Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Hotel 3 stars

12, Place de la Gare, 67000 Strasbourg, France

#50 of 82 hotels in Strasbourg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4269 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed and pillows. Great views from room. If you are gluten free just tell them at reception and they will strangle for bread etc for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a little tired but nonetheless was great value for money and would not put us off staying again.

    The hotel was in a very good location. the air conditioning was welcome during a very hot spell and the bed was comfortable. Good value for money considering its location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    With excellent location and great breakfast and room service, this hotel makes you feel pampered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from street is inevitable due to cobble stones. No air conditioning in rooms.

    Location visible when exiting the train station. Access three tram lines connecting all of Strasbourg. Fantastic front desk staff, multi-lingual. 10 minutes to Old Town. Superb breakfast. Feels luxurious not barebones.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    A clean hotel with good air con and very helpful staff but second rate facilities and shabby rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby - the carpet an awful, cheap, striped chocolate brown one had been cleaned with some fierce cleaning product so there were patches and sprinkles of orange - the worst round the mini fridge. The melamine covering in the bathroom was splitting and the orange tiles were old fashioned and ugly.. The shower head was worn and leaked spray out of the wrong places when showering and floodied the bathroom The hotel had a nice decked outside area but it was only available at breakfast and almost completely shaded by an awning - it would have been better if the shade was optional and it was available in the day time to sit in the sunshine. The hotel boasted a bar but it was minute and there was no one to man it other than the overworked reception staff - a bell on the counter to ring if you wanted service and the facility to have wine or drinks outside in the decked area would have been nice. The WiFi in my room was DREADFUL and there was no facility to purchase faster, larger bandwidth password protected access.. The computer in the public area had a broken keyboard with keys in the wrong places or not visible - for example it took me 15 minutes to find the @ key

    The staff were friendly, obliging and helpful although at very busy times there were not enough. I liked having a mini fridge in the room and large windows/Juliet balcony style. The air conditioning was effective.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent with extremely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent and directed me to various restaurants for dinner on the three nights I was there. They also showed me were to get tickets for a sail on the canals which circle the city and how to use the tram system.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Every Review Deserves Reading (EMDR)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet smelled of smoke even though it was a non smoking room.

    The central location is very convenient. The staff are very helpful. Air conditioning was quiet and effective.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Six Irish friends touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast ok ,water never boiling and coffee lukewarm.shortage of delph one bowl so cereal /fruit meant reusing same bowl.Door frames in room could do with bit of fresh paint.

    reception staff friendly and helpful had booked 3 rooms 1 superior was giving standard on arrival but was sorted straight away when i mentioned it . I would suggest going for superior if could much nicer and alot more room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Nicely located, clean hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked the hotel and nothing about it turned us off.

    The staff always made us feel welcomed and helped with a number of questions. The location was good for transport and sightseeing for which we had booked with the food in the morning was fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expect it was "Grand" in its day but it is now a bit tired and could do with a major refurbishment.

    Good location for the station opposite and a short walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection is very poor. Not many choices so we just had a few bites and ate in the local cafe.

    The location is great, close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar is expensive and service is poor as you have to wait for receptionist to be free. Not enough clothes storage, the storage areas were quite full and there was only 6 coat hangers. Only English tv channels were BBC 1 and BBC 2. Could do with English speaking news channel. No bedside cabinets only 'posts' to put things on.

    Breakfast but not much choice and it goes fast.Aircon. 2 elevators, one for 2 people the other for 4. Lights in room operated by room key/card. There is a minibar, hairdryer, a small in-room safe (not big enough for laptop or even a large 10" Tablet,and 2 spare pillows. Table and chair. Telephone. Wood flooring. Large flat screen TV. Good shower but could do with a handrail. Good wifi. A good bed but quite high.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great location, very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location to railway station and all major sites. Kind, friendly and helpful staff. Room was very good, though in parts a bit dated (there seems to be some upgrading of rooms going on when we were staying). Lobby area and breakfast facilities are very good. I've stayed in this hotel three times & would come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very old and in need of an upgrade. No air conditioning or fans in room.

    Proximity to railway station. Major attractions within walking distance. Boat trip is a must, as is a visit to the astronomical clock which is situated in the remarkable Notre Dame Cathedral. Petite France is also worth a visit. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for public transport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from street with station facing room may disturb some guests

    Excellent location opposite Strasbourg Gare. Perfect for public transport links. Staff were polite and friendly, room was clean and comfortable. I asked for foam pillows and was supplied the most comfortable memory foam pillows! Slept very well...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Stayed overnight due to the sncf train strikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed overnight due to the sncf train strikes. Clean and comfortable and right next to the train station. Very convenient, good breakfast included in a nice sunny courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water entered my room due to leaky window frame during storm, curtains kept blowing in wind even with the window closed! I was moved to another room the next day but had serious noise problems there due to a group of teenagers in all the surrounding rooms. It appeared impossible for the hotel to convince their teacher to ensure respect for other guests.

    Friendly staff. And BBC 1 + 2 on TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    The bathroom was really big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to be closer to the city center, but was very convenient to be close to the train station.

    The bathroom was really big. The large counter space was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a beautiful city. Would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic and some food could have been a bit fresher.

    Excellent location very close to station and the historic Grand Isle UNESCO heritage area. Great rates with breakfast included. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Rooms are old but very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it but would definitely recommend getting a room very far from elevator!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise at night. Each floor has a heavy door which has to be opened from inside the elevator before you can get out. It then swings back and closes with a thud. This noise, together with the sound of the elevator and the people getting on/off make it very noisy. There are rooms right across from the elevator and I pity whom ever was in them as I was four rooms down and heard it the whole night. Room looked a little bit dated and had a leaking air conditioner which could not be used.

    Good location. Close to station, bikes which can be hired, shops, takeaway places and restaurants. Walking distance to Old Town. Room/bathroom big. Bathroom had bath as well as shower. Room was comfortable with adequate cupboards as well as a safe. Shutters on windows for complete darkness at night. Clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Could leave luggage at hotel after book out. Bathrooms available in lobby after book out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good basic hotel, offering all you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have no real complaints.

    We got a quiet room as requested and an up-grade to a privilege room. Breakfast was ok, you shouldn't go hungry Its very close to the station and walkable distance to all the main attractions in the old town. Its got lifts to upper floors

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Best location in Strasbourg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a bit of updating. The neon lights above the bed are a little fierce and sockets near the bedside to recharge phones would be helpful.

    My regular Hôtel in Strasbourg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    It is really nice to be in Strasbourg!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is one, though minor, problem; shower water in the morning was not hot enough...

    1) Location is perfect, just in front of Strasbourg SNCF station. You can see the hotel sign from a distance. 2) Flexibility! We could check-in noon and were provided a better and wider room with two windows. 3) Breakfast (inclusive) was very good in quality and quantity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    The room was not at all at the standard of the pictures...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not at all at the standard of the pictures showed in the Booking.com site. Carpet was dirty, with many stains. The paint on the walls was peeling, and the furniture had scratches all over the place. Toilets were very old and definitely in need of renewal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Across from the train station, great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, but otherwise, it met all expectations.

    Perfect location near the train station and tram connections. Plenty of resturants around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    First time in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room for the price. It is not easy to park the car and you have to pay a fee (always paying...). More smiles in the reception would be good in order to feel welcome, above all when tired in the arrival ( but not addressed to all staff, there were friendly people).

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    A very good deal in Strasbourg, with a very kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast...

    We arrived with a reservation for a standard room and they upgraded us to a suite. The staff has been so kind and professional, The room was clean, with a big and modern bathroom. The view is fine on the rooftop of Strasbourg. The hotel is very well located, in front of the Train Station and across the centre. A very good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Good affordable hotel close to train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is right across from the main train station which is perfect for anyone coming by train. By car, there is no parking on site, you'll have to use the "Wodli" parking about 200m away. Its cheaper, but the one underground in front of the hotel is about 10euro more if you want the convenience of close. The hotel doors stay closed and you have to push the button on the right to open - something we wouldn't had known had a little boy walked up right before us to press it. The rooms are small but has everything you need with decent pillows. Showers are a little on the tight side but adequate. The breakfast had eggs and sausage along with the typical EU items, so we were pleased with that. And its only about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of town. Very easy to walk and quite enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    we had a suite-like room with a toilet and a separate bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about :-) - it is a 3 star hotel with a good location opposite the central station

    we had a suite-like room with a toilet and a separate bath room. We had a room on the 5th floor to the side. So it was not really noisy and we had a nice look over the rooftops. The center is in walking distance. The hotel gives a discount of the parking garage Wodli (big plus, we came by car) which is in 200m walking distance, so better to unload the luggage in front of the hotel before parking. Breakfast was included, not really fancy but enough options to chose from

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    I was very comfortably. I would recommend to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    This was an amazing experience. The location is super- everything is at your fingertips. I loved the hearty breakfast. All I needed was available - had the option to leave my luggage after checking out. I am very pleased to stay there and would stay there again, when will be in Strasbourg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Across the road from train station but very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Breakfast Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed moves across the floor. No coffee or tea making facilities. Difficult to adjust the room temperature at night.

    Across the road from train station but very quiet. Lovely modern decor, cleverly designed. Comfortable bed, great shower. Generous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    2.9
    A disaster-without sleep, we had to return home and couldn't enjoy Strasbourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appalling noise all night long from the machines directly beneath the single-glazed window. This was supposed to be a quiet room but it was impossible for me to sleep. The receptionist was sympathetic when I refused to pay for the room but the full amount was later taken from our bank account. We have had neither a bill nor a receipt. The hotel offered us 16€ in compensation which we refused. We regard this as an insult and shows no respect for us as customers. After all, the top priority for a hotel should be ensuring that their guests sleep well.

    The night porter was empathetic when he heard the noise outside, bringing us tea and croissants in the middle of the night as there was no other room available to move us to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Room is clearn and hotel is close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a bit complicated, around 10 mins walk from the hotel. It is a public parking of the train station, with the discount from the hotel, you pay 11 euro per day. However, if you want multiple-entries, you will have to pay each time you exit the parking. The total will end up be more, as the short parking duration cannot be discounted, only the 24 hours one.

    The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good. The hotel is right across from the train station. There is a discount parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel looks modern but room was renovated from the old building, you can see some untidy interior work, not a big deal anyway. No kettle but you can ask for a jar of hot water at front desk.

    Great location, just opposite Strassbroug train station, easy to walk around the town. Breakfast was okay, I like fromage blanc. Room was spacious. There were 2 elevators. You can leave your luggage at front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    Old room with dirty stained carped. Prices for parking might differ from announced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're booking the classic double room, chances are that you're not going to get one of the new rooms. You might get, like us, a room with dirty, stained carpet, an extremely small and uncomfortable bed with no electric sockets nearby and a badly isolated window that will give you the pleasure of waking up at 5 with a truck collecting trash in the street. It's ok, my dust allergy was so bad because of the carpet that I didn't have much sleep anyway. There is no parking lot there, the hotel has a partnership with a park house. That would be completely fine, if they took responsibility for the service the park house provides and if the discount they promise actually worked. We got a card to use for payment on our exit that didn't work. We went to the reception to complain and were received by their receptionist that just shrugged off the responsibility and basically said it's not their problem and they won't help. If you need a good night of sleep, a simple, but varied breakfast and a place to park your car DO NOT STAY HERE.

    Location is great, close to everything. The bathroom was clean. Breakfast is only ok, there are no fruits and vegetables. The receptionist on our arrival was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the one when we were leaving was NOT.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room, big bathroom, very comfortable beds and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The old windows - noise from outside coming through the old glass windows.

    Spacious room, big bathroom, very comfortable beds and pillows, big flat smart TV, a minibar (unlike the other 3 stars hotels in the neighbourhood), excellent location, very polite staff, very good breakfast - everything needed for a good start of the day: scrambled and boiled eggs, Viennoiserie, cheeses, ham, fruits, etc...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    For a station hotel, this was very quite and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance - strange glass security door which requires ringing a bell for access.

    For a station hotel, this was very quite and comfortable. The staff were very professional, room was spacious ( again, unusual for France)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, but noisy side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without air conditioning it was necessary to keep window open at night to regulate temperature. The room, facing Rue Kuhn, was extremely noisy throughout the night.

    Good location within walking distance from city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ROOMS NEED RENOVATION. FOR EXAMPLE: THE CARPET WAS NOT DIRTY, WAS OLD... THE HOTEL SHOULD ADD A COFEE MAKER

    BREAKFAST LOCATION THE VIEW - OUR ROOM WAS ON THE 5TH FLOOR

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a kettle, coffee and tea facilities.

    Location right in front of Strasbourg main station and walking distance to the tourist attractions, shops and cafes. The room had a mini balcony offering direct views of the train station and the park in front of it. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was just right for a tourist about to embark on heavy walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    There was only 1 staff who was super nice at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular, hope the staff can smile a bit.

    There was only 1 staff who was super nice at the front desk. Can't remember her name (Eli... something). Booked 2 rooms, 1 of the rooms got upgraded, it was really spacious, with city view and balcony. The other room was good too, value for the money. Will come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Very bright, large room with good storage space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggestion: better illumination in the bathroom and a better work desk with a lamp would make the room perfect.

    Very bright, large room with good storage space. Excellent bed. Efficient reception. Good breakfast well organized. Judging by our room this is four star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bar and was looked after by the reception staff so it could be a wait to be served.

    The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    I'm happy to recommend this fine hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower's not the best, but this IS Europe....they rarely are.

    If you, like me, travel by rail, a hotel close to the station is a must. This hotel couldn't be any closer. So, arrive, drop bags and go! It helps when, like here, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the price is affordable. Probably not the best breakfast you've ever had, but the town is full of local food stands that suffice. Unless you're extremely picky, this hotel is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay & good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was still not been cleaned when we came back in the afternoon.The bed was very hard.

    Very close to the train station & easy to stroll around the beautiful city of Strasbourg! Room with french balcony!!😍😍😘😘🖒🖒❤❤

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    A real let down - tired poorly designed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not good. Impossible to sit on the toilet without fear of burning yourself on the hot water pipe that runs right by it. Lots of road noise and just buy what can be a busy McDonalds in the evening.

    The staff on reception speak multiple languages and the breakfast was great. In a great central location by Strasbourg train station, but a bit of a walk to where the life really is for eating and drinking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises proofing between each room.

    The breakfast was composed of high quality ingredients which you don't always get in hotel's breakfast these days. The bed was very comfortable . Every staff members are very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    My stay was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needed some updating. There was only one available electric plug in the room, and no available electric plugs in the bathroom. More available electric plugs should be installed.

    The staff was very helpful, and friendly. The location was very convenient. The room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Great city loved the architecture and trams. A trip on a tram to Kehl in Germany was interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The low mark for view was because it looked out over the back of other buildings. I however am not bothered about a view from a hotel bedroom so it was fine. What would have been useful were some coat hooks or a stand in the entrance to the room to hand up wet overcoats.

    Comfortable, plenty of really hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    I do not advice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised when the personnel said we are giving you a luxe for the price of booked standard. But when i entered the room I was disappointed. The room was VERY DARK. No light, except table lamps. The carpet smells not good. And it was quite COLD :( Breakfast was poor.

    Personnel is friendly. Location is good, just in front of the Railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Le Grand Hotel is Grand at Christmas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    This hotel, among a ring of hotels, IS a Grand Hotel!! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the beds very much so!! The breakfasts were more than expected - very good buffet with everything anyone would want. The staff was always helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    The location, the spacious room (bathroom) and lobby area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was very dark. The bed was not comfortable, which made me wake up at night. The coffee was always lukewarm and the dining hall staff wouldn't do anything about it. Quite disappointing.

    The location, the spacious room (bathroom) and lobby area. Helpful staff at the front desk. Good internet connection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is great, right in front of Strasbourg Train...
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looks better in the photos than in reality, altought it was ok, it look old. The hote in general is clean.

    The location is great, right in front of Strasbourg Train station. Breakfast is great and the staff is helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Very well placed hotel for accessing Strasbourg and the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea-making facilities in the room (after a long day of sight-seeing) would be good. Shower space is very small; even for a normal-sized person.

    Very well placed hotel for accessing Strasbourg and the station. Nice hotel with good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    A walking distance from the city center, in front of the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A central hotel, right in front of the railway station. The staff was helpful and efficient. I was proposed a free take away breakfast as I was leaving the hotel very early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Great breakfast, but odd atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and the rooms need renovation. Ringing at the entrance door every time when entering the hotel is an awful concept.

    Great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Breakfast Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is located about 5 minutes walk from the premises and costs about 10 Euro per night. We ordered 2 Deluxe Double Rooms for our family and we received them on the last floor on the side - smaller and darker as it was expected - actually they are the smallest on the whole floor... So bear in mind that there are about 5 good rooms and 2 less good and try to negotiate better one's upfront.

    Hotel situated just across the central train station and quite easy to find both by car and train. There is a small place for luggage unload. Large Breakfast area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location, parking not included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertises parking. Parking is actually in the public multi story 7mins walk away. Guests get a discount, but still, it is not free parking as the advertisement leads you to believe.

    Good location, close to the Christmas markets. Rooms are sound proofed so slept like an absolute baby!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    1. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Considering the price, I am not sure if this was my best option. But maybe it was in a higher price since it was Christmas vacation—the peak season. 2. Although all staff were very friendly and helpful which I appreciate, it was a minus that one of the staff made a mistake on our check-in— mistaking another guest and her room with ours, despite that we had different first and last names... it was not a good first impression, making me have doubts of the hotel’s professionalism.

    1. Excellent location. Just a couple of min. by foot from the train station. You can literally see the hotel from the station. 2. Breakfast was okay. Simple. 3. Friendly and helpful staff. It was Christmas season and we hadn’t made dinner reservations before our arrival. We had trouble having dinner at restaurants and we were impressed to see one of the staff trying her best to call and find available restaurants. 4. Quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Room is clean and Bed is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some noisy from outside and from neighbors. I stayed 5 floor.

    Room is clean and Bed is comfortable. Location is very good to look around in Strassbour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.8
    It was a pain to sleep in their matress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Breakfast Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was extremelly hard not confortable at all and I could handly sleep with so much back pain. It was a nightmare! The hotel is noisy and the price is to high for the lack of quality offered. I certainly won't stay in this hotel again and I do not recommend to anyone especially holder people.

    A couple of staff members at the reception were very nice and the breakfast was ok, nothing special but just ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and the bathroom/toilet of the room is not in the entrence of the room but it is somehow inside the room by the bed. so it is a bit weird. No carpets on the floor and light in the room is not enough. No english channels. The check in time was at 3 p.m. which I think is a bit late. I think it is expensive for what you get.

    Very good location in front of the train station and close to the main attractions. The staff in the reception helped a lot with the train timetables and some information.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel near station at Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were not particularly sound proofed. Could hear noisy people next door

    Good sized room but had to pay extra for a deluxe room. Would anticipate room would be small otherwise. Good breakfast but limited hot food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is near by center and train station.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly stuff, even if I asked, nobody told me where to park my car, so I had to pay a lot. Old furniture, not very clean.

    Hotel is near by center and train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    It's really close to the train station and not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corner of the wall is broken and they don't provide toothpaste.

    It's really close to the train station and not far from the central city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Great for Xmas shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by car, there is a public parking lot about 200m from hotel. Room was spacious enough, well heated, nice comfortable bed, nice warm bathroom, pleasant after staying outside in the cold for hours. Breakfast was good. Very good location, close to everything, walking a few minutes to reach old town and X-mas market.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Breakfast Included
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't control the heater as it's a central heating system, it was to hot in the evening and gets ok later during the night when the heating system was off

    Was upgraded to a suit which was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Well-located, well-managed, comfortable, affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We deliberately opted for a small inexpensive room. The room we were assigned was indeed small but it had a large window and was quiet, well-equipped and comfortable. And the buffet breakfast is good, complete and well-managed. We feel that our small room was very reasonably priced.

    "Le Grand Hotel" faces Strasbourg's main railway station. In many cities that would be a poor location but in Strasbourg it is a very good location for several reasons: the large "Place de la Gare" has little traffic and much sunlight; there are many nice hotels on the "Place de la Gare" and, increasingly, nice restaurants near-by; access to Strasbourg's excellent network of highspeed trams is very easy; and the historic center is only 15 minutes away on foot. Our room was well-equipped, clean and comfortable; the heating, shower, safe, lighting, mini-bar, etc. were all fully fuctional The hotel has a contemporary look and feel. Staff were quick and helpful. The buffet breakfast is complete, good and well organized.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    If I could get more sleep, it would be 10/10 :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows were oriented to the station side. It was very noisy, motorcycle race at 3 am, then pavement cleaning starts at 4.30 am etc. Every sound was so loud, probably amplified by the circle of buildings around the station square. I lived on the 5 floor, perhaps other premises are more quiet.

    The room was very nice - antique windows, wardrobe, heating system, door elements, BUT new and very comfortable bed, bathroom, big flat TV, wifi. It was very warm and cosy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with decent free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were both a bit dark as they lacked lighting. It was also noisy on some occassions due to cars honking angrily out on the street. But this noise died down as it got later in the evening.

    Hotel is right across the Strasbourg train station, and is close to the tram lines headed to the center. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. Rate was affordable, and we got a decent free breakfast of croissants, scrambled eggs, and sausages too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location, easy to find the hotel. If you arrive by train, hotel is just in front of the station with few minutes walk. Easy to access to center, about 20 mins walk. Nice room with comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went of at 00:30am, and at 4.30am. We had to evacuate twice, and then freezing outside in the cold for more than an hour. The staff only spoke French in the beginning of the incident leaving most of the people unaware of what to do. The escape doors did not open during the second evacuation. They acknowledged that it was a mechanical failure, which in my understanding means that it was their fault since they obviously did not get the fire alarms checked properly. I couldn’t get a proper rest before driving home in the morning, making it quite dangerous to drive home. They obviously charged full price and considering that I couldn’t sleep one minute it was a terrible stay, NEVER go there. They apologized in the morning with a glass of wine....

    Very central location, some of the staff members are really friendly and nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    The room was clean and quite for being in front of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is too small and it is not renovated. Also the room was barely OK in terms of size, but the carpet and the overall look was definitely quite old. For the price paid, I think you can find more modern hotels in the area.

    The room was clean and quite for being in front of the railway station where there are normally a lot of people. The access and the service was good. Also the facility to park the car in one of the railway station with a discount is a good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Recommend the Grand Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room - Breakfast included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was OK

    Very convenient hotel across from the Strasbourg Central Railway Station. The hotel is secure and the staff are quite efficient in their work and welcoming of the guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems old and worn - the breakfeast room has no warmth or character. I feel we could have found a better alternative.

    The location suited us well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room Breakfast included
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid 20 euro guarantee. We didn't find this rule in other place.

    Good breakfast. You can serve the breakfast inside also outside in the garden where you find a cozy garden. Thus, the room were very nice, wide TV. The hotel is near the railway station. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Le Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: