Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Petit Trianon 2 stars

56 Bd Victor Hugo, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France

#21 of 24 hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    What a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location. Property beautifully upgraded and comfortable. Preparation, selection and presentation of both dinner and breakfast scaled new culinary heights!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    We have rarely stayed anywhere where we were made to feel more welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of any importance - the decor might not be to everyone’s taste, but that hardly matters!

    The welcome we received was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble, from guiding us into very narrow garage entrance to fetching a bottle of wine when they have no bar or restaurant (except for breakfast) and booking us into a very good restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, perfect location, very polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet door on the top floor should be repaired as it screeched too loud and disrupts all the rest in the room.

    Very clean, perfect location, very polite staff. Know the best restaurants in town. Always ready to give advice on trips, food, anything. The rooms are practically furnished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Cosy, comfortable hotel - really good choice in lovely French town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe some tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But that's a very minor point.

    Centrally located, just a couple of minutes walk from the pedestrian area of town and the seafront, Le Petit Trianon is a cosy, welcoming hotel. The room was airy and pleasant, breakfast was simple but very good and the staff were great, very informative. A really good choice in this lovely town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a window on the street, which got a bit noisy with traffic in the morning.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was simple but comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    A nice and friendly hotel close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people at the hotel gave us lots of suggestions of places to visit while we were in the area. We were able to park on the street but they have an underground parking lot which we could have used, although it is only good for smallish cars.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointing with very strange features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper curtains - flimsy nets which did not block out light. Bathroom had glazed panels around top of cubicle so impossible to go to toilet at night without illuminating whole room!!! Flimsy pillows and hard mattress. Worst night's stay of our whole holiday - impossible to sleep.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Great location & staff; easy access to Basque Country & beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little outdated and small but still totally functional.

    Great location, very convenient and easy to find. Staff extremely nice and helpful (told me where to find free parking).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Very central location, we didn't need the car during our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we couldn't sleep with open windows as the traffic was very loud.

    Very central location, we didn't need the car during our stay in St-Jean-de-Luz. Pretty inner court yard for breakfast in good weather.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice little hotel, very well located within a short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little hotel, very well located within a short walk to the old town and the beach. The lady at reception was extremely helpful in helping with luggage and recommending places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    It could have been so much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking facilities - I had to find a car park over 200 metres away. There is No elevator. Booking.com could have been a lot more forthcoming with its advertising

    Convenient to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Traditional hotel with welcoming owner. Lovely continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited on-site parking available, we had to look for freestreet parking all taken, left car in local car park €38 for 40 hours.

    Traditional French hotel. Madam very helpful and speaks English. Breakfast continental lovelybread and small croissants. Room clean albeit small. 10 mins walk to town and beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.7
    OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into their underground parking is a challenge, rooms are small ,very basic and we paid extra for breakfast that was minimal

    Helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for our family in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground car park not suitable for long cars. Needed 20 mins to find alternative parking in busy area (this did us allow to explore a bit though!)

    Assistance and friendliness of staff. Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff in a traditional pleasantly renovated hotel in a truly special town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an excellent location only 100 yds from the start of the shopping area and a mere 5 mins from the beach, promenade and central square. The staff were very helpful with the parking. The receptionist was concerned about whether our car would fit easily in the small garage and moved her car to allow us to park right outside the hotel. St. Jean de Luz is probably the best small town we've stayed in whilst driving through France to Spain over many years. Smart, interesting, unspoilt, great architecture, shopping, beach and other facilities, but not posh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    A great place to stay in St Jean de Luz
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly small hotel close to everything. I have stayed here many times with other people and dogs. They are always welcoming and I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast...

    Location. Lady at front desk gave us a good advice for local restaurant. She helped to call some restaurants to make a reservation. She speaks good English.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Good safe bicycle store
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good safe bicycle store

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Grear location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a least a five ten minute walk...but free..depending on room there can be a lot of stairs

    Grear location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant 2 star hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant 2 star hotel in an excellent location. Perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Nice room, in city centre, and very pleasant people in charge
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, in city centre, and very pleasant people in charge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely little spot. Great location. Friendly staff and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon didn't work properly. Very hot

    Last minute booking. Pleasantly surprised with the location and cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff, especially Mme Jacq,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially Mme Jacq, Was very helpful. Without her we would have had a difficult time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    This has been the second time we stayed and enjoyed this little faciilaty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Small hotel very pleasant to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy being on a busy road.

    Great little basic hotel, great help from the reception staff sorting our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel within walking distance of centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in very central position with secure on site parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator had carry heavy bags up two floors

    Very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff could not have been more helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff could not have been more helpful with parking cycle storage and local restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Confortable stay, nice rooms, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location and it takes dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's a great place to stay

    Perfect location and it takes dogs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't have a curtain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Confy bed, without any noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to declare.

    Confy bed, without any noise. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Straightforward. Easy to bokk pay and find. Clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine. Bath a bit small shower ok.

    Easy to find. Friendly helpful staff. Garage ok. All arrangements ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice small hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Outdoor courtyard needed attention. Requested balcomy room but not available when we arrived.

    Good location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    delightful little historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mozzies! No hairdryer provided but could borrow at reception.

    Quiet comfortable room overlooking pretty garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed seemed to go up in the middle

    Staff verty friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    No hairdryer or coffee / tea in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer or coffee / tea in room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Ideal for visit to St Jean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent next to centre of town. Car Park. Comfortable, quiet, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Quiet hotel ideally located to explore the town but get away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet hotel ideally located to explore the town but get away from the crowds when you need to.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Close enough to the beach, our room wasn't very big but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close enough to the beach, our room wasn't very big but had a good lay out, great restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    The location was superb, nice and quiet, and the bed was so comfortable. Very friendly staff. Would
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was superb, nice and quiet, and the bed was so comfortable. Very friendly staff. Would highly recommend this great little hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    The ladies at front desk were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was facing the street, so a little noisy as we could hear the cars. If you have a a car - note the parking is very narrow. We had a small b segment hatchback and still had problems getting into the parking, so in the end parked on the street - which is free between 1930-9am.

    The ladies at front desk were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    Parking available but a tight space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom as adequate but a bit tight. Thin walls.

    Parking available but a tight space. Walking distance to everything. Friendly and helpful desk staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable and central to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be a problem. Garage very tight to get into and out of. Left my Duster in the street.

    Very comfortable and central to the town.Nice buffet breakfast and evening refreshments.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    We had a downstairs disabled room which was excellent but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a downstairs disabled room which was excellent but the original room offered which was supposedly a junior suite would have made our review a much lower score. We would stay again at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent helpful reception staff, perfect location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent helpful reception staff, perfect location, very good wifi in the rooms and lots of hot water and good showers Small bit comfortable rooms. Worth getting the junior suite for very little extra money

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Really stylish, I liked the decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast, Wi-Fi worked badly, troubles with parking. No space in the room to hang wet towels and swimsuits

    Really stylish, I liked the decorations. Very friendly staff and excellent location - close to the main promenade and the beach. Rooms are perfectly quiet and pets stay for free

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and welcoming staff who spoke excellent English and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minor inconvenience not being able to leave a key with the reception as it was not 24hr.

    Friendly and welcoming staff who spoke excellent English and offered great info on the area. Very clean and good sized room. Good Wifi. An enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Although we had a top-floor reservation for three, reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of our rooms was newly (and beautifully) renovated; the second appeared to still be on the "to do" list. That said, both rooms were clean and comfortable!

    Although we had a top-floor reservation for three, reception kindly accommodated us in two first-floor rooms, as one of our party had reduced mobility. The breakfast was good value for money and the location was close to the main tourist area.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    This is a lovely small hotel - well located, clean, pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    This is a lovely small hotel - well located, clean, pleasant room, nice bathroom. We did not take breakfast, so cannot address that. Garage parking was convenient when we couldn't find street parking. Our room faced the courtyard which provided a nice outlook. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    8.8
    Good air con/ heating.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Good air con/ heating. Close to all the restaurants and shops. Really good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    The location was excellent, the value was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit small

    The location was excellent, the value was good

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Geraldine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Geraldine...she was a great help and we don't speak French so she was a great help.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendly English speaking staff, decent location, great wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rate changed mid stay adding an extra 30euros per night

    Friendly English speaking staff, decent location, great wifi

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    Hotel clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel clean

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.3
    Convenient, excellent reception, very clean, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park access somewhat restricted

    Convenient, excellent reception, very clean, good value.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Excellent town center location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent town center location. Secure parking

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car park entrance too narrow. Had to park next to police station! Flimsy door between bathroom and bedroom.

    Location, helpful staff. Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were noisy at night from other guests.

    Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.8
    Walking into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking into town.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking

    staff friendliness

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: