Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Morand

1 Rue Morand, 76000 Rouen, France

#26 of 35 hotels in Rouen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 772 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    4.2
    The location was okay but I have stayed in better locations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to climb 3 flights of stairs with our suitcases. The bed was higher at the feet than the head. There was a very sharp spot on the bottom of the headboard were it was broken. The place was dirty. There was a spider wed , complete with spider and all of the flies that it has caught, in the bathroom. The web was still there after the room had supposedly been cleaned twice. It was very noisy from the street below and we had to keep our window open because it was hot and there was no fan. The shower was very small and the water changed temperature regularly during showers.

    The location was okay but I have stayed in better locations with more convenient parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    5.4
    Great location but impossible parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was awful even on the motorbikes and it was 18 euro overnight in the local underground car park. we struggled to get to the car park due to the local area, road work and imposed one way streets even with an up to date satnav. The hotel rooms could of been cleaner ( 2 x upstairs) although the beds were OK.

    Breakfast was OK and the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Morand suited my needs on this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned in my previous review the addition of tea and coffee making facilities in the lounge during the day would be a bonus

    As mentioned in my precious review the location was walking distance from the train station. I stayed overnight on my way to Paris.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.3
    A useful location not far from the station at a reasonable price. Worth considering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs, no lift. Shower, basin and toilet cubicle was quite small. It would be a great advantage if tea and coffee could be served in the lounge during the day - it is not available in the room.

    Walking distance from the station. In a quiet street. Very close to the Musee des Beaux Arts and adjacent park. Friendly and helpful staff. Basic inexpensive accommodation. Has a pleasant breakfast area and a lounge room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.8
    Charming but charm is not necessarily enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation is basic and quite a lot of redecoration and modernisation is needed and could be done without destroying the character of the public space. I like the idea of an old-fashioned place but this hotel is no more than quaint.

    The location is convenient. The hotel is quiet. The breakfast is fine. The place is quaint.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.1
    in spite of my remarks I will likely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom in a closet within the room and difficult to move around. Not enough space to close the door. Had to climb over the toilet to reach the sink. The hotel in the midst of renovation so I think the situation might improve. But not sure how they'll fix being able to hear hotel neighbors through the walls.

    Bedding clean, continental breakfast generous. Location convenient to local park and museum. Food and train not far away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    As always it is the staff that make the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old building and so the sound of the running water was loud but... it is as described.

    As always it is the staff that make the difference. Hotel Morand is an old building and that was apparent from the pictures. Everything worked and it is close to the station and the Musee de Beaux Arts and Cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager? He was unfriendly and unhelpful. Did not offer to help carry luggage to bedroom which would have been appreciated as both needed sticks. Hotel had no parking. Had to use an underground carpark about 10 mins walk away and added another 15euros to the bill.

    The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. We did have our room changed to one on the 1st floor which was necessary as we both need sticks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Run down hotel fallen on hard times?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms did not have ensuite facilities and all through the night other residents were using the shared toilet which made sleeping difficult because of the noise. We stayed two nights and on the last night, in the room next door, a couple were engaged in what sounded like very noisy sex and after they talked at the top of their voice for at least one or two hours. Then someone was being sick in the shared toilet. We were left wondering whether the hotel had fallen on hard times and was not particular about its clients. We did not take breakfast or evening means in the hotel so cannot comment on the standard or meals. Just pay more and stop at one of the big chain hotels.

    The location of the hotel is excellent within walking distance of the centre on Rouen. It could not be better in this respect. Best parking is in a nearby underground car park (palais de justice) though quite expensive at around 17-18 euros per day but it is secure. Our room was typical old French with lots of beams and timber. It had an ensuite which was quite good. Our room was quite inexpensive at around 60 euros per night including ensuite bathroom. The room itself was not too bad (could almost be described as having French charm but see our comments on what we did not like).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.8
    Cheap but dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's very dated. Stains,scratches,lack of paint,malfunctioning light bulbs,super tired wall paper,etc. It was a bit sad. Strong smell of bleach meaning a good a attempt to keep clean but it was so old that it was difficult to appreciate I would pay a bit more next time and stay on another place

    Location was very good and it was cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.1
    Thank you to Yani for making me feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being on the upper floors. The staircase was a bit of a mission with my suitcase. Very small shower space - I think a big person would have great difficulty showering.

    Helpful staff, especially Yani - who was charming, friendly, kind and helpful. Good value for money overall and an easy walk to the train station and the sights of Rouen. Good breakfast - very generous sized pots of tea/coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.5
    A bit run- down in a very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very old and everything is a bit run-down and shabby. The bathroom was not nice. There was a strong chlorine smell from the cleaning when we arrived, which was later replaced by a strong sewage smell coming from the toilet.

    The location is fantastic and staff was very friendly and English-speaking. The common areas and the breakfast are very nice. We had a three-bed room which had plenty of space for our baby-bed. The hotel has an arrangement with a nearby parking garage. You can park your car there for about 8.50 € per day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    This was a stop over for us on the way to Calais definately worth a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything good. Our only problem is we have a dog and they don't have animals.

    The original nature and furnishings of the hotel-it had that beautiful old French feeling. Fantastic staircase to take you up to bedrooms. We were OK on first floor, but higher would be difficult because my partner has a bad back and climbing stairs difficult. Breakfast cold continental but plenty of it, great coffee, selection of teas and no hurry to get you to finish it quickly, very leisurely. Underground parking very close. Right in Centre of areas of interest, great variety of local restaurants and bars. Want to come back to explore more locally.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Loved the feel of the hotel - a charming historic building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the feel of the hotel - a charming historic building with an excellent location near the beaux arts museum, station and centre of Rouen. Slept very well, very clean and such friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for the price and one night in beautiful Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit small and lumpy. Noisy early from people leaving in the morning

    The location is fantastic. The breakfast was great and well worth paying for/getting at the hotel. The staff were very helpful. Nice historic looking building. Perfectly good for a short stay in Rouen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.4
    Just about acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it was an old building but the bathroom floor felt like it was going to collapse and the walls were mouldy. Nothing had been maintained since last century.

    The location was convenient for sightseeing and choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    4.6
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Renovation is really required. Condition of the rooms is unsatisfactory. Pictures were taken ages ago I think.

    Location is good. Right in the center. 50 discount for undeground parking located close to the hotel. Breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    6.3
    Ok, but needs improving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet and shower need improving. It said it was renovated but in my opinion it still requires a lot of work. It also said there was parking but it was only in the street, We were lucky to be there on Sunday and didn't have to pay.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great.A shame we could not have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a little tricky. But hotel is in the center of the town.

    Breakfast was simple but tasty and plenty. Bed very comfortable. Hotel is quirky and fun. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    5.8
    Pet friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not hotel parking, there is a public parking near the hotel but we couldn't use it because we had a roof box so the parking wasn't big enough... no elevator

    Pet friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    5.0
    Terrible place. Thread bare, tatty and unloved. I have stayed in better hostels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dark and eerie with thread bare carpets. We had to climb a very a steep spiral staircase, with a rickety banister which would be illegal under building regulations, to the third floor. There were no obvious fire escapes. I like quirky,old buildings full of character as much as anyone but this was dangerous. The beds were so uncomfortable we did not get any sleep.

    Nothing. It was more like a shabby hostel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    4.2
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconvenient parking, reception area was untidy, the single room was very small and difficult for someone who is quite tall. Double room had no tea and coffee facilities but the single one did? Furniture and interior was very outdated in the rooms and lounge. No lift facility.

    Good central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    7.9
    Comfy stay in town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower cubicle really really small and pipes went through or around the room so very noisy at times.

    Bed really comfy and hotel right near the centre of town!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    6.3
    OK OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was old building need to repair. Person walking above you can be listen easily, it was old so you can feel little bit smell in the toilet

    Staff was good, room was big.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    5.8
    I saw better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finally I would rather not recommend this place. Despite all the “old-fashionnes” and very central location it is just a very old dusty thing. At least not for a family stay. Nothing extremely bad but quite many little gotches here and there. Staff smokes in some of the internal premises which is notable in the lobby and nearby rooms. The old kettle in the room which turns on on its own in the middle of the night. Beds were not super comfortable. Several things like this. We didn't check breakfast, just because in France it's normally not worth it.

    This said, nothing extremely bad, and, taking into account the money we paid for it, this place can be an acceptable choice for some travelers. Our room was quite big and we had everything which you normally expect to have in this kind of a hotel. We were given a bed for the little one etc. So it is rather the overall impression which makes me rate it low, than something very particular. If you travel by car, the closest and cheapest parking is at the railway station (10€/24h). Some others in the city center are as high as 17€/24h.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    7.9
    It was a typical Rouen hotel, we didn’t expect anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a typical Rouen hotel, we didn’t expect anything else. The rooms were nice and cozy and the reception staff was very lovely. The location is perfect in every way - close to the train station and super central, yet quiet!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    Very kind stuff, authentical french atmosphere, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very kind stuff, authentical french atmosphere, excellent location just near the city center. Definitelly recommend it for living during touristic trip!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    5.4
    Rouen Amazing - unfortunately the Hotel Morand is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room. If you are over 5' 10 you'd never fit.

    Wanted a quaint hotel when staying in Rouen, and I got it. The attic room up three flights of stairs, with a door that reminded me of somethough of Alice in Wonderland (had about a third of it cut off to fit) was a bit unnerving.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    6.7
    Good location, a lot of character, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park is not FREE! Even though it says free parking on their website... Don't be surprised when they will ask you to pay 40 euros at the end of your weekend stay (and apparently it's with very good discount). Having in mind we asked at the reception upon arrival if the car park will be free and got the answer as YES...very unpleasant conversation ant the end of the stay with different member of staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.1
    Great internet connection and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Keeping the water temperature at the shower was not possible (fifth floor). For some people not having an elevator might be a problem.

    Great internet connection and location. Building looks authentic (and old).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    6.7
    The location is Great the best thing about hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love places with character and quirky features but some how I felt that they almost used that as an excuse..like oh well this a quirky old building.

    The location is Great the best thing about hotel. The price was very reasonable. Th estaff was friendlybut not very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    5.8
    Avoid this hotel until it is updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very old hotel and in need of renovation/update. We could hear conversations and steps from people above our room as well as people in the room next to us ... The room had a "very old" feeling and we could not sleep the two nights we were there ...

    Staff was very pleasant and breakfast plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    6.7
    Great location but not so clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean. The facilities had obvious signs of wear and tear. Photos not quite representative of our rooms at least.

    Excellent location near the historical city centre. Staff very friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    Great visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit tricky nearby meaning you have to pay for the underground car park - that is very close however and not too expensive.

    Lovely breakfast and very warm and welcoming staff. Fantastic location in the centre of Rouen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.9
    Excellnet location for exploring the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're after all the mod cons, this is not the hotel for you. The room was clean but old fashioned; the bathroom had seen better days but was clean.

    Excellent location for exploring the old part of Rouen. Parking was easy in the large underground Palais de Justice car park directly opposite (17.50E for 24hrs). The man on the reception was extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    7.1
    useful overnight stop on the long car journey from the French Alps to the Channel port of Dieppe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    State of decor, especially the stairs where some stair rods were loose, left something to be desired. Having said that it was a fairly old building where shabbiness is part of the period charm and the prices (given its city centre location) represented reasonable value for money overall.

    Nice selection for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, close to the center of the town.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the toilet was to small, could hardly fit in. Breakfast is to simple for the money you pay for it.

    Nice location, close to the center of the town. Nice old building and friendly staff, the room was clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    Cheap accomodation near the old part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floors creek a lot and the shower has a hand held shower nozzle; bathroom and shower are old - could do with a proper coat of paint parking is on the street or an underground carpark nearby

    great location for exploring the historical part of Roeun lovely old staircase helpful staff bed was comfortable and the room quite large

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    5.8
    Faded glory and faded receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is obviously one of those " faded glory " hotels. Walls in corridors and stairwells very grubby. Furniture in lounge looks very worn and dated. The noise of showering and toilet flushing from above was unbelievably loud . The most cramped shower / toilet /bathroom I've ever used. Think it would be better to have a larger shared bathroom rather than trying to cram it all into the corner of the room.

    Having a double bed to myself .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, but not very new
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old building, old rooms with old furniture, not very clean. And very dirty and smelly bathroom curtains.

    The location is great. Just next to the Musée des beaux-arts de Rouen. Close to the Rouen Cathedral, shopping area, restaurants and bars. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. Towels and bed linen were very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel reserved a stay price on my credit card and after a month the transaction is not cleared yet.

    A nice hotel with character. The rooms are pretty basic but give you the atmosphere of the 19th century.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    4.6
    Unsuitable for those with mobility problems
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room WC Outside
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems. Booked well in advance and requested ground floor room because stairs are a difficulty for me. Given room on third floor (no lifts) and had to share WC on landing. Was told I should have contacted the hotel directly and told not to rely on information from Booking.com.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    7.9
    Character hotel in Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about for this type of old character hotel. Just fine.

    Hotel is a short walk from the train station and the centre of Rouen. Great location. The hotel is in an old building but the room was updated. There are still the exposed beams at the high ceiling, giving an old character feel. Good size room. Bathroom usually is a problem for this type of hotel but this one works fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    7.5
    Cute old hotel is good value. Discounted parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spiral stairs can be tricky. There are doors on the landings so if someone opens the door you could be launched down the stairs.

    Location is good to see town attractions. The building is old and charming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    7.5
    Excellently located to all major attractions in old center of Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was comfy enough but a duvet should be used instead of wool blanket under the sheets. Lights in attic room could be brighter.

    The location is superb, in a very good neighborhood near the Picasso museum.10 min to center of old Rouen with lovely half timbered buildings galore.Very close to Train station too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    7.1
    Budget Accommodation with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk clerk was apathetic and didn't give you a run down of the hotel unless prompted several times.

    Budget accommodation- excellent location, parking is around the block, underground and up to 12 euro per day. You need a separate wifi access code for each device, there is no lift, and it has a unique circular staircase. It had all you need for basic comfort and a nice sitting room on ground level. We were out all day and we're just sleeping there so it was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    4.6
    Sad, old place - you can do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a sad, old hotel that needs serious renovation. While it had all the amenities, the room was poorly furnished and bathroom was pretty awful. Towels were old and gray, no shower curtain and shower head leaked.

    Location, very close walk to the train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Blankets on the beds had seen better days would rather have seen clean duvet

    Quirky decor, great location within a few mins walk of all the sites in this wonderful lod city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location for visiting a very attracting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neither of the following should be considered negatives; just what one should expect if wanting to stay at a central location in a medieval city and have a car. Not surprisingly, onstreet parking in such an 'way before automobiles' city is not easily found. However, the hotel is only a block away from the Palais de Justice/Musée des Beaux-Arts underground parking garage where we left our car for the entirety of our stay. There is no elevator and we had to climb three flights of steps on a circular stairway. It was not a problem for us as we don't mind the exercise. Just a heads up for those who would find that challenging.

    Tremendous location. A couple of minutes walk to the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen (excellent) and within short walking distance of many, many important sites. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were quite happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.3
    Old, but cheap and turned out fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be prepared to carry your luggage up a spiral staircase.

    We were a little worried at first because the hotel is old and a little run down. But the staff is very friendly and helpful. The bed was reasonably comfortable. It was clean. It is close to walk to the attractions. Free parking Ina garage across the street. We stopped in and got a parking pass at the front desk before checking in so we could get parked first since there isn't anywhere on the road. One person may have to run in while the others stay in the car. It was a cheap price, so don't expect luxury. But if you need a cheap place, this will work.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful location within easy walking distance of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and shabby, but it has a lot of charm. It could use a coat of paint everywhere.

    From the hotel, we could walk everywhere -- to the train station, the historical sights, the River Seine, restaurants, churches, and parks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    7.1
    Excellent central location, good price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building/rooms/furniture are a bit old. It contributes however to the old style of the hotel

    Excellent central location, good price/quality ratio

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was clean and the receptionist was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The GPS coordinates for the hotel were wrong putting an hour onto our journey the coordinates were out by 44 degrees.

    The Gentleman on reception was very good. He paid for the underground parking due to the inconvenience of the wrong GPS coordinates.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    9.2
    Very old, atmospheric building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unsure if there are rooms for families, we had to share 2 2-person rooms. A baby bed or similar would not have fit. To be expected though given its age.

    Very old, atmospheric building. Do not expext standardised anonymous rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    7.5
    Hotel is in down town, close to all attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is very old and not well cleaned.

    Hotel is in down town, close to all attractions and restaurants. Staff was very nice. At breakfast hotel offers fresh croissants, bred, cottage cheese and jam.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful period villa furnished with authentic french character and charm. Soon felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To provide enough sun loungers and cushions for all guest.

    Beautiful period villa furnished with authentic french character and charm. Soon felt like home. Felt Secluded yet only 2 min walk to a great village shop and small restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    2.5
    Don't stay here unless you're crazy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The hotel was grubby dark dingy, unhelpful , misinformed, don't ever stay here you'd be better on the pavement or your car. It's in a graffiti ridden hell hole. Go anywhere but here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    7.1
    Location great but find another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is public underground parking with high restrictions - we have a VW van and could not get under. It was also very expensive. The breakfast was probably the worse I have ever had in any hotel ever. It cost just under 9 euros each and consisted of a cold croissant, bread roll, jam, butter and a luke warm pot of coffee. There were no plates to eat off and the tea pot that the coffee was served in had no lid. During our stay we only saw 2 members of staff.

    The location was fantastic. When we arrived the reception was closed with a sign saying check in 4pm - 7pm. We arrived at 12.30pm and the only member of staff on site was the cleaner. She did everything in her power to answer the many questions we had - I don't speak French and she didn't speak English so we used google translate. When needed she made a phone call to gain some clarity on the parking. This lady is the best thing the hotel has. There was tea and coffee making in the room. The shower was lovely and hot. The hotel was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2016

    2.9
    This is a poor hotel and very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one at reception at 19.30 The room was basic and dark. The bed was uncomfortable The internet did not work. The TV did not work. There was not parking as stated online

    nothing. I would never stay here again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    4.6
    Avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty and dated

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.6
    Would never stay there again or recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking

    Short walk to centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, good location, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were outworn

    Very friendly staff, good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    The staff, the location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could be cleaner

    The staff, the location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good.

    Food was great and parking convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    3.8
    Black mould in the bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Black mould in the bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Appreciated reasonably-priced accommodations in downtown Rouen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building, on a narrow street, with parking a bit difficult.

    The fading charm of a traditional French hotel, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn’t stay there again not as advertised on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Close to Rouen's tourist sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking in cities are a problem.

    Great location. Quaint with period antique furnishings. Shabby chic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking although it advertises parking

    The location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great short stay apart from the weather. Rouen is a lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no negatives

    Breakfast was very good value and filling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel correct, bien situé.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel correct, bien situé.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room WC Outside
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Separate bathroom

    Receiption

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good croissant and very good bed!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fine. A bit of renovation of the hotel would not be too bad :)

    Good croissant and very good bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    4.6
    Noope
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room WC Outside
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like room.it's worst.

    Nope

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Morand Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: