Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Grand Hotel 3 stars

17 Quai De Tassigny, 34200 Sète, France

#3 of 14 hotels in Sète

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were miserable. Not really helpful at all. Rooms were small. Adequate but needed some new fluffy white towels and little things like shampoo and conditioner. Rooms could do with a fresh coat of paint.

    Loved the beautiful courtyard in the hotel. Amazing. Breakfast fantastic. Location very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting throughout the hotel is by a local artist and I just wish they kept the lights on at all times to admire the art work and stunning interiors.

    Staff are wonderful, helpful and charming. Interiors are exceptional, cosy and warm as well as spacious and discrete. A beautiful renovation. The property is within excellent reach of the local market and centre-ville, whilst being just 9 minutes from the TGV station from Paris and Nimes. With an exceptional restaurant and bar, this is a class of it’s own. Perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not particularly cheap for what it is, but well worth it.

    Great location along the quayside in Sete, close to dozens of good restaurants, with a beautiful internal covered courtyard, and a good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    WARNING ! We parked our motorcycle in the hotel's secure car park (reason why we chose the hotel). When it came time to leave, we noticed that about 20 or so pieces of broken glass right in front of and behind our tyres, and which didn't seem to be there when we arrived. Luckily we spotted and removed the glass before we set off, otherwise we could/would have ended up with a puncture or even worse a blow out. We got home safely but it made for a very nervous/anxious day on the bike.

    Nice hotel, fantastic location, great room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the impressive central lobby area, and a good location, this hotel just seemed to be just missing some basic amenities and or luxuries that you would expect for the money. For example, the shower is not one you can stand under, and there is no cubicle or curtain, it's just one that is plumbed into the taps, and there is a holder at waist height. It looks like it is going to be luxury when you see the photos of the lobby, and learn there is a Michelin listed restaurant on site, but somehow it was basic. Breakfast was basic and there was hardly any sign of staff anywhere. Weak and horrible coffee from a machine. In general toiletries and other extras were pretty much non existent too. Pared back to the minimum.... All in all just felt very dissapointing.

    Impressive central lobby area, good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely side view of the the canal that we were not expecting. The refurbishment of the room and all the public areas was very tastefully done. We loved having breakfast in the beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A charming French hotel in classical style with interior covered courtyard. An excellent central location! Great views! Fabulous croissants at breakfast. Really helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little weak

    Very convenient, outside the city walls but easy driving access out of the city and to the key sights in the town on foot

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - hotel has nothing to do with other grand hotels we experienced - shower was leaking in the bathroom so the bathroom floor was all the time flooded, i used up all the towels to secure the flood - room was next to some staff entrance and the door was very noisy and opened all the time, strongly disturbed in sleeping - breakfast for 11 EUR where you get basically nothing (1 crossant and coffie and be careful if you take an egg as then you need to pay 2,5 EUR extra, i just wonder how they monitor those tiny extras) - staff while checking-in encouraged us to take breakfast but did not explained that it is so limited with extra costs (we have finally decided not to have breakfast in the hotel) - very tiny room and nothing special (let down comparing to photos on the website) - side street without a view is quite noisy - storage of the suitcases is not guarded, you just leave them under the stairs hall on your own risk

    + location of the hotel + decoration of the hotel hall

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel breakfast and menu was over priced imo. Overall the hotel was probably a little expensive for what it is.

    The room was quite small but was a reasonable 3* standard. The actual hotel building is beautiful. The local town has excellent restaurants near by and we both really liked Sete as a nice little stop off point for a couple of days.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and fabulous decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was expensive at 11€ for what was offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant evening meal rather bland.

    Good location, very helpful staff, good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom especially attractive, modern and clean. Designer touches throughout the hotel were very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location architecture and style.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms got a bit hot at night.

    The beautiful decor and art work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Patio

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking lot is very small.

    Central place, fine restaurant. Upgraded to a better room due to works at the backside of the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    The hotel was ok staff unhelpful parking horrendous never again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, great location. For a solo traveller it was just perfect :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been better

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find a fault with this Hotel

    A properly run place. Sets a high standard.Great Location and safe parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was amazing, very well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't eat there

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superbly helpful staff. Fantastic balcony canal view. Divine decor. Excellent Resturant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking garage terrible!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was not worth the money

    The outsideview and the design

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, our room had a view straight down the canal. The air conditioning worked well The breakfast was good and in the evening the beer was cold Fab food in the restaurant, maybe a bit pricey, but delicious Parking is a bit tight but we drive an MPV

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, maybe the 4-5 steps to the front desk?

    The room with a dead center view of the canal is breath taking. The beds were firm with very nice bedding and a bathtub for my before dinner bubble baths-heavenly! We left the French doors open to hear the birds and the little bit of early morning bustle, Sete has beautiful views and lots of restaurants and shops, it is a working seaport so you feel part of that. The hotel is located for you to walk about. Breakfast was well worth it, and great coffee.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very central and the view from the balcony was fantastic looking over the canals. Would definitely stay here again. Loved the hotel and its decorations.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Indifferent welcome and inattentive service.

    Good location on the quay. Happy for us to bring our muddy bikes into the reception area. Impressive common parts.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom a little tired but reflected in the price

    The architecture was fabulous in the main areas. The inner courtyard where we ate breakfast had a fabulous ambiance

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole place smelled bad, fusty and of human bodies, though not in the room. The central well had peeling railings which were also very low and in our opinion posed a hazard to health. The room itself was okay, rather sparsely furnished (no carpets), and with a view that was just about passable. The garage was a nightmare to get into and out of, though otherwise fine: a narrow passage led into it from the busy main street and we got used to squeezing our Audi A4 through it. The staff were okay but not excessively friendly. Generally, the place needs a good renovation.

    The location of the hotel is perfect and it is an interesting old building. The attached restaurant (Quai 17?) is also rather good if a little expensive. Breakfast was good and internet facilities were fine.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the staff professional but not overly friendly. The parking area was very tight to get in and out of. If we had had a wider car, it would have been very difficult to manouver

    The view from the window was of the canal which was great. The hotel interior was shabby chic and had some very interesting furniture and ornaments

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the free wi fi did come and go a bit.

    Charming hotel and staff. Allowing bicycles in the lobby was cool. The allocated parking for cars gives you the same spot for the duration of your stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were warmly greeted by the staff and the check-in and check-out process was very smooth. The hotel is gorgeous and extremely well-situated. The continental breakfast was quite elaborate and of high quality.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room size, but it is typically French.

    Great location on the canals. Close to restaurants and bars. Staff were helpful. Some great art in the public spaces and a nice restaurant if you don't want to go anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had to hold the shower overhead while standing in the bath.

    The views along the canals from the window, friendly staff at the desk always willing to help , great location,

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed for a private function which was not advised either when we made the reservation or when we checked in. Unfortunately in January there was not a great selection of restaurants open in the town itself. The bed was not very comfortable as it sagged in the middle and I had advised the hotel that I required a firm bed because of back problems. The car park was a rather seedy, unlit location, when we arrived, for which we were charged €10.

    The bathroom was very clean and well presented although the shower screen allowed the escape of water partially flooding the floor.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average at best

    Suite room size, bathroom

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The quirkiness of the art & the atrium hall

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have stayed here before and we're happy with everything including " old world charm"

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed a bidet, proper shower and a kettle or coffee machine.

    Comfortable room, fantastic view and location.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic views from balcony, staff very friendly, close to many restaurant s would certainly return

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lobby area smelt of sewage.

    Location was good. Had a very good meal in their restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful architecture of the hotel. Good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the entrance. The breakfast restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Building and room

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful atrium, attractive artwork, lovely building. Staff very helpful. Location right on thecanalside in the center of the old town was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning not powerful enough.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and friendly staff. Parking on request - definitely request as its then only 50m away

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Superb old building with central atrium. excellent restaurant. great location within the town

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free parking available onsite.

    Well located and grand old building

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel, takes you back in time. Good central location

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our large corner room with 4 balconies looking straight up the canal

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location to wander around Sete

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bel endroit. Bien localisé. Personnel accueillant.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was expensive for the room

    Location and beautiful building

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A beautiful room with a view of the canal.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast choices are limited for the cost

    The location and the interior decor

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fitness center.

    Near to the city and the staff is very costomer frendly. Near to the Sea

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no seperate shower and no heating in bathroom

    very pet friendly,quirky decor but nice,close to town

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi too slow for Skype. Wind go through windows and door.

    Excellent bath tube and bed. A convenient location.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: