Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Yachtman 3 stars

23 Quai Valin (Vieux Port Sud), 17000 La Rochelle, France

#30 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1893 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel fantastic staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It had everything we needed even a swimming pool staff were helpful with us parking the car value for money for breakfast excellent choice very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic city break, lovely clean hotel, clean bedrooms and bathrooms- central location, friendly staff would not hesitate to recommend to friends and definitely return

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Have been using this hotel for several years and always been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel decor is getting a little tired in places, but not enough to worry us, will still use this hotel.

    Have been using this hotel for several years and always been happy. Great location right on the old harbour plus a swimming pool in the centre of the hotel which is isolated from the street which gives a great place to relax away from the noise and business of the street should you want to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location helpful staff , I would recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a hotel with parking, it said it had parking but actually w3 had to drive to a parking lot and pay 12€ a day on top o& our hotel fees

    Great location our room was fine a bit dated but comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Was great location had a pool which we used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was 3.0clock but couldn’t get in until 4.pm.Room was not serviced for the intire 3days Stay .not even clean towels

    Was great location had a pool which we used.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    This hotel had commanding views of the harbour - fabulous location and lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed in La Rochelle several times and twice at Hotel Le Yatchman. Excellent location, good breakfast, very comfortable rooms with air-conditioning - extremely welcome in the hot weather this year. The staff, as always, very helpful and the pool perfect. Definitely will return and rebook at this hotel when we visit La Rochelle again. Why go anywhere else?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Location was great, bed was really comfortable, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t live up to expectations, tired decor, small room, price was too high for what you got

    Location was great, bed was really comfortable, room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor of the bathroom pretty tired. Probably good when new (1990s? 2000?).

    Staff at reception welcoming and helpful. Breakfast excellent range to choose from. Location is on the old harbour ("vieux port") and the breakfast room view is therefore charming. Historic towers centre and museum all very close and accessible. Clean throughout.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Very basic but charging 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic service, no one to help you on arrival to take suitcases, no ramp to even take them up to the main lobby, you need to carry these up the stairs. Rooms, very very basic, pitty nice location, will need some serious refreshing.

    great location, parking allocated in the town for the hotel can be a bit challenging to find despite the map at night. Rooms really very basic for the price. no fridge, no safe, basically two soap bars..was expecting a little more for Euro 150/per night, this with out breakfast or local tax and parking on top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Handy location. Not luxurious but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks a bit tired and the decor a little shabby in places, although it's very clean. No tea/coffee in the room. The pool is just OK (although the weather meant that I didn't use it). It's not the most luxurious, but this is one of the few hotels with a pool at all. This is a 3* hotel and feels about right for that rating.

    Great location, right on the old port. Walking distance from the station and buses (including the airport route). The room was clean and comfortable - decent furniture. Good free WiFi. Reception is manned at all times and the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Having checked out, I didn't need to leave until later on and they were happy to store my luggage and let me stay in the lobby to do some work.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location but service variable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main (only gripe) was the attitude of some staff which was very poor - returned to our room after a four hour walk to be told that the service team planned to start in our room. We were told (not asked but told) it was not convenient for us to return to our hotel room now and we had two minutes to use facilities and then had to vacate to let the room be serviced. Never experienced this before - I thought the customer takes precedence. This compares to the reception staff who were very helpful.

    Great location, good front of house reception, excellent air conditioning and very comfortable bed. Expensive but this is August in France so not surprised !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and some tea and coffee would have been lovely. Also a bottle of water in the fridge would have been appreciated as the water in the taps was lukewarm even after running.

    Perfectly located hotel right in the centre of town with a massive room with enough space for all of us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Road trip between Spain and Brittany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be tricky to park outside at times to drop off but this probably due to building work which is almost complete outside.

    Very helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, central, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and the swimmingpool for cooling down. The windows isolated well against the evening and night noise. Suggest a room with a view to the pool, especially in summer when there is a lot of people visiting; the promenade and the cafés are busy at the front

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very tired and bathroom in very poor condition at best with mould in grout lines , window in the shower mouldy and paint flaking, lighy switch badly repaired and could potentially be a danger

    Location very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little tired but I guess that’s why it was a good price.

    Location great. The room was quiet and back from busy harbour from. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Loved La Rochelle and hotel location. Hotel needs upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our "superior" room was far from that. Toilet separate from shower room, but there was no basin to wash your hands. Room very small. Badly in need of renovation to warrant the price.

    Perfect location. Staff very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay, secure undercover parking for classic cars was an excellent bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In need of a bit of an update on decor ?

    Location directly on harbour front, unfortunately spoilt for us a little by the road works going on, but not the hotels fault!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location in the centre of la Rochelle. The Hotel is nice but not grande luxe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We happened to arrive on the last day of "Francofolies", a local patriotic festival. As a result the hotel could not be reached by car. We were warned in advance but the information given out was somewhat confusing. I think the hotel could have done a bit more to help us reach the hotel on foot with our luggage.

    The Yachtman is brilliantly located opposite the yacht basin in the centre of la Rochelle. The staff were helpful and we had a pleasant and interesting stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and a lovely pool. We would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor is a little dated. It would be good if they offered snacks at the pool.

    Le Yachtman is perfectly situated for exploring La Rochelle and the surrounding areas. It's right in the middle of all the action. We had a town view which we thought might have meant a bit of street noise but the windows did a great job of blocking it out and we didn't have any undisturbed sleep. The aircon was fantastic, especially considering the very hot conditions and having a pool was a real bonus, and one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. You can order drinks at the pool which is great. The staff were very friendly and were happy to hold our bags for us after we had checked out. The hotel decor is a little dated but don't let that put you off, it was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Fine
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on the quai very close to the old harbour basin. Pool in court yard, fine, but shady in the evening. Good staff, very friendly. Vivid city, lot of music on the streets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient well located hotel with spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why don't hotels have tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel let us take hot water and cups up to the room but why not just provide a cheap kettle. The hotel is looking a bit tired and could probably do with new carpets.

    We were in one of the more expensive rooms. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. Excellent views out the window of the harbour and the town center was nearby. We left via train and it was a reasonable walk to the train station. Has a good pool and pool surrounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in beautiful La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike , we stayed two nights and it was lovely.

    The hotel is in a great location and our room on the fifth floor had a glorious view. The pool was lovely too oh and the bed super comfy and big ! La Rochelle is a beautiful town and I would highly recommend visiting .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Four star hotel right on the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fantastic.

    The location right on the marina with views to the lighthouse. We were upgraded at no extra charge. The room was spacious, with a terrace outside overlooking the pool. We would have stayed longer if we had planned better and known how wonderful this little town is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is great, Harbor and city view, make sure to request the quieter pool facing rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't expect the grand luxe at the price I was able to make a reservation, but our room was located on the ground level facing a street, and it was noisy, too noisy for me .

    Staff was nice, check in easy , location is top, unfortunately had no time to use their nice pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly due to roadworks it was hard to access the hotel and parking is a bit offsite. There was lift but still steps to room.

    Parking is secure in a carpark a few streets away the rooms were clean and comfortable but a little tired. The location is superb rught on the quay near everything including restaurants and boat trips. There was a pool but we didnt use it. This was a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    If you don't like faceless corporate hotels this is a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Artex walls are a bit harsh and this and the bathroom might benefit from redecoration.

    Location is wonderful with views across the harbour. Our interior room overlooked a small courtyard swimming pool which made it generally a quiet room. Close to historic core of the town too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    The check in staff were so helpful and all spoke some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very old along with decor , but the rooms had everything and were very comfy. Breakfast staff not so friendly

    The check in staff were so helpful and all spoke some English which was a big help as we had little French. The location was excellent and although the pool area is small it was lovely. The location really was a winner and close to bus stop from airport. Value for money on Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel needs refurbishing. Less than welcoming staff

    We chose this hotel mainly for it's location and the ability to sit outside on the pavement overlooking the harbour - however when we arrived the whole of the street was having major roadworks including the pavement so the main reason for choosing this hotel was unavailable - either Booking.com should have been aware of this or if they weren't aware then the hotel should have told them. This hotel is now VERY tired and needs a LOT of work on it - I would DEFINITELY not recommend it !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was over an alley way which was over a bar. I was woken up throughout the night by drunken people at the bar singing and shouting

    Very friendly staff. And nice bedding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    La Rochelle is a very nice place to visit , great restaurants and Bars especially the Dock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was situated on the top floor at the back of the hotel and was very noisy into the early hours ,pubs etc , if you stay make sure you face the pool

    Brand new beds and pool area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Short but sweet. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    It was an extremely pleasant, albeit brief, stay. The room was large and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely room with harbour views. The desk staff were charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    The hotel and location were acceptable with a discount
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to extensive road works in the area the access to the hotel was extremely difficult as there was very little space to unload a car and to get in the front door you have to walk across the construction work this is going on until July 18 There is parking available at 10 euros per day about a 10 minute walk away People with mobilty issues need to confirm accessibility before booking until work is completed in July

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    OVERALL GOOD, LOTS OF TO SEE IN LA ROCHELLE, AND HOTEL IS IN THE STRICT CENTRE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THEY DO NOT WRITE ON WEBISDE THAT YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR COTSIDE PLUS THAT POOL IS NOT WORKING IN WINTER TIME. THEY WRITE ONLY HEATED. THAT GIVES YOU IDEA THAT IT MAY BE WORKING. CHANGE THAT FOR SEASONAL.

    COTSIDE

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Great central location but disturbed all night by loud street noises - sleepless night! Urgh.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor location to rear of hotel with shutter over window, made room very dark and oppressive. Noise from bin collection, night clubs, street cleaners and rowdy night goers made it impossible to sleep. We left the hotel as early as possible and were shattered from so little sleep. Terrible. This room, 123 should not be rented out even at th budget price we paid.

    A very comfortable bed and bedding. Lovely big tv. Separate toilet and a bath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable in good central location with clean and comfortabe bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no coffee/tea making facilitiesin the room Difficulty in parking in front of hotel to determine where hotel carpark was so had to park elswhere

    Good breakfast Central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    All in all a very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No gluten free food apart from corn flakes bacon egg egg ok My wife enjoyed the breakfast more but we both considered price too high and the pot of tea in the bar very expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Disapointing. Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Doors would not open or close properly. Given a poolside room when paperwork clearly shows city view .Room smelt of cigarette smoke, cleaning rooms at 17:30 - 18:00 hrs while trying to get dressed to go out for evening. Request not to clean at that time ignored. Bar service and drinks quality and selection was dreadful

    Great location near to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was very comfortable but not much used!

    Fabulous breakfast. Breakfast room with view over harbour. Brilliant location. Exceptionally helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived around 14.15 and told our room wouldn't be ready for an hour. When we returned ninety minutes later we still had to wait another hour though we were offered a drink and a cuppa. The staff were very helpful but the fact our room took almost three hours from our arriving was bad. Having an Alvis Car Club group check in about an hour after us wasn't good as they had to wait too and only managed to moan and whinge for the next hour!

    Staff were very helpful, a shame about some of the other guests who checked in after us!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, comfortable......ready to go again to La Rochelle and stay at Le Yachtman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at 1.00pm. Rooms not ready till after 3.00. No bottles of water in our room. Breakfast choices accommodated everybody.

    Easy walking to everywhere. Found some very trendy shops just looking out the window so, of course had to check them out...and spend! Superb Italian restaurant just around the corner. Didn't have to drive home!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel with friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. We could not park our van in their secure car park but was directed to an alternative car park that was locked in the evenings. The staff were welcoming and recommended places to go eat. We did not have breakfast at the hotel. The beds were also very comfortable. The location is perfect and great value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can't think of anything.

    Location excellent. Only 10 min easy walk from La Rochelle Station. The hotel is right on the port only a stroll from the historic sights around the port. Fantastic shopping and old market in the lovely little streets behind the port. Staff friendly and helpful. Bonus - the hotel has a lovely pool which our room overlooked. Sadly the weather was a bit cool for a swim. Great cafes and restaurants around the port and back streets. PRAO cafe next door has fantastic coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice - good spot to sit and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Very stressful, but a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking very difficult. We had a major fall out with the hotel when they tried to remove 2 young children from the room next to their parents. We had checked in at approx 2pm given the keys and asked to wait 1/2 an hour whilst the room was being cleaned. At 6.50 my son phoned from reception saying that they had to vacate the room as they had put othhers in the room. They threatened me with the police,I sad good. In the end we obliged bymoving the children to our rooms. They still wanted to charge me for the room I refused. They have no idea about customer service.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park is a bit of a distance from hotel An external grouting and paint job around the pool area would be of benefit to the place

    Breakfast excellent Location could not be better Staff so very helpful Rooms a good size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room close to lift and it was noisy lift!

    Staff at reception were excellent. Room good size, hotel depth was deceiving from outside. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent from A to Z
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Starting with the staff at Reception and ending with the car park facility. Nice people, super location, fantastic breakfast. I can only recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall, pretty satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I thought your description said the hotel had a restaurant, which unfortunately it didn't. Also, breakfasts whilst being perfectly adequate, would have been better if the scrambled eggs had been topped up rather than waiting for them to run out, before preparing more. I also thought the scrambled eggs were too runny.

    The views from the dining room windows and all the reception staff and room cleaners were very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location on the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very late check-in was pretty ridiculous I thought with the room not being ready until nearly 5pm. The hotel is definitely overdue for a renovation as much of the interiors are very dated and starting to look their age.

    Whilst the staff are friendly enough, and the pool is handy after a long summer's day, this property is all about the location to be honest. Its location on the harbour is famtastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The didn't look like the pictures on booking.com. The room was not that beautiful at all, very small, just a little window with bars and a view on a big garbage container. It looks like a room that needs to be renovated. We were totally disappointed. We would certainly not recommend you this hotel.

    The location of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Old Charm and Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! A fabulous older style hotel with spacious bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet! Great location, pool, friendly helpful staff, good wifi. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable stay in great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cold running water The lift near our room was noisy The decor could definitely do with being updated

    The bed was very comfortable and air conditioning we most welcome during the hot weather

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Little Oasis in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking arrangements are a bit mad with parking quite a long way from the hotel. On the up side, very secure but not all that convenient. Also, our GPS repeatedly took us to the car park rather than the hotel, no doubt all part of the experience but quite frustrating at the time.

    Loved the pool, decor very stylish, good location. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Would choose alternate hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks shabby no refrigerator in room for cold water.. stayed 5 days, had to ask for replacement of soap, shampoo... paper cups not replaced. Room not serviced until after 3 daily.

    Positio good air conditioning in room. Good linen. Dining room good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Disappointed - no air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our part of the hotel wasn't working and was not due to be repaired for another month. Had to be lent a fan by the (very apologetic) staff. Our room was badly in need of refurbishment.

    Very good location on the harbour. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Well located
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free parking (offered at 10€ a day) and wifi suffered a lot of disruptions (it was being renovated). The room was very hot (air conditioning available). Only 1 free plug in the room

    Very nice staff and huge bed. Perfectly located with a view on La Rochelle´s most famous site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Yachtman is good value for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment and facilities are a bit tired and dated, but the price was good value. My wife had the breakfast and thought it was very good.

    Location was good, directly opposite restaurants and activities of the port. Staff, particularly Maude (?), very helpful and friendly. Parking can be quite difficult and we opted for secure parking at 10 Euros per night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Perfect Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool area could have been cleaner and it was covered in the morning when it was supposed to be open

    Really comfortable bed, lovely staff, close to all amenities and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location, staff, and comfort at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would prefer walk-in showers but managed with the tub and european shower. We fear falling in the tub!

    The location is excellent, only a 10-minute walk from the Gare and close to very good restaurants and cafes. The breakfast at the hotel was very good and includes lots of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, cereals, juices and pancakes. The staff at hotel are excellent and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    The standard of the room compared to what we paid.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of the room compared to what we paid. It stated "hotel of the Year 2016", that we couldn't understand at all. The standard of the room was from 80's and the breakfast room was from the same era. Service good and dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    Great value accommodation overlooking the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a problem with the hotel, but the one-way system in the venter of town makes it very difficult to find the parking and if you arrive late, get ot of the parking

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed and guest-room, centrally located

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Super location, wonderful town and fabulous hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast: more fresh orange! Breakfast choice was really very good but this was the only down point to note.

    Location perfect. Staff all friendly and helpful every time. Room good sized and great view. Would highly recommend and stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts of the hotel were a little tired but it didn't affect our stay.

    Buffet breakfast was very good. Location was great and the family room was a real hit with the kids. Good location and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    functional no more, but very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room described as'city views' actually over narrow alley backstreet. room adequate but no frills..tea coffee etc. water not hot. poor value for money..extra 10 euros for parking, extra 12 euros for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Best hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in bathroom was a little poor.

    Location over perfect. Bed and pilow quality very good. Very helpful reception. Always smiling staff. Very closed to good restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    3.8
    Prisoner Cell Block H
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival I was given a room with carpet so old and worn I didn't want to take my shoes off. I was moved on my request but still the room was like a 1930's cheap pre-fab. I moved out in the morning after a 'discussion' with the General Msnager (without authority). Unfortunately I hadn't elected to have a refundable booking - but the hotel was so awful I couldn't bring myself to stay even though I had to pay for four nights!!! His customer skills were rather Basil'like - at one point calling me crazy! Ministers have stayed here and been happy!!!!! REALLY???? The booking. Com reviews are not representative of this hotel - it's tacky - unloved - underinvested and needs a new GM!!!! If you book tick the refundable button!!!!!

    The Booking. Com review

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Xmas break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea making facilities in our room,but everything else was fine.

    The bed was excellent,it was enormous!! And so comfy and nice and clean and fresh,with lovely linen..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.1
    Pre Christmas break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired old room decor. Couldn't provide me with a shower cap when asked at reception. Very basic accessories in the bathroom. Definitely needs updating.

    Great location. Comfortable bed. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Value and comfort in the heart of old La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was well located, staff extremely helpful and the room was comfortable and well decorated in a nautical theme. Could not have asked for anything better at such a reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.9
    Location is brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That you have to give your room key back when you leave the hotel. Then when you ask for it back they don't check who you are, so anyone could walk in and ask for a room key.

    Location is brilliant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    A very relaxed break at Le Yachtman
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea or Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel decor internally is a little dated and could do with a refit. We didn't breakfast at the hotel because it is far too expensive, however, there are excellent cafes very close by doing excellent breakfasts much cheaper.

    The Hotel location was excellent, right in the heart of the harbour. The Junior suite overlooking the harbour is a must!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location. Great staff. Interiors need work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a complete remodel. The place looks like it's been the same since the 80s. There is a certain charm to that but ....

    Great staff. Friendly and flexible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Central location which offers a clean comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ground floor room had no way to open the shuttered window so felt like we were in a dungeon but at least it had air con but that's over the head of the bed so got very cold. Shower wasn't great. Lots of hot water & good pressure but hung very low on wall so you have to lean into it. Not suitable for anyone over 5ft! Very small room. My sister had a room on 3rd floor which was 10 times bigger with open windows & view and we booked 6 weeks before her!

    Bed very comfy & location could not have been better. Hotel spotless & our room was cleaned with fresh towels every day. Ideal for short stay as we spent most of the time out and about and didn't want to splash out on expensive accommodation but wanted some comfort at bed time & for showering with a good location. This Hotel offers that.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    4.6
    Excellent location but tired and uninspiring rooms and general facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor quality bathroom - tiles lifting off around sink, cheapest finish possible. Room felt very tired and dingy. Seemed to be cleaned well but at Euro 100 per night do not consider it good value.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discover Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatately very noisy in alley that our room backed onto. Lots of shouting till 3am then bottle bank emptied !!!! Not hotels fault though.

    The location was excellent- right in the middle of town with walking distance to everything. Friendly staff. Good value hotel with no frills.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: