Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pierre & Vacances Village - Normandy Garden 3 stars

Résidence Pierre & Vacances, 14430 Branville, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Branville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 594 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.8
    Overall a disappointing resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom House (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - The "house" we got was rather small, i cannot imagine how 5 adults could fit (that's what they mentioned), we found it suffocating with one 3 year old and a baby. - The video of this resort does not picture the reality. It shows modern apartments while the one we got is left to its fate; outdated furniture, holes on the curtains, humidity signs, fungus around the windows! - Extremely high prices at the small super market; the restaurant opens for dinner at 19:00, I don't call this child friendly! We got one tasteless coffee at the bar of the restaurant and had to pay 3,70 Euros! - 6 euros washing and 3 euros drying for one wash-dry circle, unbelievable! This is definitely not child friendly.

    Overall a disappointing resort. The location was nice and the swimming pool too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    2.5
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle no saucepans no cutlery and all the plates and cups were chipped room was dirty and cobwebs all over and a musty smell. How can it be self catering when you can't even make a cup of tea Boil an egg.every thing is in French no English.

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Center Parcs style holiday with a few things you need to know before you go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few things you need to know before you go. Lovely place but very steep hills so either take the car everywhere or be prepared for a hike if your place is not near the main facilities. There are stepped footpaths separate from the roads which are quite windy and have no pavements. Watch out for children playing in the road or stepping out from footpaths behind bushes. There was no oven in the property but we had already spent £135 at the supermarket so had to fry chips and cook pizza and everything else on the hob or microwave. The stairs were very steep and there was no handrail on the top half. Would be difficult for toddlers or people with mobility problems. Perhaps bring a portable stair gate if you have toddlers. There was room to put a cot or even two in the double bedroom. The rooms all had window/doors which could be opened by a child giving no way to prevent a child from getting out onto the balcony or into the garden. Only the front door was child proof. You could probably solve this if you move the beds in front of the windows as they open inwards. Otherwise you could put door alarms which you would need to bring with you. The TV signal is poor and everything is dubbed in French so you won't be spending your time watching TV. You could attach DVD player, laptop etc to TV if you bring them and the correct HDMI cables. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. I do have a bad back so I find this everywhere so you may be okay.

    Helpful, friendly staff who speak English. Clean and pleasant property. (no. 911) plenty of crockery etc. Very similar to Center Parcs in UK but not as spacious in living area. Property for six people had one double bedroom, one room with two single beds and a sofa bed in the lounge. This was not suitable as a sofa as there was no back to it and needed three cushions for any back support and would seat 3-4 people max. Large table and 6-8 chairs in garden. Also large drying horse for laundry. We did self-catering so did not try the restaurant on site. Swimming pools lovely, showers by pool just a drizzle though. Life jackets for babies and toddlers at poolside. Lifeguard at indoor pool. Sauna and steam room by pool. Lots of sporty activities and kids clubs. Games room with air hockey, small table football and a few arcade games. Sports tournaments throughout the week. Twenty minute drive from lovely beaches at Villers-sur-mer, Cabourg and others. Half hour from Caen, large town with Castle, shops, restaurants, museum. Nearby town of Dozule has SuperU supermarket but is expensive. Lidl near Ouistreham is cheap but 30-40 minute drive away. Also Lidl in Cabourg. Lots of lovely patisseries everywhere!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Only needs few improvements to be absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant (franchised to a company NOT part of Pierre et Vacances) gave the impression you could order a la carte, however this was not at all the case. It was buffet all seven days of the week and not particular interesting options. If you wanted a la carte you would only be able to choose it as take away. We tried this on our first evening for convenience - The burgers had the usual cardboard burger patties, and a children's pizza was not only smaller - it was a half cut pizza. This meant a lot more crust (burnt) which I know no children are interested in. Many of the washers/dryers did not work and one of the sites on the compound was completely closed during our (high season) stay. Boring decor in the swimming pool area, which was acceptable however I was quite annoyed that there was repeatedly no lime scaling in the unisex showers (forget about washing your hair let alone your body before going in the pool area and the life guards were more occupied drawing and writing scribbles on a piece of paper than guarding all of the hidden spots in the area. Also the toilets was always out of toilet paper - perhaps because no one was informed that you would only get two rolls included in your check in, additional ones was to be purchased at the super- or minimarket.

    Spacious attached houses with all amenities needed. Great and comfy beds. Two baths, one shower/one tub. Plenty of space and a small deck outside. Would easily fit 6 pax, if two slept on the sofabed in the living room, however I can highly recommend a Superior for a max of 4 in order to be able to use the living room/kitchen during the evening/night. I liked the possibility we could do grocery shopping nearby (Super U - huge supermarket 6-7 km away), prepare our own food and live a little bit like home but still not further away from most sights - whether going North to Etretat or West to Omaha Beach on day trips. Also the hotel was facilitated with washer/dryer near the reception + a small minimarket. Go go go but stay away from the restaurant (franchised to a company NOT part of Pierre et Vacances).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Liked the surroundings, swimming pools and kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation description could have been clearer. Two bedroom house = 1 bedroom house with living room sofa bed! We were charged for an upgrade.

    Liked the surroundings, swimming pools and kids entertainment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio (2/3 People)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have an adults only time as lots of children in the jacuzzi splashing and jumping around. Next door neighbours dogs barked non stop from 6pm till 1am complained to staff and it stopped which was good. No gym

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Accomodation adequate on a reasonable site but don't think we'd return in a hurry.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering we stayed at the start of the season, the property appeared tired - could have done with a lick of paint and new carpeting upstairs, Really felt like we'd visited at the end of the season when properties normally are spruced up for the following season.Some of the equipment was missing - no cups. The property was sparsley furnished in my view.

    We had 2 balconies which enabled my dad (who is a smoker) to sit outside and enjoy the view. Liked the onsite restaurant and shop. Staff friendly and great english speaking. There was a lovely outdoor pool facility which we didn't use due to the cool weather.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic for families with small kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic for families with small kids with big Inside playground and swimming pool although it feels like being at home having to do all the cleaning in the apartment yourself. would have liked someone to clean it for us

    Inside playground and swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    If you want a reasonably priced break away in a great central location within Normandy book it ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    The beds were comfortable. The croissants were fresh every morning, the pools were all heated and very clean. The rooms were very comfortable highly recommend.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Three-Bedroom House (8 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was too small only one person could stand in it and sometimes the toilets smelt. Think the bungalow we stayed in was an older style but apart from that very clean🙂

    Peasful and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    5.8
    A holiday resort not adapted to the modern life (No WIFI,no lift, far parking lot, old kid's...)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Internet No WIFI No baby bed No left Parking far from apartment Apartment so small BFM TV (Continu Information TV) on, with high volume during breakfast !!! Kid's play area very old Very small swimming pool

    Just breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh milk or bread in shop

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La piscine lasauna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    fantastic region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Three-Bedroom House (8 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    restaurant in het park faciliteiten niet steeds 100% onderhouden

    fantastic region very nice and clean houses relaxed atmosphere in the park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    We had an excellent vacation. We like the whole place;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we like it in general.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    We checked out after one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Three-Bedroom House (8 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.7
    Expensive. Do not expect to have to strip beds in this day and age!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was very small for a chalet to sleep 6 people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.0
    area nice walking round
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    kitchen no room put plate on side when l washing the pot and stair dont look safe

    area nice walking round

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too busy

    Views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    It's a fantastic place for families lots of activities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment (3-4 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a fantastic place for families lots of activities on site and lots of ww2 places to visit. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    it was a nice place i would like to recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The place was relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Ok place to hang for a few days
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom House (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very clean.

    Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.1
    We had a lovely stay and would definitely go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom House (6 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House was a little shabby with stained carpets, marks on the walls etc.

    Swimming pools were excellent & setting was tranquil

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    great place does what it says on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pool area very good,Staff very friendly. Nice kid clubs

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Vacation in Normandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior One-Bedroom House (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    House was a bit too tight

    Convenient location, a lot to do on the campus

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.5
    The parc is really nice and green, starting on a hill and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimmingpool isn't that clean and not enough space for the amount of people. Our "house" (815) wasn't that clean either. They could really do a cleaning on the ceiling and under the radiators/piping, we had the idea they only cleaned the floor and the linen. Also a bit paintwork on the walls could be done. The couch should be replaced

    The parc is really nice and green, starting on a hill and downworths the houses/apartments are. We were almost down but there is a small path in the middle which brings you easily guides you back to the reception The kitchen has everything you need. I can understand some people in reviews saying that it is too small for the amount of people (4/5), the houses/spaces are a bit small/narrow but was no issue for us.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    7.1
    Restaurant, staff and location made this a pleasant base...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Single beds were too narrow, although mattresses were otherwise comfortable.

    Restaurant, staff and location made this a pleasant base location for touring the region. The self contained apartment was comfortable and reasonably equipped.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    4.2
    Pretty area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor cleanliness of accommodation, limited space. No drawers for clothes. No oven. Adult venues shut at 9.30pm, yet teenage only venue stayed open until midnight. Restaurant had menu for full range but there was only ever buffet available. 600 % mark up on drink prices. 4 lifeguards watching 1 pool, none in other 2 pools. Expensive for what got (Marketed as if Haven or Butlins, but not even close)

    Pretty area. Landscaping well kept. Reception staff courteous and able to speak English

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The Staff were excellent very welcoming and My kids aged 5,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Staff were excellent very welcoming and My kids aged 5, 8, 12 ll went to Kids club and they enjoyed the 7 sessions they had. They had some team members who spoke English and welcomed my kids . My kids are asking when can we go next

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    The multiple course menu was acceptable, overal quality of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In a 4 room appartment, there are 2 beds which are a bit short if you're more as 1m80. The other is a couch that you need to transform, but forces other people to also move aside/go to their beds. We were on the 1st floor, the bottom/ground floor/appartments had a unappealing smell coming from them. Few of the stone tiles on the stairs were broken and missing. There is no cutting board or hood above the cooker. Internet comes in basic and premium, and is ridiculous that even for the basic internet they charge fairly much for "reading e-mail" as speed that you can expect. At the restaurant: Drinks a bit high for a place that could draw parents with children on a daily base. Changing cabins at the pool are limited to 3 for males, and 3 cabins for the females. There's a damp entrance where you leave your shoes behind and also walk to for putting your socks and shoes back on. Be sure to wipe off your feet and don't walk over the moist/wet carpet that lays there. This could be done more hygienic.

    The multiple course menu was acceptable, overal quality of the food presented was good, service friendly. Nicely built, quiet place. Good place to fall back after a day of visiting the surroundings or staying there during the day for some rest. For larger families with children, you can definitaly stay here a few days. If your children speak or understand French, this will help a lot.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stay was spoilt a bit after a family arrived a couple of doors along and had all night parties and had sea food barbecues on their veranda that made it impossible for any neighbours to sit out - even with doors and windows closed the smell still got in! Don't do the horse riding - very poor value and the horses had fleas and one had really bad cough.

    Nice location and facilities. Decent buffet restaurant and great take-away food available.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi utterly bad. Never got email with login credentials and was not able to use it for more than one device despite paying for it. Talked to staff in reception and sent several emails to complain and ask for refund but no answers. Unacceptable! Very old furniture in our otherwise cute house.

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    6.7
    Location and grounds were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That I had to rebook my room because I needed 2 bedrooms and 2 rooms meant one bedroom and one living room. Then they refused to refund my money even after I rebooked a more expensive room!

    Location and grounds were nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.5
    Our small house had a beautiful view over green hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We paid about 180 Euros per night (in April) which - even when taking the use of the swimmingpool into account - a bit pricey.

    Our small house had a beautiful view over green hills.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    The villa was clean and spacious for the 4 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You would struggle to have more than 4 in a 2 bed villa. The play area was great but could desperately do with some refreshments and a more relaxing place for the adults to be.

    The villa was clean and spacious for the 4 of us. Great location. Kids loved the pool and the play area.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    5.8
    Environmental and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor information in English about the facilities and openning and closing times of key services including reception, restaurants, and mini market. Didn't realise how much pre-preparation was needed to stay there.

    Environmental and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.1
    The beds were uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds were uncomfortable

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    Spa, playground area for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited timing for breakfast.

    Spa, playground area for children.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    The friendliness of all the staff, very welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The friendliness of all the staff, very welcoming and helpful. Good pools and facilities if wanted.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    Facilities for the children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The loud bangs in the middle of the night

    Facilities for the children

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.7
    Lot of activities available in resourt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sofabed was unconfortable. In VIP room beds were not made upon arrival and towels were missing.

    Lot of activities available in resourt.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    6.3
    Excellent buffet in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent buffet in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    furniture are bit old and doesnt look very clean and lots of preparation, i.e. no shower gel, hair dryer

    facilities greensward swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.6
    The apartment was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.3
    Good facilities for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No oven for cooking. Only hob and microwave.

    Good facilities for families. Spaced accommodation. On site fresh bread

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.1
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: