Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'Image 4 stars

36 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 13210 Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

#15 of 19 hotels in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife fell coming down the lobby staircase. No hand rail. Severely injured her back and ankle. The final steps are very suspect and should be approached with get care.

    Staff was very friendly. Great resource for the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C in room was weak, at best. Refridgerator wasn't cold. Halls are strangely industrial, and room layout of hotel is odd. The room itself had nice tile floors and a modern, clean bathroom. Large, firm but comfortable bed and plenty of tiles.

    Beautiful garden area with a huge variety of places and ways to sit outside (in the shade, in the sun, on recliners, on cushioned seats with tabkles etc). Lovely pool. This place is all about the garden area. Wonderfully quiet too. Free parking a huge bonus. The entire staff from reception to housekeeping to grounds keepers were all fabulous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making in the room.

    Large room in the old building. The first room we were shown was right next to the breakfast restaurant. When we asked for a quieter room, it was changed without a problem. Location right in town. Great car parking. Easy to drive to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much the same menu in the restaurant throughout our stay, so we did eat out on four nights.

    Excellent and spacious room overlooking garden. Good sized bathroom and excellent service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Horizon Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is worn, tiles on the floor in the room, bar and the restaurant was closed. For 4* hotel with high price we had high expectations. There were no cushins to sit outside although it was sunny and worm. We could not order a glass of vine in hotel...

    Location, garden, parking, turkish bath in the bathroom, suite size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that the pool wasn’t heated at all and couldn’t be used comfortably (not unusual for Europe however).

    Service / staff was outstanding!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed in our room was not comfortable.

    The setting and grounds were great. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Emails were answered promptly and courteously. I left some important medicines and a heat pack behind, and they looked after them for me until I could return to pick them up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as the offerings were too limited and there was nothing on the menu that appealed to me.

    Location was great. Room was very nice. Property is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dated and needed quite a bit of exterior maintenance. Garden needed better looking after. Air con in room struggled. More could be done to encourage guests to eat in hotel. Prices were uncompetitive vs nearby options

    Great location in centre of St Remy De Provence . Room always clean with plenty of towels. Hotel staff friendly and helpful with directions, bar service, room cleaning , printing off info etc. really good check in check out. Mini bar always replenished with complementary water

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but good use of space with great full floor to ceiling large windows to let in plenty of light. Bathroom design could be improved but still workable. Comfy bed, good towels and great having pool towels in your room as well, though didn't use the pool despite the heat. Staff very helpful. Location good. Valet parking great for their onsite underground parking. Bar area nice with live music whilst we were there. Barman very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge complaint! The air-conditioning was down in our room. As a result, it was stifling during the night. When we arrived, I told the person who greeted us that the air conditioning didn't seem to be working. He acted surprised and said the people who were just there did not mention it. I asked him to check on it. Nothing was done. And we spent a very difficult, hot night. We were only booked for one night, so I let it go. The next morning I learned at the reception desk that the air-conditioning of the whole wing of our hotel had been down for a few days and they didn't know when it would be fixed. So, we were lied to from the very beginning. This is not a good way to do business. Also, we had a look at the swimming pool, but didn't go in it. Frankly, it looked dirty. I could be wrong about the cleanliness, but the water was murky and uninviting. The safe in the room is very small. Just enough room to put a billfold and a few small things--I don't think I could fit my mini Ipad in there. The safe is also a pain to use. The lock system is not easy and it's hard to see the numbers where it is placed.

    The hotel is well-located in St. Remy. The room was quiet and well-appointed. Beds very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast or dinner there, so I cannot comment on the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Horizon Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice buffet but with 2 adults at 20 euro each and 3 kids (3 and 4 years old) at 10, 70 euro was too much. Also when checked out, they charged us for breakfast for two days until I asked them to fix. Dinner also good but fixed price but since my French not great, did not see extra price for each fixed price item so instead of expected 25 euro, it was an extra 15 euro.

    Good value for wonderful location in heart of beautiful old st remy. Pool very nice with attached shallow kids pool. Grounds do not seem as sprawling as they do in picture but still very nice. Beautiful stores in village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We weren't aware we had to pay tourist tax, though it wasn't too much

    We got upgraded to the room with the treehouse which was a lovely surprise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lack of staff, one man was in charge of practically everything he was very helpful though. Would have been great to be served drinks by the pool chance to cross sell. The beds were hard. The bathroom smelt throughout our stay but when we complained they said they didn't smell anything they offered to move us but to a room with no view.

    The pool are Was pretty and the grounds were well kept. The best thing was the location in the centre of Saint Remy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't eat there. Breakfast was 22 euro. Apparently it's a big buffet, but I like small anyway.

    Very comfortable & private. Lovely grounds & pool, but we did not use since it was chilly. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved my room and view. It felt like you were in the countryside but the village was right across the street. The swimming pool was a big plus, as well as the gardens. The staff was gracious and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Surroundings / garden + pool : basic maintenance. No bar. ( must admit there is a lot of choice just outside the hotel )

    Superb location in town centre. Great staff Great restaurant ; fine dining

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard--the hardest we had on our two week trip. The staff added some padding which helped a bit.

    The setting of the property is beautiful with a lovely garden and mountain views. The staff parked your car for you and retrieved it when you needed it. The bathroom had dual sinks, high counters, and a separate shower and bath. The location couldn't be beat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very ordinary, especially at he prices we were paying. Our room was not ready when we arrived (which is ok), but when we came back that eve there was no one around to give us our room. It took quite a while to find someone and no one seemed to know what was going on. This shouldn't happen at a nice place. Our bags were still in storage. Better would have been for them to be in our room waiting for us.

    Fabulous location in the town of St Remy. Pretty lobby and public spaces.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were outdated and very small for the $ spent. Was told no a la carte breakfast only buffet. Wasn't willing to spend 22 euro per person for coffee and yogurt. Didn't seem like they vacuumed rooms each day as stuff on floor all 6 days we stayed there

    Location and they had a pool and lawn

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having breakfast on our large bedroom terrace with beautiful view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the view from horizon room w terrace, huge terrace, spa at sis hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were super hard

    Location, very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room. Pool not clean.

    Excellent location. Clean room. Nice helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff the hotel is run down and old miss leading photos of luxury

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning not working in 1st room. Had to move.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Horizon Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looks like it has been in neglect. No gardener. Fountains green. Rooms need updating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was actually nothing I did not like.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was hard

    the room and the grounds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in this little town. The gardens were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and conditions are perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They try to charge us the breakfast! But did not work

    The bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, the secure lit was appreciated and the staff were all great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room and view, beautiful grounds and pool, fabulous breakfast,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive for what you get . Get your breakfast next door.

    Accommodations

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms very small

    We're able to check in at noon. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful garden

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little dated

    Pillows were wonderful as was the bed Perfect location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Horizon Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great breakfasts, friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful Breakfast Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a lot!

    The location is superb, off street secure parking. Excellent friendly helpful staff. Beautiful gardens. First class breakfast and very good meals in main dining room.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are unfortunately quite firm, almost to the point of painfully so. Staff added some extra padding under the mattress pad, which helped some.

    All the staff was very attentive and helpful. Gated parking is a plus. Central location in St. Remy made it very easy to run out for anything we needed. The two story suites means the sleeping area is isolated from noise from neighboring suites. Wifi is decently fast compared to other places we stayed in France.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally well adapted use of space for accommodating rooms for the inn. Our room and bath were exquisite. The staff was delightful and their desire to be helpful inspire of language challenges was commendable. The location was in the center of town easily walkable to shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the floor in the shower was painted instead of being tiled or marbled. it made me take showers with my sleepers on. the air-conditioning was not working although mentioned in the hotel facilities. it forces us to sleep in open windows and hear the bottle recycling all night, the cars and the early morning birds. breakfast is very expensive. so is the restaurant menu - terribly expensive.

    perfect location on the main street of the center town. private parking in the hotel. a clean and large room, lately refurbished but not very modern. large and very comfortable bed. staff is very polite and welcoming. the hotel has vast, calm and romantic outdoors areas with a pool, much grass and greenery, great gardens and beautiful statues all over.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Heating would have been appreciated - cold snap in St Rémy. Not much view from my (de luxe) room.

    Lovely big room, excellent bathroom, very comfortable and large bed.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi a little erratic However not a major problem

    We Throughly enjoyed our stay. Many cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.The staff at the hotel were al very courteous and helpful and we would certainly stay at Hotel de L'Image again.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not as expected from picture on website. We were put in the old part of the hotel and were disappointed with the room. The shower was also disappointing. Pool area was quite messy and pool was freezing cold.

    Very good staff We used the spa in the sister hotel which was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the room with the treehouse. Simply amazing. The pool is gorgeous and the location gives you easy access to restaurants, shops and the weekly market. Just lovely all around.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioner was not good. When we complained we were told that the system was not able to cope given the demands on it in the very high temperatures. We were promptly given a fan, but a four star hotel ought to have a sound air con system!

    Lovely staff, great location, super pool and gardens.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No moans except the water in the mini bar was not always filled up. But this was really minor.

    Location, It was like being in the countryside at the back of the hotel calm with stunning views and in the center of a bustling village when leaving the front door.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    as usual in france the hot part of breakfast was cold and inedible

    very friendly and helpful staff complemented by excellent restaurant and great location

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grounds were in rough condition. Grass was long. Plants and shrubs are not well manicured.

    Location is excellent. Large grounds in town, but you can not tell you are in town when on property. Room is spacious and has good view of property.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Linens on bed poor quality. Furniture in room very spartan, being charged 10€ for coffee we got ourselves.

    Excellent location, very accommodating staff. Loved the free parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fabulous place that we know since it's very first day of opening, wonderful garden, very friendly staff (special thanks to Nadja, the perfect hostess at breakfast!), a little paradise! It would be nice to reintroduce some movies in the evening in the breakfast room, a former cinema of St. Rémy.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar, function put before guests, Long walk to room for elderly people

    The gardens

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place located right in the center of St.Remy, a delightful French town. We loved it!!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely spacious room with big balcony overlooking a huge garden and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff and assistants

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying in a room up a spiral staircase above the dining area.

    Bed. Bathroom. Grounds. Location. Option to open windows for fresh air. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed. No complimentary water.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    amenities and outdoor amenities

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent size room, fab location, bit on the expensive side but worth it :)

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxing hotel with good attentive staff. Will definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Family suite quite dark and dismal. Furniture felt more IKEA than design hotel.

    Great pool.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful! 3rd stay and will come again. The expansive inner courtyard is a marvel

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The closing time for lunch is too early 2 pm when you are on holiday; It should be 3pm

    Accueille. Location. Style of decoration. Accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning wasn't working as well as it should making it difficult to sleep due to the heat.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitoes!

    Large bedroom, attentative staff, always smiling, proximity of both town and country, swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Enjoyed spending time in the common areas relaxing with friends drinking wine and enjoying the beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have liked a softer bed

    location, cleanliness, beautiful garden, pool, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we have stayed here before and its wonderful location in heart of SRdP, and the garden is a secret Oasis.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Beautiful gardens. Clean rooms . Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was in the center of St Remy, with a beautiful garden directly behind the house. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: