and ham and to top it all huge black flies landing on everything. Disgusting for €12 each.

    Locations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful period property so in keeping with a 250 year old building yet comfortable. Awesome location with more than a dozen great bars and restaurants in a 5 minute walk. Secure on site parking too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is great, very welcoming and caring. They took time to explain a lot the region, recommend things to see and staff to do. It is a great hotel with a personal touch. They provide a service you don't get from chain hotels...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The Valmarin is an oasis of peace and elegance. From the moment you step through the doors and see the beautiful staircase sweeping into the hall and glimpse the enticing garden through the windows to the rear, you know you are somewhere special. We chose the Valmarin because it was close to the ferry, but it deserves to be a destination itself. That would be the only way to do justice to the breakfast, a groaning table full of homemade and local delicacies. Apple cake for breakfast? It can’t get any better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pressure to upgrade the room at extra cost on arrival is annoying, but at least it means you get a guided tour of this elegant mansion. Breakfast jams and yogurts may be home made but not worth the price.

    In fact, the croissants WERE extra flakey! Great location, lovely grounds and excellent secure off-street parking. Large rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were a little on the hard side

    The staff were very helpful. The location perfect for the ferry and also for the park which is only 150 yards away- ideal as we had dogs with us. It was also really good to be able to park within the hotel grounds as this made loading and unloading much easier.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a find, such a lovely hotel with so much character, very friendly staff and a delightful home made breakfast. Excellent for exploring the area or an overnight stay when heading back to Jersey

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really - except for the over bath shower and lack of shower screen (I would add that shower curtains are not attractive and would spoil the period appearance of the room).

    Both the bedrooms and public rooms at Le Valmarin are beautifully furnished and decorated, and I love the Wedgewood blue carpet and theme in the stairs and dining room. The bedrooms are quiet, the beds comfortable and bathrooms well appointed (although a more modern shower and shower screen would be appreciated, to avoid flooding the bathroom) and the staff most courteous and helpful. The breakfast is more than ample, with a great variety of pastries and breads as well as cold meats and cheese, and the hotel is very conveniently situated for the ferry. This is the main reason why we have stayed here twice in the past four years, though sadly never for more than one night as we are usually on our way back from a longer tour of France. I agree with another reviewer that it feels as if one is staying in a gracious private house, and another time we may try and extend our visit for a little longer (when we might even have time to try the local beaches!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful property and the room was huge with high ceilings and decor in keeping. Wished we had booked for longer and felt privileged to stay there. The breakfast was wonderful. The ferry port is 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was spacious, with a nice view over the gardens, but the facilities need updating.

    An elegant old building with plenty of atmosphere, set in its own large gardens. A short drive from the ferry terminal, so good to have off street parking. A 5 minute stroll to the beach and bars/restaurants. Breakfast substantial, if a little pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasantly old-fashioned hotel. The location is superb, as so close to the Brittany Ferry port (3 minutes) yet walking distance from the pretty harbour town with restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the house who lives upstairs was not friendly. She told us twice she was too busy to help us with our questions. The housekeeper Carmen was darling and very sweet!!! There was NO help getting our luggage up the two flights of stairs and the Internet is a joke. You have a code and have to log in every 10 minutes. What a pain!!! Do not pay the 12 euro for the breakfast as it is not included and not worth it. Some of the rooms need to be updated.

    The location to the beach was the only thing we really liked. Carmen the cleaning person was a gem!!! The property was charming but see below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking involved opening automatic gates with a key obtained from reception and as it was a particularly busy day there was no where at all to stop nearby. We had to park at least half a mile away before walking to get that key. Though it would have made no difference it would have been useful to know what to expect. Once inside secure parking was great.

    This was an interesting 18th century town house set conveniently near to the shore and port and with a large garden. We were given useful information on arrival about where to find local restaurants as well as directions to the port for catching the ferry next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for an overnight stop before the ferry journey back to Portsmouth and for the old part of the town. Host excellent - will stay again if in St Malo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very nice experience. I got cheated by the landlady and ended up paying 100 € more for the stay than the booking.com price. Run down, smelly place and an awful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable receptionist, only handheld showers in all rooms, no heating in bedrooms on cold Sept day, uncared for garden, bad lighting in reception and bedrooms ( unable to read.) Blankets on bed instead of duvet, lumpy pillows

    Lovely old house in garden near the port, great restaurant in walking distance. Off street parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack off staff The tired bedroom & lack of a shower No lift and no offer to carry bags to the room Chipped crockery at breakfast on two occasions Food not covered & several flies Overpriced

    Leaving on day three

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proactive restaurant suggestions.

    Lovely old building with large comfortable bedroom. Nice to have a bath on a damp day! Maps provided for exploring St Malo. Very convenient for the ferry, <5 mins, and the various sections of St Malo. Lots of interesting local pastries for Breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No spirits in the minibar in our room. But this was only a very minor matter.

    excellent and friendly service. Very comfortable and relaxing. Décor very good taste.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful hotel with history and style. Good breakfast selection. Lovely room and gardens to relax in. Excellent location near to the sea, restaurants and town. Near the St Malo Cite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the second floor with four flights to get to it. I do have artificial hips. Being charged €12 per day for my hearing assist dog. The hotel made us eat breakfast in the sitting room with no choice of food. Food was basic and limited. The hotel did not provide anything for my hearing assist dog who is very well trained.

    The room and bed was very comfortable. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful elegant house typical of the area set in a lovely secluded large garden. Chandeliers, intimate salon, lovely breakfast room for guests to use. Sweeping staircase leads to large, high ceiling rooms with fabulous French windows, even in the spacious en suite bathroom. Beautifully decorated with lovely pieces of furniture and objet d'art. A hidden gem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is located very very conveniently for the St Malo ferry port to Portsmouth (5mins max to Brittany Ferries or Condor) and with nearby selection of restaurants to walk to once parked in the hotels large park like gardens. Ideal for tourists driving up on Saturdays from villa rentals and looking for an overnight hotel to catch the next morning ferries to Portsmouth or Poole

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room bore little resemblance to the room we were expecting. Attic room with one small window and no air con. Was meant to stay 2 nights but left after one. A long walk to the old town Poor quality restaurants in this area. Would not recommend. Compared to other 3 star hotels tired and lacking helpful management.

    Secure parking though restricted access for large cars. Bath room good size

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was rude to my family and did not welcome us into the hotel in a friendly manner. My family and I took the ferry from Portsmouth to St. Malo and decided to cycle, this however meant that we arrived to the hotel a few hours early only to be shunned away by the manager stating that we were not welcome to sit on the front lawn until our room became available. She did not help us in finding a place to lock up our bikes on site ( the only available places were taken by hotel rental bikes). She has a hostile temperament and consequently decided to kick our bikes as they were not locked up at a favourable location of her choosing. The room was too hot and a fan was not provided as it was reportedly broken with the previous occupants of the room. The continental breakfast was overcharged and the limited options (ham and stale bread) constantly attracted flies which was disgusting. On the upside, the location was good and there was a fantastic little beach just around the corner where swimming with the family (16 and 12) was perfect.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome from owner. Bedroom decor tired and worn and room not clean Cobwebs on chandelier and a lot more areas that needed attention. Parking was difficult due to limited space. Wifi is not available in all areas as advertised.!!!

    Breakfast was ok .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas aspects of the interior are a little tired. New towels and pillows would be good.

    Superb location for ferry port. Lovely old house and great parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely charming. A beautifully decorated house in a wonderful setting. Beaches and restaurants nearby. Within easy walking distance to bustling Intras Muras.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    A wonderful traditional French belle maison in grand style. Peaceful and delightful garden - a welcome retreat after a long journey and extremely handy for ferry terminal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe parking on within Hotel premises, ferry terminal nearby. Wonderful hotel garden, walking distance to historic town. Friendly staff, well kept hotel in historic building, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky getting out about 6am to get to the early morning ferry. No staff around to help. Bit like getting out of prison.

    Great location near centre of St Servan - beautiful town on the Rance next to St Malo. Very convenient for the ferry. Nice staff. Room good and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Pillows not suitable, square ones hard. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been nice too. Thought the breakfast was a bit expensive though for what was there. Got the impression it was a hot breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fan provided in the bedroom would have led to a more comfortable sleep.

    Very good location, near port and restaurants. Peaceful garden. Good choice of breakfast. We had an attic room which was very hot with no fan or air conditioning and being at the front was very noisy with the windows open. Would return but choose a room on the first floor at the back overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have to find somewhere to leave the car while booking in as the parking at the property is not available until after registered. Price was more than booking .com said it would be.

    Staff very pleasant. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful place with amazing atmosphere. Historical villa in a perfect condition, private garden and parking, great rooms, big bathrooms, tasty breakfast. We enjoyed a lot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very cosy ,classical and typical French family hotel..Excellent location in a quiet part of St-Malo. The staff is very freindly and service orientated. All rooms were neat and clean. My wife and I stayed there with our daughter for five nights.There are several good restaurants close to the hotel and with our bikes we were in the old historical part of the city in 10 minutes (20 minutes walk).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a delightful property, very old world and lovely to have the experience of staying in an old manor house. Well located to town, the waterfront and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked or appreciated everything about the hotel. It is a mansion several centuries old converted into a boutique hotel. If this is your preferred type of hotel, you'll very much enjoy Valmarin.

    The room was very comfortable, the location excellent, the staff exceptionally friendly, efficient, and welcoming. The back garden was lovely beyond words. We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming welcome to an elegant and distinctive hotel. With a bedroom overlooking the park, a peaceful night is assured. Service is thoughtful and breakfast includes local specialities. The park provides a tranquil space to walk in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service The Bed The bathroom The decor The lack of room service The lack of coffee and tea facilities in the room The very poor wifi The service the very poor customer service

    beautiful property but very badly modernised. thin scrappy curtains and covers on beds and soft furnishings. All very tired. No duvet just a blanket. Pillows as hard as rock and heavy as bricks. No shower just a hand held over the bath. very poor wifi- in fact we gave up. only allowed one password per person to limit number of devices but as there was no signal in our room it was a wast of time. this was a business/leisure trip so comfort and wifi access were both important. lad on reception tried to be helpful but was out of his depth.Also tried desperately to get us to book breakfast, which neither of us eat, and he kept pushing??? Very odd welcome. The women who took over in the evening didn't notice us leave the building and didn't even look up when i approached the counter in the morning to check out. I had to say 'good morning' to get her to lift her head. I then had to say ' may we check out' to get her to lift her head again- we really were in an inconvenience in her tatty little hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom had too many mirrors. Almost everywhere. It was very difficult not to leave water splashes, to avoid spoiling the view.

    Lovely quiet hotel. Stylish design. Bright and clean. Friendly people. Delicious rich breakfast including local products. Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow and patchy, In fact we only managed to use it on one short occasion, floor was bare. It would have been nice to have a rug.

    Stuck in time in the nicest possible way. Very old fashioned and tastefully decorated. Beautiful walled garden with large mature trees. Well considered choice within the continental breakfast. Large.bathroom and separate toilet made iour room more like a suite. Well appointed landing and sitting room for reading on a wet day. The bed was very firm which suited us admirably but maybe is not to every bodies choice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One night was nowhere near long enough to take advantage of this hotel and beautiful surroundings.

    The excellent secure parking, the lovely large bath and its close proximity to the Car Ferry ensured a perfect overnight stop, before returning to the UK. The Hotel was beautiful if old fashioned, but in a positive way, and the rooms were quirky and individual which made a perfect alternative to the chain hotels. A good choice of places to eat with a view, just a gentle stroll away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is difficult to get logged onto, you have to give a lot of personal information, and a code from reception before getting anywhere.

    Individual style to each room, location is very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little hard

    The rooms are beautiful and it is really good to have off road secure parking. We have been here many times before so this was a return visit and nothing disappointed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not great value for money but there were lots of local specialities and the service was very good.

    The room was very spacious with lots of extra bedding available. The hotel was cozy and friendly. The garden was very pretty and the location was very convenient for the St Malo area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little short and creaky. No lift. WIFI was intermittent and not easy to access. Could do with a list of local restaurants on the back of a local map or maybe tourist office could provide a list. In bedroom & bathroom a bit dated.

    Staff pleasant and helpful. Secure parking. An older, small hotel with charm,set in lanspdscaped gardens. Breakfast choice, good. Lounge and breakfast room are impressive as is the staircase. Near to restaurants and beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just may be a coffee /tea making facility in the bedroom

    The Location of the hotel was excellent ,the room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the gardens We had a lovely breakfast and the hosts very very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This house and its garden are gentile and charming. Grand bedroom and facilities. Secure parking. Close to choice of seaside restaurants and 5 minutes drive from ferry terminal. Excellent breakfast with proper french coffee - not made from an Espresso machine as was the case in all other hotels on this trip!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a long way up to the second floor

    Great room, very comfortable bed, lovely breakfast. Very attentive and kind staff. Location quite and very close to great restaurants. This was our second visit, will return I am sue

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems we are frequent travellers in France and this was very good.

    Excellent breakfast. Home made yogurt and jam. Beautiful ,quiet surroundings but near to ferry and excellent restaurants. Would go again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet worked well, but a setup where you have to give your login credentials every time you pick up your device, is not great. We had a beautiful room, but no walk-in shower, just a bathtub with a loose shower head.

    Many things to like. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location neer the bay with good restaurants at 5 minutes walking. A very spacious room, a very good breakfast. The hotel is a beautiful old building, with a nice garden and ample parking inside the hotel gate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we would have expected breakfast included and tea making facilities in the room. If the above were included we would have extended our stay, but there is better value all over France. I can recommend 5Grande Rue in Le Lude for one. Almost half the price, a nicer standard of accommodation and lovely owners. They also offer dinner, the owner is an excellent cook.

    Great location close to old harbour and restaurants. Secure outside parking for a motorcycle. Lovely old house with French interior. 5 mins to ferry.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Characterful property,friendly welcome. Immaculately clean. Superb breakfast with regional speciality cakes and pastries. Comfortable bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elegant, old building is a delight to be in. With its lovely marbled entrance and the wonderful quirky wooden stairs it is like stepping back in time. The staff are excellent and the breakfast, served in the beautiful dining room, is to die for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff were appalling. They removed a towel from our room - we had paid for a larger 4 person room and when they saw there was only two of us, removed the third towel ! They disconnected my computer from the socket as i was charging while out of the room. There was simply inadequate staff for the property. No bar service whatsoever and perfunctory breakfast - reheated croissants on our first day. Could not have been worse.

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously complicated wifi set up. In the end I gave up.

    Beds & bedding old fashioned. Breakfast delicious & unusual with a variety of Breton specialities. Coffee luke warm though.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our wi-fi was only in the public area. some spaces are beautifuly furnished but some rooms look strange

    beautiful garden, very nice staff and tasty French breakfast. very closed to the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful 18th century property, largely original but very well kept. Attractive walled garden with ample discrete and secure parking. Very tranquil despite central location. Very handy for restaurants and ferry terminal. The breakfast (extra) was delightful with homemade yogurts/jams etc. The proprietress could not have made us feel more welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is from 8.30am and reception is open 9am, this is a little tight if you are catching the ferry at 10.30am. Room was very large, but a bit stark.

    Garden is lovely and parking very secure. Public rooms are charming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    It is rare to find a hotel offering this level of refinement. Truly charming and a gem of a hotel.The grounds and its situation are particularly memorable. Loved it and will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked it, we thought we were staying in Cancale, turns out it was 1/2 hour away.

    It was a lovely hotel, exquisite decor, pretty garden, excellent breakfast. An easy walk to the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - WIFI sometimes not functional

    + very good French breakfast + very friendly personnel (they can give you nice recommendation for different visits) + good parking + beautiful garden + very spacious rooms + comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    These are really details but would just make things perfect: the repetitive background music was annoying after a while as you got to recognise it and the choice of fresh fruit and cereal at breakfast time. I wish they had served some fresh fruit salad and freshly pressed juice for the price (euros 12) they charge and that they would serve breakfast earlier than 08.30 am. Wifi is available but not very powerful on the upper floors.

    We loved the authenticity and charm of this 'Malouinière' which the owners pride themselves about and give themselves the trouble to preserve. There were some local specialities and some homemade jam and cakes as well as salt caramel and honey at breakfast time. Nice friendly service and good croissants and baguettes. Choose a first floor room (they are the best) for a lovely view onto the park where you can relax after a day out. On the day we had an early start, they did provide us with breakfast in our room, including a coffee perculator, which was very amenable. Lots of nice restaurants in the area especially The Spinnaker, round the corner which we would advise you to book early as it is popular.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no proper shower just a bath with a shower hose attached to the taps. Connection to the Wi Fi was awkward and kept disconnecting and too slow.

    Position and off street parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had a handheld shower attachment in the bath. We would have preferred a proper shower.

    Local produce for breakfast was lovely , crusty fresh bread homemade yoghurt and jams. Large walled garden with private parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearby restaurants closed in the evening (certainly whilst we were visiting) - creperie and a few of similar establishments open (former pleasant enough)

    Secure parking - always paramount when travelling. Good surroundings - nice garden. Easy walking distance to St. Malo itself.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful when we arrived. I had booked a room not realising it was on the second floor. I suffer from asthma and have a problem with stairs. They were only too happy to find us a room on the first floor at no extra cost. The setting is beautiful and the hotel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much could be improved to be honest - although English guests (like us) would normally prefer more pillows and rectangular in shape rather than French square ones!

    A lovely town house hotel with character. Our room was very spacious, tastefully furnished and overlooked the lovely rear garden. It is well situated in the more picturesque area of St Malo, Saint Servan. The hotel offers good secure parking in the grounds. The staff were very friendly and helpful and speak excellent English.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower Stairs could be issue with mobility impaired Breakfast was expensive for what was on offer

    Free parking and walking distance to main town. Spacious rooms and very comfortable beds Very QUIET! BBC in English...thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lift would have been a help to my ageing husband.!

    The breakfast was super.Every kind of delicious food was on the beautifully laid table, the bedroom was luxurious.So was the bathroom.parking was easy with a special key.perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Were informed that if we booked directly not through Booking.com we would have had a nicer room and it would have been cheaper!! Horrible brown carpet in bedroom. Offered coffee for day of departure as leaving early and charged 5 Euros each for the pleasure. Also 15 Euros for 1 pot of tea in the garden. Madam only spoke when you spoke to her, very fake smile. The man who worked there did not appear to have customer service skills, was positively rude.

    Lovely garden, liked traditional style of hotel. Florence? on reception was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good

    This is a beautiful old house with a wonderful garden in a quiet part of St Malo, but easily accessible for scenic walks, restaurants and a picturesque bay. Very good location for a ferry stopover. Staff helpful & friendly- nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi fi No tea facilities in room No stand up shower Too many keys and instructions

    Location and peaceful as we had a room over looking garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic french town house with period features.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: