Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Vauban 2 stars

32 Place Du Général De Gaulle, 62170 Montreuil-sur-Mer, France

#11 of 13 hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night. Motorcycles used the place as a racetrack into the early hours and the bar opposite the hotel is open long past midnight. When it does shut drunken revellers shout and call out until 3 am on Friday and Saturday nights. We got very little sleep so would not use this hotel again because of the location.

    Clean comfortable bedrooms. The hotel was right in the centre of the square close to bars, restaurants and shops. The surrounding area is truly beautiful with some lovely walks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay. Owner was very friendly and always had a warm smile for you with an excellent sense of humour. Was happy to try to assist you in any requirements you may have. We were offered the choice of two rooms which was a lovely gesture. We had evening meal and breakfast and both meals were very enjoyable. I would stay again with no hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor thing, but the loo in the 'comfort room' (23) is a bit tricky to use! [because of the location of the wall - which I suppose cannot be change!], but having stayed at the hotel before this has never been an issue in other rooms, so it would not put me off staying again.

    Bathroom and room/communal areas spotlessly clean. Comfy bed, crisp linen and nice pillows. Great central location with easy parking. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They claimed we’d ordered breakfast though we hadn’t. Slightly soured our departure.

    Staff very friendly Room very small but adequate for overnight stay Excellent evening meal Interesting little town Only an hour from the Shittle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny shower room and little space for toilet - it appeared to be an afterthought. Insufficient room to sit on toilet!

    Location, tea making facilities. Bedroom was clean with thoughtful decorations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A toaster at the very least for a bit of warmth in the breakfast. We did speak with the proprietor about this. She thought it was a good idea. It’s the first time we have stayed somewhere without any hot option at all.

    Super cold continental breakfast. Superb creme caramels! Very friendly and helpful proprietor, with excellent language skills who was keen to talk to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a „family room“, but the owners were unfriendly towards the children. After dinner we asked to take our desert to the room, because the kids were asleep in the room. We were not allowed to do so, because we may put the desert on the floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk for drinks in the room, bed was small we are not over tall and feet nearly hanging off the bottom. Anyone over 5ft 10 inches wouldnt be able to lie straight

    Location was good, bed small and a little uncomfortable. Good hot shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor heating in room . Wi Fi poor and patron not helpful when spoken too in French or English about problems logging on.

    Breakfasts, location, easy parking in lovely French town. Food reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were unheated and too cold. Stayed here with 4 other friends all in different rooms in mid September and everybody reported feeling too cold overnight. External temperatures of 8-10C overnight and hotel did not switch on heating.

    Fantastic location with good restaurant. Room rather twee (teddy bears and butterfly decor) but comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the breakfast at 10 euro was a little expensive compared with other hotels we had stayed in.

    Great location and atmosphere. I have stayed 3 times before.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, due to illness the restaurant was closed on the evening we arrived. Could not enjoy the well-reviewed menu on offer

    Very friendly welcome, good breakfast, and comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only gripe would be that the breakfast was limited in scope and probably didn't offer the best value for money. Our six year old could eat very little of what was on offer.

    The hotel is ideally located on the main square which offers plentiful parking spaces. The family room (3 beds) was perfect for our needs and was clean and comfortable. Apart from breakfast, we didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good, albeit without a children's option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably not knowing the amount of stairs to the rooms before we arrived.

    the hotel was on the edge of The Square and easy to get to see things in Montreuil without having to use the cars. The breakfast was very good. The evening meal excellent. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant closed on Tuesday so we were unable to use this facility again but a local restaurant was also excellent. We went specifically to see Les Miserables and would recommend this show to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After booking with Booking.Com we had a very good welcoming EM from the hotel also pointing out that on a Tuesday and Wednesday the reception did not open until 5.30pm. We could have changed the booking at that stage but decided to go with it. This was a mistake on our part for having started the day at 6am it was a long wait until 5,30pm. When we did get in we were then told no bar and no food on the same 2 evenings. So, our patronage sadly when to other establishments for sustenance and continued for our final night. We chose not to have their full breakfast as we ate well the night before. The room was perfectly decorated and clean but the bathroom was small so much that my wife and I could not sit squarely on the toilet; uncomfortable for us. I thought the welcome could have been better eg advising us where the free parking was and the password for the wifi. I am sure the owners were very nice people as previous reviews have stated, but, we did not see them very much.

    Location as in centre of town and we could walk to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good breakfast. The dinner was straightforward rather than excellent. The staff and proprietors were very friendly. The location was very central and the whole town easily reached on foot. A wonderful medieval walled town with high ramparts (care needs to be taken if walking at night after a surfeit of liquid refreshment !!) There is still a hardware store fronting on to the market square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lad helping out / serving drinks & food needed to smile or perhaps he didn't like us, who knows

    Very good location in a lovely small walled town, we had a very nice meal outside under cover with a great atmosphere, not sure if it was the owner or manager but he was a great guy who could not do enough to help you, his English was so much better than our French

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too much nightime noise but the position makes it bearable.

    Comfortable room, well designed with excellent shower room. Sylvie is a perfect host.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good,staff really friendly,had dinner Thursday was very good, Very clean. Would be nice to have kettle in room not a criticism,but just something that would add to comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff/owners , warm cosy room with plenty of space even though there were four beds in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little expensive for what we had, could have been cheaper and just croissants and coffee.

    Super friendly staff. Got up early to provide breakfast as we were setting off early. Gorgeous town that was still in full Christmas spirit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very accommodating of our large group of three families and two dogs and were happy to prepare an early (and very good) breakfast for us too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and well located for the town. A very interesting medieval town with plenty of quaint streets and excellent views from the ramparts. Within good reach of eating places, would recommend La Pause Gourmande.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I contacted the hotel twice before we arrived to inform them that we would be arriving on a day when they didn't open until around 5pm I had no response from them to provide me with an entry code for the door.

    Central location, lovely big shower with good water pressure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room was very squashed into the corner. I am only small and found it difficult. My husband is over 6 foot found it impossible to use..

    We found the hotel clean and the staff welcoming. We ate in the hotel and the choice on the Menu was first class and reasonable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was OK, but the evening meal was really rather unpleasant. Both of our first courses were burnt, one so badly it had to be returned to the kitchen. The replacement was pointedly undercooked. In the second course a brochette of beef was ordered "saignant" (rare) but was charcoaled - literally hard and black - on one side and completely raw on the other. The patron argued that it was "fausse" to say it had been a bad meal, just one not to our taste. I would never eat there again.

    Comfortable bed, pleasant room with lovely view over the big square. Well-furnished and decorated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit of noise at night from the square so you can't leave the windows but can't really blame the hotel or the owners for that. Be aware there is no lift - not a real problem for us as we left our one very heavy suitcase in the car.

    The room was a great size and the facilities were excellent. Staff were really helpful and nice. Location is brilliant. Clean and comfortable. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, good shower and lighting in the bathroom. We didn't have the breakfast as it was an extra 10 euros per person. Great location on main square close to excellent patisserie and cheese shops. Walking distance to a lot of restaurants. The hotel restaurant and bar were closed on Tuesday and Wednesday night. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea making facilities would have been nice.

    Ideally situated,central,quiet, easy parking and close to restaurants. Lovely town. Warm welcome from owner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a drain smell in bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes there was a funny smell in the bathroom.

    Good breakfast, great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming and helpful owner....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel very welcome, Super location and great breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient location and good food, and beer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom quiet small

    Large comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very good value for money and in a good location. Simple but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Good food good atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups for tea!

    Good location in the town and one of the only places open on NY day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small , restaurant was not open

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cold. No proper heating. Smell in room. No breakfast on second day because I didn't book it night before even though staying for three days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Wonderful friendly staff. Food excellent. Would certainly recommend to family and friends. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of accommodation , with friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Agree that the bathrooms could do with finishing touches, such as extra toilet roll.

    Comfortable beds, excellent locations and friendly host.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was late in opening, hotel was a bit run down.

    Location to Channel Tunnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were not very flexible with their menu for my fussy kids! More my kids problem I guess!

    Handy and easy stopover.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Vauban's facilities and location make it ideal choice for the centre of Montreuil.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    No English speaking channel on TV.

    Very clean, comfortable, welcoming and central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, room quality varied, one room had a macerator for the toilet!

    Helpful staff, nice restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to move car Friday night before Saturday market. Lot of competition for spaces.

    Great location, bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, central to bars and restaurants, close to points of interest.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Position excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing ! All good !

    excellent breakfast and very comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner not very friendly

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, very quiet. Montreuil is a very interesting place to visit

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything lovely stay

    Lovely hotel in a gorgeous little village enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the restaurant was closed

    Parking good - car felt safe

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, plenty of parking. Charming staff, good food, comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Good family room. Authentic breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    les croissants charred. Pas de friut freche pas de d'leu mineral. The prix tres cher @ 10 euros p.p.

    Cafe

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely accommodation very conveniently located in the village square.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super place to stay for a visit to this lovely village and also enjoy seeing Les Miserables in the Citadel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking nearby because of market. No table available for evening meal. Attitude seemed to be "take it or leave it"

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've done with some tea/coffee making facilities.

    Lovely town, owner friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow c

    Excellent around

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent room very clean and comfortable great night sleep even though situated on main square

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good menu . Good service. Very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is by market square so night time parking is easy, free and close to hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated. Smell of damp in room.

    Centrally located in the town. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room / Eco Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom cramped, bed small, gim-crack arrangement of clothes rail and shelves.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A warm welcome despite being very late ( Eurotunnel 5 hour delay). Had kept kitchen open for us. Excellent evening meal! Lovely refurbished room with views over the square.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly welcome, very easy going, brilliant location, gorgeous crisp white bed linen, great shower, decent breakfast, what more could you ask for? We also had lunch here, which was delicious. The place was absolutely packed out, so that's always a good sign. Would definitely recommend, and will be coming back!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: