Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Moulin de Lourmarin 3 stars

Rue du Temple, 84160 Lourmarin, France

#8 of 14 hotels in Lourmarin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was the worst I ever had had. I asked a small table because there wasn't a desk. I couldn't work without a desk or a small table. She refused categorically, although there were plenty of small tables in the hotel. This is the first hotel who refused to give me a small table to work on. Usually they tried to find something, because I need only just one afternoon or evening. She was not at all friendly and not to try to help me for my small roller bag and extremely unpleasant All she said was that each room is different and decorated in Provence style. What I need most when choosing a hotel is that the staff are kind and do their best to make very comfortable the guest's stay. The room was very small So when I told her the room is very small, the only thing she did was to try to sell me a room with a higher rate. Really disgusting. It was very expensive for what it is.

    The location was good, not far from th<te center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was an old olive mill building and it was very welcoming and interesting. The staff were excellent. We ate at the restaurant one night, the food was very good but quite expensive. The location in the village makes it very easy to walk everywhere. The rooms were a good size with the toilet separate from the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather was hot 26 C and air conditioning had been turned off for the season. This meant opening a window at night was the only option,resulting in some night noise ....especially due to Friday market set up starting very early!

    Fantastic location in the centre of the village. Weather was hot 26 C and air conditioning had been turned off for the season, which meant opening a window was the only option,resulting in some night noise ....especially

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Restaurant was closed on the two nights we did stay in the moulin.

    Big, room. Location very good, close to all restaurants and bars. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd like a handle on the wall in the shower over the bath and slid proof footing in the bath pleaseimp

    The atmosphere the spaciousness and overall cleanliness and interior comfort .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tasty breakfast, just a little expensive though.

    Very good value for the price, comfy beds, nice interior, perfectly located in the middle of the village,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little. As English traveller we always prefer tea and coffee making facilities in the room, however, by their absence, probably forced us sooner into town to explore the perfect setting and the lovely cafes.

    In keeping with a beautiful location, the hotel was finished to a high standard with many original features. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious and well equipped with comfortable facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite curt and not warm, although they were reasonably professional in dealing with us.

    The hotel is very beautiful, has character and charm. It is located within walking distance from a few restaurants - but they do not open too early so you will need to consider having breakfast at the hotel if you want an early breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas dark Stairs can be an issue (see review). I would ask ahead in the future

    The facility is quirky as it was an oil mill in the 1800's. not all rooms are accessible by elevator. Mine I had to climb "turret" stairs. If that is an issue, be sure to ask when you do your booking. Facility is perfectly located and staff lovely. Room was quite large as there was a lounge room as well. That area did not have great lighting .... all in all, I quite enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly and professional staff. The perfect match of the original building with the careful and very artistic refurnished interior. The dining room is an absolute must! Very pleasant ambiance in a charming little village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door locks at some point at night and you might be locked temporarily outside. We had our keys exchanged and the new ones didn't come with the code to open the door at night. We solved the problem by calling to the telephone number and they gave us the code.

    Location, staff, room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing not to like - if you have lots of bags you'd want a room on Chateau side rather than village - but that's all.

    This is a perfect stay right in the centre of lovely Lourmarin. The service has been superb and rooms spacious and well designed. Extra touches by excellent restaurant staff just added icing on the cake.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We haven't found anything yet!!!

    We have stayed here many times over the last 9 years. The location in the town is great, super view of the Luberon and Lourmarin castle from the front rooms. The staff are always lovely and friendly. This is the first time we have eaten in the restaurant for a while (closed on the last few occasions)...it was excellent. Really good standard of cooking and the evening meal (with local Édouard Loubet wines) was excellent! The building is part of a fabulous old mill which we love and the summer garden restaurant is great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes finding a parking is not the easiest of tasks...

    The staff went out of their way to accomodate us. We could check out late. First night arrived late for dinner but they still took our order. Very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor directions (none) as to how to find it in a very busy town with serious driving and parking limitations. If you aren't French or a European of any stripe and familiar with medieval towns with streets made for animals and not cars ... This is a frustrating , not to mention beads of sweat inducing oversight.

    Nice establishment. Sweet location. Good toiletries, great bed and spacious room. Fabulous breakfast...Seriously fabulous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult around arrival time because of all the day tourists filling the town's spaces. Unloading baggage is a bit stressful because you have to block a lane in a 2 lane road.

    The renovations they had done to the old olive mill to make it into a hotel were beautiful. The food and service at the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was incredible. We booked 16 of the 19 rooms in the hotel for a wedding. The staff was incredible in helping us make changes to the rooms, nights, stays, with the billing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property a bit tired for the room rate but not enough to stop a return visit.

    Slightly more shabby than Chic. Good location. Very good food and excellent staff with good communication before and during stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't eat at the restaurant again. There are so many other places near by that it's not a big issue.

    It's location was ideal - steps away from delicious restaurants and activities. The staff was so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the restaurant wasn't open the night of our stay - so we missed out on that. The hotel was very empty - not many guests, so the atmosphere was a little odd - we were the only people at breakfast for example. Probably better when busy.

    When we were late arriving, they called to check we hadn't gotten lost and that we were still on our way, advising us of available parking out the front. The location was great, very central among cafes, restaurants and shops. Room clean, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location in a small French village

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply beautiful. The location is great and the village is gorgeous. We loved everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Superb evening meal in stunning dining room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was on the phone very long when we had a question

    Superb breakfast and lovely setting in beautiful village

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bar in the hotel

    Adam on the front desk was professional and very charming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved this boutique hotel for it's charm, friendly staff and great location in town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Hotel's design is artistic. Toilet is big, good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Our room had splendid view towards the castle. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was over-priced A soft boiled egg would have been nice A proper reading light was needed in the bedroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location too !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey

    the room was charming. bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One healthy bellboy

    1. Location 2. Bed 3. Staff 4. Architecture, style & ambiance 5. Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets permitted. Pretty remote location

    Very upscale with a terrific bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was large and comfortable and the lobby area is very charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff and welcome

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk staff could learn how to smile and be helpful. I speak fluent French, even that was not enough.

    Great location and village to explore surrounding villages of interest.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor facilities in rooms which were small. No wifi, no safe, no gowns, and rather in need of a makeover. Restaurant well below par for the town/region-you can do better in many other places. Does it earn 4*?

    Fabulous location right in the village centre. Pretty building, attractive layout and decor. Parking easy even though no allowed spaces

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our room, the toilet was separated from the bathroom and it did not have a wash basin. That was really weird.

    The location was close to the restaurants in Lourmarin.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor was shabby chic which made walls look dirty. Breakfast not included in price and way too expensive as an extra. No hotel parking but we easily got public parking opposites. Wifi only in public areas.

    Location in village, yet quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wifi connection - router often down, and reception unable to reconnect badly planned shower in bathroom - shower hard to control leading to flooding of the bathroom floor

    convenient position comfortable beds attractive views out over the nearby countryside and the chateau easy parking outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In experience of restaurant staff, waiter did not know how to pour a glass of wine. The price of the breakfast was way too expensive. No sink in the toilet.

    Comfort of the bed. Beautiful location. Food in the restaurant very good (we had the fillet of beef). Would go there again just for the food.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue, it would be nice to have wifi in the room, but it is good in the lounge though. As I mentioned I'm disabled. This hotel is no way suitable for wheelchair's!!

    Love the area of Lourmarin. Plus the hotel is fantastic with a superb restaurant. The staff simply could not do enough for us. As I'm disabled they made sure that our stay was a memorable one.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little worn. Shower was what you get in most small European hotels. Breakfast was marginal.

    We really liked Lourmarin and feel that Le Moulin is a very good option in Lourmarin. It is near restaurants and is part of the village. That makes it worth staying.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking

    Great location super room, lovely town

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant prohibitively expensive

    Location was excellent, lovely area and village, beautiful hotel with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish I had a desk

    Nice room, good breakfast but expensive.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Excellent front desk service. Half pension a reasonably decent deal mainly because the restaurant is so good.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous hotel in a great location. Perfect base for touring Provence. Friendly staff and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi only in the lobby, though intermittengly in our room

    The room and surroundings The restaurant was tops

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi only at the reception and restaurant

    Location perfect, in village centre

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was tricky.

    The beautiful scenery. good staff good size air conditioned room The most wonderful market on Sat ever. The best is Europe!

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No perticularily negative point.

    The overall quality of a holiday hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room; lovely restaurant with excellent meals

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: