Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Général Hôtel 4 stars

5-7 rue Rampon, 11th arr., 75011 Paris, France

#74 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 914 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room for the price could have been bigger.

    Really comfy huge bed, room a little small but very clean and modern and decent large bathroom with large shower. Staff lovely and very helpful and chatty. Thank you to Mansoor and Marie, you made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my arrival the staff on duty was not very friendly I felt a bit uncomfortable. However the following day and throughout my stay all other staff members were very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Hotel very clean and I loved everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful boutique hotel! Clean, exceptionally friendly staff, wonderful amenities, and a fabulous breakfast. Would definitely recommend and we plan to stay here in our next trip to Paris.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a quiet room and was placed in one on the second floor right in front of restaurants and street.

    Great location: metro stop close by with multiple train lines, very good restaurants nearby. Staff are superb, friendly, helpful just excellent service. Breakfast available is quite good if you dont feel like going out early. I love this little Hotel. Have been there 3 visits now and wouldnt book any other place in Paris.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. We just walked a few blocks to sit at an outside cafe for an excellent “French” breakfast.

    Staff was excellent! Beds extremely comfortable. Clean rooms and great bathroom. Welcome glass of champagne was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the hair dryer. Silly... I know, but it kept overheating and turning off. I didn't alert the hotel, just let it cool down and started over, so not dinging the hotel by any means, just the ONLY thing that could have been improved.

    This was a very cute and well kept hotel. They were so nice at reception and very accommodating during our stay. Close to 3 metro stops, walking distance from many restaurants. We didn't do their breakfast (many bakeries/cafes close by), but it looked to have many options! Great spot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only didn’t like the square you have to pass to get to metro (but it’s not a big deal at all).

    It was a quiet hotel very close to Le Marais (was very important for us). Metro is only 2 minutes by feet. There is a small but nice gym downstairs (not enough dumbbells tho). Plus sauna where we spent every evening relaxing after all day walking. Breakfast was very fulfilling. Fresh orange juice, good coffee and good variety of bakery. I would recommend this hotel but it’s not very central. Walking to the center can take 20 minutes, but it’s a nice walk, a lot of cafes on the way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    The hotel is close from Canal St. Martin, Le Marais, other popular places. Very clean, cosy, and comfortable to stay. Staffs are professional and kind :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The giant photographs in the rooms.

    excellent location. Lovely and efficient staff. Funky decor in the lobby area but a bit tacky in the bedrooms (giant photographs of random people in the rooms are a bit weird). Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Premier room still very cramped and a little stuffy. The carpet is frayed.

    Super lovely hostess at front desk who went out look forward to her way to give us local recommendations. Nice lounge on ground floor. Spacious bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super helpful. The hotel was extremely child friendly with lovely touches for children to keep them happy. The room was excellent as were the bathroom facilities. Very comfortable bed. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a perfect location to visit sites of Paris . Staff were very friendly and gave lots of information of where to visit and more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were issues with the hot water supply 2 of the mornings i was there but they generously compensated by offering a discount and throwing in free breakfasts

    Rooms were very clean. Quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive for a very limited choice

    The staff were fantastic. So helpful and full of information. Was nice to have fresh bottles of water daily too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - had a great a stay.

    One of my favorite places to stay during two weeks traveling across Europe. The hotel is stylish and comfortable. The rooms are a bit small, but that's normal for hotels in Paris. I would stay here again .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small. Some rooms have the shower over the bath tub which I don’t like (but some have proper walk-in showers).

    The staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was can not really enjoy the shower, some electricity problem and with warm water for bath

    Some problems happened during our stay, but solution was good, all staffs are very friendly and helpful, they was so kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room service food is made at the restaurant across the street. I ordered a Mozarella salad that was not fresh and I got sick for 12 hours.

    Nice staff. Excellent location by Place de la Republique. Clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as most hotels in Paris, everything is a bit small, bathroom a bit cold, and sauna would have needed extra cleaning when I arrive early morning

    funky youngster style and decoration, lively location, quiet room looking over inside yard, choices for breakfast, friendly and efficient staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As expressed many times to hotel's management before and after the stay, we were a group of 3 adults, however we were put on a small room on the 3rd floor with an improper double bed (2 singles bed put together), no outside view. The room was different than the one advertised during booking the property. I paid a lot and I expected much better. While checking out the receptionist was surprised we did not get a better room; too little too late. Disappointing

    Location - lobby - clean - free bottle of champagne offered

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a small fridge/mini-bar.

    The staff were fantastic. The room was small but comfortable and the bed was great. The room was super clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows

    Staff was very accommodating. The pillows were hard so didn't have the best night's sleep. Clean and would recommend. Area around the canal can get sketchy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to tailor the air conditioning in my room.

    Excellent, helpful staff. Accessible location, super close to Republique metro. Best for the Marais areas, short metro rides to key Paris features e.g. The Louvre. Clean. Comfortable. Dringme smart phone loaded with helpful features, apps and contactability, was extremely helpful and excellent bonus that makes your stay in Paris easier. Recommend HolyBelly for brunch 8 minute walk from hotel. Currently a Paris brunch hot spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a small boutique hotel, hence corridors are a little narrow but acceptable. Dining area has mostly high stools which might not be suitable for some but not a big problem.

    The check-in process and area feels cosy with modern chic industrial vibes interior deco. Staffs were also friendly and helpful. Location was very prime as there are metro stations and bus stops very near by. There are also a lot of good restaurants and bakeries nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good street facing rooms get some street noise but actually ok

    staff were really welcoming and helpful we were able to check in early and leave cases at around 1030 am complementary welcome drink breakfast really good so walkable to canal st martin and marais

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable and the service was very good. The staff was very helpful, always available. There was a night staff member that we had the pleasure of meeting and speaking with, his name was Mansour. He was a pleasure, offered great information to restaurants and other places. Very sweet man!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy hotel in a great location, my favorite in Paris. Rooms are small, but cosy and nicely decorated. Service was nice and friendly. I recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small - but what do you expect in central Paris.

    Great locaiton, right behind Republique. Trendy modern room wiht Nespresso and lovely little balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LOCATION GOOD,STAFF VERY HELPFUL ,BEDS ARE COMFORTABLE,CLEANLINESS GOOD CAN BE MORE BETTER FOR SURE AS HAD A BAD BATHROOM SINK BLOCKED FOR 2ALL 2 DAYS OF STAY , MAINTENENACE NEEDS MORE ATTENTION

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed a soap dish in the shower.

    A very good and central place to stay. Very good guest servicing -including a before stay email enquiring what we needed to know about Paris plus whether we had special requests. My response was followed up with both prompt answers and suggestions. It was quiet, friendly, clean and comfortable and not too expensive -for Paris. On 2 very hot days it was also very cool. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the speed of internet was not so good. there was no place in shower to put our stuff.

    The hotel is ok, very clean and in best location. the staff at the reception was extremely friendly & very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really excellent staff in this hotel, so friendly and so very helpful. This is a great hotel. It was our second time ever, and we would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was great, it was definitely on the small side and the bathroom, although better proportioned, had problems with a blocked sink and a leaking shower. We also didn't get enough towels on the second night so had to share. As an English guest I would have loved some tea in the room as well as the swanky coffee machine too!

    Loved the decor/design of the reception area and the bedroom. Also the welcome from the night manager when we first arrived, was great. The welcome champagne was an added and welcome bonus too! We'd love to come back to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked this Hotel off of reviews and I must say I was glad I did. The hotel is young and hip in a pretty cool area near Republic Square in Paris. The staff were more than helpful when trying to find things to do in the neighborhood and around Paris itself. I really enjoyed my stay and will recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and tidy rooms. Staff was super friendly and provided a precise guide of places to visit and restaurants to eat at. They were very efficient in dealing with our requirements. Will definitely stay there again,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really expensive for what it offers. The room was really small. Also when i booked it says that the room has shower or bathtub and when i ask for bathtub tjey said that this is a mistake ans they only have showers for the cozy room. So that was a wrong information when i booked. And the size of the room was muxh smaller of what booking says

    Staff were super nice and polite! They give u for free umbrella if u need. Location was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    A new plethgora of photos of young people - may make older visitors wonder if this is the place for them??

    I visit Paris regularly and have stayed at Le General over 10 times over the last few years. It remains consistently one of the best hotels in Paris. An excellent balance between style, convenience, price, facilities and cleanliness. One can immediately tell that even ther smallest things are continuously thought about with care. Now that I've said all this, I probably won't be able to get a booking in future!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was quite tiny and if the room rate doesn't include breakfast, I wouldn't recommend paying 18 euros for what they offer

    very friendly staff, great location, nespresso machine in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids were a bit lazy with the cleaning but it didn't bother me that much

    The staff was beyond accommodating. Especially Mary and Mansour. Hotel next to a new upcoming area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was not long enough.

    The staff were better than excellent. If I could I would rate them 6 out of 5 that is how welcoming, friendly and supportive they were. They were the BEST! A great hotel that I would recommend to anyone and everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Beautiful shik hotel, with amazing stuff. Helped us a lot. We didn't like the room we got so they immediately moved us to another. Close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is cute, well located & clean. Perfect for a city holiday. But. What makes it a must stay place is the staff. Morgam at the reception was extremely friendly & very helpful. Noemie served with a big smile & changed our perception of French people been not so warm & friendly. Will definately recommend a stay to all visiting Paris.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One remark: wifi in our room wasn't functioning very well (4th floor).

    We had a great two nights stay in a room large and comfortable enough for three high-demanding women ;-). The bathroom was spacious, with luxurious toiletries and fluffy towels and bathrobes. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but there are a lot of breakfast spots in the neighborhood. Very close to Canal St. Martin and Le Marais, so there is always something to do around, and the République metro station (with a lot of subway lines coming through this hub) is only a few minutes away. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and always willing to help, and the glass of champagne on the house as a welcome offer is a nice extra!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple room- Had requested 3 singles beds for 3 adults and were given 2 full size single beds and a child's bed. If worked out ok as we ended up coming with a child and one less adult but it wasn't as requested and confirmed.

    Location and facilities great. Nespresso machine in room. Sweets in reception which all the kids love!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly accommodating and friendly. Happy hour was great. Entire staff seemed impeccably trained and customer focus. Room was spotless and appropriately equipped for internet, chargers, adapters, etc. Great location and overall great value. Would definitely staff here again and strongly recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was one toilet in the shower room but none in the spacious master bath. The bath and shower in the master bath (which had two sinks) was great but for some reason the shower in the 1/2 bath never got beyond lukewarm.

    The location was just outside le Marais, with all major attractions within a short taxi or 15 minute walk. Hotel was on a quiet side street. The lobby was stylish and comfortable. The staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. They gave us a glass of champagne upon arrival, a phone to use while in Paris and the people at the desk were helpful with travel tips for the family, all of which made for an authentic experience. The family room was a home run, with plenty of room for four, clean and quiet. Typically we would have needed two rooms but this was a great value. Ask for #71.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than what we anticipated. This wasn't a problem but when you have 3 suitcases it can sometimes feel a little small. Also if you are taking a hop on hop off bus it isn't on the main route and you need to change to get to all the major attractions. One day it took us 2 hours to get home from the Eiffel Tower!!! The train station is close by and a better option to getting to the city centre or main attractions. The room didn't have an iron.

    The hotel was really welcoming and funky in the lobby. We were on our honeymoon and we're given a glass of champagne on Arrival which was lovely. Morgan was really helpful with giving us information about the city and local restaurants. We also liked that we had a (small) but cute balcony. The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any negative comments - it was all good!

    The bed was extremely comfy, the room was very spacious and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. They also serve a very nice coffee!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi. They have a system where you use the hotel smartphone which is pretty cool. But our own devices didn't work at all.

    The room was light and pleasant. Nice interior design. It was quiet and clean and for Paris of a decent size. The hotel is in a nice, vibrant part of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming little hotel with lovely staff. Well situated and beautiful views over the Parisian rooftops from the spacious suite on the upper floore. Would absolutely recommend Le Général Hôtel and hope to stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning was a bit annoying. Caught a lil cold the last night.

    The whole staff was exceptionally friendly. Absolutely recommendable for everyone, who's looking for a "at-home" feeling during their holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a side street between two busy boulevards so there's some street noise, but shutting the windows effectively cut this out. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but again it's what you would expect in this location.

    Brilliant location very close to Oberkampf and Republique Metro stations and the bustling Place de Republique. Lots of good restaurants and cafes nearby and a couple of nice boulangeries too. Also it's in easy walking distance of the Musee Picasso in the interesting Marais area. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The beds were really comfortable - a nice change from the hard beds that so many hotels offer nowadays. The free soft drinks in the bar and the fitness centre in the basement were nice bonuses too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very accommodating staff. Walked to hotel from Paris Est train station. Walked to Notre Dame and other sites, and quite near Picasso Museum. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the promise of Occitane toiletries and finding something different on arrival- didn't like having a photo taken of my passport at reception(to 'save the planet'). More pods for coffee machine(or at least the offer of more on request)

    very comfortable bed, quality linen- very clean. Bathroom swanky. room adequate size, little balcony too. Liked the Nespresso machine, though would have been good to have more pods.Decor throughout was modern and cool. Staff excellent - very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV only catered for French people so we couldn't watch anything The shower was poor. It had no pressure

    The hotel staff were amazing. So friendly and welcoming. The bed was so comfortable and the location for metro was 10 out of 10

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned on our second of 3 days. We returned at around 4 pm and the bed hadn't been made or provisions refreshed. We left shortly after with the sign on the door to clean, it was not.

    Clean and comfortable, near to local facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WI-Fi isn't that good.

    The staff and location were great! The hotel is cute and it's very easy to get everywhere from here. The bed us super comfy! Our room was cosy, fine if you aren't spending a lot of time in your hotel room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi did not work the whole time we were there. We were charged a ridiculous amount of money for a limited breakfast each day at the end of our stay when the website clearly states that breakfast is FREE!! Very annoyed by this as if we had known, we would have eaten out everyday for breakfast.

    The room was lovely (a little small) and clean. The hotel staff were friendly and the overall atmosphere was very peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs make us feel so welcome. They go above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible:) They even make restaurant reservation for us. The location is also Perfect! not too touristy so many trendy shop (dont forget to visit Merci)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    however, the wifi didn't work well...

    The staff was so nice!!!! and it is very convenient to get to the subway station. And there are a variety of good restaurants, nice to try them!~

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was just tiny, we could hardly move in it. But still, it's Paris, nothing new with the space... Also there was really poor wi-fi coverage in the room (though good enough at reception). We had no fridge inside (no wonder - there was no place for it).

    The staff was really helpful and friendly at all times we needed assistance. The room was very clean and all white, toilettes were clean and enough-for-everything facilities. Overall impression was quite ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Utilitarian, badly organised breakfast with limited choice. WiFi shockingly poor for a modern hotel, very limited connectivity.

    Great location to travel around Paris. Lots of reasonably priced and varied restaurants nearby. Hotel provided free Samsung smartphone with free 4G, really handy for navigation and browsing on the go.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the cups we had for coffee or tea was cracked and leaked, and we left a note informing them before we went out, but it wasn't replaced. This may have been because they didn't speak English though; I'm sure if we told reception we would have got another one.

    The hotel is a fantastic find: brilliant location just walking distance from Republique Metro station, which has connections to most of the rest of Paris, with loads of restaurants and cafes also nearby. Inside, the hotel was very trendy with a warm and friendly atmosphere, and the room was excellent, with a huge, comfortable bed, coffee and tea facilities, bottles of water and a nice trendy sofa. The best thing was the provision of a smartphone which can be taken out with you to save you using your data and possibly incurring charges. This is pre-loaded with apps to help you out, such as a Paris maps & tours app where you can search for a specific place in Paris (e.g. Notre Dame) and it will tell you the best way to get there through all modes of transport including specific Metro lines and buses. It also includes TripAdvisor, Facebook and Twitter, among others (just remember to log out again afterwards!) This impressed us greatly, as did the offer of free champagne upon check-in. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, which isn't always the case in capital cities, offering to come up to the room should we need them. Overall, staying in Le General Hotel was a great experience and if we were to go to Paris again, we would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff at Le General were absolutely exceptional! Very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our 4 year old son was given a very cool bath duck to take home and we were given a glass of complimentary champagne during our visit!! Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely cosy and the room was very clean and i liked the little details like water and the Nespresso machine. They also gave us a complimentary drink upon arrival - very nice!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Le General Hotel had friendly staff, a great location and spacious room (by Paris standards). The hotel also now offers free use of a cell phone for every room with GPS maps, internet and free international calls which was great as my North Amercain one would have been expensive to use on the continent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Room decor was very modern coffee machine in the room as well breakfast was really nice too we loved our stay and the receptionist was very helpfully and spoke excellent English I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was very slow on the 6th floor for me.

    Great design atmosphere! The staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped me figure out my trip and found out that we're near metro stations, shopping, and restaurants. Amaya is the best, it was a joy to check in and felt welcomed everyday. The staff asks how you are doing and gives you recommendations to make your trip memorable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection was terrible, we couldn't watch netflix or youtube as the connection was constantly interrupted, this was really frustrating as there was a poor selection of TV channels. They really need to improve this. Room service wasn't available at all times and it was disappointing that after ten we couldn't order to the room. However, deliveroo delivered!

    The service is great, we were given a welcome drink and the receptionist explained everything about the hotel and told us about the local area, recommending restaurants. The rooms were very stylish (we ended up with 3 double rooms instead of a triple and a double), they all have great design features and good lighting. We had both a bath and a balcony in our room, the balcony looked out onto a typically Parisienne scene, which was delightful. The hotel staff are really accommodating, available whenever needed, but leaving us in peace the rest of the time. The hotel is really well decorated throughout and has a great selection of design and art books in the lobby, we could've happily spent an evening there studying them and drinking. They have a beautiful collection of Louis Vuitton City Guides that I had never seen before. The facilities are impressive, mineral water and pods for the nespresso machine were readily available and the fitness room and sauna are fantastic. The sauna is kept at a good temperature at all times and was quiet, everywhere including the sauna and gym was spotless. The area that the hotel is situated in has lots of lovely little bars and restaurants on back streets, it seems quite bohemian in places. There are health food shops and an amazing gluten free bakers within ten minutes walk from the hotel. It's not far from the Pompidou centre and on the walk there you can find lovely shops specialising in anything from high fashion to cacti. It's a great area to wander around shopping, stopping to sit and watch the people go by every now and then at a cafe/bar. I will definitely go back to Le General, we had a fantastic couple of nights there and wished we could stay longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La Republique metro station closed due to demo.

    Front of house staff were excellent. Best welcome ever experienced in a hotel, especially in a city hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bathroom was lovely, but water pressure in the shower a bit of a disappointment. In saying that, it did not detract from the positive experience.

    Big room for Paris standards, clean, everthing a traveller would need complimentary (things like toothbrush and toothpaste, comb, etc), Nespresso machine and lovely tea bags. Comfy bed and modern decor. We had asked for a quiet room and this is what we got. The surprise of a Samsung mobile phone for internet connection and international calls; we were invited to take it with us on our city expeditions - very useful. Cozy tables and chairs downstairs. Complimentary drink on arrival at the bar and bottled water in the room. Overall, an excellent place, close to Republique, within 2-3 minutes walk to the station. Boulangerie Utopie close by an absolute must. We will definitely return to Paris and will try to stay at Le General for our next trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 huge drawbacks. Room 66 is next to the lift and faces the busy road so it was so noisy. You need earplugs to sleep. The noise level is unbearable evn with the double glazed windows. The wifi, on the 6th floor, is incredibly slow. A fridge would have been nice.

    The hotel is great, stylish, modern, clean, and well located near Republique and the metro. The bathroom is really luxurious and the bed is comfortable. The room is well appointed. Cute, small balcony. Good heating and a/c. Really nice staff. Junior Suite is nice but not as large as the pictures indicate.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi in the room was not stable.

    Every room provides a smart phone with 4G and free phone call. I really like the Nespresso coffee machine in the room. The style of the room is young and modern.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. No wardrobe to put clothes in. No amenity kit. No mini bar. No slippers. Rooms smell nasty. No chair to change shoes, you have to sit on the bed. No bathtub, only shower and odd enough they supplied a floating duck... don't know what was its purpose. Water wasn't flowing properly so the shower wasn't enjoyable.

    They provided a mobile phone that made my life easier with unlimited data and all for free. The location is very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though this is Paris, the room was pretty small. Fortunately the good sized bathroom and natural light made up for this. HOWEVER, the water pressure was really poor, this is a 4 star hotel so being on the 6th floor shouldn't make this an issue. On checking out my husband asked for a 2nd bill for his work and the service and response was unpleasant. I was sitting to one side and saw the eye rolling and dirt looks that went on behind my husband's back. This is unacceptable. He was informed it would take 30 minutes to complete this procedure. If there is an issue with doing this for paying clients than I suggest that the hotel management re-access its software or billing processes. Not a very pleasant way to end our stay :(

    The lady at check-in was very friendly. The hotel was warm, clean and the general atmosphere/decor was very welcoming. Nice bonus is the Spa even though we didn't use it!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Général Hôtel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: